Kangas should trade Harrington

I can't be bothered reading all the posts in this thread, but this seems to be the most comical over-reaction to any event I've seen lately. Sack the management, tear up memberships....what a joke.

Last year I reckon was the best trade/draft we've ever been involved in. This year hasn't turned out so well, but we haven't lost anything.......and we will improve because of the exciting young talent we have coming through.......particularly from last year!!

Harrington, Walsh & Laidley are doing a great job for us....now it's over to Nev to do his stuff in the draft. Looking forward to draft day now, which didn't look likely for most of the last week.

Mods (Carlos and Shinners).

can you arrange this trade:

Creator, Myee, Spurs & Forum Leader in return for Yze_Magic, Goaldrush & Chris_Judd?

Originally posted by Kimbo
I think you've been a 'member' much longer than that champ! ;)

But seriously spurs, you could at least own up to threatening to throw in your membership, before then saying "of course I'll be a member". Like I said, on-again, off-again. Or should that be off-again, on-again?

I have huge respect for Carlos, and many others on this board who make well informed, insightful and considered comments, without resorting to abuse. They make it a pleasure to read. Your abusive comments simply agitate yourself and others.

spurs, I hope for your sake you've been drinking and see things differently tomorrow, cos if this is the way you deal with trifling matters like this, I pity you when it comes to the real dramas of life.

F*ck You

HUNTED

124445ar.jpg

Originally posted by creator
YOU ARE AN IDIOT

You woudn't know Gram or Morgan if they pulled your pants down and inserted a corn cob.

Who would they replace?

We must be mad

What do we now do if Corey plays as well as he did the year before he left. The guy has not played an above average year of footy since 96. A hell of a call to trade two potentially 8-10 year players for a bloke who has not performed for 5 out of the last 6 and could well retire at the end of the season. I hope his contract doesnt mean we cant afford to pay players who will stil be there in 2006

Originally posted by spurs
You truly are the RICHARD CRANIUM of this board...
I'd really like to take a straw pole on that right about now, but whatever you say darling.
F*ck You
Not only is he irrational, emotional, non-sensical and inconsistent, but he's articulate as well.

Quite a unit.
Oh and ofcourse i will still be a member
Great news spurs! Tremendous.

But i tell ya what, i'd be dark on the bandwagoning moron imposter who hacked into your log in and typed this...
tell Harrington he has lost a member

:confused: :confused: :mad: :mad: :mad:

holy crap! in the 2 years i've been reading this board i've not seen anything like this!

how did we ever survive before we thought rawlings was coming to the club? get a grip people, we lost nothing! we have our picks so we now choose some quality kids and get on with the job. our list will be stronger next year than it was this year.

lets not forget the club would have been doing all it could to get the deal done and while getting rawlings at the right price would have been great, it didnt happen so get over it.

after the things that the club has been thorugh in the last few years, i don't think missing out on jade rawlings will lead to the demise of this great club.

i didnt realise we had so many fickle supporters....

Originally posted by Rod Stroker
We won't pick up 8 new players at the upcoming draft - primarly because we don't have that many picks, but perhaps also because we don't have the $ for 8 new players.

You get as many draft picks as there are vacancies on your list.

If we don't have the money for 8 new players (draftees on the minimum salary), we wouldn't have the money to pay 8 players traded from other clubs either.

I've been a member since 1968 - I had my wedding reception in the Social Club (I think the same curtains and carpets were still there when it closed). So I'll still be a member in the next how ever many years we exist.
But it still doesn't mean I can't be disappointed with our failure today. Not just Rawlings but our inability to get anyone bar Corey. Seems we were outplayed and look like a bunch of amateurs. Where was plan B, C and D if Rawlings fell through?
Even the Corey deal we played our cards early - would we have let Morell go if we had known we wouldn't get Jade? I doubt it so why was that deal done early?
The Kangas hirearchy need to tell us the full story if they weren't to blame because right now it all seems like we sent a boy on a mans errand.

Go ROOS!

Originally posted by kanga fan
But it still doesn't mean I can't be disappointed with our failure today. Not just Rawlings but our inability to get anyone bar Corey.
I respect your opinion mate, but I agree with Shinner's comment about trading around the edges of our list. I don't think any other trade would have made a real difference to our overall list. I wouldn't have minded Guera, but thems the breaks. Lets put our faith in Stibberd to bring another Choppy to the club.

Trade week isn't the be all and end all. A few decent players come up each year, divided by 16 clubs. If you get a good deal every few years you are doing OK. In the years when things aren't going your way (like this year) you don't lose your head and cause damage. Rawlings would have been good, but not at any price. We got McKernan back and away from Pagan is a big chance to get back to his best. Teague and Morrell weren't in our best 22 by years end with enough opportunities to be so. They each have their good points, but we haven't traded away our birthright.
Cheer up!! We did the best we could. Last year we got Wells, before that Sinclair, Colbert , Grant, Abraham etc. In that time we only lost players who wanted to move back home, or players who could no longer play under Denis or who had disgraced themselves and simply had to move on.

