KDFL March 07 - May 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

massive news!!!!
benalla legend john 'shorty' martiniello will be lining up for violet town.
the little man said he wants to play with fello mates gary abley, chris hayes and possibly gary gerada.

Gary Abley struggled in the two's on the weekend - so is shorty happy to play the early game. Abley actually had to drift down to the backline to chase a kick which is a bit worrying for the veteran. Having said that - it's not always easy for a good player to adjust to KDL 2nds, especially when they're as bad as the towner's are.

Having the VT v Avenel game on sunday will give the rest of the league an opportunity to have a good look at premiership contenders VT(their words not mine:p )
So how many will be making the trip to VT on sunday from the clubs that play on saturday?
Despite both teams being well under full strength it should be a cracker. I'm tipping avenel to sneak home by a point for loyalty reasons.

The KDFL granny should be moved to a GVFL ground, Ky seems great or even rotate with Tat. Reasons:

Better Facilities for Spectators (viewing).
Better Facilities for Players (rooms).
Better equiped to hold larger crowds eg. Seating, stands, parking, larger canteens.
No home ground advantage.
No one club reaps more profits then another.
Better broadcasting facilities.
Easier to manage crowds and behaviour.
No people getting in without paying. (people have basically walked into Stanhope, etc by jumping a meter high piece of wire, or walking through a paddock at murch/lanky).

Lancaster played a final at Ky Rec in 1988 and it was a real hit, not sure why it still doesnt happen. The KDFL organises 3-5 volunteers from each club on a roster. Each volunteer receives a portion of profit to go towards there club (eg. 5 volunteers supplied by each club for $750) If you dont supply the workers you dont receive a share of the profits.
If you want the KDFL to progress and improve then these sorts of moves are essential.

I agree totally with the Granny being held on a GV ground, way better atmosphere and it would draw a bigger crowd.

However Junkie, Ky is not the best ground in the GV, its Called Deakin Reserve champ.

Deakin is ok but I think it's too small. Often takes the CHF out of the game a bit and IMO you want to see a good dual @ CHF in such a pivotal game.

Deaking is in the top 3 or 4 though.

The KDFL granny should be moved to a GVFL ground, Ky seems great or even rotate with Tat. Reasons:

Better equiped to hold larger crowds eg. Seating, stands, parking, larger canteens.

Lancaster played a final at Ky Rec in 1988 and it was a real hit, not sure why it still doesnt happen.

If you want the KDFL to progress and improve then these sorts of moves are essential.

They need to promote the Granny as the showcase event and with the standard of the league increasing this year there should be greater interest from outside the league.

I think its a great opportunity to do it @ ky. With all the imporoved facilities the chances are the players too will put on a better spectacle. Having played @ Ky a bit I always felt there was a better atmosphere there than other grounds and just a general feeling that the level went up a cog:thumbsu:

Tat is not a good joint for a GF.

Feeling a bit of dejavu here lads, reckon this was discussed duing last seasons finals.

your right doona, but i think that just shows that alot of people are keen on the idea and obviously the league is entertaining it aswell.I think it would be great for the league.

Bloody oath, reckon it would b a great spectactle and Im sure the players involved would love the chance to have a run on a major league ground :thumbsu:

Deakin is ok but I think it's too small. Often takes the CHF out of the game a bit and IMO you want to see a good dual @ CHF in such a pivotal game.

I reckon THE D (deakin) would be awesome but wont happen. GVL normally have the Prelim final every year the day after our GF so would not be suitable anyway. Mark that off ya list and alternate between Tat & Ky. Both would have better surfaces than any KDL ground and both have much better fencing, viewing facilities etc. Kys parking might be an issue though. About the grog in car boots, do what the PDFL do and check peoples boots. You legally dont have to let them check your car but im sure they can just tell ya to leave your car outside if ya dont let em check it.

