Justin Leppitsch - New Brisbane Lions Coach

No one is debating that the 'Legacy' was mismanaged or that things could have been better now than they were.

Try it this way - if all clubs were to start with a totally clean slate and the same salary cap etc would they indeed be equal or would the opportunities for third party deals in Vic/WA etc still make a difference?

You mentioned winter but that is a lifestyle choice like being in the 'centre of the football world' is a lifestyle choice for some.

If I can pay a player 200,000 from my salary cap and you can pay them 250,000 from you salary cap and third party deals then that player either thinks that 'winter' is worth 50,000 a year or we have to pay to match what you are offering them.

So if I have to pay 250 for someone and you only have to pay 200 for them (in terms of what is equally limited) in your mind that is fair and for us to have some extra in order to counteract that effect is 'welfare'.

There are many elements within our system that can be categorised as 'welfare' or 'socialism' in the name of 'equalisation' due to the inherent inequalities of things such as the fixture, FTA coverage, independent of one off issues / endemic but kind of self inflicted issues such as Melbourne.

So leaving aside the current events, what solution would you put in place to deal with the inherently biased playing field ... if *you* were running Brisbane what steps would you take to counteract the temptations put before the players by football-state clubs?

(Edit should have read what was posted in between - ah well maybe TBD's more succinct version will get an answer where mine might not)

I am no where near informed enough to debate the retention topic but will say this. The idea that being in vic has sponsor/asa clamouring is not right particularly the ASA component for players. Apart from a select few of players, there is still very few ASA's of any value for a lot of clubs. I think I remember the Roos/dogs saying they have very few who get anything and I think the tigers get a few only also. So the point being the players on qld aren't missing out on much from that perspective.

I almost entirely reject ridiculous qualification you made there. Cost of living is an issue for people on median incomes. The average footballers earn well beyond that. When he is earning 600k a year or whatever it is, I doubt the 80-100 dollars a week Travis Cloke might save on rent up here comes close to "countering" the advantages of living in his home state and the trappings (and Footy Show contracts) that come with being in an AFL heartland.

1. Bring in an across the board retention allowance for ALL CLUBS that uses a sliding scale based on number of interstate recruits. As I implied in the question that you conveniently avoided, if it is such an unfair advantage, West Coast for example is welcome to stack their list entirely with Victorians and South Australians. But for some reason, I suspect they wouldn't... (why would that
be....could it be that the go home factor is real???)

2. Count third party payments in the salary cap.

How's that for a start?

3 rd party payments are in the ASA components.

Which was a retention allowance, to combat the inherent disadvantage of having very few local players and as a result having to pay more dollars to retain players recruited from outside Queensland who wanted to return home.
Which was why you got that initial 10%, so you could put some wins on the board to be successful up there. You were supposed to grow the game on the back of that period of success. The 10% was never meant to be a permanent fixture. No other club got it. Sydney got a cost of living allowance which is a Rort itself.

Brisbane failed to capitilise on their success. It's as simple as that. You can't expect the AFL to artificially keep them at the top of the ladder because it suits your barracking needs.

The fact that the club has been run poorly in the last 8 yrs probably has more to do with the club not remaining ingrained in the Brisbane psyche. They don't exactly attend their own fave code in droves, you needed to be run with excellence, but you fell way short. You are the architects of your current malaise.

uh huh uh huh...

and how is he an improvement over Voss?

Funny stuff brissy. Lets see how it works out

Has 7 years as an assistant under his belt, whereas voss had zero. He also knows how to develop a young list. he interviewed very well to the selection panel and had a clear plan for the future of the club.
I trust Leigh Matthews judgement, Leppa will be the right guy for the job.

How is McCartney an improvement on Rodney Eade?

Funny stuff Bulldogs, let's see how it's worked out.

He's different, but we won't be able to judge until the work is completed or we abandon ship in another direction. Same for all coaches really.

We were on a natural downward spiral following the PF years, with an ageing list and losing Ward and Harbrow combined with rubbish drafting for much of the last decade. We appear to have bottomed out and are now on a slow upward path. Too early to tell whether it is sustainable and likely to be successful.

Sorry for the serious answer.

