Opinion I've lost my faith in Ken Hinkley

In all seriousness, the way some of your supporters are turning on Hinkley is crazy. Its okay for us Crows supporters to take the piss out of him, but seriously he has been a godsend for your club. Finals in his first two years, prelim last year, and still a chance to make them again this year. Thats a pretty good record and he deserves more credit than he is getting.

You know that this is a shit thread when ****ing Cleric has to be the voice of reason.

Bullshit thread.

Armchair critics have absolutely NFI how hard the AFL system is and expect wins because we are a good news story.

Premierships take years. They don't just spring out of my arseh*le.

Feel free to submit your resume to KT if you feel you could do a better job than Ken.

I hope I'm on the selection committee.

In all seriousness, the way some of your supporters are turning on Hinkley is crazy. Its okay for us Crows supporters to take the piss out of him, but seriously he has been a godsend for your club. Finals in his first two years, prelim last year, and still a chance to make them again this year. Thats a pretty good record and he deserves more credit than he is getting.

Pretty sad when an opposition supporter (particularly one who doesn't mind having a go at Port) has to come in here and preach some common sense.
We seem to have a few posters here who are verging on bipolar.

most of our golden boy midfielders and leaders are letting us down badly atm and have done all year

Harder to shine when our Ruck tonight had a pretty ordinary game and saves his marking for February 29th.
Geelong a big bodied experienced team on 5/5 same as us and we put in S Gray and the Hoon.
Glad Nathan Krakouer is playing in the Maggies his poise and skill level clearly not needed.

Harder to shine when our Ruck tonight had a pretty ordinary game and saves his marking for February 29th.
Geelong a big bodied experienced team on 5/5 same as us and we put in S Gray and the Hoon.
Glad Nathan Krakouer is playing in the Maggies his poise and skill level clearly not needed.
Why not point a finger at Boak, Hartlett, Ebert those boys tonight. Sam Gray, Hoon etc don't phase me as much as seeing Boak arguing with umps, Hartlett doing not alot and Ebert pointing fingers then watching the ball go to Hawkins on the tit in the last when Grays handball was on his chest.

Our fringe players were awful. Yes, our core group of regulars were down tonight but good teams have fringe or second tier players capable of stepping up and doing a job when others have quiet games. We had 3 or 4 players out there tonight who are not AFL standard. It hurts us big time.

Do we have a full time opposition analyst, or whatever they're called?

That should not be Hinkley's task and I'm not sure we doing that part as well as in the previous 2 years.

Our fringe players were awful. Yes, our core group of regulars were down tonight but good teams have fringe or second tier players capable of stepping up and doing a job when others have quiet games. We had 3 or 4 players out there tonight who are not AFL standard. It hurts us big time.

Finbar who are you referring to?

Without watching the replay I thought the Hoon was solid, Stewart was dreadful, Gray average, Young average. Clurey cant yet judge.

When looking from the sidelines our forwards (except the Hoff) looked small v their defenders and our defence looks small without Jacko.
Thought we played too many fringe players tonight. Geelong looked bigger,faster and more settled via their experience.
As for Boak arguing with the Umps what they let go in the scragging dept would have me angry too.
The Hoon might be a favourite with many here but his selection cannot have been based on his Maggies form.
I go to a lot of Magpies' games and I didn't see him getting a go for a while.
Tonight's loss is goodbye top 4 and I'd be happy if we made the 8 from here.
Injuries and draw haven't helped but somehow feel there are other factors at work and some weird selections might be one of them.

When looking from the sidelines our forwards (except the Hoff) looked small v their defenders and our defence looks small without Jacko.
Thought we played too many fringe players tonight. Geelong looked bigger,faster and more settled via their experience.
As for Boak arguing with the Umps what they let go in the scragging dept would have me angry too.
The Hoon might be a favourite with many here but his selection cannot have been based on his Maggies form.
I go to a lot of Magpies' games and I didn't see him getting a go for a while.
Tonight's loss is goodbye top 4 and I'd be happy if we made the 8 from here.
Injuries and draw haven't helped but somehow feel there are other factors at work and some weird selections might be one of them.

