Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2012 Mock Draft

Hi KM , is O'Rourke a hard at it player in congestion? How does he compare to Wines in this area? Neald favours the hard at the ball types.

Thanks km.

You seem convinced stringer is too big a risk at 5 or 6. Dogs board seem more in favour of taking him.

Any chance he could become a pavlich style full forward for us?

Stringer is the other I'd highly recommend but would only have him slightly behind Wines + Grundy.

I don't see him as a key forward at the next level. More a strong bodied inside midfielder with the versatility to play some forward or back when required.

As a key forward at 191cm I'm just not seeing it when his play through the midfield is much better anyway.

He probably could play some key forward if required at the next level but I certainly wouldn't draft him for this reason and I don't see him developing into nearly the dominant forward Pavlich is.

Hi KM , is O'Rourke a hard at it player in congestion? How does he compare to Wines in this area? Neald favours the hard at the ball types.

O'Rourke can go hard at the footy but isn't the same natural inside ball winner Wines is and is more suited as an inside receiver.

It could go either way, O'Rourke is more something different which the Melbourne midfield doesn't have at present being more that slower, one paced midfield.

I reckon Gold Coast will take Vlastuin at 13 if he's available. Perfect fit for them I reckon.

Could be right but I'd say the same about Membrey.

As much as Gold Coast are lacking a back flanker who can go through the midfield as a hard inside ball winner they are equally missing that taller, even more strongly build again midfielder who can go forward, take a mark and rotate into the forwardline and provide a marking presence alongside the more athletic Lynch and Day.

Either Vlastuin or Membrey could be really nice fits for Gold Coast.

i know i have said this a fair bit but from what i have been hearing the dogs have all but locked stringer in for pick 5 or 6 its just a matter of who there other player is,i think they should be going for a back or forward. we are going to be getting plenty of father sons coming thru over next couple years and they seem to be mostly midfielders, so dogs need to get forwards and backs... also km have you heard much about mitch wallis's bro is he any good and what can you tell me about kennedy our other father son are they in next years draft?

Just adding to this if you had any info on the next Cordy who is in the same draft as Wallis (2014 I think) that would be great too :p

Stringer could be locked in for 5/6. I haven't been in on discussions but you could be right and he would be a good choice.

I expect Oliver Wines if available to be that other selection for the dogs. Really hard inside midfielder and while you have plenty of these as another Bendigo boy and representing the value he does early I see him as hard to pass up as that better pure inside midfielder early draft.

Will know more about the WBD future father sons next year.

Just adding to this if you had any info on the next Cordy who is in the same draft as Wallis (2014 I think) that would be great too :p

Mostly pretty minimal at this stage but will know more next year.

Jake Stringer = Stewart Crameri?

I think the Darling comparisons are misleading people a little bit.

Crameri is an interesting comparison.

I liken Stringer more to a Luke Hodge without being that same level player. Just a real impact guy who you can play anywhere - mid/fwd/back without being a KPP, or at least I don't see him as a KPP.

Hi KM do you think of Jed Anderson and do you think he can break into hawthorn team this year

I think he has the opportunity to play some games but I wouldn't think he would be a regular from season one and more from season two if developing well should receive more opportunities as a rotational midfielder who can play where required.

Hey Knightmare, how do you think Whitfield will go when all the other draftees develop their endurance? Or will Whitfield take his running capacity to the next level? Honestly I think that Toumpas will become better than Whitfield.

Knightmare if the Dees don't take O'Rourke which team do you see taking him?

Could he last until Richmond's #9 or will Port, Brissy, Dogs etc snap him up?

There has even been talk GWS are looking at him early so it's entirely possible that he is gone by that Melbourne selection.

If he slides then should still be a top 10 selection somewhere in there.

Highly unlikely he is available when Richmond's selection comes around but stranger things have happened. If sliding past Melbourne then probably the dogs select him.

Hi KM, how do you think the draft will be shaped once the game goes 2&2.

Which players become more valuable?

