Player Watch JHF - Jason Horne-Francis

Honestly I don’t think “soft” is the right term but I certainly think his move was certainly orchestrated even before he was drafted. I think it’s a bit rich for him to cut instability when his behaviour was a large component. Hard to separate the scuttlebutt from reality but if sone of these rumours are true it appears that north probably couldn’t have done things much different. North haven’t generally lost many players they’ve wanted to keep, even TT who had his issues this year is back. Gut feel is he was going to do this regardless despite his assurances pre draft

With his apparent eagerness to come across pre draft I think it was the right thing to pick him up and go for the highest possible talent not the collection of slightly not as good.

No. 1 picks go to the bottom side, it happens teams generally aren’t there because their brilliant in all areas. This “north are a basketcase and will always be” narrative is a bit odd, look at Melbourne 10 yrs ago or even Richmond or Carlton. Maybe it took hitting bottom to really rebuild

The CEO stuff needs sorting and it will. The Clarko hiring was a pretty good fix to the terrible coaching staff, but then a complete (perhaps strategic) bombshell not of norths doing hit the club. If that stuff was discoverable I’m sure it’d be known well long ago.

Those comparing JHF to Buckley are waaay off. Buckley informed the Bears upfront that he would only play there for a year, he would leave at the end of his 1 year contract. In that one year though, he busted his arse and earned the respect of his coach Walls and his team mates. Walls has said that Buckley was ultra professional and helped drive standards at the Bears.

The same can't be said for Cletus the pea hearted tossbucket.
And I reckon if you drafted JHF knowing you'd trade him after a year to Port Adelaide, he'd do the same.
He helped drag perennial disappointments in South Adelaide up to just a kick from a GF in 2021. He didn't do that by being pea hearted.

Yep not out of the realm of possibility that one of his family members or mates browses this website. Pathetic

It's not a great look, but there is far worse crap written about and directed at players on social media (case in point Ollie Henry having to turn off comments on his Instagram page after his move to Geelong from Collingwood)

I am sure most player managers and club staff would instruct JH-F to not read this forum or any other online football forum that better.

Actually he was on the record for saying before he went to Brisbane “that he only wanted to go to a team that could win a Premiership “…… gospel !!! ……. He could’ve returned to SA with the Crows under their expat allowance, he could have returned to Port Adelaide from where he was drafted under those expat allowances, he could have remained at Brisbane. ….. He was stiff…… Those Clubs won 6 Premierships in his time and he never won any.
He could have also went to us but rejected us before even going to Brisbane, there’s another two he misses out on

I think Buckley is a better example.

Got drafted to Brisbane Bears, sooked the entire time he was there and then got traded to Collingwood
But he completed honoring being there and played to the best of his ability...JHF l think didnt play to the best of his ability

Nobody questions JHF's ability. His upside is tremendous and his play is already at the level of a B grader. His attitude on and off the field however, was really poor after about round 5.

When you join an elite sporting competition there are non-negotiable things that come with that. Recovery after games, respect for your team mates and coaches, 100% effort at all times, timeliness, etc. Noble let JHF get away with a lot of this stuff (and they weren't isolated incidents) and is partly responsible for not trying to nip it in the bud earlier. When Patch Adams took on the role he shut it down quickly and Jason wasn't happy about it. Teams cannot give 18 year old kids special treatment with non-negotiable things or it spreads throughout the club. The bloke was arguing about the benefits of recovery with a bloke who played over 400 games ffs. Yeah, ice baths are not fun but they are necessary to ensure that the player is available to play the following week so everyone does it.

Whilst I find it distasteful that Port were effectively tapping him up to come home before he got drafted, I'm not too angry about that. I think the club is more frustrated that for no good reason they were lied to. He was desperate to be the no.1 pick which is why we didn't bid on Daicos. Whilst I understand it shits interstate teams up the wall what Bailey Smith and Archie Perkins did, it would have been of great benefit to North to know that he wanted to stay home. We could have taken the Crows offer or worked something out with Port and rather than effectively waste 12 months of development and resources on the player, we could have taken someone else who wanted to come. When Cunners name was read out after beating cancer the whole club got around him with the exception of JHF. Spoke volumes at the time. He never wanted to be at North in the first place.

The club did everything they could to support him but maybe that was the wrong approach to begin with. Less Carrot, more Stick maybe. He needs a reality check and maybe Ports leadership team will do a better job at that task than Norths did.

Oh the ironing

Yah ... the ironing

Like the shithouse and lazy player of Goldstein

My gut feel is Goldstein pulled JHF up for his destructive behaviour

No doubt FIGJAM (Buckley's nickname early in his career) would have been challenged by the Bear's leadership group as well

Justin Leppitsch: It's important to understand the history of the Brisbane Bears. They had a good-time culture. They were the best bunch of blokes you could play with, but they were always going to finish on the bottom rungs of the ladder. Then Bucks came in and wanted to change that attitude. Some people viewed that as arrogance, and in a way his competitiveness and will to win made him look like that at times. It wasn't arrogance; it's just that he didn't suffer fools and he was desperate to win. But that just didn't suit the Bears at that point in time. He was a bit like a square peg in a round hole.

