Preview Lions v Collingwood

On banfield i see why people eant him dropped, but i cant help but feel he needs a chance to play alongside at least 1 other small forward. His role has been far to big and create way to much pressure. Last week watching davey get support from jetta, he looked a different player from the past few years he has been going solo as the small forward.

Anyone thinking green can come in and replace banfield and make a impact are not looking at the big picture in my eyes...we need to find some more suppirt for banfield.

Mcgrath, banfield, zorko up forward will be a much better setup to judge his output

I agree with this idea completely. Small forwards rarely do well on their own, especially young ones, there is just too much pressure and I think it does their head in a bit.

Hopefully with some more smalls up front Banfield will slow down a dram and compose himself enough to pick the ball up first grab and hit a target by foot...

Hopefully...

I'm looking forward to seeing Hawksley play.

We are crying out for somebody to get some uncontested possessions and run and carry the ball. I actually think he plays this role well. He got 34 possessions or something in the reserves last week.

While I wouldn't say he has elite disposal I certainly don't think it is horrendous either. Let's wait and see how he goes.

I'm looking forward to seeing Hawksley play.

We are crying out for somebody to get some uncontested possessions and run and carry the ball. I actually think he plays this role well. He got 34 possessions or something in the reserves last week.

While I wouldn't say he has elite disposal I certainly don't think it is horrendous either. Let's wait and see how he goes.

I never thought I'd also agree with Hawksley coming back, but as I said in an earlier post, he is one player that likes to run the ball and we don't really have many of those. He looks like he puts in effort too. No one else's disposal is very good at the moment so we can't hold that against Hawksley right now

I liked the suggestion of McKeever starting in the ruck and Longer playing at FF most of the game. Can always switch it if it's not working.

The ruck dilemma has obviously influenced the team heavily, as has us being too top heavy last weekend.

I wouldn't have a problem with Ace being dropped over say, Patfull, if I knew Voss was going to bring him back as soon as the structures are a bit more sorted, but Vossy really doesn't seem to enjoy selecting the guy so I'm not holding my breath. He needs to get a run of 5+ games in a row though to see what he's really made of, he doesn't deserve to be dropped.

As someone else said we really do need to settle our spine of Merrett, Maguire, ruckman, Brown, resting ruckman, third tall sooner rather than later. Obviously this is harder with Leuey out so they seem to be chopping and changing at will to hope things work.

So Ace I guess I can understand, we needed to lose some tall timber and even if I might not think he's the right one I'll go with the coaches call. Karnezis starting and McGrath in the forward line are two very positive signs and outlets for goals, so I think we'll be okay up there.

Just don't really know exactly why McKeever is coming in if it isn't to help with the ruck. This is one game Merrett really, really shouldn't be playing forward. Really starting to tire of the defenders in offense 'experiment' (which now seems to be part of the plan sadly) but Leuey out obviously hurts a lot more than one might have thought at first.

McKeever really can't play forward at all. I might have gone as far as to drop Patfull AND Ace and bring in Lisle and have him swap ruck/ff with Longer for the game.

One good thing is McKeever wasn't terrible against Cloke last year from memory and I'm pretty confident about Maguire vs Dawes.

I never thought I'd also agree with Hawksley coming back, but as I said in an earlier post, he is one player that likes to run the ball and we don't really have many of those. He looks like he puts in effort too. No one else's disposal is very good at the moment so we can't hold that against Hawksley right now

My issue with him is that he struggles to use it well under pressure.

I would much rather Stiller was playing. Stiller has the same problem, but I think he gives us more defensively.

One could say that he has a point...but on the other hand as he stuttered in rambling, his obvious pre-organised rant against the lions as he cut cox off to get the boot into the lions...it was a gutless remark that lacked substance in any explanation.

Nothing pre-organised about it. His observations were short, sharp and very accurate. Matthew Lloyd is the most astute technical football strategist currently in the media. He is wasted in the media. He should be getting experience somewhere as an assistant. IMO he has the potential to be a great coach. Voss could do with Lloyd's tactical nous.

