Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2015 Draft Almanac

Knightmare watch out for Keiren Lovell from tasmania. He is a great ball winner and has a great sense of where the ball is going next. Also watch out for Flynn as a Ruck. Very good around the ground and in the Air.
Kieran Lovell BOG today for Tassie vs Northern Knights 39 touches "Ball magnet"

G'day Knightmare,

Just inquiring about Blake Hardwick. Kicked 10 today to go with plenty of goals earlier in the year. What type of small forward is he? Genuine crumber or lead and mark type? What are his athleticism, skillset and defensive abilities like?

Thanks.

G'day Knightmare,

Just inquiring about Blake Hardwick. Kicked 10 today to go with plenty of goals earlier in the year. What type of small forward is he? Genuine crumber or lead and mark type? What are his athleticism, skillset and defensive abilities like?

Thanks.

Hardwick can hit the scoreboard in a big way and is that go to guy in the Eastern front half, even ahead of Weideman.

Hardwick is a small forward and is more your marking forward. Not a natural crumber but it's something he can to an extent do. Can at times drop some marks and I wouldn't call him a dominant marking small, but he is someone who just gets to the right spaces and time and time again that his midfielders up the field will look to go to him.

Good but not a freakish athlete. Not freakish but good skills - reliable in front of goal and can hit targets. Below average defensively, he can put on some pressure and lay some tackles, but it's not a major factor in his game.

You have to like some of his performances. Didn't see his 10 goals today but saw his round one performance with the 8 and a couple of his other games this year. You have to be drawn to that extreme level of scoreboard impact.

Any chance of Josh Dunkley not nominating for sydney? As he is living out in the country and his father apparently had a feud with the swans?

It is expected that he will.

There have been some articles written on the subject. From my recollection the comments were along the lines of his aim is to get onto an AFL list. And if Sydney nominate him he is happy to play there.

So it is expected that Dunkley will land at Sydney assuming Sydney are willing to spend the picks required to get him.

Thanks, was it enough to warrant his son not joining the swans?

No idea, not in the know with either Andrew or Josh. However was a few article on Josh wanting him to come to swans in 2014 before the whole changing of bidding came into the picture. Personally I just believe he is being cautious in case we can't take him. Sensible move but I feel our recruitment team will be well keen to get him.

Hi km

Love your work as usual.

If the dogs end up with a pick around 8-9, would you be willing to trade it for Carlisle or Henderson? Or would you lean towards just taking it to the draft again.

Around that mid-draft area is where I see the Dogs picking and roughly where I see Carlisle and Henderson fitting in the open market. So a well thought out trade idea with some reasonably realistic names depending on how things play out for the both of them this season.

Given the Dogs would benefit from having another genuine key forward and further immediate talent I'd say for either player go for it as it is always exceptionally difficult to bring in good key forwards particularly. Henderson I would hesitate slightly on given he turns 27 next season and has an injury history - having only once played 20+ games in a season. But then again the same could be said of Carlisle not so much from the injury history standpoint, but also having only once played the 20+ games. Neither are number one options, but as number two options behind Boyd and in the same front half as Crameri and Stringer. I like that group in combination for the Dogs if that opportunity were to arise.

I'm not seeing why Essendon would give up Carlisle given they don't have an alternative. But Henderson with Carlton probably I'd imagine going into another rebuild looking for picks could be someone available for the right price.

Around that mid-draft area is where I see the Dogs picking and roughly where I see Carlisle and Henderson fitting in the open market. So a well thought out trade idea with some reasonably realistic names depending on how things play out for the both of them this season.

Given the Dogs would benefit from having another genuine key forward and further immediate talent I'd say for either player go for it as it is always exceptionally difficult to bring in good key forwards particularly. Henderson I would hesitate slightly on given he turns 27 next season and has an injury history - having only once played 20+ games in a season. But then again the same could be said of Carlisle not so much from the injury history standpoint, but also having only once played the 20+ games. Neither are number one options, but as number two options behind Boyd and in the same front half as Crameri and Stringer. I like that group in combination for the Dogs if that opportunity were to arise.

I'm not seeing why Essendon would give up Carlisle given they don't have an alternative. But Henderson with Carlton probably I'd imagine going into another rebuild looking for picks could be someone available for the right price.
Gut feel is the interest in Carlisle is to play him back and move Roughead into the ruck.

Carlisle can play either end. And same story with Henderson. So either vision could work.

Doggies could take Henderson from Carlton with a pick in the range 8-10, also, the Blues may be able to through in a pick in the range of 30-40 as steak knives as I am sure other players will be cleared out. Would be a win-win.

Whats your gut feel on why he hasn't played so well this year Duigs ?? Just tough playing forward in a beaten team? Carried some injuries or just down on form???

I think it's a combination of poor delivery into forward line, form and the fact the number one defender goes to him. He is much better down back I feel as he struggles to get separation from the defenders when playing forward. However, playing second tall alongside Boyd at the Doggies in a dynamic forward line and team for that matter could really see him flourish.
Have I sold him enough? Haha!

Hi KM

Visiting earlier than usual this year due to the Suns likely low finish!!

Question for you. I'm of the opinion the Suns need more mids and bigger bodied ones at that with our injury toll showing up our lack of midfield depth. Given we are likely to finish bottom three (pick #1 to #3) and also end up with picks #19 (end of 1st rd CP) and between #20 and #22 (Rd 2), what good bigger bodied mids do you see being available around these picks, with Brisbane, Sydney and GWS already having dibs on Keays, Mills and Hopper via Academy selections?

Knightmare , I see in today press that Curnow is injured and may play little for the rest of the year. Many on our board immediately gravitated to the thoughts of ...Curnow fitting the "Wells Draft Paradigm" looking a for a sliding player due to form , fitness , injury. Yesterday on RStars , I think they had Curnow at 2... seemed high but I have not seen him.... so just how good is he? I see Skippo put him beside a Stringer or Darling ..... what are your thoughts... Footballer or athlete who plays footy.