Leon Davis... What to do?

So many good posts, so many different opinions!

He's always been an enigmatic player our Leon.

The overarching principle should be what match ups you want for that particular game.

Dogs probably, Cats no, Saints I'd say probably yes ( given pressure on their backs may be the key to beating them) Hawks don't know enough how he goes vs them.

But this week, I think you have to bring Medders in, so we can see what he'd offer now.

Terrific post and something I probably should've tacked on to mine.

Against the Bulldogs you'd definitely want one of Medhurst/Davis.

Against the Cats I'd prefer Lockyer.

Against the Saints I'd prefer Davis/Lockyer.

Against the Dockers I'd prefer Davis/Medhurst.

Against the Hawks I'd prefer Lockyer (typically strong against them, R4 this season nonwithstanding).

Terrific post and something I probably should've tacked on to mine.

Against the Bulldogs you'd definitely want one of Medhurst/Davis.

Against the Cats I'd prefer Lockyer.

Against the Saints I'd prefer Davis/Lockyer.

Against the Dockers I'd prefer Davis/Medhurst.

Against the Hawks I'd prefer Lockyer (typically strong against them, R4 this season nonwithstanding).

If we go on previous form in relation to really big games and who has performed best surely it would go in this order...

1. Lockyer
2. Medhurst (only ranked second due to the fact he had very little big game experience before he got to the Pies... and in fact got dropped from Freo on 99 games after playing the entire season for their only final.

3. Davis.

FWIW - I say get Medhurst ready now... Unless Davis can go back to the 2's and starts getting 40 possessions a game.

I love the way their has been so many votes for Daics yet no comment :thumbsu: enough said!

Agreed, he should be given more of a run in the midfield on days like this..
Talk of dropping him is absurd. He may have the odd quiet stat day but he is still having an impact on the game.. watch the replays and you'll see his pressure and tackles featuring in several turnovers and goals. When you're at the game and not watching on tv this becomes very obvious..
A slow day for Leon last night but he'll bounce back, should get another rest before the finals to freshen up..

Why doesn't mick play him in the midfield if he is struggling to get into the game.
I"m surprised noone has thought of an obvious answer - that he is carrying an injury. Certainly looks that way to me. he obviously wasn't himself on sAturday. Needs at least a week off from footy. Also he may be prone to burn-out at this time of the season, as for last year but I think he was also carrying an injury this time last year. If fit and in form I think we would have won by a lot more last night.
so either way, he needs a rest and hopefully will come up cherry-ripe for the finals. In the meantime there are superb replacements in Medders and JMac and we do need to give Medders a chance preferably next game.

so in response to the poll, "None of the above"

I"m surprised noone has thought of an obvious answer - that he is carrying an injury. Certainly looks that way to me. he obviously wasn't himself on sAturday.

Completely disagree.

I dont think leon is playing with an injury.

He wasnt positioning himself properly, and wasnt doing any running around the ground. He didnt even seem to jog up and down he field to try and get easy kicks the way he usually does in big games.

I think the hard truth is, he cant play big games, and he is a home and away specialist.

Its sad but its true.

If Leon is carrying an injury, then he shouldnt have played. If he puts in performances like that with injuries, then the medico's and the coaching staff made a terrible decision to play him.

If he is injured, he must be 100% to be concidered for a final...

We should have traded him at the end of 2008 after a stella year, when he still had some currency.

Completely disagree.

I dont think leon is playing with an injury.

He wasnt positioning himself properly, and wasnt doing any running around the ground. He didnt even seem to jog up and down he field to try and get easy kicks the way he usually does in big games.

I think the hard truth is, he cant play big games, and he is a home and away specialist.

Its sad but its true.

If Leon is carrying an injury, then he shouldnt have played. If he puts in performances like that with injuries, then the medico's and the coaching staff made a terrible decision to play him.

If he is injured, he must be 100% to be concidered for a final...

We should have traded him at the end of 2008 after a stella year, when he still had some currency.

As if this is the first thing which would have come to mind. Davis is a victim of selective memory I reckon, I believe he had 2 good games only a week ago.
Had quiet one on Saturday....boo hoo let's all trade him off.
See how he goes v Essendon.

Medders didn't play so well on the weekend according to Rowdy, so that saves Leon at least for a week. If Leon doesn't fire V Bombers, I'd give him a spell if Rounds, Medders play well.

Also give Bally a break this round and bring Blair back in. If Jolly needs a rest for niggles, give Josh his 200th or Wood a go.

As if this is the first thing which would have come to mind. Davis is a victim of selective memory I reckon, I believe he had 2 good games only a week ago.
Had quiet one on Saturday....boo hoo let's all trade him off.
See how he goes v Essendon.

Its not about how he played against Carlton and Richmond... I could play well in the pies team against those flogs...

Its about playing well, when the team NEEDS you to play well...

