Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2

Thanks for playing the man. I posted the stats. If you don't understand them, that's on you. Here's me thinking 'How can I have a chat about footy with some other Freo fans' and meanwhile you go and have a little tantrum and make it s**t for everyone. Bravo indeed.

You cherry picked. You are not arguing this in good faith.

Fair. Maybe I could have stated it in another way.

Ross Lyon was a successful coach at Freo for his first 4 years. He had a very very good team with a stack of All Australians, including our 2 best players ever. Freo made a Grand Final in 2013, was belted out in straight sets in 2014, then lost a Prelim at home in 2015 to a team that had already lost to West Coast.

I also remember his last 4 years, which were diabolically bad equal to Damian Drum's coaching record. Freo were regularly in the newspapers for the wrong reason (including the coach himself), 5000 members walked out, financial stress and a list in desperate need of a rebuild.

The hero worship is a bit rich.

Fair. Maybe I could have stated it in another way.

Ross Lyon was a successful coach at Freo for his first 4 years. He had a very very good team with a stack of All Australians, including our 2 best players ever. Freo made a Grand Final in 2013, was belted out in straight sets in 2014, then lost a Prelim at home in 2015 to a team that had already lost to West Coast.

I also remember his last 4 years, which were diabolically bad equal to Damian Drum's coaching record. Freo were regularly in the newspapers for the wrong reason (including the coach himself), 5000 members walked out, financial stress and a list in desperate need of a rebuild.

The hero worship is a bit rich.

These newspapers wouldn't be the same ones that have Harley reid in them every week would they?

Why waste my time picking apart the rest of your post? You've shown critical thinking isn't your strong suit.

These newspapers wouldn't be the same ones that have Harley reid in them every week would they?

Why waste my time picking apart the rest of your post? You've shown critical thinking isn't your strong suit.
No mate. I kinda of meant this type of thing. Not sure why you're arguing this. It's pretty well known.

1709977475873.png
1709977577801.png
1709977612164.png
1709977772597.png

Not sure about this. What is the criteria?

I like watching my Dockers punch above their weight like in 97 and 22.

Lyon had a gift team with 9 All Australians. It's a shame he didn't do better.

He also went from the best team in the country to 4 wins. It was embarrassing.

Who were the 9 All Australians he had?

I think they're counting by number of AA blazers given under Ross' reign. So McPharlin (2012), Johnson (2013), Fyfe x 3 (2014, 2015, 2019), Ballas (2014), Sandi (2014), Mundy (2015), and Walters (2019).

This doesn't include Pav, Ryan, or Neale, who all received AA blazers while not under Ross but were still great players under Ross. Also doesn't include Brayshaw, but 1st/2nd year Brayshaw wasn't on the level he is now.

McPharlin
Ballantyne
Walters
Pavlich
Mundy
Barlow
Johnson
Hill
Sandilands

Barlow and Hill were never All Australian. Neale and Fyfe were. I think over half that list would’ve been after 2013 too - at least Ballantyne, Mundy and Walters were.

FWIW if you look at our 2024 squad 10+ years later I reckon you’ve got a similar amount of All Australians.

Fyfe, Walters, Brayshaw, Serong and Ryan have done it already.

I’d be genuinely surprised if Amiss, Jackson and Young never get it in their careers tbh. There’s probably a handful of others I’d give half a chance to - one or two of them probably end up doing it.

Problem is that not all these guys are All Australian standard or close in the same season. It’s basically irrelevant to 2024 that Fyfe and Walters are All Australians - I still think they can contribute but not at that level.

I’m not sure 2013 would’ve any different tbh in terms actually having all players at their best at once.

And yes there’s a reason you thought Barlow and Hill got it - they were very good. Duffield at his best could’ve been quite close too.

I think they're counting by number of AA blazers given under Ross' reign. So McPharlin (2012), Johnson (2013), Fyfe x 3 (2014, 2015, 2019), Ballas (2014), Sandi (2014), Mundy (2015), and Walters (2019).

This doesn't include Pav, Ryan, or Neale, who all received AA blazers while not under Ross but were still great players under Ross. Also doesn't include Brayshaw, but 1st/2nd year Brayshaw wasn't on the level he is now.

It’s the number of All Australians in the 2013 Grand Final.

Weird measure imo as it doesn’t really consider how good players were at that time.

We have five All Australians on our list now but I’m not sure that it’s overly relevant to Fyfe and Walters who are in the twilight of their careers.

Isn’t really relevant to Neale for 2013 as was only just coming into the team then.

Weird measure imo as it doesn’t really consider how good players were at that time.

We have five All Australians on our list now but I’m not sure that it’s overly relevant to Fyfe and Walters who are in the twilight of their careers.

