Its time for clubs to go!!!!!!!

If the club wasnt acknowledged until May 1859...doesnt the 1858 stuff hold about as much cred as the debate whether Aboriginals created Aussie Rules cos they used to kick a grass stuffed possum around.

I think that if something isnt formally created...then its a bit much saying it existed earlier. Was the jumper made, was the Name made, when was the "Melbourne Football Club" name written down and made formal...if its 1859...the its 1859. Before this, if they were operating under the MCC....then it wasnt really the MFC was it....

I'll let you and others get your knickers in a knot over the detail.

The MFC played games in 1858, but became a formal part of the MCC in May 1859.

I'll let you and others get your knickers in a knot over the detail.

The MFC played games in 1858, but became a formal part of the MCC in May 1859.

I was born in March..so that means I was conceived in June/July the preceeding year...yet my Birth Cert says March...

MFC...conceived in 1858...born 1859....

You really are breathtakingly ignorant. Congratulations.

Melb have so little passion that the supporters wiped off $5mil in debt in 2.5 years. We have so little passion that according to Roy Morgan research we have the highest ratio of supporters to members in the league. Despite coming off dual wooden spoons our home attendances this year were equal to Richmond's - despite a "home" game in Darwin totalling a crowd all of 8k. And we had an average 14k higher than North's and 6k higher than the Dogs.

Keep swinging champ.

Yes, and all of these people were out there in such voice against the merge with the Hawks wernt they....oh yeah...
And the troll shows his true colours.

Tell me, what did Geelong's finances look like 10 years ago? How many flags had they won in the preceding 35 years?

A decade is a very long time in football, let alone 15 years, and you think you've made a relevant point by bringing up ancient history. Spare us all.

hahahahahaha...yeah, keep on with the troll stuff mate...whatever floats your boat.

Cats were stuffed 10 years ago...but there were a lot of people out there working to make things better...and any talk or merging would have been met with fierce opposition...not lay back and expose your soft underbelly, which is what that Melbourne Hawks merge showed everyone.

I stand by my no heart comments...its been seen before...and the Mount Hotham stigma is ther for a reason mate.

Im not disagreeing that things could go bad for the Cats again...only thing is, we have our own ground to keep us going....you have "Were the oldest team".

If only your supporters put as much effort into saving your club as you put into strange comments like this one...who knows how far the MFC could go...

Maybe we should piss off Geelong first? What is the point of having a small elite group of clubs if they will have to play games at a 22k stadium?

Come to think of it you have a point there. At first I seriously considered moving or merging some vic clubs, but then again it would weaken, to a small degree. The stronghold of victoria being the heartland of the afl.

Funny my team has not being mentioned mabye because they have never won a flag yet made a lot of money. Melbourne will never fold. it would be like the sydney rooster folding in the NRL. I can see perth get a 3rd AFL team in 10 years time since WAs populations is 2.28 million and is growing bu 50,000 every year. so in 10 years it will be close to 3 million people living in WA.

http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/3101.0

Saints: Yeah right they made the last two grand finals for heavens sake.

North: Maybe but I doubt it. I would rather see them have their "home" games against the big teams like collingwood,carlton and Hawthorn at Ethiad where they would get 30,000-45,000 against them even though 15,000-20,000 kangaroos fans go to their home game.

It way better hosting a game in tassie where the ground holds 20-25,000 or in NT or ACT where AFL grounds capacity holds only 10-15,000.

Sad thing is that Canberra darwin and hobart has a better chance getting an A league side then an AFL side since their respective populations are nto big enough to sustain a profitable AFL team.

I was at Dallas Brooks Hall in 1996 and you'd be amazed by the amount of nay sayers that attended and more specifically the thousands that were locked out due to the size of the venue.

Sad thing is that Canberra darwin and hobart has a better chance getting an A league side then an AFL side since their respective populations are nto big enough to sustain a profitable AFL team.

Here we go again, more uninformed, ignorant comment. Tasmania has more than demonstrated its financial credentials to the AFL. Indeed many economists who have looked at whats required to run an AFL club agree that we could. I get sick of same old dumb ignorant assumptions.
With 750,000 people The gold coast has to support a RL,Soccer,Basketball & an AFL club. But thats ok. With 500,00 Aussie rules mad people & no RL,RU,Soccer or BB, to soak up any sponsorship or attention, please xplain why we couldnt support a team?