Gary Abley struggled in the two's on the weekend - so is shorty happy to play the early game. Abley actually had to drift down to the backline to chase a kick which is a bit worrying for the veteran. Having said that - it's not always easy for a good player to adjust to KDL 2nds, especially when they're as bad as the towner's are.

Abs trained for the first time last thursday before the match at lancaster, He had knee surgery a month before the season started, give him three or four more weeks and he'll be right. Hayesy trained for the first time last night and is also playing reserves and he too will obviously be very under done..... And if Shorty truly is playing, he would be playing twos im guessing.....
We thought our twos would go alright this year, because on paper it's a good list, but as always getting half those players to the game on saturday has proved to be to big of a battle and getting them to training aswell...
And on our seniors....
The blokes talking us up on here are the boys that don't play senior footy, not the actual players, were aiming for improvement on last year and that would be finals football.
Looking forward to this sundays clash with Avenel, should be a fairly close encounter with both teams having good starts to the year

Abs trained for the first time last thursday before the match at lancaster, He had knee surgery a month before the season started, give him three or four more weeks and he'll be right. Hayesy trained for the first time last night and is also playing reserves and he too will obviously be very under done..... And if Shorty truly is playing, he would be playing twos im guessing.....
We thought our twos would go alright this year, because on paper it's a good list, but as always getting half those players to the game on saturday has proved to be to big of a battle and getting them to training aswell...
And on our seniors....
The blokes talking us up on here are the boys that don't play senior footy, not the actual players, were aiming for improvement on last year and that would be finals football.
Looking forward to this sundays clash with Avenel, should be a fairly close encounter with both teams having good starts to the year
Thats fair 2 say bodzy. U sure never under estimate people
who have such experience

No one club reaps more profits then another.
Better broadcasting facilities.
Easier to manage crowds and behaviour.
No people getting in without paying. (people have basically walked into Stanhope, etc by jumping a meter high piece of wire, or walking through a paddock at murch/lanky).

Lancaster played a final at Ky Rec in 1988 and it was a real hit, not sure why it still doesnt happen. The KDFL organises 3-5 volunteers from each club on a roster. Each volunteer receives a portion of profit to go towards there club (eg. 5 volunteers supplied by each club for $750) If you dont supply the workers you dont receive a share of the profits.

Good memory there! It was Lanky V Merrigum I beleive. Lets face it Ky wont be training come that time of the year so it should be in a1 condition.

Can't reveal my sources here boys, but I reckon Deakin is a very, very big chance to host the GF.

Preliminary talks may have already occurred!!

Wat does everything think bout fordy playing back line twos?
by all accounts johnny forde (rushy) has alot to
prove and has been training hard
to make it back to the seniors ranks were
he belongs.
And backy's efforts on the weekend defiently deserve another crack at it.
Can any tell me what they reckon about md clarkes move into the centre, pivotal????

Anyone knows the where bouts of llyod, lynch and andy clarke??? IS there any truth to the exodus of these fine players???
All i can tell you is the John Forde is playing 2nds because he wants to play there, he just wants to play with his mates in the 2nds, good enough to play ones i agree. Are you talking about Andrew Clarkes move into the ruck? If you are i would say he played well, wouldnt say it was pivotal considering the opposition only kicked one goal.

Can't reveal my sources here boys, but I reckon Deakin is a very, very big chance to host the GF.

Preliminary talks may have already occurred!!

If Tally is involved a game a Deakin might make sense but say Stanhope V Rushy at Deakin wouldn't. As I said before Ky Rec Res would be the most logical...KDFL.

A bit of a sense of history if these clubs played at Deakin, with both clubs previous combatants in th GV many moons ago..

Close one at Violet Town today I hear, the towners home by 11 pts. Maybe the Swans and their youngsters are the real deal, my scout having young Robbie Sidebottom best again for Avenel.

