Lodden Valley Football League Part 2

I no its early but would be interest to no what ppl think the ladder will look like this year as it looks like being a hard season to pick.

I'll get the ball rolling and his my pick:
  1. Pyramid Hill
  2. Marong
  3. Calivil
  4. Mitiamo
  5. YCW
  6. Bears Lagoon
  7. Bridgewater
  8. Newbridge
  9. Inglewood
Flag : Calivil (Always take it to next level in finals)

I no its early but would be interest to no what ppl think the ladder will look like this year as it looks like being a hard season to pick.

1. Pyramid Hill
  2. Marong
  3. Calivil
  4. Mitiamo
  5. YCW
  6. Bears Lagoon
  7. Bridgewater
  8. Newbridge
  9. Inglewood

Here goes! Based on hype an no real knowledge of arrivals and depatures!

1. Pyramid Hill
2. Calivil
3. Marong
4. Bridgewater
5. Mitamo
6. Newbridge
7. Inglewood
8. Serpentine
9. YCW

It will be interesting if we can ever get to see all the arrivals and depatures from each club! Very disappointing not to be able to see this information! Takes a little away from the excitment of the pre season! It is building the tension though!!!!!:D

1. Calival
2. Pyramid
3. Miti
4. YCW
5. Marong
6. Serp
7. Newbridge
8. B'Water
9. Inglewood

Flag: Mitiamo

Another good Loddon Valley story on the Central Vic Footy homepage today

You would think senior players at any club would not need to be called because they would be active in the club during the off season. Lots of people do lots of things around country clubs threw the summer. Is it too much to expect "senior" players to be involved, other than when they are being payed? How many players would Calival have to call?

I think YCW will be the dark horse in 2009, from reading the interview on Central Vic site they have lost 2 players and gained others. They seem to have kept their cards close to their chests and from what has been in the paper etc they have a lot of different aspects of the club heading in the right direction and may sneak into the top 4 as most will expect the same performance as last year. Marong need to prove themselves this year i think, a lot of talk early on in the year last season and yet they didn't really do a whole lot, so once again need to back up all the talk thats happening on here i guess. First few rounds will be interesting as a lot of clubs seem quite, haven't heard much on newbridge, calival or serp.......

bridgey 8th?

come on thats a bit low low low low low low low low

Yeah, they won't finish that low. Should still be playing finals at this (very early) stage.

I'm no expert on Calivil, but they probably wouldn't have to do much in the off season having such a loyal bunch of locals. Frank, would you agree? or am I off the mark?

Yeah, they won't finish that low. Should still be playing finals at this (very early) stage.

I'm no expert on Calivil, but they probably wouldn't have to do much in the off season having such a loyal bunch of locals. Frank, would you agree? or am I off the mark?

Calivil are unique and i guess in some ways Pyramid and Miti are the same they are a real community made up of locals, so the majority of the playing group are playing cricket or tennis together in summer and apart from coming into the BFL to play they don't rely on a phone call from the coach to decide where they want to play footy.

I'm not saying that to bag the other towns in the LVFL but they seem to rely more on players from Bendigo and other towns than the three i mentioned.

But if you string together flags in all grades like Calivil have i don't reckon too many would be on the move anyway.

I think YCW will be the dark horse in 2009, from reading the interview on Central Vic site they have lost 2 players and gained others. They seem to have kept their cards close to their chests and from what has been in the paper etc they have a lot of different aspects of the club heading in the right direction and may sneak into the top 4 as most will expect the same performance as last year. Marong need to prove themselves this year i think, a lot of talk early on in the year last season and yet they didn't really do a whole lot, so once again need to back up all the talk thats happening on here i guess. First few rounds will be interesting as a lot of clubs seem quite, haven't heard much on newbridge, calival or serp.......

I think you may be getting just a little bit ahead of yourself Cam, particularly if trying to compare YCW 09 with Marong 08. This time last year there was plenty of people saying that it was too much to expect a team that went from winning 1 game to making finals, yet Marong did that, even with significant injuries to key players throughout the season. Losses from 07 were minimal and there was a total of 18 new players to the club that played seniors in 08. YCW have lost their best and fairest and their coach from 08 as a minimum and have only very recently appointed a coach. You say YCW have gained 'others' yet no names have been mentioned anywhere. YCW will improve this season but I seriously doubt they will play finals.