There has even been talk GWS are looking at him early so it's entirely possible that he is gone by that Melbourne selection.

Highly unlikely he is available when Richmond's selection comes around but stranger things have happened. If sliding past Melbourne then probably the dogs select him.

Thanks mate that is very useful info!

Hey Knightmare, how do you think Whitfield will go when all the other draftees develop their endurance? Or will Whitfield take his running capacity to the next level? Honestly I think that Toumpas will become better than Whitfield.

I don't think the other prospects will take their endurance to the same level as Whitfield. It's up there with the better footballers at AFL level already and can still continue to improve.

Toumpas can become better than Whitfield as any of those early draft prospects could but it will be interesting to watch which way it goes.

Toumpas has the stronger inside game of the two but Whitfield's skill set along with his endurance is special so they each have their strengths and each have their chance to go on to have very strong careers.

Hi KM, how do you think the draft will be shaped once the game goes 2&2.

Which players become more valuable?

Certainly those Whitfield's with the elite endurance will benefit. Can run almost anyone off their feet.

Also those who don't need to rotate off the field will also increase in value. Whether this be defenders who play full minute, or midfielders rotating forward/back for that short rest.

Certainly those Whitfield's with the elite endurance will benefit. Can run almost anyone off their feet.

Also those who don't need to rotate off the field will also increase in value. Whether this be defenders who play full minute, or midfielders rotating forward/back for that short rest.

I was referring to physical make ups.

I'd almost say those with relatively slimmer builds if any are going to benefit from the rule change.

Clubs are increasingly falling in love with the stronger, taller midfielders. And I don't see this changing.

But those with the thinner frames tend to go on to have longer careers (look at any sports) and with that increased endurance component related to a reduced interchange I'd back in the guy with less weight and less pressure on the knees to stay in the game longer and this is primary advantage I see coming with the reduced interchange.

Crameri is an interesting comparison.

I liken Stringer more to a Luke Hodge without being that same level player. Just a real impact guy who you can play anywhere - mid/fwd/back without being a KPP, or at least I don't see him as a KPP.

That's why I think the Crameri comparison is apt.

Style: Hodge?
Comparison: Crameri?

Not a true KPP but certainly not a small 3rd forward. Crameri has that ground level ability few of his size (190cm+/ 90kg+) have I guess.

Going by what people are saying I think a Ryan O'keeffe comparison to Stringer is fair. Everyone knows him as a forward who became a mid, but few realise that our "oh shit" plan for the last two years has been to put ROK back as loose man in defence.

Hey KM just wondering Plowman is considered the best defender in this draft but with his height do you see him ever becoming a main defender, I've read an article on him apparently wanting to play midfield really badly, could he perhaps become one of the big bodied inside mids all teams are obsessed with these days

That's why I think the Crameri comparison is apt.

Style: Hodge?
Comparison: Crameri?

Not a true KPP but certainly not a small 3rd forward. Crameri has that ground level ability few of his size (190cm+/ 90kg+) have I guess.

I guess with Crameri I wasn't so sure of versatility - can he play up the field and down back?
But you are right certainly. Does different things.

Hey KM just wondering Plowman is considered the best defender in this draft but with his height do you see him ever becoming a main defender, I've read an article on him apparently wanting to play midfield really badly, could he perhaps become one of the big bodied inside mids all teams are obsessed with these days

Midfield is certainly a possibility and has the skill set to make the transition. Wouldn't discount it as a possibility.

I guess with Crameri I wasn't so sure of versatility - can he play up the field and down back?
But you are right certainly. Does different things.

He was drafted having played (mostly) down back as a strong bodied rebounding defender cum powerful (inside) midfielder.. Hird actually saw his natural talent as a forward and shifted him there. He is a powerful sprinter (one of Essendon's quickest over 50/100m), strong as a bull. If only his (goal)kicking was better than 50:50 then (IMO) he may be spoken about as one of the truly elite forwards in the comp, mind you, he is still not bad for a B grade forward :p

At the expense of who you think? I'd pray for Toumpas but I know it's a pipedream.