Everyone had a good game against carlton, and against richmond, and saints... but when the game is tight, and you need players to step up, and win a game for you, especially come finals time... Leon will NEVER be that player for you... not against the top teams, and not in the finals.

He has done it a few times in the home and away season, and have to give him credit, he was good against essendon on Anzac day... But given his track record, I wouldnt want him in the finals side... He is too much of a liability.

Everyone needs to get off his back FFS. He didnt play that well but he stood up against the Dogs and Saints and he is still copping the big game bullshit. Leon had a hand in quite a few goals in the 1st half when his chasing and second efforts at the ball caused pressure on the Geelong defence. I can clearly remember Leon chased 3 times putting pressure on the defenders then Lonergan fumbled and Didak ran into a open goal.

I couldnt give a rats ass if Leon doesnt score goals as long as he keeps that shit up. He is our best small fwd right now. Stick with him and let him have a crack at September

In before Jabsco

LargeThumbnail.jpg

Its not about how he played against Carlton and Richmond... I could play well in the pies team against those flogs...

Its about playing well, when the team NEEDS you to play well...

Everyone had a good game against carlton, and against richmond, and saints... but when the game is tight, and you need players to step up, and win a game for you, especially come finals time... Leon will NEVER be that player for you... not against the top teams, and not in the finals.

He has done it a few times in the home and away season, and have to give him credit, he was good against essendon on Anzac day... But given his track record, I wouldnt want him in the finals side... He is too much of a liability.

In any game someone is going to be quiet. No matter how important it is. In fact the more important the more likely players will be held or kept out of the play.
I respect your opinion but don't agree. Simple.

Yeah think he's truly done now.

I've been defending him a bit to people, talking about his off the ball stuff, but that can only last so long.

It's a shame going into a finals series KNOWING he's going to do nothing and yet the coach will leave him in instead of doing the right thing.

I really want Medhurst back. Even when he's not playing well, Medders appears more dangerous and seems to do more.

This is a tough one. If Dick was fit it would be an easy swap. I am as confident in Medhurst as I am in Davis at the moment. Unless Medhurst is chopping them up in the VFL then I think persist with Leon & hope he comes good. Definitely not room for both of them.

He is definitely down on confidence and wouldn't mind him getting a run on the ball now & again to spark him up. Sitting in a forward pocket all game is the toughest gig in footy so we need to cut him some slack.

Do nothing.

He is easily a best 22 player.

Just leave him, settled in the team and allow him to perform his given role for the team.

If he EXPLODES, it makes us sooo much more dangerous than we currently are.

He won't be dropped and nor should he.

Do nothing.

He is easily a best 22 player.

Just leave him, settled in the team and allow him to perform his given role for the team.

If he EXPLODES, it makes us sooo much more dangerous than we currently are.

He won't be dropped and nor should he.

But thats the problem, to date he isnt performing his given role, yes he does apply defensive pressure in the forward line, but is that enough to see you through an entire finals series, and potentially a Grand Final spot when there could be another player, doing that exact role and providing a goalsneek option up front aswell, thats what Davis is lacking at the moment, his goal presence.

He won't be rested... he needs hands on the Footy. If he doesn't play seniors I'd put him on the ball in the VFL.

I agree.

He's getting a little older, his fast twitch fibres arent what they where, so his timing is a little off - its best to get him into the 2's so he can feel the leather, adjust his run and get a little confidence.

Greetings from the retirement village

Smokey

Not ready to give up on him personally. However he did have a poor show the other night. I like the idea of Neon and Medders subbing out for one another. That might make the both of them work harder knowing it's one or the other and no one's safe in such a strong side.

Would like to see Medders in next week.

Play him into some form against the team with the worst small defenders this weekend. He needs a trot through the midfield more often when things aren't working down forward, it's a tough caper playing excusively as a forward pocket when things aren't going your way.

TRS used to make mention of it as well, but we need to stop kicking the ball to him as if he is a KPF. The amount of times we sit the ball up on his head hoping for him to take a grab is ridiculous. Admittedly he brings it upon himself somewhat by continually calling for it long, but he needs to be the one on the ground when it hits the deck.

I'd play him as a high flanker for a bit, providing he is fully fit. If not, get him right now while we still have the chance.

Still much prefer him to Medhurst personally.

Considering our entire gameplan is based around forward 50 pressure he won't be going anywhere.

He leads many of our indicators when it comes to tackling and pressure and now days I rate his games on those two factors along with goal assists and the x-factor. On Saturday he was down but he has been sensational of late in relation to his role for the team

Ugh.. such a hard decision.

I think he needs a run in the midfield for a bit since forward pocket is such a difficult position for a player. I would've played him back in 2nds a few weeks ago so he could get his confidence up. He will stay in the team even in bad kicking form as he gives the forward 50 pressure which is what the coaching staff want out of him.

Leon Davis... What to do?