Actually, a touch over 4,900 members voted in favour of the merger (although in reality it was a takeover), compare that to our current membership levels of 33k+.

Just another example of you shooting your mouth off without checking the facts?

I thought so ;)

hahahahahaha...yeah, keep on with the troll stuff mate...whatever floats your boat.

Cats were stuffed 10 years ago...but there were a lot of people out there working to make things better...and any talk or merging would have been met with fierce opposition...not lay back and expose your soft underbelly, which is what that Melbourne Hawks merge showed everyone.

I stand by my no heart comments...its been seen before...and the Mount Hotham stigma is ther for a reason mate.

Im not disagreeing that things could go bad for the Cats again...only thing is, we have our own ground to keep us going....you have "Were the oldest team".

If only your supporters put as much effort into saving your club as you put into strange comments like this one...who knows how far the MFC could go...

Geelong's supporters had nothing to do with your team egtting out of debt, it was lenders wiping off bad debts. Now compare that to Melbourne's membership base wiping out in excess of $5m debt in under 3 years...

:D

Keep swinging sunshine

Can I say something????

Firstly profits and clubs finances including supporters and crowds are irrelevant. Why?

More teams equals more profit simple. If you have more product then you make more money.

With so many teams there are now more games. More games means more advertising which means more money for TV stations which means more money for AFL as a business.

Paying out a couple of million to a few clubs that have bad deals on there stadium is hardly going to hurt the bottom line when those clubs are pushing the income to around a billion dollars.

Lets face it we as supporters of the our teams are irrelevant! TV ratings are what the AFL is about and everything it does now evolves around that including the so called uneven DRAW every one winged about.

If we all start watching another sport the AFL may listen but if not forget it.

You can stand by it if you like - doesn't make it true. I bet you don't even know any Melbourne supporters and certainly not enough to make any generalisations about them. There are all sorts of myths about the supporters of all clubs. Pretty much all of them are garbage. There and wealthy members of all clubs, there are bogan members at all clubs, there are working class and middle class members at all clubs. There are casual members, there are passionate members.

In the end they are all people. Stop making out that you have a deep psychological understanding of 33k+ people. It is absurd in the extreme. The most objective measure we have of the passion of Melbourne is the way the massive debt has been paid off. Of course, people like you will dismiss that as just a bunch of wealthy people who will throw money at anything with no passion in it at all.

We see what we want to see.

Just thought I'd point out this beauty right here folks. :D:thumbsu:

I spotted that Diamond in the rough as well. Who would of thought it, apparently we who are simply defending our clubs and point out that another club was in this peril a mere 10 years ago, would be trolling... Compared to someone who thinks that a few clubs must go for the benefit of the comp... how odd.

Which club is in peril

Dee's debt free, collingwood stuck with debt inducing hotels.

If the club wasnt acknowledged until May 1859...doesnt the 1858 stuff hold about as much cred as the debate whether Aboriginals created Aussie Rules cos they used to kick a grass stuffed possum around.

I think that if something isnt formally created...then its a bit much saying it existed earlier. Was the jumper made, was the Name made, when was the "Melbourne Football Club" name written down and made formal...if its 1859...the its 1859. Before this, if they were operating under the MCC....then it wasnt really the MFC was it....

Yes it was the MFC, Geelong was originally based under the university and not Geelong. People who created the original rules of football, created Melbourne football club as the first official club. Geelong will never be the original football club how much you wish to dream it.

AFL accepts Melbourne was born/created in 1858 and Geelong 1859. Time for you to accept it.

Which club is in peril

Dee's debt free, collingwood stuck with debt inducing hotels.

I was pointing out Geelong was in peril haha.

This is only having a go at Rocket, I get along with pretty much every other Geelong supporter, because they are not ignorant about the issue that faced their football club.

Rocket, if you were the president in Geelongs debt years, they would be long gone. Fact.

To the OP:

You said give us five years to get finances in order and think weve done nothing?

