News Jack Dyer Stand -Demolition Has Begun

omg. morons.

The stand looks fine enough, just slide it around the Brunton avenue side and actually keep some of the heart and soul of the club, and of old Melbourne.

before the chorus arises, as I've posted in maps on here, the distance from the railway to the MCG boundary is the same as the distance from the Richmond station to the boundary of PRO. There is plenty of room for Brunton Ave and a stand.
Nah not morons at all, just a different view. Im all for it.

I hate the idea of the Jack Dyer stand being demolished, apart from the history my grandfather sat in that stand as a member of the committee and used the dressing rooms as a player but if it means the club keeps its Punt rd home I have to accept it.
Exactly, I would hate to move.

Nah not morons at all, just a different view. Im all for it.

Me too. I’d like the stand to stay if it was possible but I’m sure every possibility was explored. I’d like a 23 year old Royce Hart to be playing for us as well but things come and go and if you don’t keep looking forward in this sport, you’re going backwards. We were a stagnant, no ideas, status quo and no money club for a long time and look at how we performed. Have to stay progressive. I’m about the future success of the club more than the history or preservation of a stand, as nice as it’d be to keep it.

Should include a 30ft HDD LED LCD 5K screen so supporters who missed out on tix can watch the 2021 GF

Jack Dyer history at RFC doesn't matter anymore to our whiz kid marketing gurus.
They must find an extra measly 50k and dismantle and relocate it to a comunity oval.

A working bee of Tiger supporter tradies could easily be acquired to do the work.

PRE had a brilliant idea, move it to Kevin Bartlett Reserve. Awesome idea.

Club has no choice. We have outgrown the facility. The aim is to stay at the Punt Road Oval. Jack Dyer will be respected in the new development.
Again why is there 'no choice'? Bulldozing the JDS is simply the path of least imagination, there are other paths. No one has actually backed up these claims of 'it's raze the JDS or the highway'.

What I find highly ironic is that we are packed to the rafters at PRO thanks to great initiatives like the Korin Gamadji Institute. And what is the central message of the KGI? It is all about the importance of connection to culture and place.

So our solution to overcrowding is to demolish the last great connection to our clubs culture and place over the last 106 years? While we host the KGI, it seems we don't learn from its teachings.

I think initially when this was raised i was against it, but now, given how much we have grown, we have to do it. And you know what, i’m actually ok with it. Go tiges.

are we still gonna get cheap tinnies?

This actually sums it up pretty well for me.

I bloody love the Jack Dyer Stand. I feel personally connected to it, and through it, to our Tiger heritage. So many memories of sitting on those uncomfortable wooden pews among the possum shit. The view across Richmond. The footage of the new recruit in the yellow and black polo being interviewed sitting in the JDS. The museum. Giving a thumbs up to Fly as he jogs down the stairs at quarter time of the ressies. The $5 cans through the window. I really didn't want it knocked down.

But most of all, I want to go to Punt Road, lean on the fence and cheer my Tigers like we have for generations. That's the real connection for me. $5 cans. Kids that sit behind the goals and change ends every quarter. Going on the ground to hear the coach at 3/4 time. It's the line that connects suburban footy to the elite level. It needs to happen on that exact bit of dirt.

I'm sad the JDS is going, but stoked that we stay on the corner of Punt and Brunton. I trust the club to respect our history, preserve what it can while cutting out a new future.

Jack Dyers legacy isn’t going anywhere. It’s etched in the folklore of the suburb 3121 itself... he is living in bronze outside the ground. The history books, club folklore, will all remember.

Some cultures manage to keep memory and history alive through word and art over thousands of years. I reckon we got this guys. The stand is a stand.

How about the possibility that this development has to continue the legacy of the club through the thousands of lives that will be positively impacted after going through those doors over the next decade?

Material objects are great, but true legacies don’t need a tower to commemorate them.

Again why is there 'no choice'? Bulldozing the JDS is simply the path of least imagination, there are other paths. No one has actually backed up these claims of 'it's raze the JDS or the highway'.

What I find highly ironic is that we are packed to the rafters at PRO thanks to great initiatives like the Korin Gamadji Institute. And what is the central message of the KGI? It is all about the importance of connection to culture and place.

So our solution to overcrowding is to demolish the last great connection to our clubs culture and place over the last 106 years? While we host the KGI, it seems we don't learn from its teachings.
Do you really think the club hasn't investigated its options in terms of whether they keep the stand or not?

Fact of the matter is that the JDS won't accommodate the facilities that are needed hence it being removed for something that does which then allows the club to continue at it's traditional home.

There is no reason why the actual seating part of the new building can't be call the Jack Dyer Stand, similar to how the Adelaide Oval has various sections of its new stands named after different identities.

the current maurice rioli room is sh*te. low ceilings and average design

surely they make a grouse one in the new jack dyer stand . maybe a glass bridge over punt rd into the royal so that supporters can go to the royal without crossing the road or the strippers can come into the maurice rioli room, whatever is easier
Yes....just yes

So true. So so true.

Let me help bear some light on this,

- Once Richmond won the 2017 Premiership, memorabilia was overflowing. It was stocked across the entire Punt Road JDS and offices. I personally walked into the men's locker room during the 2017 off season and picked up my memorabilia right inside the showers. The club has no space for inventory.

- Portable buildings are running some programs, buildings that are carrying asbestos, as these old portables all tend to carry. 'Lacks imagination' isn't as important as quality air.

- The club are not afforded any space towards Punt Road and wouldn't be allowed to demolish and redesign the recently renovated building next to the JDS.

When you saw 'lacks imagination' and 'last great culture' do you realise the Venetians stored gum powder in the Parthenon in the 1600s and decimated it? You are acting like the Jack Dyer Stand is the Great Wall of China ffs. Get a grip brother.

What I want,

- I want Richmond to be in Richmond.
- I want our club to push into the future rather than crutching on the past.
- I want Jack Dyer to still be honoured.
- I want a kick ass Welcome to Tigerland sign front and centre of the new design.
- I want those ugly portables removed.

So many of us have such a connection. Hope the club come up with a “Own a piece of the Jack Dyer Stand”. Would be nothing better than the ‘relics’ going to Richmond homes instead of the tip. From those wooden seats to bricks etc. I’d make a bench seat and watch the mighty tigers sinking a few on my JD bench.

The stand is 106 years old, how long before it had to get knocked down anyway?

Keeping the stand and re-developing the ground would have added millions more to an already $60 million cost.
Would supporters wanting to keep the dilapidated old thing be happy to fund the extra millions it would cost to keep?

And parts of it are being kept and incorporated into the new facility...

"Elements of the stand will be retained and incorporated in the new facility."

The stand had to go eventually.

News Jack Dyer Stand -Demolition Has Begun