Oppo Camp Jaidyn Stephenson (Traded to Nth Melb. 2020)

Should This Thread Be Kept Open?

• Yes

Votes: 30 54.5%
  • No

Votes: 25 45.5%

Man this makes me so god dam angry!
The kid kicks a fantastic goal and people like you are using it as evidence of match fixing!
FFS THIS FORUM IS TOTALLY *****!

I will never watch another one if your videos again.

Like I said people are running their own agendas on this forum atm. There's nothing you say that will make them think otherwise. Better off just ignoring them.

Its worrying you can't understand how that is a perfectly legitimate question in the circumstances. Is it because he's a Collingwood player that he is immediately cleared of anything and it was all just one big silly mistake? ... Despite him knowing it was against the rules, and doing in 3 times, and taking 5 weeks to report himself (only after a teammate told him to).

Its even been reported he bet on himself to kick a certain amount of goals, but to you its an outrage when someone raises that as a concern? You think it's an "agenda"... What a joke, so blinded by rose tinted glasses you can't even discuss what's happened.

You think it's an "agenda"... What a joke, so blinded by rose tinted glasses you can't even discuss what's happened.
Everything is an agenda, you think they just pulled 10 weeks out of a hat and it lines up with the first week of finals by coincidence? Everyone is looking after their own arse, as always

*bet responsibly*

Everything is an agenda, you think they just pulled 10 weeks out of a hat and it lines up with the first week of finals by coincidence? Everyone is looking after their own arse, as always

*bet responsibly*

No, Collingwood negotiated the 10 weeks so he could be back for finals and threatened legal action if the AFL pushed for more.

The only person who doesn't have an agenda is Stevo apparently.. He just made a silly mistake... Or 3... Over 5 weeks...

No, Collingwood negotiated the 10 weeks so he could be back for finals and threatened legal action if the AFL pushed for more.
So we didn't like their agenda and forced them to ours, well as long as everything was above board and the appropriate penalty was handed out and not influenced by any other factors like finals, hypocritical sponsorship of a destructive product or legal threats

ive been watching many many many posts relating jaidyns situation.....some of you have common sense and some of you are absolute flogs......moving forward 12 months when hes is ripping apart opponants again and becoming one of the best in the comp....no one will bring this up again and he will all be forgiven....HE,S 20 yo...hes made a stuff up...how many hve all u guys made....proberbly a hell of a lot worse then jaidyn has...hes admitted his mistake and just wants to move on.....so move on with him...because in a blink of an eye he will be flashing across your screens again in YOUR jumper...he loves your club and will make a menz...all he needs is for all u guys to move forward with him.....lucky your club has him././..he is of sound character and is a great kid...so relax up on him
Obviously you know him, so please wish him all the best and support him as best you can. I appreciate the sentiment you’re providing and wanting to support your mate, but what he’s done is borderline spot-fixing and brings the integrity of the competition into doubt. I don’t believe he’s the only one doing it, but at the same time the whack he’s copping is right, if not light.

As I’ve said all through this thread, hope he learns from it and we can all move on.

Sure. But the integrity of the AFL is in question here: the fact that the AFL is willing to negotiate a penalty for an allegedly “disreputable” offence shows that the offence is not disreputable to the AFL.

A court does not negotiate with a murderer over a sentence.

What garbage. Courts don’t negotiate but prosecutors do. Plea bargains.

The reason there are negotiations here is to come to an acceptable penalty (to all parties) and avoid the need for a tribunal hearing potentially followed by an Appeals Board hearing and then onto the courts. Entirely normal behaviour in any civil or indeed criminal (at least related to which charges to plead guilty) matter.

FMD all you muppets banging on about the integrity of the game blah blah blah... When it comes to integrity AFL is on a par with WWE, have a look at the goal review system FFS.

In every desision the AFL make, fairness and integrity always take a back seat to maximising revenue. Even in this verdict Stephenson is available for finals. Why $$$$

But oh no Jaidyn's $12 multi's are tearing the very fabric of the game......spare me.

Naïve kid, makes stupid mistake, pays massive price.

We got your back Stevo, but you owe us. A premiership and Norm Smith and we are square.

Not sure it's just age and maturity. He's a fearless risk-taker on the field, chances are he'll also be a fearless risk-taker off the field. Seems a really nice kid who wants to do the right thing, but I suspect the odd stupid risk is just a part of his make up and comes from the same fearless source as his future greatness.
He wouldn't be human at his age if he didn't take risks and do stupid things. I'm surprised these betting offenses don't occur more regularly. He'll be OK. From a long term perspective this might drive him to be the best he can possibly be. This story will be next Monday's fish and chip wrappings. Move on.

The only person who doesn't have an agenda is Stevo apparently.. He just made a silly mistake... Or 3... Over 5 weeks...
Do you think Stevo is the only AFL player who bets on the footy?

No I don’t think so. However, it’s no excuse.
No player should be betting on anything to do with the AFL. Once you allow even a small bet, the whole game is compromised.

Mark my words the AFL is at risk of a greater issue when it comes to the game. The mere fact you can bet on a result opens it up to corruption. If you’re willing to place a bet on a game of football you are playing in, when you full well know that it is forbidden, then what makes you think you cannot be bribed with larger $$$ by crime/gambling syndicates?