Violet Town 1.8 6.7 5.1 3.3 (15.19)
Avenel 5.3 2.0 6.3 2.2 (15.8)

Goals (VT) THOMAS DUKIC 3, MATTHEW MILLS 3, ROBERT SAKER 2, JACK SMYTH 2, MATTHEW WALKER 2, PAUL ENRIGHT 1, BO HARRISON 1, PATRICK HORSBURGH 1
(Avenel) BRENT MARRA 4, ROBERT SIDEBOTTOM 4, MICHAEL DONOVAN 3, PAUL ARANDT 2, KELVIN GROVES 1, SCOTT KANTERS 1

Best (VT) DEAN CARRACHER, DAVID MARGUGLIO, PATRICK HORSBURGH, PAUL ENRIGHT, THOMAS SAKER, JAMES BODYCOAT
(Avenel) BRENT MARRA, JOSEPH O'CONNOR, ROBERT SIDEBOTTOM, PAUL ARANDT, KELVIN GROVES, BRETT MCDONALD

For me Stanhope just may be sneaking away from the pack, UNdera down to Ardmon after rolling Tally, Stanhope keeping Merrigum goal less after the first change . . . . . my early early tip sees it a case of third time lucky this year for Stanhope with the P-Train kicking 7, toss of the coin between Brenton Gray and Troy Auld for BOG in this years granny at Kyabram :D

Close one at Violet Town today I hear, the towners home by 11 pts. Maybe the Swans and their youngsters are the real deal, my scout having young Robbie Sidebottom best again for Avenel.

Violet Town 1.8 6.7 5.1 3.3 (15.19)
Avenel 5.3 2.0 6.3 2.2 (15.8)

Goals (VT) THOMAS DUKIC 3, MATTHEW MILLS 3, ROBERT SAKER 2, JACK SMYTH 2, MATTHEW WALKER 2, PAUL ENRIGHT 1, BO HARRISON 1, PATRICK HORSBURGH 1
(Avenel) BRENT MARRA 4, ROBERT SIDEBOTTOM 4, MICHAEL DONOVAN 3, PAUL ARANDT 2, KELVIN GROVES 1, SCOTT KANTERS 1

Best (VT) DEAN CARRACHER, DAVID MARGUGLIO, PATRICK HORSBURGH, PAUL ENRIGHT, THOMAS SAKER, JAMES BODYCOAT
(Avenel) BRENT MARRA, JOSEPH O'CONNOR, ROBERT SIDEBOTTOM, PAUL ARANDT, KELVIN GROVES, BRETT MCDONALD

For me Stanhope just may be sneaking away from the pack, UNdera down to Ardmon after rolling Tally, Stanhope keeping Merrigum goal less after the first change . . . . . my early early tip sees it a case of third time lucky this year for Stanhope with the P-Train kicking 7, toss of the coin between Brenton Gray and Troy Auld for BOG in this years granny at Kyabram :D

not bad doona considering vt had 8 senior players out but the game was at a great specticle and a win/win for the kdfl!
you said you were going to be there, where were you?

stanhope have played murchison, nagambie and merrigum.
thats not a huge accomplishment.
wait to see when they play a top 5 team, then make your decisions doona.
is that fair to say?

not bad doona considering vt had 8 senior players out but the game was at a great specticle and a win/win for the kdfl!
you said you were going to be there, where were you?

Yeah you lost another two today in Bo and Jack. Stop this 'we have blokes out' crap mate. Can you please name these 8 'senior' blokes please?

stanhope have played murchison, nagambie and merrigum.
thats not a huge accomplishment.
wait to see when they play a top 5 team, then make your decisions doona.
is that fair to say?

2 home and losses in 2 years of footy, 2 grand final losses by the narrowest of margins, recruited Troy Auld and Dennis Grinton, back-line averaging less than 4 goals a game against them, centre-line and forward-line averaging 20 - 25 goals a game so far..... I'd say regardless of what opposition there playing you gotta give them credit...
Sorry Tony, just putting it out how i see it.
You lads played well again today i thought, playin a real good brand of footy when ya's are on the go, just gotta cut out the little mistakes and you's should feature right up there come the latter stages of the year