KDFL March 07 - May 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

wise words, Tally would be 2-1fav,Stanhope 3-1,VT 5-1,Undera 5-1,Ardmona 5-1 Rushy 8-1 Lanky 12-1, Avenel 12-1 & the rest 100-1

Any ajustments anyone

ill throw in the aboriginal allstars at 10 to 1. from all reports have a few more flying in from darwin, playing for nothing, just the love of the jumper??

Who are you talking about at 10 to 1 ???
As for more on there way you are on the money with that one, plane lands at 22.50 wed night 6'4 and 94 fit kilo's and quick.
Hope he is in for saturday

Venue move is a concern

May 8 2007
Shepparton News

We read with concern of Kyabram District Football League's executive decision to consider playing the league grand final of 2007 on a Goulburn Valley Football League ground - either Kyabram, Tatura or Mooroopna.
Please be warned of the consequences of such a move.

In the 1960s, when we were both officials of the Kyabram league, a decision was made by club delegates to play a grand final at Tatura.

The aim of the move was to attract a larger attendance and provide better facilities for both patrons and players.

This proved unsuccessful in that:

(a) Lesser people attended than anticipated, hence lower takings; and

(b) The Kyabram league club ladies found it difficult to organise and cater in strange surrounds.

Kyabram league delegates then realised any benefits that may have come from such a move were only gained by Tatura Football Club.

Surely league officials realise that the huge ground and club improvements made by most clubs in the Kyabram league over the past years have greatly resulted from the allocation of finals matches to all clubs in the competition.

League finances also have gained from finals matches, especially the grand final, ensuring that clubs do not have to contribute greatly to the running costs of the league during the season.

We write, with concern, because we have witnessed first hand the great progress the league has made over the past 40 years.

We know from experience that such a move would be a backward step for the Kyabram league.

Keith Hindson (former league secretary-treasurer).

Elden Wade (former league president).

Al, what's Nick done to him self.?
apparently big neita stacked a car on the way home from a spotlighting venture a couple of weeks before the season and has done himself a mischeif. Emmett was with him i think. not sure exactly what they have done to themselves. better ask fuzz its his brother and cousin. emmett should be back soon though.

Venue move is a concern

May 8 2007
Shepparton News

We read with concern of Kyabram District Football League's executive decision to consider playing the league grand final of 2007 on a Goulburn Valley Football League ground - either Kyabram, Tatura or Mooroopna.

In the 1960s, when we were both officials of the Kyabram league, a decision was made by club delegates to play a grand final at Tatura.

The aim of the move was to attract a larger attendance and provide better facilities for both patrons and players.

(b) The Kyabram league club ladies found it difficult to organise and cater in strange surrounds.

Kyabram league delegates then realised any benefits that may have come from such a move were only gained by Tatura Football Club.

Surely league officials realise that the huge ground and club improvements made by most clubs in the Kyabram league over the past years have greatly resulted from the allocation of finals matches to all clubs in the competition.

League finances also have gained from finals matches, especially the grand final, ensuring that clubs do not have to contribute greatly to the running costs of the league during the season.

We write, with concern, because we have witnessed first hand the great progress the league has made over the past 40 years.

We know from experience that such a move would be a backward step for the Kyabram league.

is that a dig at us kdfl followers? are we lesser people?:p

I'd rather keep it within the KDL home and away grounds. Just leave it how it is, it's grand final day and it's always going to get a good crowd regardless of where it's played and i don't think changing the venue is going to make a difference. By that stage of the year, if a person wants to see a final there gonna go watch it where ever it is played. Whether or not they even follow that league during the season.....
It doesn't matter how much you police people sneaking in and sneaking grog in, if your going to do that your going to do that, if theres a way theres a will. I've done it at Deakin before with ease...
So bugger giving the GV any extra profits and let the chosen hosting club to do there catering within their own surroundings......

I'd rather keep it within the KDL home and away grounds. Just leave it how it is, it's grand final day and it's always going to get a good crowd regardless of where it's played and i don't think changing the venue is going to make a difference. By that stage of the year, if a person wants to see a final there gonna go watch it where ever it is played. Whether or not they even follow that league during the season.....
It doesn't matter how much you police people sneaking in and sneaking grog in, if your going to do that your going to do that, if theres a way theres a will. I've done it at Deakin before with ease...
So bugger giving the GV any extra profits and let the chosen hosting club to do there catering within their own surroundings......

i disagree bodzy... i think it would make a real showcase of our league to play it on one of the better grounds that are used in the GVFL... the viewing at the gv grounds is far better then that of the KDFL grounds and i really believe that if it was held at deakin you would get alot bigger crowd then if u had it at murch or even tat for tht matter..
it could benefit all the clubs of the KDFL not just 3 or 4 who hold the GF at the moment

Venue move is a concern

May 8 2007
Shepparton News

A fair bit has changed since then. There were no valid points mentioned in that article. I think in todays age we can deal with the 'strange surroundings' of using someone elses pie warmer. Back then you couldnt sneak booze in anyway, there was no where to hide it on your horse. I like VT#23's thoughts, although i reckon the Ky Rec is the ground to have it at.

