Player Watch #?: Jack Darling - has officially requested to be traded to NM on a two-year deal. Pick 64 is expected to be tabled.

He was very much content, finished, retired. He’d planned it many years out with his end of Hawthorns contract coinciding with the last year of his youngest son’s schooling at Caulfield.

He was in Europe and the US as part of a stadium and start up franchise study on the AFL’s wicket, particularly focused on the Green Bay Packers, who the AFL are basing their Tassie investment on.

He hooked up with Steve Kerr at the GSW as another step and got the itch.

GWS and North were the only ones to offer a role, Essendon came after acceptance.

He’s Paul Roos, not John Longmire, from the horses mouth - his goal is to get us competitive again. That’s it. Anymore is a bonus.

Were you interviewing him for his autobiography at this luncheon? My goodness, he told ya half his life story. Ray Martin wouldn’t of got that much out of him.

“Kangaroos fan are ya? Well the squads f**ked, I’m only there for the short term, and I would have went to Essendon if they had of contacted me earlier. Anyway, have a good lunch. I’m going to have a slap at the pokes before I head off”

Were you interviewing him for his autobiography at this luncheon? My goodness, he told ya half his life story. Ray Martin wouldn’t of got that much out of him.

“Kangaroos fan are ya? Well the squads f**ked, I’m only there for the short term, and I would have went to Essendon if they had of contacted me earlier. Anyway, have a good lunch. I’m going to have a slap at the pokes before I head off”

Don’t believe it/read it then.

Do you want cryptic crap or would you prefer I told it straight to some of the supporters who helped save this club and put their blood sweat and tears into it? I haven’t forgotten.

I was privileged to have intimate access today for a number of hours via my professional role, I have told you, it will no doubt blow back on me as there were only a few in the room and the people unlikely to post on an internet forum are the CEO of the AFL, Seven and others. The club know who I am and I have now betrayed a mountain of trust. I'm not here to milk it for years pretending as some ITK charlatan.

I couldn’t give a shit. I support the NMFC. Plenty of people know my pervious user name, Im not here to barrack for individuals here on temporary employment. This board/group of supporters is not a joke and is one to be respected, we proved that many years ago and deserve straight answers when some posters are in a position to provide them. Others have provided them over the years, I was in a position today.

Clarko made clear we have a severe lack of talent on the list….
No way! Surely not. And clearly Rawling isn’t to blame for our current list make up. It wasn’t Rawling that went to the Board at the end of 2020 and said we need to cut the list. Since then Rawling has had no say in who the club has recruited and drafted. Nothing to do with him. Only 9 players left on the list since 2020. However Rawling is not responsible for the “severe lack of talent” on the list. Clearly this “severe lack of talent” has resulted due to “Creeping Assumptions”. :stern look

Do you want cryptic crap or would you prefer I told it straight to some of the supporters who helped save this club?

I prevlidged to have intimate access today, I have told you, it will no doubt blow back on me as there were only a few in the room.

I couldn’t give a shit. I support the NMFC.

Only having a laugh mate.

It would be a strange story to come up with if it wasn’t true, and I appreciate you actually sharing it straight. Not dropping Da Vinci code like clues about where the info come from.

Not sure what to make of what he said. I’ve put all my eggs in the ‘clarko will turn it all around’ basket, that if it all goes to sh*t (sorry, even further to sh*t) I’ll be heart broken.

He was very much content, finished, retired. He’d planned it many years out with his end of Hawthorns contract coinciding with the last year of his youngest son’s schooling at Caulfield.

He was in Europe and the US as part of a stadium and start up franchise study on the AFL’s wicket, particularly focused on the Green Bay Packers, who the AFL are basing their Tassie investment on.

He hooked up with Steve Kerr at the GSW as another step and got the itch.

GWS and North were the only ones to offer a role, Essendon came after acceptance.

He’s Paul Roos, not John Longmire, from the horses mouth - his goal is to get us competitive again. That’s it. Anymore is a bonus.
If he isn't real about tunnel visioned silverware talk, that's disappointing.

