10k Posts
Oct 3, 2002
Beaumaris
For years the AFL media contingent has told us what a great leader Jonathon Brown is.

Do they ever look at actual events v myths? When Fev went to Brisbane the media assured us that Jono would control him. End result, loss of players/picks, huge financial cost and severe loss of fae for new coach Michael Voss.

Fast forward and we are now watching a huge exodus of young talent try and leave. If they all go it will wipe out their top picks from two recent drafts.

All under his watch, yet the media continues to laud him as a great skipper when the evidence would suggest he is a great player but little one of the worst captains in the AFL.

For years the AFL media contingent has told us what a great leader Jonathon Brown is.

Do they ever look at actual events v myths? When Fev went to Brisbane the media assured us that Jono would control him. End result, loss of players/picks, huge financial cost and severe loss of fae for new coach Michael Voss.

Fast forward and we are now watching a huge exodus of young talent try and leave. If they all go it will wipe out their top picks from two recent drafts.

All under his watch, yet the media continues to laud him as a great skipper when the evidence would suggest he is a great player but little one of the worst captains in the AFL.

...Yet Eddie still wanted to pay him $1mil a year to play for your club.

That's alright though, you still have Maxwell.

Never struck me as a personable leader, more a follow my example on field type.

Think there are bigger systemic problems up at Brissy that probably impact more on the troubles they've had though.

When a club falls into dysfunction it's hard to pull it back on course

Captains can't overcome severe administrative blunders, no matter how good they are.

I think the main reason Brown is rated as a captain has been his ability to kick clutch goals, take important marks, and play with no fear.

He's a ripper of a bloke though.

That seems to be what they base their views on.

I just reckon he has no real say with the playing group. But if he was this great leader we are led to believe surely he would sit down with the young guys wanting out and get at least one to stay and play under his mate Lepper?

So your saying a Captain should convince these kids to stay away from their families and oldest friends theyve made on this planet...And he hasnt done this...Nor could he keep the train wreck of Fevola on the straight and narrow tracks...

Well then, shall we trade you for Maxwell? Sure he, as one of the, if not THE best captain of the league, can help convince kids from 3000kms away to stay away from their homes.

OP, you are a silly.

OP didn't get the memo that Collingwood supporters aren't allowed to criticize Brisbane.

Get prepared for "still bitter about 2002-2003," "Big Fat Ed!!!111" "Licuria crying," etc. etc.

And what a crap captain Maxy is. But they have been done to death, yet here we have a club that is melting down and the role of the captain is ignored.

On field - great captain

Off field - winning culture seems to have disappeared under his and Michael Voss' watch not that the board have been any help and they had to lose a few games at some stage.

Hard to blame any individual without being inside the club though.

Brisbane is obviously not Sydney but should enjoy the same advantage of players wanting to go there and live a peaceful life not harassed or under the spot light as they are in Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth. It shouldn't be an unattractive place to play footy.

:eek: Not sure you understand what a captain is !!!!!!! Sorry but that's just a shit call

...Yet Eddie still wanted to pay him $1mil a year to play for your club.

That's alright though, you still have Maxwell.

Is this a thread to deflect the attention from the poor culture / lack of leadership at Cololingwood?
Deflecting the topic and attacking OPs club. The ultimate sign of defeat.

On field - great captain

Off field - winning culture seems to have disappeared under his and Michael Voss' watch not that the board have been any help and they had to lose a few games at some stage.

Hard to blame any individual without being inside the club though.

Brisbane is obviously not Sydney but should enjoy the same advantage of players wanting to go there and live a peaceful life not harassed or under the spot light as they are in Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth. It shouldn't be an unattractive place to play footy.

Wait so, you are saying, as soon as Voss came on and Leigh left, our "Winning Culture" vanished...Despite the fact that from 2004 to 2008, we did not play finals football at all, nor did we look like we were going to...Then, in 2009, we made the finals, before failing dismally at the trade table and being in a rebuild since then...

The problems our club are facing right now is more of young players being taken out of their comfort zones to Brisbane, and then telling us despite most of them getting regular games, they want to return home. Doc and Yeo were consistently played this season, Longer is only 2 years into his AFL career as a developing ruckman, Polecs been injured since he joined us and we've done everything we can to get him fit and playing.

OP didn't get the memo that Collingwood supporters aren't allowed to criticize Brisbane.

Get prepared for "still bitter about 2002-2003," "Big Fat Ed!!!111" "Licuria crying," etc. etc.

:D licuria and mick crying , plus bucks got a norm smith :thumbsu:

I think you're overestimating the captains responsibilities compared to the club as a whole or the individuals concerned themselves.

I don't attribute the countless personnel issues Collingwood have and continue to have with Nick Maxwell, I don't blame Hodge for Buddy leaving etc...

Is this the same guy Collingwood moved heaven and earth to try and get? Or did I miss something

Jono Brown - his 'leadership'