Opinion I've lost my faith in Ken Hinkley

Is it possible that Hinkley is still delegating the senior coaching responsibility to Matthew Nicks?

Wonder if he'll be so arrogant to ever delegate his duties again.
Don't think that's fair. Nothing to do with arrogance, more to do with trying to retain experienced assistant coaches. Been done by other teams in the past. Pre-season Game style looked the same as season game style. Forward line non-existant as in no forward playing in front and leading. I miss the way footy use to be. It's way too complicated now and the game just looks an unstructured mess.

It was just a crap game from majority of our players bar Wingard, Hombsch, Carlile, Ebert & Broadbent, the coaching wasn't great & our forward setup stunk but that's no different to any game this year & Lobbe just had a horror night with a record number of hit outs to disadvantage.

I'm not going to blame Ken, Burgess, Voss, Edwards, Carr etc but if our game plan can't be executed going forward & we lack a plan B it might be time to change from the skinny athletic running type of game & start putting some mass on these players because getting outbodied by Geelong, Freo, Sydney & sides like Richmond, West Coast & bloody Brisbane isn't going to win this group a premiership.

I've always wondered about Josh Carr. If we moved him on would he be in any sort of demand anywhere else? Or would he just go work with Dom at 'Funding Options'?
I questioned whether Carr was the one who's been found out the most post the loss of Walsh & Richo, Josh was here when we were crap, had a lesser role with the experienced senior assistants & now that he's back in charge of the midfield I don't think it's a coincidence we're playing dumb 09-12 footy.

I'm not sure of their contract situations but I wouldn't mind getting a proper midfield & forward assistant line coach after this year because what is currently in place doesn't seem to be working.

I don't blame Ken, his hands are pretty well tied. The team didn't have the best pre-season preparation and, worryingly, it looks like next year will be no different. A game in China! Oh great, that will really help our prep! This is the problem. The marketing department loved our draw with all the big games, but the coaching staff were totally pissed off. The draw has been crap for us this year. I understand that Kochie and the board had to pull our club out of the abyss and they have done so which is great financially and exposure wise, but at the expense of our team. If we want to succeed as a club we need to win games and play finals! All I can hope is that NEXT year the AFL give us a fairer draw, footy-wise but a pre-season game in China worries me. Plus our boys look constantly outmuscled by more mature players. I wish Burgo would come out and explain why and how? Plus do we play too nice, rather than mongrel like Hawks, Geelong etc.

I HAVE FAITH IN KEN. LAST WEEK WE HAD GREAT A WIN. WE ARE HAVING A DIP YEAR Like 2006 GEELONG WHEN THEY WANTED TO SACK THE COACH. NEXT YEAR WILL BE OUR YEAR.

Unfortunately no club's road to success falls exactly like another but it is nice to keep positive. We have to still improve our list. Our drafting under Hinkley has been different, hopefully better. Over his time with us I think Hinkley has squeezed good performances out of many players. I'd like to see a side mainly made up of Hinkley's style.

Selection this week will tell a story.

What I said earlier. How good of a manager, not a coach, but a manager is learned when the team is travelling badly.

I don't blame Ken, his hands are pretty well tied. The team didn't have the best pre-season preparation and, worryingly, it looks like next year will be no different. A game in China! Oh great, that will really help our prep! This is the problem. The marketing department loved our draw with all the big games, but the coaching staff were totally pissed off. The draw has been crap for us this year. I understand that Kochie and the board had to pull our club out of the abyss and they have done so which is great financially and exposure wise, but at the expense of our team. If we want to succeed as a club we need to win games and play finals! All I can hope is that NEXT year the AFL give us a fairer draw, footy-wise but a pre-season game in China worries me. Plus our boys look constantly outmuscled by more mature players. I wish Burgo would come out and explain why and how? Plus do we play too nice, rather than mongrel like Hawks, Geelong etc.

We played in London and visited Italy in his very first pre-season. It is not the marketing.

I do think it is related to the pre-season + third pre-season + two years of hard running + player personnel form and injury and depth + not adjusting to the opposition structures + trying to force our run game no matter the resistance + beginning the year looking fatigued resulting losing early games to poorer teams and now in games playing with some panic and hope.

Go on mate...nip it in the bud.
Head down to PAFC headquarters and give them your resume. You might be lucky, it might be used as a placemat.

So I suppose you you we absolutely mortified that Choco was moved in 2010, and then again Primus in 2012, because the players weren't turning up and it is all on the players?

3 years in to Williams we made top 4.
4 years in we finished top, and despite this, already sick of the way were playing. He still gets blamed around here for costing us more flags in that era.

I've always wondered about Josh Carr. If we moved him on would he be in any sort of demand anywhere else? Or would he just go work with Dom at 'Funding Options'?

He doesn't strike me as being overly bright or innovative in a position where you need the best tactical mind in the coaches box. Those quick kicks around the corner? That is because of Carr's setups, because we don't have the space to actually work the ball out of the area. Go and get Lade from Richmond if you want to get a favorite son.

You and I both. Seems to wander around below the radar and immune to scrutiny.
Having said that Geelong were better than us.........simples.
An earlier post stated that Ken did not make a move last night. Surely that can't be right but IF it is then I'm SHOCKED
On a brighter note Hombsch is in B&F form............thank heavens.
Down to Richmond this arvo hopefully to see Dougal and Billy in action.
Could be a grim w/end coz the Bloods are pretty good

Bullshit thread.

Armchair critics have absolutely NFI how hard the AFL system is and expect wins because we are a good news story.

Premierships take years. They don't just spring out of my arseh*le.

Feel free to submit your resume to KT if you feel you could do a better job than Ken.

I hope I'm on the selection committee.

Great post. The rise to the top is very rarely linear. I actually think we do have the talent to be a contender in the near future, although I think this year might be rooted, but this year from my perspective stank from the preseason for a variety of reasons. The one area I feel we are blatantly lacking is physical strength. Most of the guys, bar Ebo look like bloody etheopians.

He doesn't strike me as being overly bright or innovative in a position where you need the best tactical mind in the coaches box. Those quick kicks around the corner? That is because of Carr's setups, because we don't have the space to actually work the ball out of the area. Go and get Lade from Richmond if you want to get a favorite son.

He looks dashing in a pair of Ray Bans though.

For whatever reason, he's lost the plot this season.

Selections, match ups, game style, structures are more than questionable this year, they're an absolute joke.

Sometimes you have to live by the old KISS rule, keep it simple stupid, not continue to try and out fox your opponent by being stubborn in your ways.

What's up with bringing in players from the Magpies with no form?

Have the balls to admit you've f**ked things up and change your ways, cause this season has been pathetic in nearly every way.

Buy a mirror and have a long, hard look into it pal.
Disagree totally! Hinkley isn't kicking the ball out on the full, he isn't turning the ball over, he isn't responsible for the poor transition into fwd 50. Our stats every game are on par with the opposition, but we aren't converting into scores. Lets get a mid season break happening, reassess, and then try and work on a few things.

Transition into fwd 50
Defensive pressure, we concede too many easy goals, and let the opposition go from defense to offense too easily especially after our hard run and then turn over.
skills.

When we get accused of having bandwagon supporters I cannot defend us anymore after this thread, I thought I was on the crows board

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD