News Media Thread, 2023: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

Thought I’d put this here (written by Mark Duffield)

Distinctions

Liam Duggan: Hits the ball and opponents harder than any teammate and he gives both defence and midfield an air of greater power and authority when he is in those areas. Gained almost 450 metres for the Eagles, kicked a great running goal and had 18 disposals. Having a very solid season.

That’s good… no mention of his defending or his terrible kicking..
probably why his great running goal was mentioned because after multiple attempts to stuff it up it was a miracle it went through.

If King is suggesting we put a line through Duggan (and thus all those worse than him) then the Eagles would struggle to field a team.

Duggan may not have fulfilled his early potential but he sure ain’t the worst. And he fits that mid-age range where we’re very thin.
He's an adequate footsoldier. If he was in our 15th-20th picked instead of our top 10 it would be fine.

Duggan won't be going anywhere imo. He's worth more to us than another club would pay and we need the mature body.

It would be nice if he was better at football but, 9 years in the league, he is the finished product and we have to live with it for the next 3-4 years I expect.

If we're dropping players for lazy defensive efforts, Sheed will jog slowly off the plank if we can convince an opposition player to run past him off it first.
Reckon Sheed’s the the first round pick from the mid 2010’s that I’m more annoyed with. I’m a huge fan and He was never gonna be an out and out star but reckon 3-4 years ago he had the scope to be Priddis or redden type B grade mid that was reliable week in week out. He has now got progressively worse as the season has panned out. I don’t think he’ll be shunted out of the middle any time soon unless Simmo gets moved on an a coach comes in.

He was shown agruing on the bench with Simmo in the Sydney game so maybe there's hope

Sheed seems to like barking instructions to his teammates.
Always has his hands out for the dish off, despite standing 30cm away from the bloke with the ball.

I remember one point int he game on Sunday, where one of the young blokes had the ball and was running inside 50. Sheed was behind him, with hands out calling for the ball...

That's why I said a couple. As Larikin pointed out, in one of them Duggan wasn't even on him.
He adds hardness in that backline, one of the first picked despite his ordinary disposal. King has his head up his arsee if he thinks Duggan needs to be dropped before about a dozen other blokes. He just isn't equipped to deal.with an athlete like Bolton so not sure why he was singled out.
My issue with this, and this is 100% a team/coaching issue and not just a Duggan issue, is if you're not equipped to deal with an athlete like Bolton you use your strengths to hinder his. You block him, you scrag him, you make him scared to take possession for fear of the crunching tackle he's about to receive. You don't just sit 3m off him and allow him to run unimpeded past the contest to the fall of the ball through to the goal side without any contact whatsoever then stand there hands on hips thinking you did your best and he's just too good.

Please note that this is targeted at literally all of our defenders and defensive coaches, not just Duggan. Something needs to change in this respect our players give their opponents way too much space when they should be playing in a defensive position. It's an attitude and professionalism thing where our players minds should be on every second they're playing the game on how they help this team win. But this doesn't appear to be our players mindset at the moment plenty happy running around for a kick and a catch with very few serious about making a difference to help this be a competitive footy club.

And yet he was one of our better players on the weekend.

He's an adequate footsoldier. If he was in our 15th-20th picked instead of our top 10 it would be fine.

Duggan won't be going anywhere imo. He's worth more to us than another club would pay and we need the mature body.

It would be nice if he was better at football but, 9 years in the league, he is the finished product and we have to live with it for the next 3-4 years I expect.

What a great backhanded compliment , he is worth more to us than he is to someone else….

So yeah he is garbage but we might get an offer of something more rubbish so we better keep the decaying lettuce rather than chucking him for nothing…

Newsflash 98% of our list is worth didley squat. That’s why we hardly hear of our blokes being targeted by other clubs during trade week. … well that and credits and over blown cushy multi year contracts

If King is gonna take aim at anyone in our organisation, it needs to be his mate Simmo for his reluctance to drop or chastise any of the credits crew for bad performances. It’s funny how after being nearly dropped and relegated to the sub role that Gaff had one of his best performances of the year eh Simmo?
Problem is I don't think it's going to last.
Gaffs always had the occasional 20-25 possession game then goes to crap for 5 weeks straight.

His game wasn't even very good anyway. A lot of his disposals were either backwards or sideways, he doesn't know how to take the game on anymore.

Yeah for a 24 possession game he was still under 200m for metres gained. And if they measured time spent making a decision he wouldn’t do too well in that either.

His game wasn't even very good anyway. A lot of his disposals were either backwards or sideways, he doesn't know how to take the game on anymore.

I did read in The West that Gaff’s total metres gained was still less than 200m on Sunday.

Haven’t got paper here - someone else may be able to confirm.

Wot Migs said a couple of posts above

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app