Lions Reserves - 2009

Only caught the last quarter. We lost by something like 61-106. Wayward kicking for goal. Smashed in the midfield in the last. A few promising runs from defence thwarted by poor skill execution in the corridor.

Clouston played fullback, had some good moments but beaten in a few contests as well. Hanley excellent dash out of the back half. Notting and Dalziell each made a few blues. Hooper was playing on ball and showed a bit of dash, although no real telling impact.

Didn't see Leuenberger at all during the game. After the final siren saw him walk onto the field slowly from the bench, hope he isn't injured. :( Murray and Tyler in the ruck.

No Yagmoor, no Lions. ;)

I blame you entirely for mozzing us browndog :p

Just got home from the shellacking. Was a pretty good crowd there too. Mt Gravatt were far too good for us all over the park. Some of the top up lads really got found out but what can you expect from kids. Mt. Gravatts defence was outstanding and we got bitten by some very crisp work on the rebound many times.

Anybody know how Leuey and some of the others vying for a senior spot went? (notting, dalziell, hooper)

Didn't see Leuy get injured, probably just being cautious again. He played ruck in the 1st half swapping with Murray up forward when resting. Got into a bit of a barney in the 2nd in the centre square but nothing too rough. It was obvious we were going down by half time so I'd say Leuy was just taken out of harms way. Dunno who the opposing ruck was but he certainly got his share of taps.

Their run was better than ours, with notable exceptions in Hanley & Banfield (god that kid's quick). Possum kept on trying but kept getting caught out with a lack of options and he really seemed to be trying to play Mt Gravatt by himself at times. Hoops got led to the ball most times, chased for tackles but was way too reactive and gave one of the young lads a fierce spray for not honouring a lead he made towards defensive 50 flank (which was a wise call really, his man was taller & close enough to make an easy spoil). Pretty much summed up Hoopers day. His last quarter was his best but aside from 1 goal he didn't have much effect.

Dazzle worked his arse off and was probably our best player. Didn't stop running and the majority of his disposal was pretty good. He kicked one beautiful goal in close quarters deep in the right forward pocket in the last but it was too rare a thing on the day. Team goal kicking was ordinary and special mention to Murray for giving away two ridiculous 50's, one that resulted in a set shot that was converted at a pivotal point in the game. His frustration/selfishness at that particular contest crucified us.

Was funny to see Daryl White play on Possum & Selwood. He gave Bunno a pat on the head n gave him a bit of lip when a turnover and poor defensive effort from Selwood cost us another one. Here's hoping the next elimination final played on Lions territory goes a bit better.

Went down to see a ressies game for the first time this year.

Mt Gravatt too tall, too fast and too good.....Lions did their cause no good with some shoddy kicking for goal, right throughout the game.

Luey sat the second half out on the bench but didn't seem to be in any discomfort....I wandered over to just behind the interchange players in the third quarter and the Berger looked to have been taken off as a precaution only (I'm assumimg)

Thought Pearce Hanley was outstanding throughout.....plenty of run and drive, good decision making under pressure and good clean disposals by foot especially.

Possum....got heaps of it but had a number of his usual ratty kicks to spoil a lot of his work.

Hooper reasonable for most of the game but as with Dazzle, missed a few opportunities to hurt the opponents on the scoreboard.

Lastly,up on arrival at the ground, youngest son and I plonked ourselves down on the western side grass slope(around the 50 meter arc)

After about 2 minutes of play, youngest son says...."Hey, take a look just behind us and a bit to the left"

Bugger me if it wasn't Vossy resplendent on a deck chair, with wife and young kids in tow.:eek:.....NO BULL!!!!....about 5 meters away

So we had M.VOSS and family as our next door neighbours for an afternoon of watching "old fashioned" park footy:)

Hey guys
i was wondering if any of you guys knew where the lions train when they are in melbourne? this would be GREATLY appreciated

thanks
Generally they train at the Albert Cricket Ground

Brisbane Lions 2.4 4.5 6.12 8.13-61
Mt Gravatt 4.2 7.7 9.9 15.16-106

Brisbane Lions
Goal Kickers:
T. Notting 2, B. Dalziell 2, R. Hooper, P. Hanley, T. Rockliff, O. CLARKE
Best Players: T. Selwood, B. Dalziell, P. Hanley, D. Dzufer, T. Notting, T. Rockliff

Mt Gravatt

Goal Kickers:
R. Lake 4, W. Cleary 2, S. Carins 2, P. Labi 2, A. Pratt, G. Dosser, S. Morrison, D. Barry, J. Furfaro
Best Players: R. Lake, N. Gilliland, R. Head, S. Carins, J. Vearing, J. Smouha

Lastly,up on arrival at the ground, youngest son and I plonked ourselves down on the western side grass slope(around the 50 meter arc)

After about 2 minutes of play, youngest son says...."Hey, take a look just behind us and a bit to the left"

Bugger me if it wasn't Vossy resplendent on a deck chair, with wife and young kids in tow.:eek:.....NO BULL!!!!....about 5 meters away

So we had M.VOSS and family as our next door neighbours for an afternoon of watching "old fashioned" park footy:)

Did you not see most of the first grade players there watching on as well? :thumbsu: Even Charmo was there and when my son asked him where his No.19 jersey was, Charmo pulled down his t-shirt (ahh sigh) and joked that he was wearing it underneath and then told my son he'd be wearing it next year! :D As for Leuey, I only caught the second half, saw him run on with the team but went straight to the bench. Doesn't look good. :(

Yep... saw Power, Riska, Henderson, Big Red, Mitch (pushing a pram:D), Charmo, Jmac, Jason Roe and Dan Rich to name a few.