The thing that makes the early results bearable is the idea that he's desparate to climb the mountain with us.

The idea that he lifts us to 8 wins a year then waves as he rides into the sunset "My job here is done" would be a bit of a fizzer.

Hopefully there's a bit lost in translation.

I’ve no doubt the guy gives 100% to anything he’s involved with. None.

He’s not 20 years younger however.

I’m way more concerned tonight than I was this morning.

We/I was here long before he became coach when he had Hawthorns interests at heart. We will be here long after.

We were here when Brady was doing West Coast bidding and we will be here long after.

People are best to remember that.

People eventually change, the club and its supporters always remain. The same goes for players. We are the club.
I see.

That's a bit of a disappointing summary, in truth. Not really sure how to gather my thoughts but this, along with events post-lockdown makes the club feel like some sort of mould-infested, flea-ridden pit of squalor, to which no one is capable of applying the requisite guts and effort to save. Pres, Zurhaar, Clarko mention silverware, but so far, Sheezel's the only one out of anyone whose behaviour consistently demonstrates complete awareness of and drive to strive for what's required. And he's only gonna take it so far.

I've just had a go at apollocreed for being needlessly negative. Maybe he's just ahead of everyone else. Weird times

It’s a shame to bring negativity into the Jack Darling thread.

Haha.

I’m fine if Clarko can get North back on track, to where we can attract good players, good assistants and a good next senior coach. I’m invested in North being rebuilt, not in his role in rebuilding it.

It's almost like Clarko has had two years with the list and realised how dumb and flaky some of the players are. How entrenched certain horrible attitudes are. Worst of all, how ignorant many of the players were of those facts. I compliment our leaders for keeping morale high enough that almost no one leaves, but they're pretty shithouse onfield leaders and haven't done much to foster an elite training mentality.

**** me I want us to be competing for silverware in Clarko's last year, but it will take some effort. Club should be funding specialised leadership training for Sheez and a handful of the other young players. It's where the leadership is going to come from in a couple of years, clear as day, so might as well make it a priority to prepare and empower them.

I just had lunch with Clarko and a former ex-president of ours I’m generally the last one to post this sort of stuff when it arises as I don’t like to big note, so take it for what it is.

Given the events at the moment:

“We aren’t recruiting him for experience or leadership, we are recruiting him because the lad can prepare himself and we think he’s got 2-3 year left of good footy left in him”

I put forward my displeasure.

Parker - Hopeful.

Konstanty - if Sydney want rid of him (im not hopeful given the read of his reaction to his name)

Would be more believable if you’d quoted Clarko like this:-

“We aren’t, um, recruiting him for, um, experience or leadership, um, we are recruiting him, um, because the lad can, um, prepare himself and we think, um, he’s got 2-3 year left of, um, good footy left in him. Um, and it’s like when I was at Hawthorn, and um…”

(Love ya Clarko)

If he isn't real about tunnel visioned silverware talk, that's disappointing.

The thing that makes the early results bearable is the idea that he's desparate to climb the mountain with us.

The idea that he lifts us to 8 wins a year then waves as he rides into the sunset "My job here is done" would be a bit of a fizzer.

Hopefully there's a bit lost in translation.

I asked him this specifically.

Silverware is always a goal, but the priority is to "get North competitive before I go off into the sunset"

If you know where they currently have this kid hidden under a rock, tied up and at the bottom of a cave…then go and get him…😂 but l get the concern with all things north related.

Well reading through the last 24 pages…wow my head hurts and the general mood l get from some of these posts is

View attachment 2114442

Am l over the moon…no…but looking at the position he is being brought in to do over a two year period and assist larkey, Comben ect in the fwd line ….great.
l hope he screams and yells and tells them which bloody way to run ..good. If it gives them time to learn and takes the triple team off Nick..tick.
Do l expect him to set the world on fire…nope.
Is he going to probably not.
If he can make help create options in the fwd line tick
Drag an opponent tick
Barrel / run through some opposing backs…tick
If he can kick 20 goals as a min tick…any more bonus…(that’s adding to what we currently have)
Drag teammates in preparation at training tick ( durability equals someone who’s not cutting corners)

All for pick Pick 64…. A junk pick…free swing .