We've gone from 'up shit creek' as you say to posting a profit each year which is INCREASING by the year (hey i can capitalise random words too).

We're getting our finances in order, chipping away at the debt that we have, new rooms, government funding to upgrade Arden St oval (hopefully), and we're a family and community centred club.

You need to realise that not every club can be a "big" club, even in the EPL some clubs have smaller supporter bases than others, the numbers are still in the hundreds of millions due to the nature of that game and the money involved but they earn significantly less than the "big clubs".

The clubs you point out as "needing to fold" actually have put on some of my favourite matches in recent times.

Money does not equal a good game of footy.

Can I say something????

Firstly profits and clubs finances including supporters and crowds are irrelevant. Why?

More teams equals more profit simple. If you have more product then you make more money.

With so many teams there are now more games. More games means more advertising which means more money for TV stations which means more money for AFL as a business.

Paying out a couple of million to a few clubs that have bad deals on there stadium is hardly going to hurt the bottom line when those clubs are pushing the income to around a billion dollars.

Lets face it we as supporters of the our teams are irrelevant! TV ratings are what the AFL is about and everything it does now evolves around that including the so called uneven DRAW every one winged about.

If we all start watching another sport the AFL may listen but if not forget it.

So you are saying the business mandate has saved you and should always save you, you don't need to sort your finances out because the AFL business is set up to support you?

Like I have said before and to be honest you are saying it here, some clubs are in the AFL because of geography only and not because they deserve to be.

Some of you should be so thankfull you happen to be a part of the VFL, you would be in big trouble if you were not.

Such is life they say.

after all the GF threads.
after all the trolling, bumping, etc.
after all the threads created this year thus far.

this is the worst, shittest, most immature excuse for a thread this year.

I nominate this for worst thread of the year.

I nominate that the OP get a card for making such a useless thread and for sullying the name of Cats supporters.

What a disgrace to even have this on the Main Board, however its barely even smart enough for Bay 13.

Go the Doggies

So you are saying the business mandate has saved you and should always save you, you don't need to sort your finances out because the AFL business is set up to support you?

Like I have said before and to be honest you are saying it here, some clubs are in the AFL because of geography only and not because they deserve to be.

Some of you should be so thankfull you happen to be a part of the VFL, you would be in big trouble if you were not.

Such is life they say.

The business mandate as you put it is exactly what created WestCoasts so therefore you should be thankfull it exist and are probably safe no matter how your club fairs financially. The AFL controls the Bulldogs finances don't people understand that. We have to report directly to them on all financial matters hence we actually get some help from them. But the days of the AFL thinking of clubs as financially independent are long gone. All clubs report there financial status and if the AFL thinks it is being mismanaged they step in and dictate what must be done.

Clubs exist purely to raise revenue and are a product. The VFL new this and new they had to expand nationaly to give the product more value. It would be stupid of the AFL to not support one or two struggling teams in one of the fastests growing cities in Australia. Melbourne will probably out grow Sydney in the next 20 years and getting rid of clubs now is only short sighted as they will only be creating them again in 10 years time.

The AFL don't want less teams they actually want more teams and don't be surprised by 2020 that we have two conferences setup playing off like the Superbowl in the US.

Just think most people here are not seeing the bigger picture and as for myself I feel clubs like mine have lost there identity and are becoming like McDonald's franchises in that no matter where you go around the world they all taste the same.

after all the GF threads.
after all the trolling, bumping, etc.
after all the threads created this year thus far.

this is the worst, shittest, most immature excuse for a thread this year.

I nominate this for worst thread of the year.

I nominate that the OP get a card for making such a useless thread and for sullying the name of Cats supporters.

What a disgrace to even have this on the Main Board, however its barely even smart enough for Bay 13.

Defies logic doesn't it?

Not only are there a million threads on this topic, but discussion that goes in circles and circles with no real discussion ever continued.

The Main Board is like a dirty railway station toilet where sick bastards continue to shit on the floor, and the maintenence guys find it all too hard that they can't be bothered cleaning it up.

I thought Bay 13 was where the ignorant can peddle their hate and argue in vicious cicrles?

Its time for clubs to go!!!!!!!