Boak has been scragged all year, nothing new there. Just time the boys manned up and played regardless. Sick of these factors being used as the excuse. For me the buck stops with the players, they've got to change it. Kenny could have the gameplan to change footy for the next million years but atm the players aren't performing and it's killing us. Sick of hearing the players say they know what's going wrong and they'll change it when they aren't.

I am sick of this being an excuse for Boak. Does Nat Fyfe let this effect him, Scott Pendlebury? No. Just because he gets attention does not give him an excuse to be slow, unaccountable and quite frankly just poor tonight. I was critical of his game last week and he was even worse this week,

What does it take for some of you to realise that the players aren't the be all end all to a bad game?

Ken made zero moves tonight. Zero.

Chris Scott made several, including moving Blitz in to the midfield. Ken had no answer for any of this. Are the players expected to counter that themselves? Then what is it exactly we are paying Ken and mates for?

Are you ok with Ken spending his NAB challenge sitting in lawn chairs putting his feet up? Are you happy that he has not claimed any responsibility for our bad form since 2013? Why weren't the players blamed during the later day Choco and Primus era?

****ing flat earthers.

Gotta nip this shit in the arse now, before Ken goes full on mad scientist Choco with his merry band of yes men and unquestionable selection, tactics, match day coaching, and general demeanour around the place.

Not recruiting enough KPFs who can play at AFL level ie you keep adding them each year, has been dumb recruiting.

The other teams have found us out and when the current players regularly have kicking efficiency of 53% then just about any game plan is useless.
We have recruited Butcher,Harvey and Shaw as KPF's but they all appear to be abject failures?
Ryder was going to be the CHF star but he was always a ruckman first then a forward,
We bent over backwards to get Ryder last year so we will have to do the same to get a tall athletic goal kicker next.The ones we have just aren't developing enough.

What does it take for some of you to realise that the players aren't the be all end all to a bad game?

Ken made zero moves tonight. Zero.

Chris Scott made several, including moving Blitz in to the midfield. Ken had no answer for any of this. Are the players expected to counter that themselves? Then what is it exactly we are paying Ken and mates for?

Are you ok with Ken spending his NAB challenge sitting in lawn chairs putting his feet up? Are you happy that he has not claimed any responsibility for our bad form since 2013? Why weren't the players blamed during the later day Choco and Primus era?

******* flat earthers.

Gotta nip this shit in the arse now, before Ken goes full on mad scientist Choco with his merry band of yes men and unquestionable selection, tactics, match day coaching, and general demeanour around the place.

Go on mate...nip it in the bud.
Head down to PAFC headquarters and give them your resume. You might be lucky, it might be used as a placemat.

What I don't like is that teams are playing against us the same way yet we are not adjusting. Although Hinkley is not deserving of having all of it heaped onto him, he holds responsibility and invites scrutiny as much as any player, but it has to be fair and level headed.

We play a genuine midfielder short, and I have no ******* idea what our forward line is trying to do except not be there.
Yep this is killing us. Teams realise we have a core group of 4-5 mids, they keep it in tight and with their rotations of 5-6 mids they wear us down and eventually begin to find more time and space. If they manage to stop those main mids of ours then the game is played between the outside players we have who are all reliant on someone else winning the ball.

There's plenty of other issues but if Hinkley can't see the balance of the 21 is wrong, I'm very worried.

Oh and Young is a HFF! Not a core mid FFS!!!!

What I don't like is that teams are playing against us the same way yet we are not adjusting. Although Hinkley is not deserving of having all of it heaped onto him, he holds responsibility and invites scrutiny as much as any player, but it has to be fair and level headed.

What's with the fair and level headed posts mate - you have certainly chilled out. I like it