Is this Hawthorn forward-line one of the best?

Best of all time? No. Not even close. But it's the best forward line of the last 10 years that's for sure. Don't forget Franklin and Roughead 188 goals 142 behinds combined in 2008. We know what they are both capable of. :)

The best of recent years, but nowhere near anything from the Bris 3peat era back....

what is this? the arrogance of hawthorn supporters is mind blowing. worst supporter group on here by a mile. I would hope for a crushingly close finish in the grand final in a loss to the hawks but im afraid what it will do to this forum. pull your fingers out guys.

The definitive guide to supporters of each club:
Adelaide - I'd never let my kids share a school with Adelaide supporters...I want my kids to feel they CAN achieve when the resources are all right there to help them...
Brisbane - The Lions are to Australian football what disco was to the 1980's...
Carlton - Like Collingwood and Essendon supporters - feral toothless arrogant god's gift to footy w***ers with an emphasis on the arrogant god's gift to footy...
Collingwood - Like Carlton and Essendon supporters - feral toothless arrogant god's gift to footy w***ers with an emphasis on the feral toothlessness...
Essendon - Like Collingwood and Carlton supporters - feral toothless arrogant god's gift to footy w***ers with an emphasis on the w***ers...
Geelong - Bunch of nobs...nothing to do with 9 in a row...so shut the hell up...
Gold Coast - Fantastic people, good friends of mine who live on the Coast and decided to adopt the new side...if they can find another 69998 like-minded friends, the Gold Coast juggernaut will be the first interstate franchise to crack 70000 members...
GWS - Don't know any, but they fully deserve a footy team...
Hawthorn - Humble likeable fans who remember the tough days, who understand the rewards only hard work and humility can bring, and who ride the bumps with a grin at the family club...oh yeah, and then there's the other 98% who came in on the last bandwagon (see Carlton, Collingwood and Essendon)...
North - Contemplative bunch...researching Gold Coast housing prices will do that to you...
Richmond - Like vegetarians...they try to convince everyone they're doing the right thing, but you'd be an unhappy miserable self-hating sook too if all you had for lunch for the last 30 years was bird seed and rabbit food...
St Kilda - You gotta be in it to win it...or just be in it...that's the spirit...
Sydney - The most patient fans in the land...you'd have to be after waiting 72 years to break the duck watching that style of play...
West Coast - Hate-filled neurotic conspiracy theorists whose only thought is to beat Eastern staters under the mistaken belief that Eastern staters even care what they think...
Fremantle - Hate-filled neurotic conspiracy theorists whose only thought is to beat West Coast under the mistaken belief that West Coast supporters even care what they think...
Dogs - I don't know...I just have this mental image, probably from the 1990 merger scare and public reaction, of Footscray supporters being really fat...

Edit - "moos"...rhymes with "bankers"...

Essendon 2000; PF 2816
Hawthorn 2012; PF 2679

Lloyd was better than Franklin, Lucas was better than Roughead, Mercuri was better than Rioli, Hird was better than any player Hawthorn fans care to mention.

So no, Hawthorn does not have the best forward line ever.

Apologies to all those clubs that have performed better than the Hawks in the forward line over the years; just went to what I knew best.

Hawthorn will lose on the weekend because whilst their top end talent is the best in the competition their bottom end is a disaster. Puopolo, Schoey and isaac Smith all get found out under finals pressure and god help you if if they select Tom Murphy.

Flat track bullies imo. (and yes I am aware they flogged us 3 times this year, but that had more to do with Hawthorn's superior gameplan than anything else, Sydney and Adelaide don't have those issues - I hate Clarkson but they have amuch better product than us atm.)

How ignorant are you?

2-0 against Adelaide
1-1 against Sydney
3-0 against Collingwood
1-1 against West Coast
0-2 against Geelong
1-0 against North
1-0 against Fremantle

That's 8-4 against the top 8, three of the four losses by less than a goal.

Flat track bullies, my arsecrack.:rolleyes:

How ignorant are you?

2-0 against Adelaide
1-1 against Sydney
3-0 against Collingwood
1-1 against West Coast
0-2 against Geelong
1-0 against North
1-0 against Fremantle

That's 8-4 against the top 8, three of the four losses by less than a goal.

Flat track bullies, my arsecrack.:rolleyes:

Just ignore him. He is offended obviously. :)

lol
Puopolulu :D

yep' those 3 spark fear into the hearts of opposition clubs :)

At least two of them would walk into your forward line.

Lewis is an elite utility by any measure.
Gunston is an exciting young talent.
Puopolo does a job for the Hawks but is a dwarf and would not be on everybody's list of desirables.

Franklin & Rioli is better than any six man forward line in the competition.

If only these players could have played in the 80/90s when you could legitimately have an open forward line. Franklin would have kicked 150+ a season for 10 years.