I personally would've gone after Choco Williams, nevermind.. I reckon he'll better than Vossy tbh.

Good job Lions.

Which was why you got that initial 10%, so you could put some wins on the board to be successful up there.

The 10% retention allowance was from 1998 onwards. The Bears / Lions already had wins on the board, playing finals in 1995, 1996 and 1997.

You were supposed to grow the game on the back of that period of success.

I've already demonstrated the Lions did grow the game in Queensland.

Participation in Australian Rules in Queensland grew by 9 per cent between 2011 and 2012. The only state with a higher participation rate was Victoria. In 2007 the sport was growing faster than any other Australian state.
The 10% was never meant to be a permanent fixture. No other club got it.

No other club, bar Sydney, qualified. The retention allowance was open to all clubs, if they met certain qualifications such as having less than 40% of their list from their home state.

Brisbane failed to capitilise on their success. It's as simple as that. You can't expect the AFL to artificially keep them at the top of the ladder because it suits your barracking needs.

The Lions made a conscious decision to chase a third and fourth premiership at the end of 2002, with Leigh Matthews warning at the time that the decision to do so would see the club struggle onfield for the best part of the next decade, as it would take a considerable time to rebuild.

The fact that the club has been run poorly in the last 8 yrs probably has more to do with the club not remaining ingrained in the Brisbane psyche. They don't exactly attend their own fave code in droves, you needed to be run with excellence, but you fell way short. You are the architects of your current malaise.

The club hasn't been run poorly for much of that period. Generally it did as well as it can in the years 2005-2009, given that many of its older premiership players retired in that time and the club was still operating in a frontier state. The playing list lacked middle aged players, given that many left for more opportunities during the Club's premiership years. Voss did try to remedy that with his recruiting of Fevola and co. during 2009 - 2010. From 2009, the establishment of the Gold Coast club stymied the Club's further development with later draft picks that would have normally been expected and the locking up of much of the available Queensland talent.

Good luck to the new coach but he's powerless to stop the exodus of players wanting out. Voss black brown are responsible for the exodus.Interesting read today(afl site I think)that said that docherty had deferred is decision to leave.well I can tell you that's bull dust coming from lions because I know that the boy has already organised a place to live in Melbourne(port Melbourne to be exact) and carlton are right into him,still need to pull of a deal but watch this space!!
Hard start for leppa but hes got a big mess to clean up and the first thing he must do is give black brown McGrath their marching orders

Good luck to the new coach but he's powerless to stop the exodus of players wanting out. Voss black brown are responsible for the exodus.Interesting read today(afl site I think)that said that docherty had deferred is decision to leave.well I can tell you that's bull dust coming from lions because I know that the boy has already organised a place to live in Melbourne(port Melbourne to be exact) and carlton are right into him,still need to pull of a deal but watch this space!!
Hard start for leppa but hes got a big mess to clean up and the first thing he must do is give black brown McGrath their marching orders
Three loyal servants (2 champions).

Or some bratty kids who have a sook because they cannot crack the senior side.

Thank god you're not our coach. :thumbsu:

Three loyal servants (2 champions).

Or some bratty kids who have a sook because they cannot crack the senior side.

Thank god you're not our coach. :thumbsu:
Mate they're not bratty kids just kids that have been treated bàdly by so called leaders.brown black voss are all good blokes and good footballers but they're not leadership material.I can't think of another captain with such an on field presence to have so many players walk so easily from the club.I'll tell you one bloke they would've killed for,Luke power.Now there's a bloke the youngsters looked up to and what did voss do to him?How did voss treat Bradshaw?What about rischitelli?Get your head out of the sand and ask yourself why they want out,voss didn't get the arse for nothing

Good get Brisbane, Leppa is a straight up gun coach. Players want to play for him and that's the hardest part which he manages to do instinctively. Seriously though, your CEO voice is a dead set downer. He needs to go. I listened to that presser and when he spoke it was like hearing a news broadcast about a mass shooting

That's our chairman Angus Johnson....the bloke should do rivers ads.

It seems that the media have come out to bat for Voss, but here are some home truths about how Voss really was as a coach.

