feelyngood

May 16, 2005
Brunswick mate
Apparently he will coach out the rest of the season after this Friday's game. This will be Daniher's last game:(, I hope we get a win for him.

What's his story with Mark Riley? (background, position etc....)

Mark Riley was a WA Country team coach and got a chance with his mate Neesham at Claremont then at the Dockers......

I think he'll do a very good job. He's supposed to be one of the best assistant coaches going around, but hasn't been talked about as a potential coach much because he hasn't played footy at AFL level or even VFL/WAFL/SANFL etc. Tactically he's supposed to be very good, and I think he could well impress enough to be given the job full-time at the end of the year. Very good appointment by Melbourne, even though they probably had very little options at this stage of the year :thumbsu:

yeah I can confirm he is tactically very good and aint afraid to try new things on match day, will be really interesting to see how he goes when he gets to implement his ideas on match day.

I think he will be terrific and I hope does really well and I cant see why he cant be a contender for the job next year.

yeah I can confirm he is tactically very good and aint afraid to try new things on match day, will be really interesting to see how he goes when he gets to implement his ideas on match day.

I think he will be terrific and I hope does really well and I cant see why he cant be a contender for the job next year.
I hope your not serious, he's our backline coach, in what area have we had a major weakness - the backline, so in my opinion that makes him a crap coach. Btw, who will step up and take his role of assistant coach, my votes for supermerc!

He's the one that structures/coaches them, he's not responsible for the personnel (or the lack there of). Just stupid to judge him on that, you could well be surprised at how well he does.

From AFL Website:

MARK Riley is not a household name.
But by the time Melbourne takes on Carlton at the MCG on Sunday July 8, his profile will have risen considerably.

"Bomber" as he is known – he will join Geelong's Mark Thompson as a senior coach with that nickname – will coach Melbourne from round 14.

After almost 10 seasons, Neale Daniher will coach Melbourne for one last time against Essendon – the team for which he played 82 matches – this Friday night. Riley, who is the senior assistant coach, will then take on the job for the remainder of the season.

Or could it be longer?

Melbourne president Paul Gardner did not rule out any candidate when he joined chief executive Steve Harris at a media conference on Thursday morning at the club's MCG administration headquarters.

The fact Riley doesn't have a huge profile was not an issue for Gardner or Harris. They simply believe it is a great opportunity for Riley – which it is.

Gardner also reiterated Riley's contract status. He is signed up for another season, so either way Riley – at this stage – will remain with Melbourne.

Riley is well-respected at Melbourne and has been a strong ally of Daniher's. He will be giving it a red hot crack.

Riley won't be intimidated. It's not his style. He will be forthright and open with his opinions. That's the Riley way.

In many respects he possesses similar traits to Daniher – Melbourne's third longest-serving coach behind Norm Smith (307 matches) and "Frank Checker" Hughes (258).

There is no doubt Riley will be auditioning for the role and he will expect nothing less than 100 per cent from his charges. The players have a strong rapport with Riley and they will be eager to do their utmost for him during his time at the helm.

It is also a crucial period for several players, as greater list changes are sure to occur this season than in the past two seasons.

Riley and Daniher's partnership extended back to their Fremantle days, when the duo were assistants to Gerard Neesham in the club's pioneering years.

Riley came to Fremantle after carving a distinguished WAFL playing and coaching career with Claremont, where he was assistant coach in its 1993 premiership team.

He then coached Claremont to the 1994 grand final and joined Fremantle for 1995, where he was development coach until 1997.

Riley was then assistant to Neesham in 1998 and an assistant to Damian Drum in 1999-2000.

He returned to Claremont as senior coach in 2001-02 before rejoining Daniher, this time at Melbourne in 2003. In 2002, Riley won the JJ Leonard Western Australian coach of the year award.

He has since been as assistant coach looking after both the backline and forward set-ups. He swapped to attack this season.

So what can we expect from Riley?

Quite simply, he is a straight-down-the-line, knockabout character with a jovial streak. His likeable character shouldn’t be mistaken for a lack of determination and ability.
This is evident by the fact he has been appointed senior coach despite never playing in the AFL. It is a credit that he has fought his way through the system to this position – even under these circumstances.

Riley won't be spruiking new-wave football jargon. It will be a keep-it-simple-stupid approach.
Sure, Riley will make his own subtle changes to the game-plan, message and style, but don't expect a radical overhaul.

Mark Riley, Whats the deal?