My issue with him is that he struggles to use it well under pressure.

I would much rather Stiller was playing. Stiller has the same problem, but I think he gives us more defensively.

Do you pick the guy who is slow and takes too long to make a decision or do you pick the guy who can run and carry,but is likely to put the pill on an opposing players chest? Wish we had a Gibbs or Deledio...

Nothing pre-organised about it. His observations were short, sharp and very accurate. Matthew Lloyd is the most astute technical football strategist currently in the media. He is wasted in the media. He should be getting experience somewhere as an assistant. IMO he has the potential to be a great coach. Voss could do with Lloyd's tactical nous.

Agree. I really like listening to Lloyd. He actually knows what he's talking about and doesn't just spew out cliches and lame jokes all the time. About one of the only footy "experts" on t.v. who's opinion I really wanna hear

He started by talking over cox...there was nothing insightful about what he said. He just ragged on us then stopped. Not saying he was wrong...just he came across as a amateur. I felt he needed to explain himself better if he is worth his grain og salt as a media identidy

Great write up Jorgo :thumbsu: an enjoyable and even handed preview.

I think the smart money is obviously on the wobbles for this one but i'd like to
think if we show up on the day and play our best footy we're in with a shot.
A little bit disappointed to see Acorn out of the side as I believe he put in a
fair bit of effort in the game against the bummers, if it is as some have
suggested, and it is to make sure Patty K gets a full run rather than the red vest, then i'm not too worried about it.

I am glad to see Hawksley in and I am most likely the only one.

Not at all. While he's not the most polished footballer i've ever seen, I've always liked his intensity and don't think he's ever gotten an extended run to show what he can do. I expect he should be able to add a little bit of zip around the middle.

I'll call Saturday's game a win if I can see a concerted effort from some if not all of the younger blokes and a little bit more confidence in their disposal and their team mates. They're all professionals and for the most part are very talented. Back yourselves in Lads.

Go Lions

I am pretty much with the 'disillusioned' posters right now.

The team isn't performing. The onfield structures aren't evident. The coaching is at times bewildering. And the selections are questionable.

I too hope I am wrong - and form, etc. can change overnight - but I am pretty pessimistic at the moment. Although I guess I felt the same way after the Essendon defeat in the last game of the pre-season.

As for this weeks selections:
- our two huge weaknesses that are difficult to overcome are lack of speed and an enormous amount of inexperienced players (8 with less than 25 games). The selections bring in one extra smaller player over a tall, but don't do anything on paper about the experience (although Zorko is unofficially an experienced player).
- Raines and Drummond are obvious ins; Adcock, Lester, and Hudson are all unfortunate (hopefully) unavoidable outs;
- I would be very surprised to see McGrath play watching him closely in the last quarter last week. He looked like he had a bad groin injury. If he plays and can't last long I will be spitting chips.
- Crisp was very very unlucky to lose his spot. I don't mind resting young players, but you might as well play them when they are going OK.
- Banfield was incredibly lucky, as was Longer. No excuses this week.
- Cornelius was also reasonably unlucky. I am disappointed we didn't stick with him for at least one more week. I really wonder if Karnezis has got the match fitness to run out a game. He has apparently played just 4 quarters in the last three weeks. And with Zorko almost certainly the sub, and McGrath with his issues, this could be a problem.
- Hawksley - would have preferred Stiller or Green, but I guess he deserves another go at some stage.
- McKeever - on the reserves reports it sounds as if he didn't deserve a spot. He only got it for his rucking abilities, or to allow Merrett to play ruck. I definitely don't want McKeever in the forward line, but I am not sure I want Merrett there either. God we are kind of screwed anyway we turn.

sums it up for me as well.

Longer staying in is my only real selection query this week. He looked a tired boy last week. McKeever/Merrett are going to have to share the ruck load with him.

