KDFL March 07 - May 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

The latest news on Lancaster's Troy "Major" Mitchell is that he is going overseas and will not be playing this year. This loss will harshly jeopardise lancys finals chances:D
Big loss but I'm sure they'll still be competitive. I think Carver and the boys might be able to talk him into playing til he leaves.

Originally Posted by big tony
not quite 15 players mate but they were missing a fair few regulars who will more than likely play round one
-tom dukic
-clayton white
-dean carracher
-frank macak
-david marguglio
-jack smyth
-ryan smyth
-jeff smyth
-gary abley
-chris hayes
-dylan moffat
-lyndon kubeil

but still good signs though as VT had 3 16yr olds playing, lee brennan, hayden floate and jack mcpherson who have all earned there spot.
lee was named in VTs better players

I'd say there is only 5 defenite starters there for saturday...
We will be without frank macek who's chasin the fluff in the caribean and tommy dukic who will be missing for the first few games because of work commitments... Carra is still yet to play a game so whether he'll go straight in or not who knows? Jeff might also have work commitments.
Ruckman Paul Enright who's been in stella form will be more than likely on the sidelines with osteitos pubis, and onballer patty horsburgh injured his ankle in the granny against undera sunday night.....
The 3 16yr olds plus combo and palmsey will probably be replaced by the likes of mugsy, whitey, moff, jack and ryan
We've got a good list this year but our only real difference to last year is our depth when we have a few out there are plenty of options as we've shown ourselves in pre-season, i'd say the big improvers of our club this year will be our magoos if only we can get a few more of them on the track, the song might be a regular thing come 2.00pm on a saturday arvo...

Big loss but I'm sure they'll still be competitive. I think Carver and the boys might be able to talk him into playing til he leaves.

lnteresting to hear the response by Carver on the news of Mitchells departure,a similar thing happened to Tatura with Tim Lanyon and was given the boot for being dishonest and not admitting it to the club,yet Carver seems keen to retain his services regardless.Mitchell seems as though he wants to take the year off so you would think that he hasnt been training,do you keep a player whos heart really isnt in it or play the blokes that have done a preseason and are raring to go,tough decision to be made but even tougher knowing that he is a gun forward that is hard to replace....:rolleyes:

I guess it depends on the player and the club. What's the policy at VT John? You guys obviously play footballers, who don't train with the club, which can also be an intresting decision

Seems to be a bone of contention at every club l would think,some train all the time and some rarely but would you play a guy who really dosent want to play and whos heart isnt in it,l think that is where we draw the line but l dont know all the circumstances and lm sure that Carver knows whats best for their club..

Hows Rushy looking for the big clash this saturday Tav? Any ins or outs....
Who's the Full Forward this year?

doona, heard a whisper that dipper wilson has been training with ur boys and played in a practice match or two. any word on where he is playing this year? would it be fair to assume that if he's training with broadford that he's not playing at yea?

Seems to be a bone of contention at every club l would think,some train all the time and some rarely but would you play a guy who really dosent want to play and whos heart isnt in it,l think that is where we draw the line but l dont know all the circumstances and lm sure that Carver knows whats best for their club..

Have a look at Seymour. Won last 2 flags with half training in Melb and half in Seymour. They did all get together as one group a bit though which is definately important to make a strong team.

I think you will find they all got together for training in Seymour every Thursday night. Tuesday nights the locals trained in Seymour while the Melbourne boys trained at Latrobe Uni. Im also led to believe once the finals got under way they trained at Roxburgh Park early in the week and Seymour later in the week. I might be wrong though. But having said all that, it is probably only 1 country club that makes this easy to do,considering how close Seymour is to Melbourne.

Just thought I'd make a comment on the Mitchell story. Can't really believe it's such a big story really. I mean, back page of the Shepp news, WTF? Was it really on Win News?

Mitch told Corey and myself a few weeks ago he 'wasn't keen', saying he just couldn't be stuffed with footy, knowing he was going to be taking off to Canada in a few months, we gave him the time but I think the decison was already made in his mind.
What Corey would be most disappointed in, and myself also, is that Mitch told us from the end of last year he would be playing, so for the circumstances to change only weeks away from the first game, doesn't really help preparation for the season.
We've picked up some good midfielders a couple of talls and a few of the younger blokes look like they might go up a level, but to take 140 odd goals from the team is disappointing in any case.
But all is not lost, it just means that opportunity arrives for others. Michael Pell, Andrew Thomas, Steve Cail, Brendan White, even the return of the freak Scotty Hearn, they all have the ability to find the big sticks regularly.

Just thought I'd make a comment on the Mitchell story. Can't really believe it's such a big story really. I mean, back page of the Shepp news, WTF? Was it really on Win News?

Mitch told Corey and myself a few weeks ago he 'wasn't keen', saying he just couldn't be stuffed with footy, knowing he was going to be taking off to Canada in a few months, we gave him the time but I think the decison was already made in his mind.
What Corey would be most disappointed in, and myself also, is that Mitch told us from the end of last year he would be playing, so for the circumstances to change only weeks away from the first game, doesn't really help preparation for the season.
We've picked up some good midfielders a couple of talls and a few of the younger blokes look like they might go up a level, but to take 140 odd goals from the team is disappointing in any case.
But all is not lost, it just means that opportunity arrives for others. Michael Pell, Andrew Thomas, Steve Cail, Brendan White, even the return of the freak Scotty Hearn, they all have the ability to find the big sticks regularly.