Isn’t really relevant to Neale for 2013 as was only just coming into the team then.

The claim is one more in a line of cherry picked stats by one poster.

We had key players missing at the pointy end of each of our finals runs from 2013 - 2015.

The same poster who is critical of Lyons record from 2016 - 2019 does not acknowledge the massive talent drain from the club in that timeframe.

The claim is one more in a line of cherry picked stats by one poster.

We had key players missing at the pointy end of each of our finals runs from 2013 - 2015.

The same poster who is critical of Lyons record from 2016 - 2019 does not acknowledge the massive talent drain from the club in that timeframe.

It always confused me how bitter St Kilda fans were towards Ross Lyon when one coach in their 120 odd years had done better.

Here we are talking about the coach that has had our best two seasons and is the only coach to make finals two years in row.

He wasn’t perfect but I’m not sure why you’d look back negatively when the memories are about as fond as Freo has produced in their 30 years.

I’m extremely thankful he coached us. That 2013 team wasn’t nearly Grand Final standard yet there we were almost getting our greatest ever player a premiership in the twilight of career. Something I thought we’d never get close to 4-5 years earlier. How the club managed to rebuild a sh** list so quickly and how Lyon got them playing so well despite lacking talent compared to most top four sides at the time is about as proud as I’ve been as a Freo fan.

I think I like discussing nearly every facet of AFL and Freo stuff.

My one exception is any type of naval gazing about the Ross Lyon era and the back and forward that seems to pop up once or twice every year.

Im Out GIF

In 2013, we had 5 players nominated to the 40 man squad and 1 player selected.

WilloTree just makes it up as he goes along to suit his narrative.

I think I like discussing nearly every facet of AFL and Freo stuff.

My one exception is any type of naval gazing about the Ross Lyon era and the back and forward that seems to pop up once or twice every year.

Im Out GIF
Just wait till they finish top 4 this year, boy will that be fun

Whilst making the grand final is the obvious pinnacle, the fact that the only two finals we have ever won interstate were with Lyon as coach are the highlights for me. Thirty years and two interstate final wins. They're bloody hard to get, he's got both of them.

And if you don't like facts, here's an opinion. The only time, the only time any opposition supporter has ever spoken with fear about playing us was 2013-mid 2015. We were something then. I honestly couldn't care less about being the AFL equivalent of the lead character in Matilda the Musical where we were ever so naughty and surprised the adults in the room by winning a few games we weren't expected to win. It was nice to be an adult for once.

Lyon deserved his sacking there’s no doubt about it..but those first 4 seasons were bloody impressive. That back half of 2012 in particular was exciting as it clicked all of a sudden.

Lyon needed a break to refresh.

If Jlo gets the boot I would love to revert back finding a proven coach who demands respect and challenges his players individually. Crowley went from inconsistent fwd/mid to best tagger, Pav went permanently to the fwd line nearly winning the Coleman, Johnson went permanently to the backline and played career best footy, McPhee moved back and played a big season of consistent footy, turned Walters career around.. this is off the top of my head might be some i’m forgetting.

Lyon best strength is challenging and getting the best out of each individual. Unfortunately he got stale in the job by the end and imo his heart wasn’t fully in it. That 2016 season broke him for mine and was just coasting by after that.

For all those who think Ross had a shit list and was a miracle worker. Mark Harvey coached the 2010 team to a finals win. He is widely regarded as one of our worst coaches ever yet the list won an elimination final. That list was primed and Ross was lucky enough to take it over at the perfect time, still couldn’t get the chocolates on GF day.
Is he the only coach to make 4 grand finals and not win one?

For all those who think Ross had a s**t list and was a miracle worker. Mark Harvey coached the 2010 team to a finals win. He is widely regarded as one of our worst coaches ever yet the list won an elimination final. That list was primed and Ross was lucky enough to take it over at the perfect time, still couldn’t get the chocolates on GF day.
Is he the only coach to make 4 grand finals and not win one?
Have a closer look Chris Scott was the assistant.
Turned Tarrant into a defender, as soon as he left Mark lost the players in one year.
Mark gets credit for starting the rebuild, but let’s be real he was no genius in the
box.
Similarities to when Carr moved on.

Have a closer look Chris Scott was the assistant.
Turned Tarrant into a defender, as soon as he left Mark lost the players in one year.
Mark gets credit for starting the rebuild, but let’s be real he was no genius in the
box.
Similarities to when Carr moved on.
Agree with Scott and Harvey analysis , but Jlo is a good read of the game and even last year made changes on the go. Issue is his ( Plan A) stinks and he’s too stubborn to change it. Everyone knows when he takes the shackles off and let’s them take risks we’re lots better.

Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2