1. Pyramid Hill
  2. Marong
  3. Calivil
  4. Mitiamo
  5. YCW
  6. Bears Lagoon
  7. Bridgewater
  8. Newbridge
  9. Inglewood

1. Pyramid Hill
2. Calivil
3. Marong
4. Mitiamo
5. Bridgewater
6. B/L Serpentine
7. Newbridge
8. YCW
9. Inglewood

While none of us able to see any transfers, I can confirm that I have submitted the following clearances for Marong today:

Kane Cluff - Inglewood
Chris Stone - Harcourt
Aaron Bell - Harcourt
Luke Ellis - Castlemaine
Cameron Turnbull - Pints (NT)

No departures at this stage.

Calivil are unique and i guess in some ways Pyramid and Miti are the same they are a real community made up of locals, so the majority of the playing group are playing cricket or tennis together in summer and apart from coming into the BFL to play they don't rely on a phone call from the coach to decide where they want to play footy.

I'm not saying that to bag the other towns in the LVFL but they seem to rely more on players from Bendigo and other towns than the three i mentioned.

But if you string together flags in all grades like Calivil have i don't reckon too many would be on the move anyway.

I wouldn't think that too many Mitiamo senior players are actually locals,or Pyramid for that matter.

Frank, your argument is going around in circles and you are now contradicting yourself. Now you are in agreement with me that every player (not just the senior players) should be contacted.

And you can speculate all you want about my own situation.

I was making the point because it is disappointing to hear of the potential departures from the club and that simple things that don't cost any money aren't being done or have been left too late.

Oh, and to further illustrate my point, there were 4 Bridgy players training on Monday.

How many were there out at Bridgewater Wednesday night?

Only 4 Players at training?? Surely not!

We're only 8 weeks away from the start of the season!

geeze like there wood be 4 players at a trainin. don't worry about bridgewater. bridgewater have had good numbers at both trainin runs i believe. i believe newbridge have good numbers with a ring in bringin down the average time on there 3k time trial. and miti have good numbers runnin around the lake. whether they have recruited quality is another thing. this joel whybird did not play vic country either played for beulah in mallee league broke upper arm last yr. so didn't play much.

Mate, if you go back and have a look, it was someone from Bridgy who made the comment about 4 at training. Do you 'believe' that Bridgy have had good numbers or do you know? Regardless, Bridgy have done themselves no favours by starting so late. For a team that played in a preliminary final last year, such a late start and, if you belive what you read on here, some significant departures, then Bridgy DO have a bit to worry about.

While none of us able to see any transfers, I can confirm that I have submitted the following clearances for Marong today:

Kane Cluff - Inglewood
Chris Stone - Harcourt
Aaron Bell - Harcourt
Luke Ellis - Castlemaine
Cameron Turnbull - Pints (NT)

No departures at this stage.
add maybe luke walters and they would be favorites

seems marong have a huge exodus of netballers as they off to england to appear in the aussie version od ladette to lady

Any chance hellboy of recruiting bobby dazzlers good mate dug dalton back to the club

I wouldn't think that too many Mitiamo senior players are actually locals,or Pyramid for that matter.

Spot on there Hellboy, Miti only had 2 local senior players last year and 2 local juniors who played on and off (will have the same amount this year) With about 80% of 2s being local.

There was 35 at training last week, with 12 new players (8-10 of them will be seniors). So hopefully we have recovered after so many players leaving at the start of the year. Will have to wait and see if there is any quaility there. We have a practice match scheduled against strathfieldsaye, which should be interesting playing against the likes of Wicks, Woods and Nicholls, and just to see how their team is shaping up for the BFL.

Spot on there Hellboy, Miti only had 2 local senior players last year and 2 local juniors who played on and off (will have the same amount this year) With about 80% of 2s being local.

There was 35 at training last week, with 12 new players (8-10 of them will be seniors). So hopefully we have recovered after so many players leaving at the start of the year. Will have to wait and see if there is any quaility there. We have a practice match scheduled against strathfieldsaye, which should be interesting playing against the likes of Wicks, Woods and Nicholls, and just to see how their team is shaping up for the BFL.

A chance to job Wicksy!! jesus, you blokes must be jumping out of your skins to play that game!