Nice to see the boys out in force to support the Twos:thumbsu:

They usually do and they go out at the breaks to hear the coaches' address too. :thumbsu:

By the way, A-Corn was a runner today. Good to see him out there. In that ressies match where he got knocked out and busted his jaw, he actually came back on and played but his injury has kept him sidelined since...but now I wonder for how long?

Didn't see Leuenberger at all during the game. After the final siren saw him walk onto the field slowly from the bench, hope he isn't injured.

Please be ok Leuey.

Couldnt care less if he plays this season.

Just want him fit and firing round 1 after a full pre-season.

Please be ok Leuey.

Couldnt care less if he plays this season.

Just want him fit and firing round 1 after a full pre-season.

As I said earlier, I truly believe (in all likelihood) that sitting out the second half was a precautionary measure.

He played (I think) nearly all the first half and looked to be moving freely around the ground.

There was a bit of a stink between the combatants on the half time break with Luey in the thick of it.............but as usual it, was pretty much just a bit of huffing and puffing and chest thumping.

He then walked off with the rest of the side but sat on the pine for the second half.

Really couldn't see anything untoward with him, unless of course the knee blew up at half time.

Maybe someone else who was at the game had a different insight, though.

luthor, you reckon Rhan did enough to earn a recall for Saturday?

Jed and Leuey no chance I take it. Notting and Dalziell also didn't do enough.

Suspect our changes will depend on the availability of Bradshaw, Merrett and Drummond.

Any chance of Troy Selwood being called up next week? And isn't Mitch Clark a Dad now. If so great news it probally will mean he will build a house and start a family up here in Brissy which means the go home factor shouldn't be a promblem!

Didn't see Leuy get injured, probably just being cautious again. He played ruck in the 1st half swapping with Murray up forward when resting. Got into a bit of a barney in the 2nd in the centre square but nothing too rough. It was obvious we were going down by half time so I'd say Leuy was just taken out of harms way. Dunno who the opposing ruck was but he certainly got his share of taps.

Was it Smouha? IIRC he did very very good in the draft camp for a ruckman. Amazed me how he didn't get drafted. He had huge potential. Shame we didn't draft him, would of been handy for us.

luthor, you reckon Rhan did enough to earn a recall for Saturday?

Jed and Leuey no chance I take it. Notting and Dalziell also didn't do enough.

Suspect our changes will depend on the availability of Bradshaw, Merrett and Drummond.

I didn't watch Hooper particularly but the impression I got was while he looked busy and worked hard, he didn't get all that much of the pill.

I think he spent some time on the ball but looked more dangerous when he drifted forward.

I thought one of the problems from today's match was that the Lions had nothing like a functioning forward structure and very little by way of tall targets to kick to.....basically they were out-manned quite easily by the Mt gravatt defenders who seemed to able to drift back and just mark the ball in our forward 50, virtually at will.

So in that regard, there weren't really many spillages at all in our attacking zone for Hooper to play the crumbing forward role.

Would have been a different story, I suspect if there was a Brown, Bradshaw,Henderson, or even a Cornelius to create more of a contest.

With regards to Notting and Dalziell, both got plenty of it but disposals by foot were generally disappointing, I thought.

If they can't get it right at that level,I can't see either of them seriously threatening for a spot next week.

Thanks mate, your assessments are pretty spot on IMO.

Hanley and Banfield...geez wouldn't it be good to get their run into our seniors team when they're ready.

Had to leave at halftime, but agree with most of the above assessments.

Leuey looked to be moving OK, took a good contested mark against Whitey in front of me just before halftime, no sign of injury. My impression was that they would look seriously at playing him next week to give Mitch some relief.

Very impressed with Hanley, could be a real surprise packet next year. Definitely a keeper.

Banfield looked fast and lively, should get a chance next year.

Rhan buzzed around around with little impact, but looks OK physically.

Dalziell, tried hard but to me looks a bit insipid and disposal was ordinary again.

Selwood is ready to play if Vossy has a role in mind for him.

Murray, agree with the comments about stupid frees etc, but is a massive unit with reasonable skills. Another pre-season could well see him push hard for elevation and senior footy.

Agree with all the above comments, bar those about the Berger. Looks way underweight and very short of match fitness to me- well placed for a big pre season, but forget this year.

Selwood will be unlucky to miss out on his performance yesterday. Has a bit of nip off the mark that Stiller, for all his endeavour, sadly lacks as Saturday night showed all too clearly.

Agree too that Dalziell gets the ball a lot but falls well short of capitalising on weight of possession. Ok, this has been a recurring criticism, but boy if he can get this key aspect of his play right he'll be the asset we all know he is capable of becoming

Agree with all the above comments, bar those about the Berger. Looks way underweight and very short of match fitness to me- well placed for a big pre season, but forget this year.

Maybe my judgment was clouded by wishful thinking!

Still think that Leuey might be able to give us 10 minutes per quarter in the ruck, but this would of course take away some of our run.

Hanley must stand a good chance of being picked, possibly at the expense of Austin (who would be a bit unlucky).

Lions Reserves - 2009