Oppo Camp Jaidyn Stephenson (Traded to Nth Melb. 2020)

Should This Thread Be Kept Open?

• Yes

Votes: 30 54.5%
  • No

Votes: 25 45.5%

Its delusional to think players dont bet but it doesn't make it right. I've seen racing stewards in Tabs punting and you'd think they would know better.

Its life. People f.ck up. Drink driving is illegal yet it happens every day.

Imo the penalty is obsessive.
Well placed post.

It’s harsh, too harsh.

The drink driving one is the simple one. All the education, all the advertising on it, yet people chance themselves every day.

Prosecutors negotiate charges. Once charges are determined a court never negotiates a sentence.

That's because there's no need to. No benefit for the prosecutor; however, all work place tribunals negotiate consequences for breaches of rules, becasue the threat of court hangs over their heads.

So we didn't like their agenda and forced them to ours, well as long as everything was above board and the appropriate penalty was handed out and not influenced by any other factors like finals, hypocritical sponsorship of a destructive product or legal threats

The club may well have been pushing for a fine for all we know and settled on 10 weeks rather than see Stevo deregistered.

So being in the leadership group means throwing a team mate under the bus instead of quietly helping him change his behaviour.
Let's just agree to disagree on what real leadership is.

So you'd prefer to apply politician's ethics of denying everything until something comes out to prove otherwise... no wonder this country is going to hell in a hand basket.

Bravo to Howe for his fearless advice to one of his charges, bravo to Stephenson for heeding that advice and manning up. Lets not forget that that entire scenario arose because Stevo himself let it slip. Thankfully it was to someone who had his back rather than some media flog.

So you'd prefer to apply politician's ethics of denying everything until something comes out to prove otherwise... no wonder this country is going to hell in a hand basket.

Bravo to Howe for his fearless advice to one of his charges, bravo to Stephenson for heeding that advice and manning up. Lets not forget that that entire scenario arose because Stevo himself let it slip. Thankfully it was to someone who had his back rather than some media flog.
The advice probably saved his AFL career, they both have performed admirably.

When I was 18 I was addicted to gambling for a short stint of 3 months. I went to Crown alone, walked in with $50 went up to $800 on roulette, talked myself into going to $1000 and eventually I walked away with nothing. To this day I blame myself and myself only. We all have choices to make, negative or positive, it's only up to us.

That’s not an addiction mate. That’s being young and dumb.

There’s an excellent article online in The Age about the hypocrisy of the gambling the AFL promotes and supports v this penalty.

There really should be greater focus on the gambling message the AFL promotes - it’s an absolute disgrace.

I think people are overly fixated with the AFL's gambling relationship and overstating it's impact. Has next to zero bearing on this case. Gambling is allowed on football and other sporting codes. Blame the legislators, not the sporting codes. Much of the advertising we see is due to gambling's financing of media, not the AFL or whichever other sporting code you care to name. We hear the adds on the radio and see them on TV and in the papers, not because the gambling organisations channel funds into the AFL, but because they channel funds into those media outlets. It isn't hypocrisy for those sporting organisations to then seek to garner their fair share of the pie that is generated of their activities, they'd be stupid not to.

Yep - leaving aside the "moral" question of what is the right thing to do, maybe Greening Magic should take a look at the AFL National Gambling Policy when assessing Howe's behaviour.

Once Howe received knowledge of Stevo's punting, if he took no action, he could likely be seen to also have breached the Co-operation section of the guidelines, specifically,

"A Person must not...be a party to another committing any breach of this Policy"

I know exactly the position Howe was in, he chose himself.
It had nothing to do with 'leadership'.

public-news-223017-muppets--2x1--940.jpg

I understand the natural reaction here to say Howe should've done the best thing for the club short term but I'll back him to the hilt on this.

Just imagine if one of Stevo's mates had a falling out with him in August and blabs about it to a journo , who then finds out Howe (and the club) had kept it hush, hush. It would've turned from 10 weeks for Stevo into a massive suspension and a club wide crisis.

Once it was out there , I don't see any alternative.

Wow, so we're now equating Stevo (20 year old playing footy) to a politician, and Howe is brave.

As you say, no wonder this country is going to hell in a hand basket.

The focus on that torp causes me some dismay. I enjoyed watching it at the game, enjoyed the look of disbelief on everyone's face that he'd unloaded such a monstrous and beautiful thing. It was exuberant, a pure sort of footy, an essence of the game being regimented away...but now?

We'll move on. These things hurt, but as Winnie Churchill said: when you're in hell, keep walking.

Yeah. Nah. That goal remains a moment of pure joy.

Sure, a small bet may have been a small factor in his motivation for going for a torp, but Eddie Betts's decision to go for goal rather than centre it on the weekend was probably partially due to his desire to have a small victory in his personal trash talking contest with Stack. Heaps of players trash talk with their teammates and want to win those trash talking victories by outdoing their mates, probably sometimes effects their decisions on the footy field. Blokes who are going well in the Coleman race are probably partially motivated by a desire to have a victory there - the same with any award. Blokes in contract negotiations might be more inclined to take the game on in order to impress, etc...

Wow, so we're now equating Stevo (20 year old playing footy) to a politician, and Howe is brave.

Hmmmm, maybe re-read what I've written.

I understand the natural reaction here to say Howe should've done the best thing for the club short term but I'll back him to the hilt on this.

Just imagine if one of Stevo's mates had a falling out with him in August and blabs about it to a journo , who then finds out Howe (and the club) had kept it hush, hush. It would've turned from 10 weeks for Stevo into a massive suspension and a club wide crisis.

Once it was out there , I don't see any alternative.

Imagine if he'd let slip the same quip in an on-field after the game interview when queried about a team mates performance....

This is where we disagree, theres no evidence that truth would have come out.
A mate of mine confided in me 30 years ago that he was worried about getting caught growing shall we say 'something illegal'. I told him to get rid of them, he did.
End of story.

Howe should have asked him if he used his own account. The answer no. Ok they can never prove it. Don't do that stupid sh1t again, don't discuss it, and let's go play footy.
Instead, Howe drove him to the police station and said let's go get you charged.
Mind boggling.

Howe didn't drive him to the "police station" and nor did he "dob him in". Howe simply suggested to Stevo that he should probably let the club know what has happened otherwise his career could be in jeopardy. A few things could have happened if Howe did not have this chat with Stevo:

1) Stevo continued to make bets during the year;
2) Stevo made a bet against his own side; and
3) Stevo got found out for making these bets instead of self reporting.

Howe limited the damage in my mind and did the right thing. He saved Stevo's career and for that Stevo should be thankful. Stevo had to learn what he did was wrong and now with 10 weeks on the sidelines, hopefully he will never touch an AFL bet again during his career.

I'll lastly add that Howe could have been in trouble had he not clarified what Stevo meant when they were chatting as they walked down the race. Howe said this is what I think you should do, now it's up to you.

Just wanted to say, 10 weeks is a big whack but I can understand why it's such a significant ban. And, seriously, well done to Howe. I would hope that players in the Cats' leadership group would respond in the same way. Setting a culture in place, like players like Howe do, will have a far more positive impact on the club than having Stephenson out there for the next 10 games and never addressing the issue (or worse, being given a tacit indication that it's okay).

I think some in society lose sight of their moral compass at times, or it is in need of recalibration. Jeremy Howe absolutely did the right thing in advising Stephenson to come clean and go to Walsh, everything in life comes back to your own personal integrity.

Nathan is brilliant in the media.
Yes he is.
Actually a special talent.
Not many can master the medium the way he does.

The country would be a better place if we swept more indiscretions under the carpet? Wow.