Jason Gram for pick 23
Heath Scotland for pick 35
Adam Morgan for pick 34
Brent Guerra for pick 39

Do we really need these players? I would say no. And no to Koops too. JRawlings was the ONLY uncontracted player available that would have significantly improved our list. Perhaps Cox or Charman, but they was not on the market.

If North offered #9/#24 or #9 with CJ or Baird and the Hawks knocked it back, then they wanted to bend us over the table and make us bleed. They also wanted nothing to do with us getting involved with Essendon (Jacobs) and Fremantle (Croad) too... not sure how much more the club could have done. (haha #10 for Croad, what a joke).

I would have loved to have JRawlings at the club, but the fact is we would have been r*ped and pillaged in the process by Hawthorn.

I am more than happy that DMotlop has signed for another two years... hopefully CJ very soon. :)

And for Pete's sake, Teague and Morrell were at best fringe players that Laidley had NO future for. McKernan may not be a gun, but Teague/Morrell were worth almost nothing to us.

The next morning I suppose it doesn't look quite as bad - ummmm - yes it does!
Key position players are rare and we blew getting what we all know we needed. So far the explanation from the club has been so soft.
If Essendon or the Colliwobbles had been treated like we were it would have been page one news and not dropped until the whole story was told. But the Kangas meekly return to our club and as the web page says remain "stoic".
The dictionary describes the word stoic as "lacking passion or not displaying grief or joy." Can you imagine Edie or Sheeds being "stoic" under these conditions?

The kangas look so soft and meek. Thank god our supporters/members aren't stoic.

Ironically still no posting from the club to explain their position - only a cut and paste from the AFL web site. Very poor communications planning when you know you have so many disappointed (or worse) supporters.

Jason Gram for pick 23
Heath Scotland for pick 35
Adam Morgan for pick 34
Brent Guerra for pick 39

Where the hell were we?

Had we landed one of these guys you would be arguing why we wasted time on these guys when we could have been working on Rawlings.

Also to all of those out there please read my apology on the Kangaroos Board, a new thread. I take back "Harrington - You J*ckass" b ut I would like to call a few other people around here J*ckasses, Carlos keep up the good work buddy.

I’ve been a member since 1968 — but it still doesn’t mean I can't be disappointed with our failure today. Key position players are rare and we blew getting what we all know we needed.

Not just Rawlings but our inability to get anyone bar Corey. Seems we were outplayed and look like a bunch of amateurs. Where was plan B, C and D if Rawlings fell through?

So far the explanation from the club has been so soft. There is still no posting from the club to explain their position — only a cut and paste from the AFL web site. Very poor communications planning when you know you have so many disappointed (or worse) supporters. The Kangas hirearchy need to tell us the full story if they weren't to blame because right now it all seems like we sent a boy on a mans errand.

The Kangas meekly return to our club and as the web page says remain "stoic". The dictionary describes the word stoic as "lacking passion or not displaying grief or joy." Can you imagine Eddie or Sheeds being "stoic" under these conditions? The kangas look so soft and meek.
1. I'm glad you're a loyal long term member. And I agree, it doesn't mean you can't be disappointed. In fact, it probably means that your passion runs deep and your hopes and expectations have no doubt led to feeling more disappointed than someone who doesn't care enough to become a member. I'm still not certain, kangafan, if we "blew" it, so much as got gazumped.

2. Perhaps the end result was pretty much following a plan. That is, we’d like Rawlings, he’s available and wants to come here AND we won’t pay more than we think he’s worth AND if it doesn’t work out, then we’ll still have Corey for now, plus trade picks to use wisely. You seem to think Plan B, C and D meant having to trade.

3. Yes, it would be nice to have had the Kangaroos perspective on this, and yes, we are missing out on knowing why things transpired the way they did. AND, I think that’s why you might be able to hold off on the criticism. Is it possible, if you were to know the “full” story, you might have made the same decision as them? Or been the ‘victim’ of the Bulldogs’ antics too? Until we know, however, we’re all ‘guessing’ to some extent.

4. If you had to look up “stoic” you may not appreciate that it’s origins, with a particular Greek school of philosophy (The Stoics), involved consciously choosing this attitude, in preference to allowing emotions full sway. Whether it is the best way or not is certainly debatable, but there is a certain dignity in the consciously choosing to restrain feelings – unlike Eddie and Sheeds – instead of “shooting off at the mouth” simply because you feel the way you do. I for one applaud them for not getting into a war of words with the Bulldogs or Hawks – however tempting it may have been.

Key position players are rare and we blew getting what we all know we needed.

The kangas look so soft and meek. Thank god our supporters/members aren't stoic.

So what would you have offered for Rawlings, or who else would you have targetted?

You seem to know all the answers but are reluctant to impart your wisdom for all of us to see...

Kangas should trade Harrington