Rumour Jessie Hogan Out Indefinitely for Mental Health Reasons.

More like overbearing adults who have no concept of the realities of the real world and haven't taught their kids they don't get to win everything.
You're acting like this isn't the generation where parents come in to school to yell at the teachers for he behaviour and failings of their kids.

You really think kids are going to be 'thriving' in a team environment when they have not experienced losing before?

Yep, I started playing u/10 footy when I was 7, full rules, full contact, ladder, scores, finals. Athletics at 6, cricket at 12. I just wanted to compete and win. If I played in a shit footy side, which was rare, I'd concentrate on beating whoever I was playing on, at least I could win something.

Do I think Jesse most likely enjoys some recreational substances? Yep.
Do I think this is legitimate? Yep, he has always struck me as a bit odd and has had a pretty crappy time of it in recent years.

Eagles fans should stop using this type of stuff to attack Freo fans, kinda pathetic to read through.
Yeah and so lucky that all Melbourne and Fremantle fans were SO supportive of Beams right!

Beer makes me bloated and tired. Then sometimes I fall asleep, or if I eat a lot too I vomit. Also to get to this state which can sometimes be fun, it costs me heaps as pints are like anywhere between $9-$15. I also wake up with a pretty nasty hangover.

If I take drugs, say an MD Cap like Jesse was on in the famous Snapchat (I think), it costs me $20-$25 and keeps me buzzing socially for 2-4 hours. If I don't take it too far I can sleep no worries and wake up pretty fresh.

Hope this helps with your question.

1. How do you know it’s MDMA or not some combo of other hell knows what rat poison?

2. Even if it is pure MDMA (extremely unlikely) what are the medium to long term effects on brain chemistry?

3. If the answer to either of these questions is “I don’t know” why take such a risk?

1. How do you know it’s MDMA or not some combo of other hell knows what rat poison?

2. Even if it is pure MDMA (extremely unlikely) what are the medium to long term effects on brain chemistry?

3. If the answer to either of these questions is “I don’t know” why take such a risk?

I had a mate who took way too much MDMA one night, and had a long term comedown. It happens to some people. Took him about a year for his anxiety and depression to fade and be normal again, first 3 months he could barely leave his house and basically failed his semester, but gradually got better after that. He had zero issues with anxiety and depression before that. He's 100% back to normal now though.

I also had another mate take a normal dose, and it took him 3 months to get over it. MDMA can be a bastard.

Beer makes me bloated and tired. Then sometimes I fall asleep, or if I eat a lot too I vomit. Also to get to this state which can sometimes be fun, it costs me heaps as pints are like anywhere between $9-$15. I also wake up with a pretty nasty hangover.

If I take drugs, say an MD Cap like Jesse was on in the famous Snapchat (I think), it costs me $20-$25 and keeps me buzzing socially for 2-4 hours. If I don't take it too far I can sleep no worries and wake up pretty fresh.

Agreed with this until you said wake up pretty fresh. No you don’t lol. You feel like complete utter shit when you wake up.

Some of the comments in this thread are despicable.

Bloke has lost his father, survived cancer himself and has struggled with a personal mental health battle. Added on top of that the pressure from being a highly touted mini draft selection, having 3 * 40+ goal seasons by the age of 23 and having the ridiculous pressures of being an AFL Footballer on top of this with everything he's been through.

He's probably gone through more than half the people on this board. He just needs good support from the club, his friends and family.

I hope he can get over his personal struggles, because I truly think he has the capabilities to be a one in a generation player due to how much he achieved and still isn't even 25 (with most KPF's sometimes not hitting their strides till their mid 20s).

Even if he doesn't, I hope Jesse can find happiness in his life in general. There's more to life than footy.

This thread's making me wanna polish off that gram of mdma I bought a couple of weeks ago :D :D :D

None of this "It's better than booze!", I'll have some of that too thanks, perfect weather for it.

Hope you're doing the same Jesse!

More like overbearing adults who have no concept of the realities of the real world and haven't taught their kids they don't get to win everything.
You're acting like this isn't the generation where parents come in to school to yell at the teachers for he behaviour and failings of their kids.

You really think kids are going to be 'thriving' in a team environ'ment when they have not experienced losing before?
I am a teacher, so I know what you mean about the way some parents act towards them. I am not sure of the kids you are talking about. They all lose at some stage. Kids of aged 10 don't need a score to tell them whether they have won or lost. If they are getting better, trying their hardest and having fun, then they have won.

Bloke has lost his father, survived cancer himself and has struggled with a personal mental health battle. Added on top of that the pressure from being a highly touted mini draft selection, having 3 * 40+ goal seasons by the age of 23 and having the ridiculous pressures of being an AFL Footballer on top of this with everything he's been through.

He's probably gone through more than half the people on this board. He just needs good support from the club, his friends and family.

