Is it NRL or rugby union for footy fans

Crusaders is one of the coolest names going around I reckon.

Chiefs and Hurricanes I rate too. Blues and the cats are like the AFL.

This is how I see it. League, more simple, repetitive, less confusing, more free flowing, less polite (f*** off ref)

Union, more physical, slower, tougher, more polite (yes sir) stronger, less scoring, more of a slog. Doesn't help when a lot of union matches are played in NZ where it seems to be raining 24/7.

Don't mind either. I don't really have a side I follow (I hope Australian sides do well in the super-14s and the storm do well but it's not life and death) but I still like watching it and Wallaby matches are a must to watch.

If you ever want to purge have a look at some of these ridiculous names

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Australian_Rugby_Championship#Teams

I pray that when a new team is allowed into the AFL they at least have a good, traditional Aussie sounding name (Something like Dingos or Blue toungues, even sharks). These new age names such as Glory, Reds, Spirit, Victory etc are embarrassing garbage.

The name "reds" has been around for centuries, there are football clubs in the UK named reds that have been called that for over a century.

My neighbour is a Maori bloke who has me watching Rugby - in fact we are off to Tokyo tomorrow to watch the Classic All Blacks vs. Someone (Jona Lomu is playing).

As far as he is concerned (and hence me too), it's Rugby League all the way. Faster, more tackling.

Thanks. What's the win-loss record for NSW-Queensland against each other?
What about the win-loss record of other States and Territories against each other?

NSW v QLD: Played 78, NSW won 38, QLD won 38, draws 2
NSW v VIC: Played 0, NSW won 0, VIC won 0, draws 0
NSW v SA: Played 0, NSW won 0, SA won 0, draws 0
NSW v WA: Played 0, NSW won 0, WA won 0, draws 0
NSW v ACT: Played 0, NSW won 0, ACT won 0, draws 0
NSW v NT: Played 0, NSW won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
NSW v TAS: Played 0, NSW won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
QLD v VIC: Played 0, QLD won 0, VIC won 0, draws 0
QLD v SA: Played 0, QLD won 0, SA won 0, draws 0
QLD v WA: Played 0, QLD won 0, WA won 0, draws 0
QLD v ACT: Played 0, QLD won 0, ACT won 0, draws 0
QLD v NT: Played 0, QLD won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
QLD v TAS: Played 0, QLD won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
VIC v SA: Played 0, VIC won 0, SA won 0, draws 0
VIC v WA: Played 0, VIC won 0, WA won 0, draws 0
VIC v ACT: Played 0, VIC won 0, ACT won 0, draws 0
VIC v NT: Played 0, VIC won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
VIC v TAS: Played 0, VIC won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
SA v WA: Played 0, SA won 0, WA won 0, draws 0
SA v ACT: Played 0, SA won 0, ACT won 0, draws 0
SA v NT: Played 0, SA won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
SA v TAS: Played 0, SA won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
WA v ACT: Played 0, WA won 0, ACT won 0, draws 0
WA v NT: Played 0, WA won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
WA v TAS: Played 0, WA won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
ACT v NT: Played 0, ACT won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
ACT v TAS: Played 0, ACT won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
NT v TAS: Played 0, NT won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0

Another two questions (sorry!):
1: Who played each other last year and what were the results?
Game 1: NSW d Qld 17-16 in Sydney
Game 2: Qld d NSW 30-6 in Brisbane
Game 3: Qld d NSW 16-4 in Melbourne

2: And who's playing against each other next year?
There is a three game series between NSW and Qld

Another two questions (sorry!):
1: Who played each other last year and what were the results?
2: And who's playing against each other next year?

Who played who in the AFL SOO?:rolleyes:

League>Soccer>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>AFL>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Union

Rugby league I watch occasionally and it can be enjoyable, but I don't like it's ultra "blokey" culture.

Rugby union is too stop-starty for me and I don't like it's deep rooted toffness.

Summed it up perfectly. Union is only worth watching at the most superficial level. Inspect it at any depth and you'll come away very disappointed. For me RL > RU.

On the bright side (Well not really) i will be in Mexico tomorrow... Thinking about catching my first ever game of AFL but then i thought I'd rather catch a cold:D ...

