Scandal Lyon and Brownless

While I'm sure that there is, unfortunately, collateral human damage in these things (e.g immediate family, extended family) and I feel terribly sorry for them, I have a great deal of difficulty having any sympathy for any of the supposed manufactured "celebrities" associated with the Footy Show. I mean, it's entirely based on rampant double entendre, sexual innuendo, smut, making people less fortunate than ourselves look like idiots (without them even realising it or having the capacity to rationalise it) and, what for? Cheap laughs and ratings at the expense of the less than fortunate. Anyone who thinks it's O.K to refer to a passing mother and daughter as "hookers" doesn't rate highly on my moral barometer. I don't care what the circumstances were. Yea, shit happens in families and all relationships, for better or worse and most of us don't have a national audience to play it out in front of. But, I'd be a lot more sympathetic for Brownless if he didn't have an extensive rap sheet. What goes around, comes around. As for Newman. If the cap fits, wear it mate. Absolute low life.

If you're talking about Billy he said that the strippers had arrived, not the hookers, get it right.

All sentiment aside, has Brownless taken into na count what his ex wants? He is sooking like only his emotions have been damaged. But if his ex wants a relationship with someone, she still has that prerogative. He doesn't own her.

Of course it is her prerogative to see who she wants, same with Lyon. However there is a thing called common courtesy to maybe speak to your ex-husband/best mate and say, hey we may have feelings for each other and maybe we want to start seeing each other. The fact they both hid it from him and everyone else shows you that they knew they were doing something that would not go down well with their ex's and families.

He even asked them about it as he had a hunch and they both denied it. At no point does he say she cant see anybody or that he owns her. But it is a common reaction that mates should not hook up with their ex's as it will cause tension. A simple discussion with Billy may have stopped all this.

The ch9 people and those on the Footy Show may want Gary back eventually, thinking time will heal and be forgotten etc.........

...er No. It's over and can never be the same again. Billy will never be able to work with Gary and whats more, the general footy public overwhelmingly are on Billy's side and don't want to see Gary on their tv screens again. Ever

Imagine if Garry took a fiver out of Billy's wallet as well.

Also:
Billy Brownless has no problem calling young girls strippers in public for a couple of cheap of laughs, and now I'm supposed to feel bad because his completely antiquated views have been exposed after his ex-wife did a sex.

Yeah ok

Of course it is her prerogative to see who she wants, same with Lyon. However there is a thing called common courtesy to maybe speak to your ex-husband/best mate and say, hey we may have feelings for each other and maybe we want to start seeing each other. The fact they both hid it from him and everyone else shows you that they knew they were doing something that would not go down well with their ex's and families.

He even asked them about it as he had a hunch and they both denied it. At no point does he say she cant see anybody or that he owns her. But it is a common reaction that mates should not hook up with their ex's as it will cause tension. A simple discussion with Billy may have stopped all this.
I sat there last night while he was blubbering away and it was all about his hurt feeings and how the 'bro code' was broken. The more I thought about it, it seemed Brownless' focus was on his feeings and Lyon's behaviour. Not one mention of what she wanted. In these things I don't there there is ever going to be 100% acceptability of Lyon's behaviour from the aggrieved party, no matter how Lyon approached it. Brownless seems to be putting the 'male' aspect above anything else.

Imagine if Garry took a fiver out of Billy's wallet as well.

Also:
Billy Brownless has no problem calling young girls strippers in public for a couple of cheap of laughs, and now I'm supposed to feel bad because his completely antiquated views have been exposed after his ex-wife did a sex.

Yeah ok
I'm with you here.
All good when it suits them!

I would have thought this was pretty simple. Forgetting all the gender politics - Bill had expectations and trust in a mate. The mate deliberately hides avoidable actions that he's undertaking because he knows it will hurt Bill. Bill finds out and is upset.

That's it! Completely reasonable.

The ch9 people and those on the Footy Show may want Gary back eventually, thinking time will heal and be forgotten etc.........

...er No. It's over and can never be the same again. Billy will never be able to work with Gary and whats more, the general footy public overwhelmingly are on Billy's side and don't want to see Gary on their tv screens again. Ever

Talk about an overreaction i must have missed the part where he killed someone, So 2 single adults having sex and for that you think most people will not want to see Lyon on TV screens ever again.

The entire interview was farcical. Sam’s smug smirk and flippant attitude towards it all was amusing. I was expecting him to say, “For God’s sake Bill, it was just two consenting adults having sex, there’s no need to get emotional about it!”

Brayshaw did his best to look and sound sincere, but failed miserably. My impression is that Bill was shocked at how his ex-wife could do this to such a lovable Aussie larrikin. If Bill had taken more pride in his appearance and kept in good condition, there is the possibility this may not have happened.

He avoided talking about her and directed the blame solely at Garry for causing this whole ordeal. Sorry Bill, but your ex-wife has to accept some of this responsibility because she was a consenting adult.

Bill’s reference to mates not touching their friends wallets or wives was interesting. Yes that is true. But what drove her to commit such an act of adultery Bill?

It is hard to sympathise with a man who yells out, “Here comes the strippers!” and revels in his beer swelling, ignorant good bloke Aussie persona.

If Channel 9 truly respected Bill’s feelings they wouldn’t have exposed him in a such a vulnerable situation, but according to Sam that blame is entirely with the lies told on social media. Channel 9 was only thinking of the ratings and Bill agreed to this in order to paint himself as the good bloke and Garry as the dirty hairy rotten scoundrel who took advantage of his naïve ex-wife.

I sat there last night while he was blubbering away and it was all about his hurt feeings and how the 'bro code' was broken. The more I thought about it, it seemed Brownless' focus was on his feeings and Lyon's behaviour. Not one mention of what she wanted. In these things I don't there there is ever going to be 100% acceptability of Lyon's behaviour from the aggrieved party, no matter how Lyon approached it. Brownless seems to be putting the 'male' aspect above anything else.

Boy o Boy, Wow wee, Richo! Is it possible the good bloke Big Bill Brownless could be a misogynist?

It's a shame because The Footy Show and The Rub will never be the same again. Even if Gaz comes back it'll be weird. Huge fan of the Rub's work, and I know most of you guys hate them but they're pretty popular and put together some great stuff on the radio.

I personally don't give a rats what other people do in their personal lives as it is none of my business, providing they haven't committed murder or something similar. If Gary should ever come back to TFS it's no skin off my nose - providing he can still carry out his duties in a professional manner as required by Channel 9.