Lets talk about it... it's time

Trust the Daily Telegraph to come up with yet ANOTHER subtle piece on why Sydneysiders should not be following those "pansies" who play AFL. If Barry Hall doesn't want journos calling his mum, then fair enough. If Barry Hall doesn't want to talk about his individual performances anymore, fair enough. He is obviously bitterly disappointed that the Swans lost the GF by ONE POINT, a game in which he clearly didn't play his best. He's only human, if he wants to keep quiet and focus on performing to his best, then good on him. I fully support him.

Maybe when the Hawks lose their next GF by a point and your players come out and say "it was a great feeling to be part of a losing grand final, a super effort by all concerned, we are really glad we lost", can you have a go at Barry Hall for being immature.

Also, your comments are extremely insensitve. Losing a GF by 1 point, it's heartbreaking. I do not blame any Swan or Swans fan for not wanting to talk about it the game, or watch it.

Jeff Wells sez:
Maybe, also, he can get a little more aggressive than he was when, in the preliminary final, he was nowhere to be seen when his forward line mate Mick O'Loughlin, stretching to relieve a nagging groin injury, was being monstered by West Coast's Adam Hunter, smashing his hip into him.

Ah, that would've been the preliminary final where we played against Fremantle who:
a) smuggled Hunter onto the ground before he quickly flew to Adelaide next morning, and
b) 'monstered' MOL in a manner so subtle that 60,000 people at Homebush missed it.

Quick, Jeff, without looking at a program or asking a mate: At which oval was the 2006 Qualifying final in which Sydney participated, actually played? I won't ask you any really tough ones like whether you know where BBBH was standing when MOL was being 'monstered', or whether you've even watched the game, 'cos I think we both know the answers to those ones.

Grandmaster said:
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,20643698-5006065,00.html

Are we ready to talk about it? Or are you all still sooking not just Bazz it would seem...

So what are your thoughts on the article. Personaly I wouldn't have been impressed with my captain behaving so immaturely.

What do you reckon???

Jeff Wells complaining that Bazza won't talk to him...like anyone here gives a fcuk. :rolleyes:

Essentially what you're seeing here is the backlash from a media that is still smarting over the slamming many of them took earlier this year about the pathetic quality of their commentating.

http://ghill.customer.netspace.net.au/speccy/2006/08/afl-versus-commentators.html

AFL clubs unhappy with the standard of football commentary have complained to the competition's governing body about negative, self-indulgent and poorly prepared commentators.

They believe the culprits are trashing the AFL brand, and its chief executive, Andrew Demetriou, said last night he had taken the clubs' concerns on board.

He told The Age he would be raising it with the game's broadcasters, all entering new agreements with the AFL from 2007. (The Age, 11/8/2006)

With the various media rights negotiations ongoing there was every chance that jobs could be lost in the media over this backlash from the clubs. And as a result we had some funny moments with commentators squirming under the spotlight for a couple of rounds trying to be "positive".

The Swans - arguably the club that has taken the biggest and most consistent pasting from the talking heads out in clapping monkey land - decided a while back that it was completely pointless exercise bothering to engage the media and decided shut up shop. Bazza isn't alone. The entire club has a dripfeed policy, and after watching the club receive broadside after broadside for the last 5 years who can blame them?

During GF week many scribes were furious that they got so little from the Swans, and after the loss many are trying to put the boot into us. But Swans fans are nothing but proud of their team, and couldn't care less how many talentless hacks think Bazza should be forced to talk them. :thumbsdown::rolleyes:

Grandmaster said:
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,20643698-5006065,00.html

Are we ready to talk about it? Or are you all still sooking not just Bazz it would seem...

So what are your thoughts on the article. Personaly I wouldn't have been impressed with my captain behaving so immaturely.

What do you reckon???

OK Grandmaster, next time you at the Polo Club having a lodge meeting with jeffery (or have they been transfered to Tassie?).... you might contemplate the difference between your under-performing club treatment of players, captains and their approach to media.

Jon Hay, N Thompson, and several others copped heaps of media exposure when they went through a form slump. S Crawfords' form due to injury fell and the trash talk meant the only worthy captain you have was forced to resign.

This year it was B Kirks turn at head captain. In 2005 it was B Hall, but Leapin was prominent in post match talks cause of that mark, Kirk barely did any pressers.

Yes Bazz had a shocker, but IS a champion and he, the club and fans do not need to dwell on it, nor expose the players to ignorant media.

Had Swans kicked 2 more points, B Kirk who by many score cards ranked the highest on ground.. would not only have been Norm Smith but Premiership captain and spokesman! Then would there have been such interest in Bazz baring his soul?.... Given the above re Kirk why aren't they clamouring to talk to Kirky.... because they just want some dirt;) ..... SMART Swans media management have minimised the opportunity.

Back to your boyscout meeting at Dawkland!

Our poor BBBH! Who can blame him???

Stupid Daily Telegraph, why do they always make news out of nothing? So what if Bazza didn't want to speak to the media. The way they're putting it, 'breaking his silence' is making him sound he has done something bad or something. Pllleasee...

The media is kidding themselves. BBBH is human. People makes mistakes and thats what makes us human. The good old human error. Sheesh. I'm proud that Bazza didn't speak to the media. He chooses when to speak to the media or whenever. It's not the media's choice. And i stand by him the whole way.

Bazza is 100% right about the media jumping on and off him. One day he's playing a blinder, and the media gives him praise. The next, he is getting written off. There are no decent medias these days. What has the world come too?

Besides, Bazza got better things to do than tell the media about how he was feeling. Obviously he is terribly upset, and i don't think any player would speak to the media immediatley right after a GF loss by ONE point. Jeeze..

Barry Hall should be commended for his passion. He has given everything to the Swans since coming up and was completely gutted on the day. Good on him for having the courage to expose his emotions. If that bloke from the tele wants footballers to deliver him cliches, he should know better than to bother a 'real' man like barry.

What annoys me most is when bum sniffers like Mike Gibson, Ray Chesterton and now Jeff Wells think they are experts on the greatest game of all and feel the need to spout off when they have no idea whatsoever.

I haven't seen Gibson or Chesterton utter a single word since they both blasted the Swans in the middle of 2005. They're probably taking the credit for turning us around.

Lets talk about it... it's time