Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2015 Draft Almanac

There are Jack Snedden and Jack Watson.

Knightmare.

For St Kilda's sake, are both of them left footers?

You're getting confused with Jordan Snadden.

So, which Jack, preferably left footed, are we going to draft this year?

Jack Watson I believe is a right footer and probably the most likely Jack to be picked this year. Jack Agostino from SA may be another.

You might have to settle for a Darcy this year if you want a sure-fire name that will produce some pretty good pros.

Start a Darcy collection hey? I like it. Tucker would certainly fit the left-footed bill at least. Really liked the look of Parish at the champs last year though.

Does Tucker play in a similar way to Dan McKenzie and have similar attributes? Sounds like they may have a fair bit in common, but with Tucker being higher production at the same age.

Just an update on the West Adelaide boys. KM, I understand your reluctance on Francis until you see him, but I'd suggest if he was playing TAC you'd be all over him.

However, he's playing SANFL League and fitting in like a hand in a glove. Took several marks in defence again and is an elite kick. Will Snelling is regularly in the top 3 possession winners, while Hugh Haysman had a great game.

Start a Darcy collection hey? I like it. Tucker would certainly fit the left-footed bill at least. Really liked the look of Parish at the champs last year though.

Does Tucker play in a similar way to Dan McKenzie and have similar attributes? Sounds like they may have a fair bit in common, but with Tucker being higher production at the same age.

Tucker is a ripper and has much the same tricks that McKenzie does, though on a heightened level. Just such a freak athlete with his ability to break the lines. Terrific kick (highly efficient with some hurt factor). Finds the footy in bunches. Can hit the scoreboard. If he can develop that contested side to his game, he can be big time.

Just an update on the West Adelaide boys. KM, I understand your reluctance on Francis until you see him, but I'd suggest if he was playing TAC you'd be all over him.

However, he's playing SANFL League and fitting in like a hand in a glove. Took several marks in defence again and is an elite kick. Will Snelling is regularly in the top 3 possession winners, while Hugh Haysman had a great game.

With Francis I'm just waiting to see how he goes through the u18 champs to see where he fits in relation to the others as I'm yet to get my hands on any SANFL game tapes to this point in the season.

I'm yet to see any of his games this year, so until I do there is no point moving him up/down in my power rankings.

KM, given your interest in the SA lads you're not exposed to you might be interested in my thoughts on the SA v Norwood reserves trial which are here. SA were without Haysman, Scharenberg (who had a great league game on Saturday - one to watch for '16), Milera, Francis and Snelling and Norwood had Surman, Cross, Bampton, Nunn, Ladhams and Partington.

Brendan Dew is definitely draftable and possibly underrated while I expect Nunn, Partington, Presbury, Allen, Bonner, Olekalns, Broadwood and Combe all to be drafted from what I've seen. Agius, Quinn, Cross, McKenzie and Hewett also ones to watch from the game. In general I think it's SA's best crop in a long while with (IMO) 20 genuinely draftable kids, potentially more.

Can back up old mate above's words about Francis. He's a star. Haysman I'm undecided on - elite runner which helps him as he's considerably fitter than the average SANFL player but a very unrefined player barring that.

KM and others, the SANFL site has a 'Recovery Session' with edited game highlights

http://www.sanfl.com.au/

West's game starts at about the 18 minutes mark and shows a couple of Francis marks and a bit of Snelling and Haysman.

Of course, it just happens that they show the only foot skill errors by Snelling and Francis for the day.

All 5 games are shown each week.

KM, given your interest in the SA lads you're not exposed to you might be interested in my thoughts on the SA v Norwood reserves trial which are here. SA were without Haysman, Scharenberg (who had a great league game on Saturday - one to watch for '16), Milera, Francis and Snelling and Norwood had Surman, Cross, Bampton, Nunn, Ladhams and Partington.

Brendan Dew is definitely draftable and possibly underrated while I expect Nunn, Partington, Presbury, Allen, Bonner, Olekalns, Broadwood and Combe all to be drafted from what I've seen. Agius, Quinn, Cross, McKenzie and Hewett also ones to watch from the game. In general I think it's SA's best crop in a long while with (IMO) 20 genuinely draftable kids, potentially more.

Can back up old mate above's words about Francis. He's a star. Haysman I'm undecided on - elite runner which helps him as he's considerably fitter than the average SANFL player but a very unrefined player barring that.

In terms of draft-ability for mine.
1st Round - Francis
Mid Round - Bonner
Late Round - Snelling
Rookie - Agostino
Unlikely - Haysman

Thought on Wagner from the Lions academy? Has been arguably QLDs best performed player in the TAC cup so far. Keays been playing well getting some huge numbers and hitting the scoreboard which is pleasing.

Wagner is a small midfielder but he has a real go through the guts.

Lacks some weapons/tricks so Brisbane shouldn't have to spend too heavily to get him.

But if he can be had for a late draft pick. Potentially good get.

Knightmare, i was just wondering given the dees will have at least a top 5 pick, is there anyone with break away pace that we could get?

Darcy Tucker is the guy you'll want to keep tabs on if you're after extreme pace in that top 5.

Hey KM given Geelongs lack of inside grunt is there a player the Cats should be watching to improve this area......given they dont go mad in FA this year?

The extremely high level inside players are the academy or in the case of Dunkley father son picks with Mills/Hopper/Dunkley those three really dominant inside players in this draft.

As for who Geelong should look at. If after midfield help, maybe a Luke Partington could help. Ryan Clarke is another I really like, through less as a grunt player and more a classy/athletic mid.

Late first round or in the second round Nicholas O'Kearney and Rhys Mathieson are two with the performances on the board, not great kicks, but production is there. Matthew Nunn may be another.

Those are some names to listen out for as mids this year.

A lot of love for Weitering. Seems to be the 'current' consensus pick 1 according to the media draft watchers. Twomey on his podcast mentioned he beat up on AFL listed forwards Majak Daw then Matthew Watson. KM, has your opinion on him somewhat changed and will you have him higher in your personal rankings with your next update?

Can't see Brisbane drafting him with pick 1:(

My opinion has changed with further viewing and seeing him this season.

And that changing of positions on my draft board will happen (ongoing) with performance. Weitering much of last year playing up on a wing and back flank and I had no appreciation of how strong he is. And he is a bigger guy now. Taller, stronger and more dominant. And then factoring in the rate of physical and vertical growth and rate of footballing improvement. That's why I've moved him up to number one (I'll have to change that on my power rankings, but it's reflected in my draft profile ratings at this time anyway).

Some may still favour Mills. But I see Mills more as a really good mid as opposed to the best player in the competition at his position.

Weitering has the scope to be the best key defender in the game and be something like Ben Reid circa 2011 before his constant soft tissue injuries and ankle injuries that have stopped him from being that elite rebounding centre half back.