For all you sports lovers... Melbourne Storm V The Mighty Bulldogs at Olympic Park this monday night at 7pm, Be there or be square:D , Help cheer on the mighty Doggies. If you see anyone in a Bulldogs or Australian Kanagroo's jersey that'll be me:p

NSW v QLD: Played 78, NSW won 38, QLD won 38, draws 2
NSW v VIC: Played 0, NSW won 0, VIC won 0, draws 0
NSW v SA: Played 0, NSW won 0, SA won 0, draws 0
NSW v WA: Played 0, NSW won 0, WA won 0, draws 0
NSW v ACT: Played 0, NSW won 0, ACT won 0, draws 0
NSW v NT: Played 0, NSW won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
NSW v TAS: Played 0, NSW won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
QLD v VIC: Played 0, QLD won 0, VIC won 0, draws 0
QLD v SA: Played 0, QLD won 0, SA won 0, draws 0
QLD v WA: Played 0, QLD won 0, WA won 0, draws 0
QLD v ACT: Played 0, QLD won 0, ACT won 0, draws 0
QLD v NT: Played 0, QLD won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
QLD v TAS: Played 0, QLD won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
VIC v SA: Played 0, VIC won 0, SA won 0, draws 0
VIC v WA: Played 0, VIC won 0, WA won 0, draws 0
VIC v ACT: Played 0, VIC won 0, ACT won 0, draws 0
VIC v NT: Played 0, VIC won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
VIC v TAS: Played 0, VIC won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
SA v WA: Played 0, SA won 0, WA won 0, draws 0
SA v ACT: Played 0, SA won 0, ACT won 0, draws 0
SA v NT: Played 0, SA won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
SA v TAS: Played 0, SA won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
WA v ACT: Played 0, WA won 0, ACT won 0, draws 0
WA v NT: Played 0, WA won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
WA v TAS: Played 0, WA won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
ACT v NT: Played 0, ACT won 0, NT won 0, draws 0
ACT v TAS: Played 0, ACT won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0
NT v TAS: Played 0, NT won 0, TAS won 0, draws 0

Game 1: NSW d Qld 17-16 in Sydney
Game 2: Qld d NSW 30-6 in Brisbane
Game 3: Qld d NSW 16-4 in Melbourne

There is a three game series between NSW and Qld

LOL @ NRL :D

Can someone 'profile' this fellow?
Yes.

Drastically insecure about himself and the code he follows. Small minded, unwilling to accept that different people like different things, and all the codes are worthy of respect for one reason or another. "My way or my way" kind of person.

Colloquially known in Australia as "Small Dick Syndrome".

1 min profile off top of my head. Any good to u Seb? ;) :p

Yes.

Drastically insecure about himself and the code he follows. Small minded, unwilling to accept that different people like different things, and all the codes are worthy of respect for one reason or another. "My way or my way" kind of person.

Colloquially known in Australia as "Small Dick Syndrome".

1 min profile off top of my head. Any good to u Seb? ;) :p

Sounds spot on, Genesis.
Do you work with the AFP?

League is just unbelievably boring and pointless. I watched a bit the other day and even the commentator said the game was "boring, predictable and easy to easy to defend against", and thought why do people bother with this tacklefest crap.

Union has a bit of skill to it, a bit of flair and run. Campese was a champion, i loved watching that guy a few years ago, when i watched Andrew Johns play it was like "ho hum he tackled a few guys and ran a bit and threw the ball a few times", i couldn't work out what was so special about him, whereas the Union guys you can see their skill level.

League:
Guy gets ball
Runs straight at 3 oppostion players, fakes a pass and run straight into the oppostion players
Guy gets tackled
Guy gets ball
Runs straight at 3 oppostion players, fakes a pass and run straight into the oppostion players
Guy gets tackled
Guy gets ball
Guy gets tackled
Guy gets ball
Guy gets tackled
Guy gets ball
Guy gets tackled
Guy gets ball
Guy kicks ball straight to the other team.

Union>>>League

Much prefer league. Union is a sloppy game.

If you can't see the genius in watching Andrew Johns play you simply do not understand the game. He is the smartest (ie. reader of the play / vision in heavy traffic)footballer of any code I have seen. Would have been a brilliant AFL centreman.
Good League (Origin, finals) is great to watch. But I find it hard to watch games between crap teams.

No time for union.

League:
Guy gets ball
Guy gets tackled
Guy gets ball
Guy gets tackled
Guy gets ball
Guy gets tackled
Guy gets ball
Guy gets tackled
Guy gets ball
Guy gets tackled
Guy gets ball
Guy kicks ball straight to the other team.

Excitement plus :D :D

Rugby league is like watching the tide coming in.

Mildly entertaining for a few minutes (gets further up beach, draws back, gets a little further up beach, draws back, repeat ad nauseam) but I certainly wouldn't stare at it for 90+ minutes, let alone pay money for the privilege :p

Different sports need to be compared on a domestic and international basis.

Rugby Union and primarily international sports with their domestic competitions receiving little sport. AFL is primarily a domestic sport, while rugby league has both domestic and international and domestic popularlity.

Soccer can also be put in with league as having both domestic and international appeal, however in Australia its popularity is more at the intenrational level, while league is more domestically orientated.

At an international level, I'd put union behind Cricket and Soccer. At the domestic level I wouldn't even be able to name one union side.

Is it NRL or rugby union for footy fans