Luke Ball, What are your best memories of him

This thread, proof men can be just as bitchy as women.
Still plenty of lulz have been had.

You'll be pleased to know that the Ball saga continues on the main board as yet another Pies supporter made a thread about it.:p

I don't think we're going to get closure anytime soon on the matter.

i remember the camera on luke at half time in the prelim V Port and him spewing his guts up. Showed absolute balls, to bad a couple of others weren't that committed.
As bad as it has ended he was a good player for our club, he just became bigger than the club in his own mind.

No matter how good the player, when you go to another club, its Luke who!!!!

i remember the camera on luke at half time in the prelim V Port and him spewing his guts up. Showed absolute balls, to bad a couple of others weren't that committed.
As bad as it has ended he was a good player for our club, he just became bigger than the club in his own mind.

No matter how good the player, when you go to another club, its Luke who!!!!

I think he's in for a real shock wherever he goes.

Someone needs to deflate him abit (ALOT).

The Luke Ball saga will be over within a year when he dies out of football with nothing more than a whimper. I think that our fans have been fair. I doubt there are many amoungst us that would not use our last dollar to buy either Maguire or Maxy a drink. Both were moved on or out (effectively - as Luke Ball was) but without the offer of a contract - for issues regarding poor form compared with the starting 22. Neither of them attempted to blackmail OUR club and Maguire declared he only wanted to be a saint.

I think you will find neither of these players being booed at next season (admittedly in very different roles). However it is impossible to have respect for Ball. Even if he is the victim of Collinbwood or his manager, he has the ability to affect these decisions himself and therefore must be responsible for the way he acted. You will not find too many clubs being sympathetic to a player who was given a chance to prove himself in a finals series and then tries to orchastrate leaving his club for effectively nothing to the benefit of a rival with premiership aspirations.

If you pies fans can not understand that, then get your partner to explain it to you; or failing that you can ask your shared grandparents - honestly, when cousins produce offspring they comment on big footy under the Collingwood banner.

I will always have the image of Luke Ball, wrapped up in bandages with blood pouring out of his nose, laying tackles left right and centre at the dome.

I will always remember Luke as a man of courage and determination who was cut down by injury. I will always think of the good times. The hits he took serving our club.

I will always remember that we was the first one to cry when the siren went on GF day.

BUT I will always wonder if he cried because the Saints lost or because they lost while he was on the bench?

It's obvious that Ball has a high opinion of himself but why shouldn't he? He was the number 2 pick in a "super draft". He is always compared to Hodge n Judd both of whom were integral in gettting their clubs to the premiership.

Ball had been reduced to a bit player. It's a massive ego hit for a kid who had everything just a couple years ago.

I am hurt that he felt like he deserved to be given better rather than trying to earn it but I understand how frustrating it must be for him. So many players have come into the team and gone past him. It's like if the new guy at work got a promotion before you. You have been there longer, given more but he is just better than you. It would hurt.

I wish Luke all the best in his career. If he wins a flag one day I wouldn't begrudge him at all. He could still be the champion we had all hoped he would be. The fire is obviously still there he just feels too controlled by Lyon.

He wasn't part of our best 22 but he couldv'e been. Milne, Dal, Kosi and Gram all bit the bullet and did the hard work to get back. Only 6 weeks or so before the GF Gram wasn't even in the team. He nearly won the Norm Smith.

Ball can be elite if everything goes right. I hope to see him at that level again. It hurts that it wont be for us but I wont boo him regardless of who he is drafted by.

Vale St. Luke... I for one will miss you :(
I was debating what to write then I read this and decided that I couldn't put it any better.
He doesn't deserve the vitriol being spewed at him. He deserves our thanks and best wishes for the future, even if these past few months haven't gone the way he or we wanted.

Dunno about shafted. I thought a one year contract for X was reasonable. Brisbane were prepared to give him two, and the club accommodated the move.

Max was done if we are being realistic, and the hammy twinge he had in the VFL late in the season came just at the wrong time and gave him little chance of staking a claim for finals action.

