Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

Thoughts on Jono Marsh?

I'd like to see him perform against some div 1 sides first before I can really say where his game rates.

Something I should be able to better answer at the end of the month.

Brisbane don't have anyone in their midfield to even remotely compare to Rory Sloane, he is head and shoulders above any young player you have in your midfield.
Now you got Black back, he is be your best midfielder by a country mile, even at his old age #gun

Sloane, redden and rockliff are all at very comparable levels.

thanks for that mate, yeah I really thought Haynes looked a very good player some rated him very highly but was a bit unlucky and I was really surprised about pogniriac and rodda I thought both were deadset rookie options, also with irra all the videos I saw of him he had a really good disposal if i remember correctly his main issues were his endurance have you see him improve on that? I've also noticed while he has good disposal and speed his game sense isn't quite there often he looks like just running like a headless chook cheers

I felt with Haynes that he was more of an athlete as opposed to footballer. Decision making wasn't there (agree with the headless chook comment) with his ball winning also not great (to be expected as an outside type).

He's coming along though and has put together a strong past two months and is making better decisions and looking more composed which is encouraging.

Do you know anything of the APS talent I was enquiring about Fraser Hawkins

I watch some APS but not super familiar with Fraser. From what I understand is a Melbourne Grammar boy and the cousin of Tom? If I've watched him he hasn't been one I've taken note of. He's not in the TAC to my knowledge so probably not a super serious footballer unless he's a couple of years away from draft eligability.

Knightmare

Who would be the top 5 ready made outside midfielders available around Essendon's 1st & 2nd picks?

We've selected some outside mids later in recent drafts but thinking we may look at a high production outside midfielder available with our first pick.

The obvious small forward & small defender roles also need to be filled but can be filled later in the draft IMO.

Knightmare

Who would be the top 5 ready made outside midfielders available around Essendon's 1st & 2nd picks?

We've selected some outside mids later in recent drafts but thinking we may look at a high production outside midfielder available with our first pick.

The obvious small forward & small defender roles also need to be filled but can be filled later in the draft IMO.

Bontempelli or Lennon if available would also be rippers but my guess is both are gone by that point.

Dayle Garlett is probably that best available who should be available in the Dons range.

To round out that top 5 for outside options Christian Salem is one I can see the Dons taking a long look at as a physical but excellent user of the footy on the outside. Hartung and L.Taylor while both small have some real go to them with their pace/agility and ability to find the footy with Dwayne Wilson as a real linebreaker another excellent option.

Bontempelli or Lennon if available would also be rippers but my guess is both are gone by that point.

Dayle Garlett is probably that best available who should be available in the Dons range.

To round out that top 5 for outside options Christian Salem is one I can see the Dons taking a long look at as a physical but excellent user of the footy on the outside. Hartung and L.Taylor while both small have some real go to them with their pace/agility and ability to find the footy with Dwayne Wilson as a real linebreaker another excellent option.

Ultimately id prefer them to be that 180cm+ type. What are your more in depth thoughts on Nathan Freeman?

If you want 180cm+ Salem is that better guy.

Freeman isn't super tall. 181cm but more your very explosive but more inside midfielder with his ability to win his own ball his strength and that ability to hit the scoreboard as opposed to find it outside and link up or do anything all that consistent outside the contest. In style more your Dangerfield/Shuey types without being that same level talent. Could go around Essendon's range though as a likely late 1st round or thereabouts type selection but again he's an inside guy rather than outside.

kM. Is Ben Daniher another f/s for Essendon

Son of Neale from what I've been told so not a F/S eligable selection as Neale only played the 82 games.

Before people start getting excited hearing the Daniher name Ben is a 19 year old (20 at seasons end) medium size forward.

He may be one who with further improvement comes onto the draft radar but still more improvement required first.

Son of Neale from what I've been told so not a F/S eligable selection as Neale only played the 82 games.

Before people start getting excited hearing the Daniher name Ben is a 19 year old (20 at seasons end) medium size forward.

He may be one who with further improvement comes onto the draft radar but still more improvement required first.

If he gets drafted where do you reckon he will go

What About Merrick Buchanan what team would suit him most

Melbourne need more help up forward. They've got more very good key forwards than most but need a small like Buchanan at their feet to better balance their forwardline.

Curious to how you rate Mitchell Honeychurch? 33 possessions 7 clearances and a couple of goals against WA today (according to the hun) yet i can't find him in anyones mock draft?

When you're 175cm you can get lost down the draft order. Particularly in a draft where there are so many quality smalls.

If he continues his strong form however he does have the opportunity to come into the mix if he's not already in there.

When you're 175cm you can get lost down the draft order. Particularly in a draft where there are so many quality smalls.

If he continues his strong form however he does have the opportunity to come into the mix if he's not already in there.

Didnt realise he was so short, but there does seem to be plenty of those guys this year. Is this a reflection on AFL clubs giving smaller guys a go (presita, devon smith, kennedy, hrovat ect..) and so the under 18 teams are picking more then they would have a couple years ago or just that its a really short draft?

If a guy is outstanding enough clubs will give the smalls a chance.

Hartung and L.Taylor are those favoured to go early this year as Hrovat and Kennedy did last year and could go in a similar type range.

As a small though you really need something that stands you head and shoulders ahead.

With Hartung he has a 16+ beep, is a big accumulator and uses it as well as just about anyone in this draft.

Then Taylor has a real burst of speed, sidesteps guy easily and accumulates just as easily as Hartung.

For a period clubs were going for taller types and athletes primarily but now clubs while they still prefer talls as they typically have more development in them are more open to going small than previously if they have some particularly outstanding traits or are just so dominant that you can't ignore them as was the case with Hrovat last year who was probably the best player in the u18s last year with his inside game completely dominant.

If a guy is outstanding enough clubs will give the smalls a chance.

Hartung and L.Taylor are those favoured to go early this year as Hrovat and Kennedy did last year and could go in a similar type range.

As a small though you really need something that stands you head and shoulders ahead.

With Hartung he has a 16+ beep, is a big accumulator and uses it as well as just about anyone in this draft.

Then Taylor has a real burst of speed, sidesteps guy easily and accumulates just as easily as Hartung.

For a period clubs were going for taller types and athletes primarily but now clubs while they still prefer talls as they typically have more development in them are more open to going small than previously if they have some particularly outstanding traits or are just so dominant that you can't ignore them as was the case with Hrovat last year who was probably the best player in the u18s last year with his inside game completely dominant.

But there's been guys like Fortunato Caruso who were dominant in under 18s and still didn't get picked up a few years ago right?

Some get the opportunity others don't.

In the mid 00s when Caruso was available to be picked clubs were favouring taller athletes.

Now clubs like the contested ball winners more.

If he was in the draft in a more recent draft perhaps he would get drafted. Just depends on whether a club feels he could find a role on their team or not.

Knightmare, May I ask what is your background it seems you know a hell of a lot when it comes to potential draftees, are you professionally involved or do you just do you follow for fun