Is Joel Selwood overrated?

I reckon I could get 25+ possesions if I was playing in the cats midfield.

Sure you could.

I think people are getting a little bit carried away by a kid who really hasnt proven anything.

He's won a rising star, played in a premiership, firmly established himself in the first choice rotation of the best midfield in the land, made the AA squad at 20 and very clearly earned the respect of his peers throughout the entire league.

And you think he's not proven anything? Dear God.

BTW Your posts really give me the impression you're one of those who wants to deride Joel simply because your club passed him over in the draft and you don't want it to be seen as a mistake.

Yeah I think he is overrated also.

Yes he has had 2 great seasons, but sides have the same dilemma against Geelong like they did with WCE a few years ago. And that is your cant tag them all.

Most clubs are going to try and tag Ablett, Bartel or Corey first. Selwood is free to run around and do what he likes. Just like Chad Fletcher did with WCE.

Except he has been tagged. How many 2nd year players get tagged anyway?

I would love to see how he would have gone if he first 2 seasons were with Richmond, Melbourne or Cartlon.

Lucky for us, we'll never know.

Selwood is free to run around and do what he likes. Just like Chad Fletcher did with WCE.

Joel Selwood wins a stack of contested footy, so the fact he isn't tagged often is irrelevant.

If he sat on a wing and fed off others hard work then i could understand such a statement (and the horrible Fletcher comparison), but he doesn't, he gets in and under and wins his own football.

I would love to see how he would have gone if he first 2 seasons were with Richmond, Melbourne or Cartlon.

I'm sure he'd still manage to show great leadership, great courage, hardness, vision and contested ball winning ability.

Generally i can understand people lazily falling back on the whole 'he's only good because his team are great' routine to avoid having to praise a quality young footballer, but how anyone could watch how Joel Selwood plays and still use the same line is beyond me.

The kid is a contested ball freak, he doesn't rely on ANYONE to give him the footy or to make him look good.

He has been voted most valuable you twit.

Can't you read? Most valuable, not best.

Valuable

Valuable

Valuable

Read it three times over until you learn the word.

If we are going on value, I would argue that none of the Cats players should be in the top ten because you have so many good players, it reduces their value because if they are not there, there is someone to take their place.

Case in point, Ablett has missed several matches this year and the Cats went on still smacking teams. What would have happened to the Hawks, Saints in Franklin and Riewoldt weren't playing? Just something to consider....

Just so every knows, I think Selwood is a super young player, I just don't believe he is the 6th most valuable or best player in the AFL - yet.

I must admit I dont see what others do. But maybe I'm a slow learner. Geelong is such an astoundingly good team I dont really notice Selwood out there.

get yer hands on the freo v. cats game from round 6 and maybe that will shed some light.

at this point i would not say he is in the top 6 players in the comp.

Except he has been tagged. How many 2nd year players get tagged anyway?

After Nick Stevens' season ending neck injury, Marc Murphy copped the #1 tag week in week out in his second year of football.

In an article on The Age not that long it stated that statistically Joel's first 2 seasons have been as good (in some aspects even ahead of him) as Judd's. Make of that what you will. Couldn't care less what knobs from other clubs think of him, if you'd watch a handful of Geelong games you'd know his perfomances on the football field speak for themselves.

Unfortunate for him that there was no other option.

I was only answering your question, not a slight on Selwood. On the first page of this thread I quoted J Brown comparing him to Vossy :thumbsu:

In an article on The Age not that long it stated that statistically Joel's first 2 seasons have been as good (in some aspects even ahead of him) as Judd's. Make of that what you will. Couldn't care less what knobs from other clubs think of him, if you'd watch a handful of Geelong games you'd know his perfomances on the football field speak for themselves.

As the game continues to a evolve into a more possession based game, statistics from one year to another become less comparable. Would you rate Brad Dalziels first 5 games ahead of Selwoods (in particular his fourth game when he lifted his entire team to its current dominance)?

BTW Your posts really give me the impression you're one of those who wants to deride Joel simply because your club passed him over in the draft and you don't want it to be seen as a mistake.

