Agree, it’s lame afEagles fans should stop using this type of stuff to attack Freo fans, kinda pathetic to read through.
Seems to be Australian athletes, and not just AFL players. Something needs fixing on how these players are been conditioned to be a professional sportsperson.Hope Jesse is going to be okay.
Are players from other sports around the globe taking time off for mental health reasons? Seems to be happening quite a bit in the AFL at the moment.
AgreedSeems to be Australian athletes, and not just AFL players. Something needs fixing on how these players are been conditioned to be a professional sportsperson.
All this ‘go home to family and friends’ and ‘mental health issues’ doesn’t seem to be a factor in most other sports around the world.
Kids play sport for fun mate. The reason why some comps choose not to have ladders is because of overbearing adults who act like winning is everything. Much more important is teaching kids the skills, teaching them to get along with their peers and getting them to thrive in a team environment. Not having ladders doesnt mean they are being babied. They will have heaps of chances later for serious competition.Agreed
We're also one of the very few countries that have junior sport not have ladders or keep scores. Then these kids become adults and can't handle the pressure...funny that
Our under 10's soccer doesn't have a ladder. Luton Town under 8's go to Spain for tournaments against clubs from around Europe. How babied are our kids compared to the rest of the world?
I wish we could go back 24 months to the shit fights over who was better between Joey and Jesse, both have had a terrible 2 years for differing reasons.
Oliver > Parish though
It doesn't seem to be a factor because you don't hear about it. It doesn't matter whether you are an Australian sportsman or a sportsman from any country. Mental health has no discrimination. It is just as prevalent everywhere in the world. There would be many sportsman who have mental health issues that choose not to tell the whole world about it. One positive thing is at least Some Australian sportsman are being open about it, which can only benefit others.Seems to be Australian athletes, and not just AFL players. Something needs fixing on how these players are been conditioned to be a professional sportsperson.
All this ‘go home to family and friends’ and ‘mental health issues’ doesn’t seem to be a factor in most other sports around the world.
Why can’t modern youth be satisfied with a few beers like previous generations?
As soon as a kid can count, they can keep score. It's ridiculous not to at any age. This attitude doesn't exactly help the next generation for the real world does it.Kids play sport for fun mate. The reason why some comps choose not to have ladders is because of overbearing adults who act like winning is everything. Much more important is teaching kids the skills, teaching them to get along with their peers and getting them to thrive in a team environment. Not having ladders doesnt mean they are being babied. They will have heaps of chances later for serious competition.
1st off, Colin Sylvia wasnt a High risk trade. He was a free agent. So we didnt trade a couple of 1st rounders for him. Secondly, you know he is dead right?That’s true, another high risk-questionable reward effort.
I'd say it is a bit more rampant personally. I didn't know too many people dropping acid and pills straight out of high school, now I'm surprised if anyone isn't. There's a lot more festivals and a lot more punters than there were 20 years ago, and it's way easier to score drugs than ever too. IMO.People may not like it but that's the reality of the situation. Ridiculous taxes on booze and blatant rorting of pub goers will send teens and early 20's who have limited spending money to a cheaper alternative. It also isn't new, or even more rampant, it's just more wildly publicized due to social media IMO
I know quite a few who were out of high school 15 years ago.I'd say it is a bit more rampant personally. I didn't know too many people dropping acid and pills straight out of high school, now I'm surprised if anyone isn't. There's a lot more festivals and a lot more punters than there were 20 years ago, and it's way easier to score drugs than ever too. IMO.
In 2016 the weekly question posed to guests on "On the Couch" was who would you rather out of Jesse Hogan and Jake Stringer. After 2015 they were the two hottest commodities in the league. Neither have really progressed for different reasons.I wish we could go back 24 months to the shit fights over who was better between Joey and Jesse, both have had a terrible 2 years for differing reasons.
Maybe it’s becoming more acceptable in Australian sport to take time off for mental health, more so than it not being a factor elsewhere.Seems to be Australian athletes, and not just AFL players. Something needs fixing on how these players are been conditioned to be a professional sportsperson.
Eagles fans have pretty short memories that 2/3rds of their playing list from late 90s til now give themselves a drug induced cleft palate.Do I think Jesse most likely enjoys some recreational substances? Yep.
Do I think this is legitimate? Yep, he has always struck me as a bit odd and has had a pretty crappy time of it in recent years.
Eagles fans should stop using this type of stuff to attack Freo fans, kinda pathetic to read through.
Oh right mate, I see your point. My post was more about having official ladders for kids aged about 10. But as for not keeping the scores, I am surprised with that. I agree with you that being taught to be a gracious loser is extremely important that age. Some kids get too easily upset when they lose. As long as the main focus is kids having fun out there and improving, I don't see anything wrong with keeping the scores. Can't you still tell the kids the score anyway?As soon as a kid can count, they can keep score. It's ridiculous not to at any age. This attitude doesn't exactly help the next generation for the real world does it.
A soccer club here had a football director over from Germany to have a look at their program and give advice. He laughed at juniors not keeping score, couldn't comprehend it. Not only are we falling behind the rest of the world in many sports, but it's also important to teach kids they don't always win. Being a gracious loser and bouncing back from it are more important I'd argue. We're getting less resilient as a society, maybe this has something to do with it?
Maybe it’s becoming more acceptable in Australian sport to take time off for mental health, more so than it not being a factor elsewhere.
Yeah and we still get reemed over it so why does Freo get a pass ?Eagles fans have pretty short memories that 2/3rds of their playing list from late 90s til now give themselves a drug induced cleft palate.
Eagles fans have pretty short memories that 2/3rds of their playing list from late 90s til now give themselves a drug induced cleft palate.
Beer makes me bloated and tired. Then sometimes I fall asleep, or if I eat a lot too I vomit. Also to get to this state which can sometimes be fun, it costs me heaps as pints are like anywhere between $9-$15. I also wake up with a pretty nasty hangover.Why can’t modern youth be satisfied with a few beers like previous generations?
Everything? It's not like he's killed anyone. He's a guy in his early 20's not making the most of his footy career at the moment. A very minor 'crime' in the grand scheme of things, and I dare say going through what he has been through in the past few years is a valid contributor to it.So let me get this right, if a blokes Dad dies of cancer and you personally go through hardship then you get a free pass with everything ? well I should get away with pitch forking babies out of prams down the local child care facility ( note: I would not ever do that you SJW types, its a point I'm trying to make here ).
Kids play sport for fun mate. The reason why some comps choose not to have ladders is because of overbearing adults who act like winning is everything. Much more important is teaching kids the skills, teaching them to get along with their peers and getting them to thrive in a team environment. Not having ladders doesnt mean they are being babied. They will have heaps of chances later for serious competition.
Why can’t modern youth be satisfied with a few beers like previous generations?