Franklin & Rioli is better than any six man forward line in the competition.

If only these players could have played in the 80/90s when you could legitimately have an open forward line. Franklin would have kicked 150+ a season for 10 years.

Correct, could you imaging lumbering gimps like Mick Martyn, Scott Turner and Spud Frawley trying to haul arse chasing this guy?

He'd have kicked massive bags almost every week.

At least two of them would walk into your forward line.

Lewis is an elite utility by any measure.
Gunston is an exciting young talent.
Puopolo does a job for the Hawks but is a dwarf and would not be on everybody's list of desirables.

you are kidding yourself right?

Geelong played Johnson from out of his comfort zone this year but given we likely have a replacement coming through in the off-season, he pushes right back inside 50 where he's booted 400 career goals.
Hawkins, Podsiadly...well you know all too well about those guys ;)

In 2012 we lost Varcoe and Menzel, two blokes who kicked 30 goals for us last season and Menzel in particular, is as talented as anything on your list coming through.

Motlop, Chapman and Duncan pushing through midfield/forward each kicked 20 or more goals this year.

Hawthorn have simply had no major injuries to key forwards in 2012 while some of the other better sides did suffer in that department.

Franklin would not have got a touch mate.
Seriously, you ever watched 80's or 90's footy?
It was all contested marking and Franklin is a pathetic marking forward. He'd get slaughtered by better full back's in the day.
The arm chops were allowed so Buddy would be on his own and the tactic to exaggerate any little touch would not have been looked upon by the umps.

you are kidding yourself right?

Geelong played Johnson from out of his comfort zone this year but given we likely have a replacement coming through in the off-season, he pushes right back inside 50 where he's booted 400 career goals.
Hawkins, Podsiadly...well you know all too well about those guys ;)

In 2012 we lost Varcoe and Menzel, two blokes who kicked 30 goals for us last season and Menzel in particular, is as talented as anything on your list coming through.

Motlop, Chapman and Duncan pushing through midfield/forward each kicked 20 or more goals this year.

Hawthorn have simply had no major injuries to key forwards in 2012 while some of the other better sides did suffer in that department.

So all things being equal are you saying that Gunston and Lewis wouldn't get a game for 7th placed Geelong?

Because if you are, it would seem that you are a bigger fool than I thought. Lewis would be a top 10 player on any AFL list and Gunston would walk into your forward line, especially given Podsiadly is close to retirement.

Lewis would be a top 10 player on any AFL list

I'll take Kelly, Bartel, Johnson, Hawkins, Selwood, Taylor, Enright, Menzel, Varcoe and Chappy before Lewis any day of the week!

Lewis is nothing mate, I mean what the hell he do last week?
Watch him do nothing this week.
You got a bunch of players that are playing above themselves, players who go missing when it's crunch-time.
If Burgoyne had not got the footy out of the middle last week in the dying minutes, you guys lose the game.

Sydney will beat Hawthorn because of that very reason.
They beat you easy early in the year and you guys got them back later in the year by a goal.
Sydney got a tougher midfield and a much more solid backline.
But I'll let you fap over the greatness of some of your hyped players ;)

I'll take Kelly, Bartel, Johnson, Hawkins, Selwood, Taylor, Enright, Menzel, Varcoe and Chappy before Lewis any day of the week!

Lewis is nothing mate, I mean what the hell he do last week?
Watch him do nothing this week.
You got a bunch of players that are playing above themselves, players who go missing when it's crunch-time.
If Burgoyne had not got the footy out of the middle last week in the dying minutes, you guys lose the game.

Sydney will beat Hawthorn because of that very reason.
They beat you easy early in the year and you guys got them back later in the year by a goal.
Sydney got a tougher midfield and a much more solid backline.
But I'll let you fap over the greatness of some of your hyped players ;)

And what did all of your listed superstars do when Fremantle bent you over a couple of weeks ago?

If you're going to make an argument, at least put up something constructive. You're just making a fool of yourself (again).:rolleyes:

Menzel, Varcoe....pffft.:D Seriously, you are borderline sheltered workshop material.

And as for no major injuries to our forwards......the best forward in the AFL missed 6 weeks due to a hamstring.

Goose.:rolleyes:

oh yeh right!
He missed super important games against the Dogs, Suns, Bombers and the Power at a stage of the year when Hawthorn were all but assured top 8.

Like Hawthorn needed him against those teams to begin with :D

Goose :p

And what did all of your listed superstars do when Fremantle bent you over a couple of weeks ago?

selective memory?

What has Hawthorn done since 2008?

Geelong have played in 4 of the past 5 grand finals, 4 of them!
They have basically played 3 quarters of a season extra than any other team because of playing in so many finals the last 5 years while Hawthorn have done nothing until 2012.