Mathew Lloyd - Terrified

"By the way big tough Mark Johnson started that brawl with his rough house tactics on Bateman - who back then was the smallest player on the ground by miles."

I lost a lot of respect for Lloyd when during a media conference after the "line in the sand" game he categorically blamed Hawthorn for the fireworks. He didn't flinch on camera, just insinuated that we were thugs and a disgrace to the game.

yeah and then get called a thug and the like for being undisciplined

ah yeah, no worries, carlton are shit but u wouldnt touch murphy, going on your assumption that its all to do with ladder position, fool

you ok mate? using my name and quoting someone else, or are you becoming a little obsessed with me to go along with the obsession of the footy club i support:p
you haven't been here long have you. Drew is his name - he is one of yours but with some substance unlike you. You are a come-lately nobody who I barely waste time on - don't flatter yerself

...lloyd was right. Batemans crude bump on winderlich started it then Johnson remonstrated so you gusy went balistic. In that game you were thugs and a disgrace to the game- See Vandenberg chucking in cheapies on McPhee for evidence of that.

you haven't been here long have you. Drew is his name - he is one of yours but with some substance unlike you. You are a come-lately nobody who I barely waste time on - don't flatter yerself

haha
i dont bother with substance on fools like you
we generally post substance only to have replies of essendons incompetance and bringing up garbage that in no way answers a question
so please dont flatter yourself with this bigger than the board attitude, your a troll who belongs on bay 13

I lost a lot of respect for Lloyd when during a media conference after the "line in the sand" game he categorically blamed Hawthorn for the fireworks. He didn't flinch on camera, just insinuated that we were thugs and a disgrace to the game.
i remember when he came off and made jokes about how he had thrown himself on the ground and drawn a cheating free kick which iced the game aganist Melbourne. Thought he was so frigging smart. Little did he know it was the beginning of the end of his legacy as a true champ. will be remembered as a soft cheating clown who could kick a goal once

aye never mind batemans late hit
or campbell brown king hitting winderlich from behind as he went off...
you guys didnt do nothing

It has to be demoralising to you as a young footballer if your captain goes to ground EVERY time he's caught out of position. Not a captain's jockstrap.
If he is setting the example of how to play, every time the ball enters the forward line it will look like a scene from Saving Private Ryan as all the essendon players hit the deck at the one time!

I've heard of pagans paddock, but this might be Pagan's ritual!

Greg Baum's article in the age today adds even further fuel to the Sheedy/Lloyd rift. apparently Matty craked the shits big-time afetr the game and refused to talk to anyone -including the media. Suggestion is he is pissed that Sheeds is coaching them while flogging his wares to other teams

soft on the field and even worse in the media...seriously this guy has a dud personality. Its painful to listen to that mono-tone voice every time he is on the footy show panel.... I cant reach for the remote quickly enough

I've always been a bit mystified by Lloyd.

When he should wrestle with someone he restrains himself. But when you least expect it he'll push someone in the back and get suspended.

I'll pay staring, but not sooking and whinging.

You may be thinking about the Carlton FF.

Let me recap this situation that has brought scorn to Lloyd:

Ball goes out of bounds
Lloyd get pushed into the fence
Looks to the umpire for a free kick
Stares surprisingly when no decision is payed
Gets up and gets on with it

If he got up and belted the Hawthorn bloke, he would have been labelled a stupid cowardish thug.

So basically you guys are on his back because he looked at the umpire for a free kick that should have been there. Wow you guys are not at all petty;)

No, I'm actually thinking of the passage of play (referred to by someone else earlier in this thread) when he was tackled in the forward pocket and chose to lie on the ground with his back to the play expecting a free kick to be forthcoming. After a couple of seconds it became apparent to him that none was forthcoming - he 'woke up' from his 'injury' and turned his head around to see the ball clearing the area. There are other players (captains, even) who would have thought when they were brought to the ground - 'jeez I'm having a horror day and I think I was ripped off by the umpire then - but it's what I can do when I don't have the ball that will help me get back into the game and might inspire my team mates. I'll pull myself off the deck, attempt a tackle, put on a block, whatever.' (An attitude, incidentally, that Fletcher seemed to carry with him on Sunday.)

Early in his career, I think Lloyd would have chosen the latter option. These days, and this is even according to Bomber supporters who I mix with, he has become much more inclined to chose the first, lazy, option. If you can't see that, then I don't think you are looking hard enough.

It's now just automatic for him to put his hand up for a free when the whistle blows.

There he was on Sunday, clearly holding Croad's jumper.

Whistle blows, it's an obvious Croad free kick.

Lloyd hears the whistle, the light bulb above his head goes on, he puts the hand up for the free and starts to walk out from goal, preparing to take what he thinks is his free kick.

He's like Pavlov's dog these days.

That's what I love about BigFooty. About 2 years my frustration peaks about a topic it becomes big news...lol

Lloyd is a homo and relished playing in a powerful tough side like Essendon as he could run around like a gutless sniper.

Now that the club is weak and on it's knees he can't handle it. I was sitting in the reserved seating on level two behind the city end goals and had a close up view of his antics for two quarters on the weekend. Anyone who sat there might have heard my comments like.

"Why don't you pull your shorts up a bit higher Lloyd" ... It seemed to catch on and everyone was joining in. It was pretty funny as even the Scum supporters around were laughing a bit.

Matthew Lloyd career highlights:

Bigfooty career highlights:

Matthew Lloyd career highlights:
Bigfooty career highlights:

And that is completely fair enough too, but all with a powerful side around him. Look at him now?

Says a lot about the heroics of Crawford and West who have brilliantly lead struggling clubs.

And that is completely fair enough too, but all with a powerful side around him. Look at him now?

Says a lot about the heroics of Crawford and West who have brilliantly lead struggling clubs.
It's pretty hard to lead brilliantly when you're a forward getting supply from an average midfield. Not to mention the fact that he's come back after missing a year of football all together and still averaging 3 or 4 goals a game.

He'd be kicking a lot more goals if he stayed put leading from the goal square instead of pushing up the ground.

Mathew Lloyd - Terrified