I have to agree with you.Longer looked quite unfit last week on the forward line but it will be good to see him in the ruck this week.I think we should stick with him rucking for a while.
Was surprised to see Crisp dropped.Would have thought Vossy would have given him the job running with Pendlebury.Both ex basketballers with big motors.Maybe the kid is tired,I can't understand the match pannel at times!!!!

Didn't he only return to the 2's a fortnight ago after injury? Must have had some pretty impressive games to get a game so quickly.

I saw both games and IMO he was OK but not outstanding. Voss and co are hoping that he steps it up and forms a good duo with Banfield.

We could argue about whether Lloyd has an astute football brain but the fact is he is an A grade tosser. His arrogance would prevent him from ever being a good coach as he would not have a chance of getting any players on board. Wasn't even liked by his own team mates.

He is perfectly suited to media where he can pot blokes at his discretion wIthout having to be accountable himself.

Mixed feelings about this line up. I think that it is a geat sign that Voss is prepared to reward Hawksley's strong from in the reserves and Zorko looks like a natural to step straight into the side and say there. Raines was always going to come back and if he is fit, then Drummond is a must. McKeever makes sense too because we someone who can be competitive in the ruck.

The only issue I have with the way the side has been reported "on paper" is Merrett in the forward line. If I was going to make one additional change, I would have kept Cornelius in, played him at full forward and played Merrett at fullback and given Patfull a spell.

Still, credit where credit is due. Voss has rewarded form in the reserves and selected a side that can win and that is what team selection should be all about

Oh the changes. While I think (surprisingly like most here) that Ace should have stayed in the team as our most dangerous forward I can understand this too many talls business. That said if they play mcKeever in the forward like I will throw my shoe at the tv.

Out of all the changes made mcKeever is the one that worries me the most (including hawksley which is saying something). As a defender and rebounding player he has been serviceable thus far but he doesn't add any more flexibility then Cornelius in the forward line (other then that he can stand in the ruck and lose). If they were going to drop ace for a ruckmen, they should have brought lisle in and just given him a run. Or maybe even retzy?

That said Zorko will be great to watch, I think we need to remember that he's already proven that he can play at the lower levels, he doesn't need to prove himself with good form like other players, when he's ready he's ready. He's not going to get afl match fit playing in the neafl so might as well start at the top if he's over his injury. I wouldn't expect him to start as the sub either.

As far as Merritt and that stuff I guess we will have to wait and see how they line up on Saturday. Should be a good game!

The only issue I have with the way the side has been reported "on paper" is Merrett in the forward line. If I was going to make one additional change, I would have kept Cornelius in, played him at full forward and played Merrett at fullback and given Patfull a spell.

Yep - agree with this.

Jeez Luey has caused some problems, hasn't he.Simply must draft a young developing ruck/state leaguer this year, for depth. Would reckon the coaching staff not to thrilled at throwing Billy to the wolves this week, but we have little choice.

Same with playing Sauce forward, but he is our best next bet & cannot be expected to play ruck/defender. McKeever lucky, but at least gives us some versatility - the one reason Acorn missed out IMO.

And a couple of toss the coin selections - Hawk over Stiller & Banners over Green (who must get a run soon).

Will be there with a Pies fanatic mate. Just compete Lions, that is all we can ask.

Maybe so but in reality he said what (probably) everyone is thinking. At least from the outside looking in.
The team's lucky not to be under the hammer. We just got thumped in 5 minutes v Dons - all over. We appear to have lost a generation of players and I don't see players putting their hand up to lead by example. Let's see passion AND skill. Some hope please. End of dump.

so what did matty lloyd say to upset people on here?

Not much really. Just the obvious,something along the lines of "the Lions are in trouble at the moment". Did watch it,but can't remember. It wasnt "bitchy" though.

I've found a lot of Essendon supporters taking a lot of enjoyment from being ahead of the Lions. This stems from the Lions finishing above the Bombers on the ladder for every season from 2001-2010. Probably just sour grapes from Lloydy I reckon.

Boy ain't that the truth! Have an Essendon supporting mate who used to be really nice to me but now hangs crap on me at every opportunity...could have something to do with him being a grumpy old bastard though lol