I think Michael Voss's biggest problem as coach, in which all the other problems stem from, was never being an assistant coach anywhere. Coaching is a hard gig, and most need an apprenticeship, but Michael Voss thought he was different.

I remember Voss appearing on "Footy Classified" back in 2007. He came on to announce that he planned and is ready to coach the next year. No one on the panel asked if he needed to be an assistant first, since they were more acting like giggly teenage girls at a One Direction concert.

Michael Voss was talked about as the hottest coaching free agent in the AFL.Coincidently, over the next couple of weeks, Essendon, Melbourne, Carlton and Fremantle all sacked their coaches. Could it be that they all wanted to get in first on having Michael Voss as coach? However, Voss then decides that he is not ready to coach after all, and pulls out of being a senior coach in 2008. Does he decide to become an assistant first, and learn the ropes? No. Instead he goes into the media. Somehow, Voss thought that watching the game from a commentary box somehow prepared you for coaching. Tim Watson used to think that too, and look how his coaching stint went.

Leigh Matthews leaves Brisbane and Michael Voss takes over as senior coach. But his inexperience and lack of education being a coach will be his undoing. Exhibit A:- The Brendan Fevola fiasco.

Somehow, Voss got it into his deluded head that, instead of rebuilding, Brisbane could snag one more flag, instead of picking up youngsters, he trades picks to pick up "household names" like Xavier Clarke, Matt Maguire, Brett Staker and Anon Buchanan. But who Voss really wanted was Brendan Fevola, who had just been sacked from Carlton after disgracing himself at the '09 Brownlow count and touching up a woman in the bathroom at Crown. Yeah, I would pick up someone of such character as well :rolleyes:. Not only that, but the club decided to tie up much of their salary cap on Fevola.

Not only that, Voss tried to trade Daniel Bradshaw and Michael Riscittelli to Carlton in exchange. Problem is, he did not ask them beforehand. Both players refused to go. Bradshaw was so hurt by this disloyalty that he packed up and went to Sydney. He even missed a premiership reunion, because he can't be in the same room as Michael Voss. Riscittelli had one more year left on his contract, won a B & F, and then went to the Suns.

Jared Brennan left because Brisbane couldn't meet his demands, since all the salary cap was tied up paying Fevola, so he left to the Suns as well. Brisbane traded youngster Lachie Henderson to Carlton, and loyal servants Luke Power and Simon Black had to take pay cuts to accomodate Fevola's massive salary demands. Power would later leave Brisbane as well, pushed out the door by Voss, who thought Power should retire. Instead, Power went to GWS.

So, because of the club getting Fevola, they effectively lost Daniel Bradshaw, Michael Riscitelli, Jared Brennan, Lachie Henderson, and, ultimately, Fevola himself, who was sacked for an indiscretion (who saw that coming). However, the club still had to pay out Fevola's contract, hamstringing them from re-signing current players, or getting in new ones.

I think Michael Voss should have been sacked over the Fevola debacle, as he pushed hard to get him to the club, it failed, so Voss should have had to wear it. If he had not been a favourite son, he probably would have and should have been sacked on the spot for putting the club back five years.

Also, in five seasons, Michael Voss took Brisbane to one finals series (2009, his first year). So, in his last four seasons, he failed to take the club to finals. This year, the club won the NAB Cup and then got belted by the lowly Western Bulldogs the next week. Hardly progress.

Brisbane actually didn't sack Voss. They just didn't renew his contract. Coaches aren't owed new contracts, they have to earn them, and Voss hadn't. It was Voss who threw his toys and went home.

The media criticises the decision because Voss is a former media guy, and they protect their own. Also, they all said that Voss should coach, so they are not going to admit they were wrong. Also, many of you fans probably can't see Voss's faults either, because you remember the three-time premiership captain, not the coach too stubborn to learn a few things first.

I think that the advantage Justin Leppitsch has is that he has learned, being an assistant at Richmond. Learning under another coach is invaluable to those wanting to do the job themselves. In any profession, you learn from those who are already doing it.

Michael Voss may coach again one day. I just hope that he becomes an assistant for a while first, and learn from other people's mistakes, rather than having to learn from his own.