Goose seemed pretty rough though - on the cusp of 100 deserved games and showing enough in the VFL to suggest he would be a worthy inclusion if we suffered injury (but probably not in the best 22 anymore).

Of course you won't because they were all shafted by the club-without any fight:rolleyes: This seems to make it all OK.

As Squizzy's pointed out re max & X

Goose - agree hard done by. But I still respect him for not being a self-serving, arrogant prick (and don't worry, I was a massive fan of Ball, and fustrated he wasn't getting a game)

If ball wanted to leave, so be it. Make sure you can leave & nominate more than one club during the trade period.

amesome guy.met him a few years ago at a jumper signing and he had time to have a chat.

always dominated against hawthorn

his hardness at the footy will be missed and its a shame he lost faith in us as a club

amesome guy.met him a few years ago at a jumper signing and he had time to have a chat.

always dominated against hawthorn

his hardness at the footy will be missed and its a shame he lost faith in us as a club

no, it is a shame he did his best to extract revenge for being dropped. arrogant tosser (Ball, not you!).

Did Milne or Dal Santo leave last year when THEY were dropped? NO! They took their game to a new level and played great football from then on (Grand Final Exception for Milne). But Sook Ball has a bitch and wants to leave because he isn't determined enough to make himself better. What a great example that is to any young members of his family or if he has kids: "You don't need to work hard, just give up and go somewhere else".

2004. From an outsider's point of view. Seemed to go downhill from there .We used to admire his ability to get the hard ball, but his disposal never really looked threatening. I have always LOVED Lenny Hayes, a truly awesome midfielder, and admire the silky skills of Dal Santo, but Luke Ball never caused us too much concern. LOVETT, on the other hand, could be very damaging, kind of your Wojo equivalent. I don't think you guys have lost out here.

remember the camera on luke at half time in the prelim V Port and him spewing his guts up. Showed absolute balls, to bad a couple of others weren't that committed.

No question, that prelim against Port in 2004. I think that game ruined him, don't think he ever really reached that level again but it showed what he could have been had he not used himself as a wrecking ball.

My best memories, the time he made the mainboard become an even bigger shithole.
We can't have a StKilda related thread without it turning into a shit slinging contest between the two clubs. Funny to see that almost every instance its a Collingwood fan starting the whinging. If that's not bitterness, than i have NFI what is.

Seriously though it's impossible to read the mainboard now with the plethora of tools that have invaded it.

My best memories, the time he made the mainboard become an even bigger shithole.
We can't have a StKilda related thread without it turning into a shit slinging contest between the two clubs. Funny to see that almost every instance its a Collingwood fan starting the whinging. If that's not bitterness, than i have NFI what is.

Seriously though it's impossible to read the mainboard now with the plethora of tools that have invaded it.

Surely if there was only the stupidest most insignificant intra-club practice game , it would be enough to take any focus off Ball.
Its just that absolutely nothing is happening right now.

What is the main board?

Surely if there was only the stupidest most insignificant intra-club practice game , it would be enough to take any focus off Ball.
Its just that absolutely nothing is happening right now.

Even if there was something to talk about, there would still be 17 threads dedicated to Luke Ball, all kept a float by Collingwood supporters. Slightly obsessed, heaps bitter. Even though we have nothing to do with Luke anymore, i cannot wait for Thursday to come so the whole issue can once and for all die in the arse.

What is the main board?

The AFL board.

Even if there was something to talk about, there would still be 17 threads dedicated to Luke Ball, all kept a float by Collingwood supporters. Slightly obsessed, heaps bitter. Even though we have nothing to do with Luke anymore, i cannot wait for Thursday to come so the whole issue can once and for all die in the arse.

The AFL board.
What if he doesn't get p/u this week? Unlikely. Possible. Then it's how long before preseason draft?

One of us gets to go on a bloodthirsty rampage with 2 machetes and razor sharp wit against any foul monstrosity daring to prolong the garbage.

Are you a bad enough dude to rescue the board?:p