Toast John Butcher

I wonder if Schulz has truly recovered from his hamstring injury. Effort is not something you would doubt from him.

I think they can work together. Lets not forget it was only 6 disposals. 6 goals was great from that, but you would want Butcher to get more of the ball in the future.

I wonder if Schulz has truly recovered from his hamstring injury. Effort is not something you would doubt from him.

I think they can work together. Lets not forget it was only 6 disposals. 6 goals was great from that, but you would want Butcher to get more of the ball in the future.

While that's true, let's not forget that we only had 18 inside 50s in the first half and alot of those went straight into opposition arms. When Butcher was near the ball he looked, and more importantly was, dangerous. Makes a huge difference when he is able to convert like that.

He also should have earned 2-3 free kicks for obvious scrags against him and for at least one unrewarded tackle.

Just hope it's not a flash in the pan. I think not. What I've loved about his two games is his hands and speed. Yesterday at the game you could sense the crowd getting excited every time there was a forward entry even if it was bombed in. He would either be presenting in front of his opponent with his pace or creating a huge contest. Once the ball's in his hands, it sticks. It seemed the rest of the team also sensed they had a super competitive target to aim at now....

The best thing is - it should've been MORE! As has been mentioned, there were at least 3 free kicks he missed out on that should've been paid around the sticks, not to mention he almost took a ridiculous mark in the goal square where he flew in from the side like Superman.

Seriously, we lost by 10 goals, but can anyone not tell me they didn't leave that game kinda happy? That is called the "Butcher" effect.

Imagine that effect in a few years. Goddamn. GODDAMN.

I'm still getting shivers.

What I like is the fact I have 10 times for confident in him being a tall strong marking forward than J Westhoff. Which bodes well for our forward future. If we got Day too, god dang woowee, it will bring people back to the footy in droves.

It's what we have needed.

The best thing is - it should've been MORE! As has been mentioned, there were at least 3 free kicks he missed out on that should've been paid around the sticks, not to mention he almost took a ridiculous mark in the goal square where he flew in from the side like Superman.

Seriously, we lost by 10 goals, but can anyone not tell me they didn't leave that game kinda happy? That is called the "Butcher" effect.

Imagine that effect in a few years. Goddamn. GODDAMN.

I'm still getting shivers.

We've been starved of anything remotely positive for a long time so kinda happy, yes. I was also thinking towards the end of the first quarter that something had to change this game.
I know the bullies would probably have taken their foot off the pedal in the second half but I reckon I saw the start of something in that final quarter. Just three or four efforts by different players it almost seemed like they rediscovered a template that's been missing for a long time of effort and willingness to contest.

Is he the new Tredrea??? im talking about the treatment he gets from the umpires

There was one occasion that i was ropable about where he was in front in the goal square... one on one, and while trying to take a chest mark he was held with one arm around his body while the other arm was over his shoulders and neck... then the defender pulled him back as well so they fell over backwards...

all the maggot umpire could do was wave his arms calling play on, and that was just the worst of about 2-3 others i saw

i made the comment to my mate that if that was Nick Riewoldt all 3 umpires would have blown the whistle AND given him a 50m penalty

I'll tell you a little secret. Over here in the US, I rely on an AFL sanctioned website called liveafl.tv to watch the games live and then have access to full replays. Although I watch every game as it happens, irrespective of the crazy hour it's played, I have not had reason to sit through any replays since the Richmond win.

Today, I woke up at 8am (Sunday morning) having finished watching the game around 3:30am, replaying Butcher's highlights over and over again in my head. I've since watched the replays of his six goals about six times.

I can't help the fact that for the first time all year, I'm actually excited about something to do with the Port Adelaide football club. If there are more signs of this in the next two weeks AND he signs on, it has to have an impact on the enthusiasm and optimism of our supporter base over the preseason.

F**k, we've been deprived for a long time.

He made me laugh in the third quarter when he took out a pack of 4 Bullies players flying for a mark hit the deck and went off after a knock to the head. He comes back on slots a goal and the first team mate that gets to him smacks on the head to say well done. The grimace was priceless.

I thought AFL footy would suit him better than SANFL with his quickness and ground level recovery but his hands have surprised me - he looked like he would be a strong mark but they didn't always stick. Now he looks like he will mark anything he gets his hands to. He even converted from dead in front! :eek::p

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/blues-deserve-an-mcg-final/story-fn5937w8-1226114984574?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+HeraldSunAfl+%28Herald+Sun+%7C+AFL%29

That quote, with link. Out of "10 things I LIKE" section down the page.

2. Butcher's hook

John Butcher's kicking does have a hook/helicopter/unorthodox look about it, but they go straight. He had six kicks for six goals yesterday, his best being his third. After a copping a hit to the face, and perhaps believing his jaw was broken, Butcher returned to the field and took a contested mark and goaled from AAMI Stadium's ''dead pocket''. He is a young, a Victorian, can take one grabs, and is out of contract. It means Vic clubs are circling. Did someone say Carlton?

If he's going to leave at any point, I'd rather it be now when we're already a useless club in line for a priority pick, than when we've built the side around him and on the edge of being in the top 4. We won't get trade value for him regardless.

Rising Star nom this week? Condescending Jon Ralph seems to think so.

As much as I personally find Butcher's performance more impressive (due to the low amount of forward entries Port had and being double/triple teamed in his second AFL game), you really can't not give it to Tutt can you? 24 touches and 4 goals in a side that wins by 60 points... most (if not all?) nominations have come from winning teams so far this year.

First gamers don't usually get it (Butch has 1 game advantage ;) and did get national recognition for his debut last week) and Ralph thinks that the same team doesn't win 2 in a row (Dahlhaus last week). Plus the AFL needs to "throw Port a bone". Condescending and a bad pun. Nice work.