I have been watching merch these last couple of weeks and i reakon i lot of sides will have trouble manning up that fella from Tasmania, as anyone else seen him play and what do they think of him???
And also good to see timmy rictor back playing he must have made up with the team mate that he back doored last year!!

I have been watching merch these last couple of weeks and i reakon i lot of sides will have trouble manning up that fella from Tasmania, as anyone else seen him play and what do they think of him???
And also good to see timmy rictor back playing he must have made up with the team mate that he back doored last year!!

are you talking about murch seniors or thirds

A fair bit has changed since then. There were no valid points mentioned in that article. I think in todays age we can deal with the 'strange surroundings' of using someone elses pie warmer. Back then you couldnt sneak booze in anyway, there was no where to hide it on your horse. I like VT#23's thoughts, although i reckon the Ky Rec is the ground to have it at.

i am a true kdl follower and if the grand final was played at a gvl venue i wouldnt go. All the kdl would be doing is supporting richer stronger clubs.

cum on mate pull ur head in :thumbsu:

apparently big neita stacked a car on the way home from a spotlighting venture a couple of weeks before the season and has done himself a mischeif. Emmett was with him i think. not sure exactly what they have done to themselves. better ask fuzz its his brother and cousin. emmett should be back soon though.

seperate incidents al. emmett broke his leg in december at a wedding. he's been runner and has been training and is probably a couple of weeks away. nic in a car that hit a tree one night on the way home from spotlighting. several injuries, the most significant of which was a couple of broken vertebrae in his back (which has healed recently) and snapped both his tib and fib. has recently started to but weight on his foot and if all goes to plan should be alright by next season. :thumbsu:

You have hit it on the head Trouser that was the 60's time to step forward not much substance behind there comments. I also reckon Ky would be the ideal ground to have it at.
It has caused quite a stir though

who will win the goal kicking this year?

i am a true kdl follower and if the grand final was played at a gvl venue i wouldnt go. All the kdl would be doing is supporting richer stronger clubs.

How so? If a GVFL ground was used like Kyabram then the league would surely hire the ground from Kyabram or the ground management. Kyabram would barely see a dollar for it, bar any ground rental. Gate, food, drink etc. would be shared between the clubs (on a rotational basis with the catering).

Kyabram would be a perfect venue too if it was decided to go that way. Very good ground.

seperate incidents al. emmett broke his leg in december at a wedding. he's been runner and has been training and is probably a couple of weeks away. nic in a car that hit a tree one night on the way home from spotlighting. several injuries, the most significant of which was a couple of broken vertebrae in his back (which has healed recently) and snapped both his tib and fib. has recently started to but weight on his foot and if all goes to plan should be alright by next season. :thumbsu:
thanks fuzz wasn't sure. so 3 of the awesome foursome will be back on the park in the next couple of weeks?:p

Just looking at the next three rounds, they should be very interesting and should provide a good yardstick of where each club is at…
  • Stanhope play Undera, Tally and Ardmona
  • Tally play Ardmona, Stanhope and Rushworth
  • Girgarre play Lancy, Avenel and Violet Town
  • Rushworth play Merrigum, Undera and Tally
Many crucial games in there that could go either way, if Stanhope can remain undefeated through this stage I’d put them a cut above the rest.
The same goes for Tally, and if that’s the case we can write off their loss as a bad day out maybe…?
Girgarre Allstars???? Who knows what the gig boys may produce with their full list…

Just looking at the next three rounds, they should be very interesting and should provide a good yardstick of where each club is at…
  • Stanhope play Undera, Tally and Ardmona
  • Tally play Ardmona, Stanhope and Rushworth
  • Girgarre play Lancy, Avenel and Violet Town
  • Rushworth play Merrigum, Undera and Tally
Many crucial games in there that could go either way, if Stanhope can remain undefeated through this stage I’d put them a cut above the rest.
The same goes for Tally, and if that’s the case we can write off their loss as a bad day out maybe…?
Girgarre Allstars???? Who knows what the gig boys may produce with their full list…
I agree with you there bodz, it should be played at a kdfl ground, the kdfl nedds to sit down and look at all venues around the league and see which ones would be best suited to hosting a grand final.
just throwin something out there, what about a night final

Venue move is a concern

May 8 2007
Shepparton News

Thank god that someone here (and to be fair, a few others as well) sees the light :D , because here are two blokes that truly know WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT.

I mean really, do you think for one moment that either Tat, Ky or Mooroopna would risk having their ground & facilities trashed, if they couldn't make a quid from it ? .

It's fair to say that the vast majority of the people here are players, and let's face it, by far the easiest thing you can do at a football club is to play football, so you guys only see the finished product (how it goes on the day as a player or spectator) because I doubt very much that any of you have any idea how hard it is trying to organize a Grand Final.

