• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

KDFL March 07 - May 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

With the season well and truly under way, just wondering who people thought were the top five players in the competition this year?
It's an interesting topic, but I'd say Stanhope captain Brenton Gray is still the benchmark. Thoughts?

Gray still the benchmark, with Walker (VT), Best (Tally) and Rassmussen (Rushy) nipping at his heels..

Top 5 players for the season to date would prob look something like
Mason (Stanhope), Gray (Stanhope), Best (Tally), Meka (Ardy) and either Bodycoat (VT) or Godsmark (Undera)..

Gray still the benchmark, with Walker (VT), Best (Tally) and Rassmussen (Rushy) nipping at his heels..

Mason (Stanhope), Gray (Stanhope), Best (Tally), Meka (Ardy) and either Bodycoat (VT) or Godsmark (Undera)..

Getting a kick this year T-Man? How is your side going?

I went and saw the Violet Town/ Avenal game the other week and was somewhat disappointed with the way Walker played. He seemed like he was overly interested and very lazy in this particular game, I expected a bit more from him actually. I always rated him fairly highly as a GV player when he was at Mansfield.

The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974

I went and saw the Violet Town/ Avenal game the other week and was somewhat disappointed with the way Walker played. He seemed like he was overly interested and very lazy in this particular game, I expected a bit more from him actually. I always rated him fairly highly as a GV player when he was at Mansfield.

Walks was a feeling fairly ill that day and was late in preparation, other than that match he has been a standout player for us.....

Bullsh.t Tav wouldn't be in the top 5 in my own team even, just like you pointed out earlier in the season, too many sprayed kicks straight down the oppositions throat.....;)

Walks was a feeling fairly ill that day and was late in preparation, other than that match he has been a standout player for us.....

Bullsh.t Tav wouldn't be in the top 5 in my own team even, just like you pointed out earlier in the season, too many sprayed kicks straight down the oppositions throat.....;)

Fair enough Bodzy. Was just my thoughts on the only game I have seen, but I will take your word for it. He is a quality player like I said.

Dont hold yourself short Bodzy, you played pretty well the day I was there watching and your kicking was pretty good.

How has big Ryan Smyth form been this year?

Funny that! Im sure i said the same things about walker when he played lancaster. He plods around like he rates himself but isn't coming up with the goods!

dennis grinton of stanhope would be in the top 5 i would have rated him higher then mason

Smudgie is a trieless worker who seemed to be everywhere in the games I watched and a great finisher around goals. Grinton is a hard nut who never seems to miss a target and has time on his hands when he has the pill... Both quality players.... But i think the smudge might just take the bickies so far.

There's some interesting players making their way on to the lists. Hooda would have to be the benchmark with Lowe, Best and Walker not far behind him. While Stevey Rass used to be a gun, I haven't seen him play a brilliant game against a top side in the last two-and-a-half years. As for Bodzy, he's a strong defender in the KDFL but no where near the top five. Sorry Bodz.:thumbsu:

Fair enough Bodzy. Was just my thoughts on the only game I have seen, but I will take your word for it. He is a quality player like I said.

Dont hold yourself short Bodzy, you played pretty well the day I was there watching and your kicking was pretty good.

How has big Ryan Smyth form been this year?

The big OX's form has been like it is on a Saturday night absolutely vicious! just dancing around his opponents laughing in there face....:D nah he's been very solid at centre half back, some of his opponents have made him run some serious K's and he's been more than accountable each game:thumbsu:

There's some interesting players making their way on to the lists. Hooda would have to be the benchmark with Lowe, Best and Walker not far behind him. While Stevey Rass used to be a gun, I haven't seen him play a brilliant game against a top side in the last two-and-a-half years. As for Bodzy, he's a strong defender in the KDFL but no where near the top five. Sorry Bodz.:thumbsu:

No arguments here baba, completely agree:thumbsu:

Funny that! Im sure i said the same things about walker when he played lancaster. He plods around like he rates himself but isn't coming up with the goods!

I'm contradicting what i said in an earlier post but he actually had the flu and gastro against lancy that day... and played pretty well i thought

Understandable Bodzy that blokes ,whether AFL or KDFL, play crook or injured but as the old saying goes when you cross that white line you are 100% fit and there are no excuses.

i agree that if you make yourself availvble your 100% fit.

Hairy muff, fair call. Our expectations weren't as high on those occasions thats all...

Tips for this round
Nagambie v lancaster (38pts)
Undera v Rushworth (8pts)
Tallygaroopna v Stanhope (18pts)
Girgarre v Avenel (4pts)
Murchison v Violet Town (32pts)
3 rip snorta matches this round, the outcomes will be very interesting, the wet weather should keep the games fairly close

Hey Boss, how are you mate? Nah, struggling a bit this year mate, how about yourself? Jenga rang up the other day - he must of had a good one against Benalla? Our side (Rushworth) is going alright, but like the rest of the top 6 sides, has a very tough draw over the next 5 weeks, where we all basically play each other, so we'll see at the end of the 5 weeks where everyone's at..

I reckon sometimes it's hard to rate a player going to different leagues - for instance, I didn't think Mills did much against us, but in games since then he seems to have dominated a bit, and likewise, last year some people on this thread suggested Sidebottom might struggle a bit at GV level and he came fifth in the Morrison! Different players are suited to different leagues, I guess..

Baba, my post actually had Bodz in the top 5 "to date" in the season, meaning one of the top 5 thus far, on what I've seen and read..

Also, you mustn't have watched any Rushy games in the 2nd half of last year, coz Stevie Rass was sensational.. Got 40-odd creds against both Stanhope and Ardy..

The big OX's form has been like it is on a Saturday night absolutely vicious! just dancing around his opponents laughing in there face....:D nah he's been very solid at centre half back, some of his opponents have made him run some serious K's and he's been more than accountable each game:thumbsu:

I bet you the big fella is hating that his opponants are making him cover some serious K's, but that would just make him all the more thirstier on a Saturday night when demolishes a million beers.....

Hey Boss, how are you mate? Nah, struggling a bit this year mate, how about yourself? Jenga rang up the other day - he must of had a good one against Benalla? Our side (Rushworth) is going alright, but like the rest of the top 6 sides, has a very tough draw over the next 5 weeks, where we all basically play each other, so we'll see at the end of the 5 weeks where everyone's at..

I reckon sometimes it's hard to rate a player going to different leagues - for instance, I didn't think Mills did much against us, but in games since then he seems to have dominated a bit, and likewise, last year some people on this thread suggested Sidebottom might struggle a bit at GV level and he came fifth in the Morrison! Different players are suited to different leagues, I guess..

Yeah, Im pretty good mate, the body is holding up so far this year. Touch wood. As for my form it has been ok, without being outstanding. Would like to get more of the ball though, but I am doing my job by my opponant not getting much of it. Cant really remember that game at the moment, but I think he did allright. Tends to only ring others when he goes ok, from what I hear.

I bet you the big fella is hating that his opponants are making him cover some serious K's, but that would just make him all the more thirstier on a Saturday night when demolishes a million beers.....
Saw your match on the weekend and you boys finished off very well, was extremely impressed with the young hobbs boy, looks very promising...
How Mat 'Packa' Pascoe fitting in at the club? Now thats a man who likes his beers.....;)