We can argue until the sun comes up..
but l heard a good conversation between Kane, Johnson and Healy..tonight the unholy trinity 🤢. Kane was quick to sink in with why him why not some younger a young gws player who’s a key fwd, and conveniently gave no names.
Johnson and to my shock even Healy ….name some Kane …which young KPD ….to utter silence…then riccard was tossed out.( not happening as far as l know ) And ignored by the other two. Followed byJohnson stating you have no idea who was on their list and who they approached.
They would have Done their homework.
They might have had 10 names on the list, approached the other 9 and he was number 10. …more silence then topic changed to l think ports…

Just interesting….

However Jacks in the north jumper and so I’ll support him ….and if he sticks out the 2 years, plays most games and can achieve the small things I’ve thought about above …then that’s more we got from that abnoxious ice bath of a brat who packed up and left when the tough got going. Think about that.
Welcome to North Jack.
This is the best post I've read here in 8 years

You get it

Silverware is always a goal, but the priority is to "get North competitive before I go off into the sunset"
Thanks for sharing, especially if it comes at some cost.

Its always tough to know where you actually are but also always better than not knowing.

Cheers.

Do you want cryptic crap or would you prefer I told it straight to some of the supporters who helped save this club and put their blood sweat and tears into it? I haven’t forgotten.

I was privileged to have intimate access today for a number of hours via my professional role, I have told you, it will no doubt blow back on me as there were only a few in the room and the people unlikely to post on an internet forum are the CEO of the AFL, Seven and others. The club know who I am and I have now betrayed a mountain of trust. I'm not here to milk it for years pretending as some ITK charlatan.

I couldn’t give a shit. I support the NMFC. Plenty of people know my pervious user name, Im not here to barrack for individuals here on temporary employment. This board/group of supporters is not a joke and is one to be respected, we proved that many years ago and deserve straight answers when some people are in a position to provide them.
Insights and posts like this are the reason I come to this god-forsaken website. Thanks.

I'm 62 I can remember watching North in the late 60's and early 70's. We were terrible. I think it was 1972 or '73 and we beat Carlton at Princes Park who had won the flag in 1970 and '72. It was like a premiership for us. Two years later in 1974 we were playing off in the Grand Final with Barassi as coach. The following year I was at the Grand Final with my Dad. He bought a couple of tickets off scalpers before the game. It was one of the happiest days of my life to be there when we won our first VFL Premiership. I barrack for the Roos because of my Dad of course. He and Mum were Irish immigrants who came to Australia in the 1950's. Dad got a job driving trams and as did many of the Irish in those days, and they were mostly either North or St Kilda supporters. Fortunately Dad chose North! Yes the last few years have been putrid, but the sun rises again tomorrow morning, and we still have a team to support. It will turn, the plethora of young talent will eventually turn the wheel in our favour again. Hopefully the experience and support Darling and Parker (please come to North🙏) will see us beginning to bear fruit in 2025.
Yes

I was 15yo later

You get it

The new generation will eventually get it

The next 10 years are going to be like the 90s

It's going to be a ride

The guy is cooked. It’s obvious isn’t it? Do the shit for brains down at north think he’s going to turn it around? He will struggle to hold his spot in the seniors if he doesn’t.

If he turns up unfit after the Xmas break it could be the final straw for me.
You are just dissolutioned

That’ll do, pig.

Thanks Sphynx. Clarko will be 59 and a half at the end of his contract so it wouldn't be a shock if he pulled the pin. I think I'd be happier if he identified a successor (succession plans can work when the head coach actually wants out).

Me too, but I'll be ****ed if that isn't a massive breach of trust. Like the campaigner mate that takes photos of you snorting powder and shares it with everyone.
At the end of the day its our ****ing club mate, the people running the joint are always temporary, he is breaching their trust for the greater good of our club, ultimately it doesn't really matter. We have a right to know this sort of stuff.

