News Jnr Rioli - He’s back.

One thing I don't understand is riolis demeanour about this. If he was caught tampering 3 weeks ago, he would have been pretty devastated mentally for a good while. But instead he is only emotional about it after the media announcement.

Did he think he got away with it or something?
I guess it is like going through a red light.
Did I make it? Was there a camera?
3-4 weeks go by and you think "Yeah got away with it"
Week 5 you get the letter "DAMMIT" :mad::'(:'(

Very very sad for his wife. Gone from a family setting itself up for life to complete and utter disarray and a broken financial future.

Huge on the marriage.

This really sucks. Not fully invested in the game tonight now

Gil has said the testers have only found out this week that it wasn't Rioli's urine. That kinda goes against the talk that the tester witnessed it being tampered with.

From what I can gather from my expert reading of all this shit on this site:
- Willie ****ed around and poured a drink into the cup.
- Tester just notes it, doesn't say much else.
- Tester gets him to do a proper sample.
- Willie has NFI he's in the shit.
- Willie plays AFL games while ASADA do their ASADA thing.
- ASADA are ready to lay down the law, Willie suspended.

Sounds like a plausible series of events. Willie could have been joking around before he's even ready to get his kit off to do the test. Testers still note it all down but say nothing. Everything gets reviewed in "due course", nothing gets said at time of incident. Usual government department process we all know and alove.

I'm hoping this is the case. It's best case scenario. Anything else, I'd be too ill to ponder.

The herald sun saying he was caught red handed pouring something into the sample and so the report was lodged straight away. That meant they didn't need to do all the analysis and were able to move to suspend in double quick time.

Honestly though if you are the tester and you see that happen anyone with any decency tells Riolli that they have seen him and what the implications are before getting an untainted sample. Who keeps their mouth shut just so they can guarantee the maximum penalty? I wouldn't be surprised if Willy has just had a toke of weed and panicked.

“The doping control officer won’t go to an athlete who substitutes urine and say ‘no, no, no mate, you can’t do that, you’ve got to give us the right stuff’. The attempt to substitute is a violation itself,” he explained.
“So the doping control officer simply would collect the sample and report the incident and leave it for ASADA to investigate.
“At the end of the day, the doping control officer has noted something untoward and reported it.”

Former ASADA CEO Richard Ings

----------

I have to agree with this tbh. Can you imagine if an ASADA official goes to a player and tells them this, where their entire future, livelihood and reputation is hanging off this.

You could only imagine what may take place, between athlete and ASADA official. Noting everything down and walking away is the best policy imo.

From what I can gather from my expert reading of all this s**t on this site:
- Willie f’ed around and poured a drink into the cup.
- Willie has NFI he's in the s**t.

Sounds like a plausible series of events. Willie could have been joking around before he's even ready to get his kit off to do the test. Testers still note it all down but say nothing. Everything gets reviewed in "due course", nothing gets said at time of incident. Usual government department process we all know and alove.

I'm hoping this is the case. It's best case scenario. Anything else, I'd be too ill to ponder.
That's a best case scenario so fingers crossed. Extremely dumb but the amount of 50s he gives away shows he's not the brightest spark.

I think most of us, deep down, suspect it's a worst case scenario though. I so hope it's not.

From what I can gather from my expert reading of all this s**t on this site:
- Willie f’ed around and poured a drink into the cup.
- Willie has NFI he's in the s**t.

Yep he ****ed up not thinking he ****ed up. Such a stupid thing to do considering its probably the end for him.

I honestly don't think the club or Willie would have been expecting thius otherwise they would have don their own investigation and flown Petch over with the team. SO much of this doesn't smell right to me.
We can only speculate a smuch as the journos, I don't belive they have any inside word at all.

Noting everything down and walking away is the best policy imo.
I'm not sure about that. As a footy supporter, I want the truth. I want to know if someone has taken PEDs and throw them out of the game for at least an extended period. I'd prefer ASADA do everything in their power to get that piss in the cup so we know if and what they have been taking.

As it stands, Willie has offered up powerade and some people are thinking, "oh, he must have had a toke on a joint and panicked".

Can ASADA hire Dog the Bounty Hunter to attend testing in case players need to be coerced. If he's too expensive they can get Dog Man.

If he fails to scare them into giving a sample they will at the very least piss themselves laughing.

I met Willie Rioli at the WC 2018 club champs awards night. As you can imagine, I was reluctantly escorting my girlfriend who is an Eagles member. I have to say, you would struggle to meet a more pleasant, humble and gracious human being as Willie. I wish him the best with what is happening.
Why do I feel like ASADA are at fault here. The urine sample process is very invasive and the ASADA chaperone does not leave them during the process, takes the sample bottle off the player, caps it and submits it for testing.
If it’s a substance other than urine which has been submitted, it was either done with full knowledge of the ASADA official or someone else had tampered with the sample.
I dread to think a star player and fine young man misses a finals series only to be exonerated later on.

I'm not sure about that. As a footy supporter, I want the truth. I want to know if someone has taken PEDs and throw them out of the game for at least an extended period. I'd prefer ASADA do everything in their power to get that piss in the cup so we know if and what they have been taking.

As it stands, Willie has offered up powerade and some people are thinking, "oh, he must have had a toke on a joint and panicked".

Definitely dont agree with you. These players are trained and educated to know what to do and how to conduct themselves with ASADA.

Dodging a urine sample is akin to dodging the RBT.

ASADA are not actual police, athletes know their duties and obligations when it comes to testing which is 100% compliance.

The issue that I have, is that I was under the assumption must take a urine test in full view of the ASADA official. If this did happen, how did he produce something other than urine?

If it didnt happen, then Rioli is gone. He failed to abide to his obligations as an athlete.

The only thing I can think of that happened is that he needed to take a piss in private and substituted this with something else. The moment he went private, he broke protocol, Im assuming here.

The issue that I have, is that I was under the assumption must take a urine test in full view of the ASADA official. If this did happen, how did he produce something other than urine?

They observed him taint the sample but did not intervene is probably what happened. They simply reported what occurred. He is done I reckon.

You would think a little common sense, humanity and mercy should apply here. If Willie is foolishly pouring a drink into the cup in full view the tester should be able to and say " You might like to think about what you are doing mate, it potentially carries a maximum four year penalty ". If he still does it then it is on his own head. To watch callously someone hang themselves and say nothing is perverse. ASADA and these agencies are on an insane power trip.
Willie seems like a very decent guy, is one of my favourite players and I am devastated.

News Jnr Rioli - He’s back.