Oppo Camp Jack Ginnivan (Traded to Hawks 2023)

I like Ginnivan’s confidence and attitude and I hope he annoys the hell out of the opposition. Not sure if he will make it, but of all our youngsters he will definitely have a crack. We need some personality out there, and even if his confidence is misplaced, I’d prefer it to being bland or tentative.

I understand the sentiment with Noble because he looks like he will struggle to be long term best 22 when we improve. Still at the club for 2 and 1/2 seasons and pretty locked into the 22 for the last 2 seasons. In that situation it would be pretty hard to give him rolling yearly contracts. He deserves 2 years based on what he has done the 2 before.

+ any talk of Noble off field by Buckley was always very complementary about his attitude and that he is someone who is striving to get the very best out of himself. Obviously we wouldn‘t be keeping on players purely on attitude and buy-in to culture. But it’d certainly help.

I don't get why so many have put a line through him. I think he's developing ok.

I certainly haven’t “put a line through him” but I think he’s a limited player who has probably shown what he’ll offer going forward. That said, Noble wont be the worst player included in a senior 22 across the league.

I think the entire forward line will be something of a mild pleasant surprise.

The forward personnel are certainly not star studded but the delivery has been atrocious, so there is bound to be noticeable improvement.

Yep couldn’t agree more.

Getting it in there quicker will be the starting point and if we can do that I’d expect players like Elliott, Henry, Checkers and Ginnivan to kick more goals than they did this season.

I like this kid I watch most of our vfl games and I thought ginnivan just kept getting better and better, he strikes me as someone who wants to be on the big stage, he doesn't lack confidence, he's got a bit of class and spunk about him as well as a bit of cheek, he's a good kick and can definitely hit the scoreboard I think we may have found one.

Jeez mate I reckon you summed him up perfectly.

I think the entire forward line will be something of a mild pleasant surprise.

The forward personnel are certainly not star studded but the delivery has been atrocious, so there is bound to be noticeable improvement.

The old “ they can’t get any worse” theory?

I’d rather look forward to new personnel improving the forward line rather than just hoping the same old lineup just get some improved delivery

I'm bullish on what this kid could become based on what he produced this year!

The Club IMO has changed their thinking towards drafting 'natural' forwards the past couple of drafts, maybe they are starting to realise it's easier to develop pressure act skills than natural forward instincts. I do think Bucks by his actions in his time undervalued natural forward instincts, and scoreboard pressure. Last year CFC drafted McMahon, Johnson, Henry, McCreery, and Ginninvan all natural forwards.

What I found exciting about Ginnivan this year was his goal sense. There were a couple of goals in the VFL this year that I thought, WOW! That's a good goal! These goals were mainly 40 m goals off a couple of steps, he had no time to look up, straighten up and balance himself and yet he still threaded them through.

I also think at 185 cm with his footy skills he could rotate through the middle in time. This will require considerable development in his body and endurance but it's possible. His footy IQ, goal sense, foot skills and potential remind me of a young Beams....Maybe he needs to get some tats!

The Club IMO has changed their thinking towards drafting 'natural' forwards the past couple of drafts, maybe they are starting to realise it's easier to develop pressure act skills than natural forward instincts. I do think Bucks by his actions in his time undervalued natural forward instincts, and scoreboard pressure. Last year CFC drafted McMahon, Johnson, Henry, McCreery, and Ginninvan all natural forwards.

What I found exciting about Ginnivan this year was his goal sense. There were a couple of goals in the VFL this year that I thought, WOW! That's a good goal! These goals were mainly 40 m goals off a couple of steps, he had no time to look up, straighten up and balance himself and yet he still threaded them through.

I also think at 185 cm with his footy skills he could rotate through the middle in time. This will require considerable development in his body and endurance but it's possible. His footy IQ, goal sense, foot skills and potential remind me of a young Beams....Maybe he needs to get some tats!
as long as he does not end up like Beams that,s all I want, Beams could play once upon a time

Spot on he's a natural forward and I'm bullish on him too he has that forward craft and some nice tricks and a beautiful kick and knows where the goals are, I think he developed nicely in the Magoos and showed a bit at the top level also, he'll be ready to go this year.

He shows promise but has a way to go yet, he’s not a lock in our best 22.

Oppo Camp Jack Ginnivan (Traded to Hawks 2023)