- Nov 14, 2010
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
Powell looks like he is set for a huge year
Both inside and outside game seems very balanced
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Haven't had time to watch the stream. Where you would play Kayne?if kayne keeps playing like this he plays round 1
Spicer from what I’ve seen of his career will not play a senior game this year and delisted at end of year not up to afl standard
besties with JySaw Clayton Oliver at the ground watching along with Van Der Meer? from the bulldogs. Oliver would look ok in a north jumper
He was playing forward pocketHaven't had time to watch the stream. Where you would play Kayne?
Mate I barrack for north just can’t change the team (my daughter registered me when we lived on the Gold Coast). Just calling it as I see it looked scared last year and today was awful. Amazing things at training means nothing.Crikey a tad risky entering another teams board and making suggestions like that. A speculative pick and I'm sure he'll be given every opportunity to have a successful career.
5ft 8 and 64 kgs, will spend the majority of the year in the VFL and he'll benefit from having a better VFL structure and better quality VFL players around him.
While there is every chance he doesn't make it, some good VFL form would ensure he gets another crack, could be as a rookie. He does some things at training which has left Boomer Harvey amazed.
Mate I barrack for north just can’t change the team (my daughter registered me when we lived on the Gold Coast). Just calling it as I see it looked scared last year and today was awful. Amazing things at training means nothing.
We are screaming for a running off half back defender .I agree. Perez and Hall likely to be the running defenders at this stage, although Hall on name alone. Young or Bonar for the "7th" defender role. Having said that at this stage one could easily slot into Corr's spot come round 1 if he doesn't show something soon.
Yeah I agree the coaching was hopeless and hopefully now with Clarkson those players improve. I just don’t think Spicer has much improvement in him hopefully I’m wrong and he makes me look like a fool just can’t see it happening.oh all good then. Put her up for adoption
Yes as you're a North man, we haven't exactly had decent structures, so I think a yr under al clarko could do wonders for Spicer.
Most players have a 'let's see about them' after a disastrous 3 years of coaching.
I didn't get to tune in but that's music to my ears!Themanbun thought of you today watching a forward structure that was avtually competent and had marking forwards and crumbers ahead of the footy that could take advantage of the overlap run from hb. Truly revolutionary stuff haha
Noticed we had three talls deep and the smaller forwards on the fifty line not rocket science but certainly looked better.Themanbun thought of you today watching a forward structure that was avtually competent and had marking forwards and crumbers ahead of the footy that could take advantage of the overlap run from hb. Truly revolutionary stuff haha
Stevo was terrible today …. Not even close to our top 22.Thanks for the write up.
lazz- yeah not surprised, Spicer not surprised.
CCJ & Xerri- not surprised
Comben- not surprised at all. I think or hope we play Goldy and let Comben be the other ruck. CCJ & Xerri are both a million miles off being decent footballers. Doesn't mean they won't make it, although I doubt very much both will, one would be a pleasant surprise.
Jy- will need to learn to play fwd, he of course will be part of the mid rotations, I've said it for a while, we want to roll good players through the guts.
Unrelenting pressure, wear our opponents down.
Stevo- I'm sort of unsure what I think, he'll need to be on point to get games though.
Disagree . Cunnington best for me.Wow, I thought he only got out of second gear in a few isolated passages of play. Maybe its just that I was expecting him to give a dominant, explosive performance.
Showes the depth & caliber of our list ….Bit surreal that 23 year old LDU can just saunter around in 2nd gear like this is beneath him and still look dominant.
Not from the club, but I managed to video capture the game. Just missing the first goal from Xerri. Will probably put it up on YouTube.Will a replay be available?
Couldn’t watch this morning.
He and LDU played in second gear. Not too worried about Jyza.Interested to get your thoughts on Jai Simpkin's game. He got a good bit of the ball but I thought he was a bit hesitant when he took a mark or a free kick. Seemed to slow the momentum of the play when there was a run on . As captain I would like him to be a bit more decisive.
I thought all the big men showed something today. Can't say I have been a fan of Xerri so far, but he did well today. CCJ took a couple of good grabs and Free showed a bit as well. We might actually have some pressure to perform coming from the twos.Some harsh views on Xerri. Thought he spread and contested better than last year. Don’t see it with CCJ though.
Game plan ? Zero . Zilch . Nada?!Must say that I thought the standard overall was better than I was expecting. A few heart in mouth moments with Paul Curtis, Comben and McKay looking sore at stages after big contests but all played on.
Powell - wowsers that was good. looks fit and firing and every bit the great prospect from 2021.
LDU - best on for mine, shading Powell
Cunners - can't wait to see him kick more goals this year.
Phillips - good game, got plenty of it, stuck nice tackles including cunners. I would like to see him get more footy on the move though. Seems to get the footy without much momentum. still think aerobically he's a few years off the finished product.
Jy - for much of the game played out of position, then goes into the centre and had a great third qrt I think it was. With our ambiance of centre mids I don't see much point in Curtis or bull being in there. we have enough specialists, let them do their thing.
Comben - continues to build nicely. 3 goals, marks up the ground, a little ruck work. can certainly see us going into round 1 with gold going 90%, Comben the 10%, and maybe CCJ as the sub.
Scott - looked like he was running with more power than previously. hope he continues on from last year.
Sheezel - love his cleanliness with the ball. more so his taking possession today, with kicking a little hit and miss. hopefully his team mates learn to give him the footy when he's running along side them.
Paul Curtis - dominate first half. didn't seem himself after half time.
Bull - good game. am a little concerned how he keeps grabbing at his lower leg.
McKay and Logue are going to be bloody good together.
Sleevo - other than some poor execution in the second half, I thought he was good. found heaps of the footy. ran hard and seemed to play with an increased physicality (relative to his usual self).
Some concerns
Lazzaro - not only did he hardly get near it, his fumbles are just too much. Sheezel's goal came from jazz fumbling a simple handball that Sheezel cleanly ripped out of his grasp.
spicer - just aint going to happen imo
Young - certainly not the game he'd be hoping for after a good 2022. don't think he's starting round 1 based on today.
Rucks - whilst free showed a bit, gold is still clearly no 1. it's concerning that we aren't seeing more from xerri, ccs and Edwards.
kickouts - didn't see much to get excited about
plenty to work with overall. very interested to see how we line up round 1. hopefully we see some good signs next week, as it's been a long time since we have put in a good pre season showing against another club.
Lol you obviously weren't watching very closely thenGame plan ? Zero . Zilch . Nada?!
Did not see anything different compared to last year…
You thought today was the day to practice / execute something in that regard but ….
Noble or Patch could have been coaching today out there & u would not have noticed the difference….