At the end of the day its our ****ing club mate, the people running the joint are always temporary, he is breaching their trust for the greater good of our club, it doesn't really matter at the end of the day. We have a right to know this sort of stuff.
I love the info and don't doubt the authenticity but if you think publishing a private conversation on an internet forum with a bunch of strangers is okay I'm not sure where you're coming from.

Are you new to this forum?

It may be strange because I've just told you directly rather than drip feeding it over 12 months like some others on here tend to.
That's great but I bet you shook his hand at the start of the meeting? Do you think he would've spoken freely if you mentioned you'd be repeating the dialogue on big footy forum for a heap of strangers?

His candidness is not my concern. I've withheld 99% of the conversation anyway, I could post a lot more relating to the upcoming legal battles, but that's something to be respected.

Would you care about the sensitivities of Graham Duff, Caroline Wilson or others if the situation or individual was different? Or do you simply not like what I have posted?

Nothing I have said is completely shocking to be honest. IF you dont like the answers, that's your prerogative.

My takeaway from today is that we need to be keeping the short/medium term decisions extremely accountable at the moment. There's always an eye on the long term, but I believe the priority at the moment for the club and the hierarchy is the next 12-18 months, which I completely disagree with,

It’s amazing reading this thread. Anyone who has watched him knows how finished he is. Yet we have the delusional in here all desperately looking for positives and none of them relate to him not being shit next season. The guy can barely ****ing move and the ball exits our forward line with ease already.
Fast forward to next off-season after another bottom 2 finish and the same people will mount every argument they can for any player we trade/draft.

And then go off making excuses for why we continue to be shit. Not just shit bit historically shit. But apparently according to these people it’s not because of any decisions we’re making as a club and continue to make.
I don't think anyone is suggesting it's great. He's a cooked former AA premiership player who is an upgrade on Teakle/Pink. I don't know what the alternative is other than just do nothing. We do nothing and we're still shit.
What decisions would you make? Just play a couple out of a Teakle/Comben/Maley/Larkey and go to the draft?
Go small ball? Well we ain't got the pressure forwards either to make that shit happen.
Sign Membrey (wasn't too interested in us)? Cooked Day? Cooked Tabener? Young DFA (Kuek)? VFL key forward?
I'd love them but incredibly slim chance a contracted Gruzewski, Ricciardi, Lord are coming to us.
So what do you think we should be doing instead? At least put forward what you would do.

His candidness is not my concern. I've withheld 99% of the conversation anyway, I could post a lot more relating to the upcoming legal battles, but that's something to be respected.

Would you care about the sensitivities of Graham Duff, Caroline Wilson or others if the situation or individual was different? Or do you simply not like what I have posted?

Nothing I have said is completely shocking to be honest. IF you dont like the answers, that's your prerogative.

My takeaway from today is that we need to be keeping the short/medium term decisions extremely accountable at the moment. There's always an eye on the long term, but I believe the priority at the moment for the club and the hierarchy is the next 12-18 months, which I completely disagree with,
Well I certainly would be ducking him next time if I were you.

Respecting legal battles is important, but so is respecting privacy. If this information about their plans was discussed in confidence, sharing it without consent breaches their right to privacy, regardless of the public setting or the forum.

If they had intended to disclose their future plans, they would have done so themself. Being supporters of the club does not entitle us to access private conversations or strategic decisions that haven’t been made public.

Furthermore, what is the 'public interest' here? Sharing confidential information can harm the trust and integrity within the club. Instead of helping the club or its supporters, revealing such details can create unnecessary speculation. How would you feel as a coach if every discussion you had in private could be leaked? What actionable benefit does this bring to the club or its supporters? Privacy should not be sacrificed for the sake of gossip and it increases the risk of decreased transparency in the future.

Just my opinion from someone who regularly works with sensitive information

Player Watch #?: Jack Darling - has officially requested to be traded to NM on a two-year deal. Pick 64 is expected to be tabled.