Yeah couldnt believe old Jacbax compared it to the Lanyon/Tatura saga, of course its disappointing but looking at the positives you wont have to find someone to plug the gap mid-year when he leaves, a couple of players can now have a crack at holding down Full-Forward or even have a different forward set up all together.
Milky could be the perfect candidate, could be the making of him, can see in 10 years time him being mentioned in the same breath as Meka, Loveless, Irwin.;) If he doesnt work there is always Flamin Homer:eek:

Milky has those capabilities doesn't he, hank. Big angry bastard, but with footy smarts. :)
As Allan Jeans so famously said, 'crisis creates opportunity'.

As for Flamin Homer, he'll being spending the majority of his time away from work trying to get his supercoach team up to speed. :rolleyes:

Milky has those capabilities doesn't he, hank. Big angry bastard, but with footy smarts. :)
As Allan Jeans so famously said, 'crisis creates opportunity'.

As for Flamin Homer, he'll being spending the majority of his time away from work trying to get his supercoach team up to speed. :rolleyes:

Good to hear Milky is going to run around again, last I spoke time him he was undecided. Must be time to play Blood as a permanant forward I'm sure he is deserving of a chance to play at that end and be a hard player to match up against.

My tips for round one:

yea vs avenal (18pts, slow start but yea will eventually get over the line)

rushworthvs violet town (3pts, Time to let the footy do the talking... match of round could go either way)

murchison vs stanhope (150pts, struggling off season will make it a long day for the hoppers)

ardmona vs gigarre (96pts, Meka to kick ten and grab a lead in the goalkicking early)

tallygaroopna vs nagambie (66pts.... Tally to have a comfortable start)

undera vs merrigum (79pts.... Undera will be good on the attack and will win comfortably)

lancaster vs bye

Pity Meka didnt play against roxburgh park practice match where ardmona were beaten by roxy by 90 points

Yeah couldnt believe old Jacbax compared it to the Lanyon/Tatura saga, of course its disappointing but looking at the positives you wont have to find someone to plug the gap mid-year when he leaves, a couple of players can now have a crack at holding down Full-Forward or even have a different forward set up all together.
Milky could be the perfect candidate, could be the making of him, can see in 10 years time him being mentioned in the same breath as Meka, Loveless, Irwin.;) If he doesnt work there is always Flamin Homer:eek:

Cant believe you are even thinking of putting Milky in the same class as Meka and Loveless,this would be rediculous wouldnt old Hunk 1.Just my opinion from old jaxbac (jacbax)

Any of you folks interested in fielding a team? :p

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342

Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League?

Seeking interest in players for a Regional Leagues fantasy footy comp.

This is a) not real footy and b) not pick-a-team-of-AFL-players footy. Its even lazier!

All you do is express interest, I'll do the rest via QOOTY, a crappy random aussie rules simulator I created years ago and have been trying to bring up to speed. FAQs here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75728

I'll try to collate a league of teams that are representative of the more popular local leagues here, so I need raised hands from the posters. I won't make up any names, I won't allow any sudden new arrivals.

So either post here or PM me if you want your Bigfooty alter-ego registered for a team.

Hopefully we can turn some rivalries into some even more potent partnerships!

I'll probably aim for starting the season, say, end of next week. I MAY have to be an inflexible prick with okaying a team and treating latecomers.

For this season, hopefully the inaugural season of an ongoing league, all we need are 20 players per team. There is already a Fantasy league, more closely based on the AFL clubs, at Bigfooty, here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30 - its into its 7th season and has developed a bit of history! There is also another league at another footy forum site, this year with only 3 teams but had been as strong as 5 clubs in its 3 year tenure.

So get in touch if you're interested. Remember you don't have to do anything apart from dob your Bigfooty nickname in for a spot. Please tell me which club/league of regional footy you would prefer to be aligned with (please state both).

We'll see how we go. If it doesn't happen, ah well, if it happens later than I hope ... I'll still give it a burl.

Onward lads! ...

merrigum fella's

i hear that andy "cocko" cochrane has put in a clearance to you. will chad "chubby" jones be joining him???

Cant believe you are even thinking of putting Milky in the same class as Meka and Loveless,this would be rediculous wouldnt old Hunk 1.Just my opinion from old jaxbac (jacbax)
sorry JAXBAC, no i didnt put him in there class mate read the post again if you wish.

l dont think that in 10 years time he would be a tenth of Meka , Loveless or Irwin as these guys are lengends of the league,do you honestly think that Milky has that sort of potential HANK....

When I use this ;) i am trying to get across that what I am saying is in fact in jest/to be taken with a grain of salt/not to be taken too seriously(the person i was replying to i'm sure took my comment as that.
Anyway honestly! if milky played Full Forward for the next 10 years, didnt have too many more injuries and looked after himself by putting on another 10-15kg, yes he could get 100 goals in the KDL more years than not, could he be in the Meka, Loveless category, no, although he could put on a show for the crowd like those blokes. Your question does he have that sort of potential, yes.

Good to hear Milky is going to run around again, last I spoke time him he was undecided. Must be time to play Blood as a permanant forward I'm sure he is deserving of a chance to play at that end and be a hard player to match up against.
Yeah, Milky just wants a break between cricket and footy but he's been training on and off. Pretty sure we'll see him soon.
It's either that or I get in contact with Marty Monster and see if he wants a game. ;)