Leigh Matthews leaves Brisbane and Michael Voss takes over as senior coach. But his inexperience and lack of education being a coach will be his undoing. Exhibit A:- The Brendan Fevola fiasco.

Somehow, Voss got it into his deluded head that, instead of rebuilding, Brisbane could snag one more flag, instead of picking up youngsters, he trades picks to pick up "household names" like Xavier Clarke, Matt Maguire, Brett Staker and Anon Buchanan. But who Voss really wanted was Brendan Fevola, who had just been sacked from Carlton after disgracing himself at the '09 Brownlow count and touching up a woman in the bathroom at Crown. Yeah, I would pick up someone of such character as well :rolleyes:. Not only that, but the club decided to tie up much of their salary cap on Fevola.

Raines, Staker, Maguire comfortably in our best 22 at the moment. You can't even spell 2 of those player's names correctly :rolleyes:

Not only that, Voss tried to trade Daniel Bradshaw and Michael Riscittelli to Carlton in exchange. Problem is, he did not ask them beforehand. Both players refused to go. Bradshaw was so hurt by this disloyalty that he packed up and went to Sydney. He even missed a premiership reunion, because he can't be in the same room as Michael Voss. Riscittelli had one more year left on his contract, won a B & F, and then went to the Suns.

How are each of them doing now? I hear Bradshaw kicked 100 goals last year on AFL Live? And Rischitelli, well he's just shining in the Suns reserves isn't he?

Jared Brennan left because Brisbane couldn't meet his demands, since all the salary cap was tied up paying Fevola, so he left to the Suns as well. Brisbane traded youngster Lachie Henderson to Carlton, and loyal servants Luke Power and Simon Black had to take pay cuts to accomodate Fevola's massive salary demands. Power would later leave Brisbane as well, pushed out the door by Voss, who thought Power should retire. Instead, Power went to GWS.

What a completely uninformed post. Brennan was a tool who couldn't be stuffed to play footy. How did he turn out for the Suns? We got a brilliant return for him so we can't complain. Henderson would probably be useful now.

Power pushed out the door? Dear me, Voss told Power that he couldn't guarantee him a starting 22 spot every week for the next season. So Power left and decided to mentor the Giants in a player/coach level. Good on him I say, and Voss and Power are still in close touch. Not sure where you get your bullshit theories from.

So, because of the club getting Fevola, they effectively lost Daniel Bradshaw, Michael Riscitelli, Jared Brennan, Lachie Henderson, and, ultimately, Fevola himself, who was sacked for an indiscretion (who saw that coming). However, the club still had to pay out Fevola's contract, hamstringing them from re-signing current players, or getting in new ones.

Apart from Henderson, gee what a big loss. :rolleyes:

Also, in five seasons, Michael Voss took Brisbane to one finals series (2009, his first year). So, in his last four seasons, he failed to take the club to finals. This year, the club won the NAB Cup and then got belted by the lowly Western Bulldogs the next week. Hardly progress.

I see you carefully neglected the fact that this was around the time expansion teams started coming in, hence taking up all the high draft picks. Do you really think it would have been a 4 year stint at the bottom if we had Jaeger O'Meara, Harley Bennell, Jonathan Patton and Toby Greene? Please, give me a break.

Lowly bulldogs? The same Bulldogs who beat West Coast, Carlton and Adelaide?

The media criticises the decision because Voss is a former media guy, and they protect their own. Also, they all said that Voss should coach, so they are not going to admit they were wrong. Also, many of you fans probably can't see Voss's faults either, because you remember the three-time premiership captain, not the coach too stubborn to learn a few things first.

No they don't. They're feeling sorry for him because of our ****ed up board who has no idea how to run a football club.

It seems that the media have come out to bat for Voss, but here are some home truths about how Voss really was as a coach.

I think Michael Voss's biggest problem as coach, in which all the other problems stem from, was never being an assistant coach anywhere. Coaching is a hard gig, and most need an apprenticeship, but Michael Voss thought he was different.

I remember Voss appearing on "Footy Classified" back in 2007. He came on to announce that he planned and is ready to coach the next year. No one on the panel asked if he needed to be an assistant first, since they were more acting like giggly teenage girls at a One Direction concert.

