Sigh. Another day another amateur matchup.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
It's both - clubs like Carlton could chose to wear a clash - but the AFL can direct them to wear.Yeah blame the AFL and not the stupid clubs…
The gws home jumper should have a charcoal back. Or their home shorts should be orange.yes this ain't great. Giants should have gone the charcoal
Melb with white shorts wasn't a problem. Dogs don't have much white.So Friday night Melbourne should have been in dark blue shorts (no white shorts needed at all).
Sat arvo Richmond could have been in black shorts (no white shorts needed at all) or in their yellow jumper with white shorts.
Sat night Carlton should have been in white clash jumper.
Today hawks either in the white jumper or giants in charcoal jumper.
What a weekend.
I feel like this was an issue earlier in the year in tassie?This is just laughable....how do the AFL consistently **** this up?
Who in the AFL is ultimately accountable for this garbage?
The gws home jumper should have a charcoal back. Or their home shorts should be orange.
Pick one or other
They should have a charcoal kit and an orange kit - and if orange is clash, then white shorts is fine.
It's Collingwood's home game and they should be free to wear whatever they deem their home kit. It is the away team's (Carlton's) responsibility to have and to wear when needed an appropriate clash kit, or to work with the AFL to resolve clashes. Professional league still run like it's amateur.
That's rubbish. Collingwood clash because they changed their home jumper. That's fine to change your home jumper, but they changed from a light back light front to a dark back light front. This is what is causing all the clashes. If they changed to a dark front dark back then there would be no issue at all and we could wear our alternative white strip. This ridiculous change by Collingwood means our normal jumper we have a clash and with our white strip we have a clash.
The AFL should be forcing them to wear their light back light front jumper for home games vs us, amateur run league indeed.
It's their home game!!! Clubs can wear their own home jumper at homeThat's rubbish. Collingwood clash because they changed their home jumper. That's fine to change your home jumper, but they changed from a light back light front to a dark back light front. This is what is causing all the clashes. If they changed to a dark front dark back then there would be no issue at all and we could wear our alternative white strip. This ridiculous change by Collingwood means our normal jumper we have a clash and with our white strip we have a clash.
The AFL should be forcing them to wear their light back light front jumper for home games vs us, amateur run league indeed.
This is a lie.
From 2001-2020 Collingwood had a mostly black front jumper. Carlton have worn their clash against Collingwood zero times (correct me if I’m wrong).
So I agree the Pies current jumper makes it tricky but Carlton wouldn’t wear their clash regardless.
Yes, but it's still their home jumper.
"mostly black"
From 2001-2020 Collingwood had a mostly black front jumper.
The only mostly black fronted pies jumper I can recall is the one that had just the two white stripes which looked sort of like braces which disappeared pretty quickly.
Hawks have that white kit, of course they don’t wear it here.
It’s like they pick the worst combos deliberately
Even if you think this is more white than black (and their is an argument to say it is) Collingwoods home game, black shorts and socks.
"mostly black"
Nah. They shouldn't change their home guernsey to one that creates clashes, just as Port Adelaide shouldn't change to a home guernsey that looks like a Collingwood one.Even if you think this is more white than black (and their is an argument to say it is) Collingwoods home game, black shorts and socks.
If your clash doesnt fix the issue then you need a third kit in pink or green or ****ing whatever to fix it.
Theres just no way to cut that a Pies home game clash is their fault.
Yes, but it's still their home jumper.
If Collingwood wanted to wear a jumper that was exactly 50% white 50% black, the onus is on Carlton to provide an appropriate alternative, such as sky blue.
It was the same at hawks home game v giants. Their main strip is dark they should wear that. This is caused by giants switching to second strip.
Hawks have a dark strip for clashes. Of which there aren’t really many, if at all
The AFL controls what we see, and can over ride any club's decision.
Philosophically i disagree with you, if the pies wanna change their jumper they are absolutely entitled to, and if doing so creates a clash then they must also have a suitable clash for when they are the away team.Nah. They shouldn't change their home guernsey to one that creates clashes, just as Port Adelaide shouldn't change to a home guernsey that looks like a Collingwood one.
Mate, the first couple of paragraphs of your post are hypothetical.
What we see in every game is ultimately controlled by the AFL. They register every strip, and they can neg what we see in each and every match, but they allow some to occur.