There is a lot of work that goes into it, you have to put up marquees, get orders in for food, spruce up the ground & facilities, get enough volunteers, get prizes for raffles, provide food for the League Executive etc, and that you need at least a month to get it right.

If the KDFL moved the Grand Final, you wouldn't get the volunteers to help, the league would have to hire that out, which in turn hurts the member clubs through increased affilation fees to pay for all of this.

You don't have to be Nostradamus to see that coming, because finding volunteers to help is hard enough as it is, and if it get moved the likes of myself (and Graham Orr, for those who don't know who he is, he's done the scoreboard & timekeeping at Murch for decades, and does all the KDFL games as well for a long time) , wouldn't bother and I and many others would say "Let them take care of it, why should I waste my time, making another club money".

You need the likes of Graham & myself doing their bit, because no one else (especially those who advocate for the Grand Final to be moved) would, and the message that moving the Grand Final to a venue outside of the KDFL, sends the message out to all 13 clubs and the people that run them, that they and their efforts aren't worth a pinch of s###, because you aren't worthy of hosting the marquee event in our league.

The problems told to us by both Keith Hindson & Elden Wade, are still the same in the sixties as they are today, and it's heartening that these two loyal Lancaster & KDFL men, can see the problems, that the blue sky optimists on this board can't.

For example, the Diamond Valley League held their finals series at Victoria Park, and the Grand Final had a cold, sterile environment about it, and having our Grand Final at Ky, Tat, Mooroopna or Deakin would have the atmosphere.

Backdooring is a strong part of country footy clubs. in some cases it keeps clubs alive. theres not much you can do about it really. just go to stanhope and tally. you could also add rushy, but there not as bad

Thank god that someone here (and to be fair, a few others as well) sees the light :D , because here are two blokes that truly know WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT.

I mean really, do you think for one moment that either Tat, Ky or Mooroopna would risk having their ground & facilities trashed, if they couldn't make a quid from it ? .

It's fair to say that the vast majority of the people here are players, and let's face it, by far the easiest thing you can do at a football club is to play football, so you guys only see the finished product (how it goes on the day as a player or spectator) because I doubt very much that any of you have any idea how hard it is trying to organize a Grand Final.

There is a lot of work that goes into it, you have to put up marquees, get orders in for food, spruce up the ground & facilities, get enough volunteers, get prizes for raffles, provide food for the League Executive etc, and that you need at least a month to get it right.

If the KDFL moved the Grand Final, you wouldn't get the volunteers to help, the league would have to hire that out, which in turn hurts the member clubs through increased affilation fees to pay for all of this.

You don't have to be Nostradamus to see that coming, because finding volunteers to help is hard enough as it is, and if it get moved the likes of myself (and Graham Orr, for those who don't know who he is, he's done the scoreboard & timekeeping at Murch for decades, and does all the KDFL games as well for a long time) , wouldn't bother and I and many others would say "Let them take care of it, why should I waste my time, making another club money".

You need the likes of Graham & myself doing their bit, because no one else (especially those who advocate for the Grand Final to be moved) would, and the message that moving the Grand Final to a venue outside of the KDFL, sends the message out to all 13 clubs and the people that run them, that they and their efforts aren't worth a pinch of s###, because you aren't worthy of hosting the marquee event in our league.

The problems told to us by both Keith Hindson & Elden Wade, are still the same in the sixties as they are today, and it's heartening that these two loyal Lancaster & KDFL men, can see the problems, that the blue sky optimists on this board can't.

For example, the Diamond Valley League held their finals series at Victoria Park, and the Grand Final had a cold, sterile environment about it, and having our Grand Final at Ky, Tat, Mooroopna or Deakin would have the atmosphere.

biggest load of garbage i've ever read Wayde. It's understandable though coming from a murch person as they get the GF 3 out of every 5 years. How do yea, vt, avenel, nagambie etc benefit from the GF at the moment that would be any less if it was held at a GVL ground. why would the grounds get trashed? It costs about $500 to hire the Ky ground from the shire of campaspe - NOT KYABRAM FC - hardly makes ky get rich does it? This is basically to cover insurances etc as the users are not the lessees of the ground. Standard procedure i think you'll find. if every club provided say 10 volunteers to work the bbq's, bars, canteen, raffles, parking etc etc you evenly distribute all the profits to all the clubs. Don't kiwanis run the gates? If you and your mate don't volunteer for murch and they don't get their 10 people or whatever it is to pitch in, then no $$ goes their way. As for bodzy's comment on people going anywhere to watch footy regardless fo where it's played - you're a kidding yourself mate. There'd be 100's or poeple who wouldn't trek to Vt, Yea or Avenal from ky/shepp/tat to watch a GF. If it was held in ky, tat or shepp you'd get a lot more gvl followers coming to watch possibly their first game of kdfl footy on it's biggest day on top of your usual hardcore kdfl regulars.