I hope he can get over his personal struggles, because I truly think he has the capabilities to be a one in a generation player due to how much he achieved and still isn't even 25 (with most KPF's sometimes not hitting their strides till their mid 20s).

Even if he doesn't, I hope Jesse can find happiness in his life in general. There's more to life than footy.
This is what freo fans put up on a daily basis so none of this is new to me.

I think there are still many people out there who are ignorant how serious mental health issues are. Don't know how many young people have to take their own lives before people get it. Get well Jesse.

1st off, Colin Sylvia wasnt a High risk trade. He was a free agent. So we didnt trade a couple of 1st rounders for him. Secondly, you know he is dead right?
Well I didn’t say that he was a trade or that you gave up early draft picks for him.

My point was that Freo has gone after a few players with known issues off field and it hasn’t worked out for them.

Yikes some people get defensive on here.

Well I didn’t say that he was a trade or that you gave up early draft picks for him.

My point was that Freo has gone after a few players with known issues off field and it hasn’t worked out for them.

Yikes some people get defensive on here.
Yeah well I misunderstood you on that.

But yeah I found it funny when people said he was high risk meaning we traded our future to get him.

This is what freo fans put up on a daily basis so none of this is new to me.

It's just baffling how many people are out there that stigma-tise mental health. Even if drugs were in the question, people use it as an escape simply because they're not in a good place. Some of the nuffies on here seem to think it's the opposite?

Do I think Jesse most likely enjoys some recreational substances? Yep.
Do I think this is legitimate? Yep, he has always struck me as a bit odd and has had a pretty crappy time of it in recent years.

Eagles fans should stop using this type of stuff to attack Freo fans, kinda pathetic to read through.
There's probably been more Melbourne fans having a go but whatever.
Why do humans love to assign collective responsibility? It is most noticeable with race but even supporting a football club can get you targeted for things you have nothing to do with.

Interesting insight

I am a teacher, so I know what you mean about the way some parents act towards them. I am not sure of the kids you are talking about. They all lose at some stage. Kids of aged 10 don't need a score to tell them whether they have won or lost. If they are getting better, trying their hardest and having fun, then they have won.

They may have won in the soft adults eyes.

AFL need to double down. Are player and club using mental health to cover for indiscretions?

Or is there an epidemic that the AFL needs to step in and change ? (and not just a token mental health awareness round!)

If you're alluding to drug abuse, the AFL would need to change the 3 strikes policy.
I would think the players might have a bit to say about that.

Remember the non-performance drug policy is something the AFL players with the AFL came up with to help players with addictions.
The AFL playing group volunteered to be a part of this testing program as it was seen not to be all about "catching" players.

If the policy no longer becomes about player health and more about crime and punishment, I feel the players quite rightly will rethink their participation.
The AFL could try and put their foot down but the Players could also strike if they felt strongly enough.

Personally I think they should keep it the way it is, at least the clubs are now able to work through the issues with the Player without the grubby media or social media scumbags clouding the situation.

F*** people are campaigners.

Dude lost his father, got cancer himself and a had a serious foot injury and people are questioning whether or not he's actually having mental health issues?

You are garbage humans.

The losing a family member thing doesn't really excuse much, it's sad of course but in the normal course of most people's lives they will first lose their grandparents and then parents with some being a bit earlier or later then others. It's life. I would be absolutely gutted if I lost my Dad, I would have days, maybe a couple of weeks off work then I would be back. Pretty much like every other person who has a job.

Injury is pretty similar, there's not a week that goes by that someone in my company doesn't have some sort of operation/injury/sickness. Hips, knee's, shoulders, ankles etc. work helps out and makes life easier of course and they come back to work, and Jesse would get and he has the advantage of having the best DR's ,Physio's, Dietitians etc to help him get better.

But anyone can get mental health issue, people with perfect lives can have them and people who's life is shit have no mental problems at all. My point is I don't think you can really say, "look what happened to him, of course he has mental health issues." Especially when it's just standard stuff you expect in life.

Oh and other people have touched on this before, we've got to a point where anytime anyone is out of line they blame mental health. Have a bender, mental health. Get in a fight, mental health. Bang your mates missus, mental health. It's starting to lose it's zing, it's not fair to genuine cases but there it is.

It's just baffling how many people are out there that stigma-tise mental health. Even if drugs were in the question, people use it as an escape simply because they're not in a good place. Some of the nuffies on here seem to think it's the opposite?

Not necessarily. Some people are in a good place but have a desire to go to an even higher place of euphoric bliss and elation. That’s what then lands them in trouble and brings on the existential crises and mental health demons. Ordinary everyday life, which before seemed fine and okay, now just seems a total drag compared to the 10 hours spent on Saturday night/Sunday morning feeling invincible and loved up beyond words.

Party drugs can definitely become the primary cause for mental illness, where an illness was not present beforehand.

Rumour Jessie Hogan Out Indefinitely for Mental Health Reasons.