Your posts give me the impression that you are in love with joel and are desperate for everyone else to like him as well. Sorry if not all of us want to join your circle jerk session.
The way the media and cats fans have gone on and on about him is sickening.
Never before have I heard so much rubbish about a an unproven player before.

Your posts give me the impression that you are in love with joel and are desperate for everyone else to like him as well. Sorry if not all of us want to join your circle jerk session.

And this is where your true feelings come out. As I said, we can safely ignore your opinion on the subject.

I was only answering your question, not a slight on Selwood. On the first page of this thread I quoted J Brown comparing him to Vossy :thumbsu:

No worries mate, I was just saying there wasn't really any other players worth tagging in his side.

Fantastic player.

I did a rough top 50 players thing, and Joel slotted in at 25 amongst all league players.

Somewhere in the 20-50 bracket is a fair indication of his quality amongst the league.

Given its his second year, by this time next year, you wouldn't be surprised to see him at around the 10-15 bracket.

Judging by that response, i think my previous assertion about your motives is spot on. :)

Fancy responding to my post earlier about your statement that he hadn't 'proven anything'?

Fantastic player.

I did a rough top 50 players thing, and Joel slotted in at 25 amongst all league players.

Somewhere in the 20-50 bracket is a fair indication of his quality amongst the league.

Given its his second year, by this time next year, you wouldn't be surprised to see him at around the 10-15 bracket.

That's a pretty fair assessment. :thumbsu:

Just thinking his 'value' would certainly be enhanced because of his age.

A guy like Joel is arguably more 'valuable' to the club than Darren Milburn purely based on age.

Joel ia a very good footballer and a great competitor,however he has been blessed to play in such a dominant team.I would like to have seen joel selwood at melbourne or west coast to see how well he is really travelling.Personally i look at trent cotchin playing in a competive team not in an dominant team and what he has shown in his short career with no pre season tells me what agreat player he will be.Could you imagine cotchin at geelong.

You people do realise he is equal 6th in Brownlow betting? So the punters believe he is 6th best as well (although I realise some player have been suspended so aren't included in this number, but other (Bartel) weren't included in the vote that put him 6th best).

And to the tool that said Deledio had just as good a year - c'mon, lets be realistic here. Selwood has been WAY better than Deledio this year, regardless of which team he plays in.

Joel ia a very good footballer and a great competitor,however he has been blessed to play in such a dominant team.I would like to have seen joel selwood at melbourne or west coast to see how well he is really travelling.Personally i look at trent cotchin playing in a competive team not in an dominant team and what he has shown in his short career with no pre season tells me what agreat player he will be.Could you imagine cotchin at geelong.

Im pretty sure Selwood didn't have a pre-season either in his 1st year. He had a bung knee & that's why he dropped to 7th, because clubs didn't want to pick him in case it caused him on going trouble.

Also to the people who say he's only good because he is in a ELITE club, don't know much about the kid. That argument may be effective if he was say a Travis Johnston who feeds of his team mates, but Selwood wins his own ball 'oh so often'. He thrives himself of getting underneth the packs & feeding HIS team mates. He loves the contested possesion & works hard for 90% of his possies. To say he's only good because of the TEAM he's in, is just ridiculas. The only thing he has going for him is that he probably isn't tag as much. But by that theory then Joel Corey is also no good, because the fact is most teams only have 2 taggers (max), & i believe they'd be used on a Ablett or Bartel. Both the Joel's are contested ball junkies, that's how they win their respect, & that's why the are GOOD players.

Not overrated at all. Just beginning his wonderful career!

To my mind there is not alot of difference between being voted the 6th most valuable player in the comp, or being the 6th best player in the comp.

He was not voted the 6th best player in the comp he was voted the 6th most valuable out of a a group of 48 players, there is a difference.

Are Hawks supporters not happy unless there is something Geelong related to complain about?

I think the media get a little carried away sometimes and this is a good example. I watched the game and Selwood struggled badly, he had zero impact. Until he;

a) becomes a good enough player for opposition coaches to warrant a tag consistently
b) learns how to break this tag
c) plays in a team that is not one of the most dominant in history

then he will always be questioned.
And thats what makes a great footballer is it? Getting tagged? Kane Kornes gets tagged and selwood is a much better footballer than him.

Is Joel Selwood overrated?