Michael Voss was talked about as the hottest coaching free agent in the AFL.Coincidently, over the next couple of weeks, Essendon, Melbourne, Carlton and Fremantle all sacked their coaches. Could it be that they all wanted to get in first on having Michael Voss as coach? However, Voss then decides that he is not ready to coach after all, and pulls out of being a senior coach in 2008. Does he decide to become an assistant first, and learn the ropes? No. Instead he goes into the media. Somehow, Voss thought that watching the game from a commentary box somehow prepared you for coaching. Tim Watson used to think that too, and look how his coaching stint went.

I think Michael Voss should have been sacked over the Fevola debacle, as he pushed hard to get him to the club, it failed, so Voss should have had to wear it. If he had not been a favourite son, he probably would have and should have been sacked on the spot for putting the club back five years.

Brisbane actually didn't sack Voss. They just didn't renew his contract. Coaches aren't owed new contracts, they have to earn them, and Voss hadn't. It was Voss who threw his toys and went home.

I think that the advantage Justin Leppitsch has is that he has learned, being an assistant at Richmond. Learning under another coach is invaluable to those wanting to do the job themselves. In any profession, you learn from those who are already doing it.

Michael Voss may coach again one day. I just hope that he becomes an assistant for a while first, and learn from other people's mistakes, rather than having to learn from his own.

Have you conveniently forgotten he signed on as an assistant first? Hell Voss himself said he didn't feel ready but the club convinced him otherwise.

Funnily enough two other clubs also thought he was a ready made coach too, but don't let the facts stop you or the other BF nuffies from shooting him down.

Raines, Staker, Maguire comfortably in our best 22 at the moment. You can't even spell 2 of those player's names correctly :rolleyes:

How are each of them doing now? I hear Bradshaw kicked 100 goals last year on AFL Live? And Rischitelli, well he's just shining in the Suns reserves isn't he?

What a completely uninformed post. Brennan was a tool who couldn't be stuffed to play footy. How did he turn out for the Suns? We got a brilliant return for him so we can't complain. Henderson would probably be useful now.

Power pushed out the door? Dear me, Voss told Power that he couldn't guarantee him a starting 22 spot every week for the next season. So Power left and decided to mentor the Giants in a player/coach level. Good on him I say, and Voss and Power are still in close touch. Not sure where you get your bullshit theories from.

Apart from Henderson, gee what a big loss. :rolleyes:

I see you carefully neglected the fact that this was around the time expansion teams started coming in, hence taking up all the high draft picks. Do you really think it would have been a 4 year stint at the bottom if we had Jaeger O'Meara, Harley Bennell, Jonathan Patton and Toby Greene? Please, give me a break.

Lowly bulldogs? The same Bulldogs who beat West Coast, Carlton and Adelaide?

No they don't. They're feeling sorry for him because of our ****** up board who has no idea how to run a football club.

You ask where Bradshaw is? Well, what is Fevola doing now? Kicking around in a country league until he has burnt his bridges with them as well. I would rather have Bradshaw in my team over Fevola every day of the week, and twice on Sundays. At least you don't get 3am phone calls saying that Bradshaw has been locked up.

Besides, you don't seem to rate a three-time premiership full-forward.

Riscitelli was a B & F at Brisbane, so he obviously could play.

You admit yourself that Henderson was a loss.

Having the expansion teams had little to do with it. You wouldn't have got all those players you said, because you wouldn't be getting 10 of the first 11 picks in the draft. You may have got one or two and that's it.

Lowly Bulldogs. Their win against Brisbane broke a Bulldogs 11-game losing streak, and they didn't just win, they belted you.The same Bulldogs who lost to Melbourne. Those other wins by the Bulldogs weren't until later in the season.

If they feel sorry for Voss and say that the board is incompetent for sacking him, does that mean any time a board sacks a coach, they are incompetent?

Tell me why Voss deserved a new contract. Was it all the years he took Brisbane to the finals? The PFs and GFs he coached them too? All the premierships he coached them in? Oh, that's right, they only played in two finals under Voss, four years ago. My mistake, I forgot! :rolleyes:

Keep drinking the Voss Kool-Aid!

Justin Leppitsch - New Brisbane Lions Coach