Craig Kelly (Collingwood 1989-96: 122 games): We gave him one of the greatest payouts of all time. Wrighty was a champion sledger and poor Bucks was caught in the crossfire. We were saying: "Who the f--- do you think you are, thinking you can just walk into our club? You're not welcome!" Wrighty did not let up for the whole game.

Graham Wright (Collingwood 1988-98: 201 games; runner-up in 1990 Brownlow Medal): There was a fair bit of talk floating around that Nathan was going to come to Collingwood and as a playing group we knew a couple of us would have to go. "Ned" (Craig Kelly) and I just let him know we weren't happy about him wanting to come to Collingwood. He actually didn't say much back. In hindsight, it probably wasn't the smartest thing for us to do. Not long after that game, I made an off-the-cuff remark to Gubby Allan that if Buckley came to Collingwood, I would leave.

Players moving home isn't unusual. However, NM invested a lot into JHF and he could of at least acted interested or that he was happy to live out his childhood dream of playing AFL. Seriously at times he looked like he would have been happier stacking shelves at Woolies.
JHF had Clubs and Individual contributors invest far more to his development than North ever did. North had a shyte year but losing one unhappy player meant that they will gain 2 of the 3 best U/18 players this year and will have 2 first round picks next year along with a slew of other picks.………. Oh and by the way most people would rate Chris Judd as being a handy player……….. facts are that Judd’s output was inferior to JHF in his first season and that was in a rich club with a ton of quality leadership on and off the field.…… and as a matter of fact Patrick Dangerfield didn’t match JHF first seasons output until his FOURTH season. So those that think that JHF was ordinary in 2022 ……….. let’s just wait and see.

Dunno if I'd call him soft. Maybe a bit entitled?

Maybe the rest of the players are soft for not leaving and just choosing to consistently play crap footy while they're on good coin thanks to the EBA mandating 95% cap payment?

Would have been nice if he's stuck out his 2 years but ultimately it wasn't a whinge about being homesick that made him leave - he just thought his club was a pathetic excuse for a professional franchise and decided to gtfo asap before they tarnished his career.

What got me was when he was arguing with Todd Goldstein. The kid has played 5 minutes and Goldstein is an AFL veteran whose best is absolutely elite. Honestly, if him and others couldn’t handle a serve from Noble then they are reflective of kids born 2000 and over. It’s a different generation and it’s not for the better.

The AFL needs to put in a rule that makes draftees stay at their drafted club for 4 years. Players have far too many privileges re trading nowadays. They invested in him and he deserves to give them more than 12 shit months because he wants his mummy to wash his footy jumper.

The go home factor for kids without serious family obligations and reasons is piss poor.

Has the OP seriously forgotten Cale Morton?

/thread

In amongst this debate through out this whole trade period I haven’t really seen anyone address something. Is this worse then him playing next year and THEN deciding to leave North and go home? If so, why?

It’s definitely worse.

Did he announce he was leaving before or after the Clarkson stuff? As a young player I’d be pretty buoyed to play under AC.

Yes because he signed a contract to play for two years for the team that drafted him.

Not arguing, but why do you think it’s worse?
Gave north 12 months and provided a heap of attitude. North were entitled to a lot more from their No.1 investment. The AFL talks about equalisation, but they allow draftees to depart after 12 months, and not just draftees, the no.1 pick that the worst performing club deserved. That’s not equality. Draftees should be held to 4 year minimum contracts, load their pay etc, but keep them at the club for 4 years.

The only way North improve is with a decent coach and good kids. Now, I fully expect Port Adelaide to rebound to close to top 4 levels next year, I am serious about that, there is something about the place that seems different after this trade period. Good on them for getting JHF, but it’s not an example of equalisation.

Gave north 12 months and provided a heap of attitude. North were entitled to a lot more from their No.1 investment. The AFL talks about equalisation, but they allow draftees to depart after 12 months, and not just draftees, the no.1 pick that the worst performing club deserved. That’s not equality. Draftees should be held to 4 year minimum contracts, load their pay etc, but keep them at the club for 4 years.

The only way North improve is with a decent coach and good kids. Now, I fully expect Port Adelaide to rebound to close to top 4 levels next year, I am serious about that, there is something about the place that seems different after this trade period. Good on them for getting JHF, but it’s not an example of equalisation.
North arguably get worse compensation next year and have “wasted” another year if he went at the end of 2023

Player Watch JHF - Jason Horne-Francis