This is a real issue. And I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s something the AFL has already faced and hidden it from the public, because this would be a bigger issue than the Essendon injecting saga.

FWIW I think the punishment was very lean. Should have been 22 games with another 22 games suspended or even second strike and you’re banned from the game.

The age old, do I fess up or not....

The only part I’d suggest to add to your post is, once he went to Geoff Walsh any advice given would have to be (and only be) to do the confession. There can’t be any cover ups. That’s far worse.
Agreed, once he went to Walsh it was all over. Walsh had no option.
The crap advice came from Howe.

Agreed, once he went to Walsh it was all over. Walsh had no option.
The crap advice came from Howe.
Truth will out.

Once Jaidyn spoke, once someone knew....

I’d be stunned if other players from all clubs have never had a small bet here or there with their mates.
But they’d certainly have the message reinforced now.
Don’t bet on AFL.
Gamble responsibly.

The argument of a 5 year old....’but other kids were doing it Mum’
It doesn’t exonerate him. Not at all.

But jmac70 raises an interesting side line.
Is he the lone wol?

I’d suspect they’d be a few here and there with mates. Not lots but here and there over the past few seasons.
But they’d all be reminded now, it’s not on. In any shape or form.

Hard lesson, lesson learned.

Truth will out.

Once Jaidyn spoke, once someone knew....

I’d be stunned if other players from all clubs have never had a small bet here or there with their mates.
But they’d certainly have the message reinforced now.
Don’t bet on AFL.
Gamble responsibly.
This is where we disagree, theres no evidence that truth would have come out.
A mate of mine confided in me 30 years ago that he was worried about getting caught growing shall we say 'something illegal'. I told him to get rid of them, he did.
End of story.

Howe should have asked him if he used his own account. The answer no. Ok they can never prove it. Don't do that stupid sh1t again, don't discuss it, and let's go play footy.
Instead, Howe drove him to the police station and said let's go get you charged.
Mind boggling.

ive been watching many many many posts relating jaidyns situation.....some of you have common sense and some of you are absolute flogs......moving forward 12 months when hes is ripping apart opponants again and becoming one of the best in the comp....no one will bring this up again and he will all be forgiven....HE,S 20 yo...hes made a stuff up...how many hve all u guys made....proberbly a hell of a lot worse then jaidyn has...hes admitted his mistake and just wants to move on.....so move on with him...because in a blink of an eye he will be flashing across your screens again in YOUR jumper...he loves your club and will make a menz...all he needs is for all u guys to move forward with him.....lucky your club has him././..he is of sound character and is a great kid...so relax up on him

Scottie: as always with you mate, this is from the heart and says a lot about YOUR character and your ability to judge our boy's character. We all can see (as I'm sure with hindsight now so can Jaidyn) that what he did was dumb. But if there's an actual saint amongst us here that's NEVER made a mistake....well then let he or she fire the first stone!

Scottie for what its worth mate, the next time you see Jaidyn, can you just put your arm around him and tell him that we all trust him and love him like we always have and always will. He's owned up and he'll take his lumps and he'll come back a wiser man. Having been in your position (of having a close relationship to an AFL "star") I know just how human they are and how hurt they feel when they think they've let "Us" (their supporter base) down. For them letting US down is almost worse than facing their immediate families. And social media just amplifies this feeling and we forget sometimes just HOW YOUNG and VULNERABLE these young blokes are. We see them doing amazing, almost superhuman things on the footy field and we just assume that they're unbelievably confident and rational off the field as well.

Jaidyn: If you're listening son, what you did was just a once off. Don't go smashing yourself over this. Sure, in your time off reflect on HOW you can resist BS like gambling and social media but just use the time to get stronger. You've always been a resilient type, now you have to take that next level. Help other where you can and make this time off into a positive so that when you do RETURN to us, you'll be unstoppable again.
Good on you lad, chin up. Side by side.

Feel for the kid. A naive mistake, a $36 bet and he gets 10 weeks out and effectively 90k worth of penalties.

Heavy handed by the AFL. What next, extradite him to China?

You say integrity, I say taking a mate to the hangman.

He wouldn't be in the leadership group for long if he did nothing with the information he had.
We are without Stevo for 10 weeks & that sux big time. The kid has class & speed & we need him desperately up forward.
But if it's a vivid warning to others that may have already dabbled or were thinking of doing so then perhaps it's not all bad.
Stevo will have learned a valuable lesson & many others will have learned from the penalty as well.
Coming forward & self reporting got him a reduced sentence & allows him to move on. If he didn't & this got out near finals or even next year the penalty would have been much much worse.

Sorry for the intrusion.

I think the penalty is pretty harsh for a kid making an admittedly dumb mistake.

The AFL is saturated with gambling advertisements. They've happily used our game to create how many tens of thousands of gambling addicts, and how many families and lives has this destroyed? How could they not see these gigantic bloody chickens coming home to roost?

Yet a youngster who has grown up in that environment places some small bets on he and his team to do well and is thrown to the wolves at an incredibly convenient time for the AFL, which was being grilled over the security issues.

Here's hoping he comes back alright mentally and rips open the competition again, barring North, of course.