News Media Thread, 2023: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

Duggan would be a far better player if he just played within his limitations; stopped trying to kick it long and kicking it as a dart when running at full tilt. Either uses his hands if he's running too fast and under pressure or if not he slows up and kicks it.

Thinks he's a better kick than he is unfortunately. And it sucks coz he looks like one of the few who gives 100% every game.

Was in our top ten for disposal and kicking efficiency
Stats can pretty much tell you what you want in most cases.
A few handballs and cheap 20 metre kicks reads a lot better efficiency wise.

I just prefer to assess it as I watch it.
From memory, he fluffed 3 of his first 4 kicks.

The footage of some of the stuff highlighted on The First Crack was really poor.

I thought Cole was a lot better than Duggan today.

The footage of some of the stuff highlighted on The First Crack was really poor.

Yeah he had a fair few turnovers, I just didn't notice he was any worse than anyone else

All the vic media have carlton finishing in the 8 noW LOL.

YES it was a good win against port but they made 7 changes.

Their other wins.they beat up bottom 4 sides. With another flat track performance anticipated facing an oppo who had their second 6 day break in 3 games.

I just cant see them winning enough games to make the 8.

All the vic media have carlton finishing in the 8 noW LOL.

YES it was a good win against port but they made 7 changes.

Their other wins.they beat up bottom 4 sides. With another flat track performance anticipated facing an oppo who had their second 6 day break in 3 games.

I just cant see them winning enough games to make the 8.
I think we can help them

So Gaffy will be back in the 22 next week, there can only be one reason to maintain his value for a trade. He worth nothing if he is playing for the beagles.

Here is the Liam Duggan takedown last night

The stuff Kingy was talking about was nothing to do with his kicking, it was defensive efforts. It was also lazy analysis, blaming Duggan at one point for Bolton coming from the centre square and Duggan letting him go, when he was no way Duggan's responsibility. There is so much switching going on to run with the "that's his man" is lazy, crap analysis.

Duggan's kicking is a real mixed bag. His good is very good but his bad costs goals. That's worth analysing.

The stuff Kingy was talking about was nothing to do with his kicking, it was defensive efforts. It was also lazy analysis, blaming Duggan at one point for Bolton coming from the centre square and Duggan letting him go, when he was no way Duggan's responsibility. There is so much switching going on to run with the "that's his man" is lazy, crap analysis.

Duggan's kicking is a real mixed bag. His good is very good but his bad costs goals. That's worth analysing.
There's very little footy IQ being coached into our players at the moment.

You're in Richmond's forward 50, who do we think is there most dangerous player likely to kick a goal here? of course it's Bolton or Dusty, so why would there be noone blocking his run goal side? Get in his way scrag him, bump him don't just let him run along side the contest unimpeded.

It was similar to when we played GWS without a bunch of their stars in. So who's the most dangerous player that's going to kick all their goals? Clearly Tobey, so why not have someone lock him down all game and not give him an inch? Nope, too hard.

Our players just don't have that hard edge to do things to make it difficult for their opponents most of the time would prefer to run along side with 2-3m of space and then deal with that when the ball comes and it's too late but at least it looks like I'm trying hard.

100%. I dont mind King but that piece was utter tripe. The footage was hardly damning- one of the quickest, most skilled players in the league made a couple of breaks on an average backman. Whoopty ****ing doo. Next.

100%. I dont mind King but that piece was utter tripe. The footage was hardly damning- one of the quickest, most skilled players in the league made a couple of breaks on an average backman. Whoopty ******* doo. Next.
There wasn't just one example, there was 2 or 3.
I thought the footage was poor.

You called Duggan average and I think that's right.
An average flanker who can't kick.

100%. I dont mind King but that piece was utter tripe. The footage was hardly damning- one of the quickest, most skilled players in the league made a couple of breaks on an average backman. Whoopty ******* doo. Next.
I don't even think Duggan was responsible for him in most of those plays, that was my point.
You're in Richmond's forward 50, who do we think is there most dangerous player likely to kick a goal here? of course it's Bolton or Dusty, so why would there be noone blocking his run goal side? Get in his way scrag him, bump him don't just let him run along side the contest unimpeded.
No argument from me. But in the 6-6-6 form the centre bounce Duggan clearly already has a player he is accountable for. If Bolton is running out of the centre square and no one picks him up that's on the mids.

There’s a real emphasis on thanking the fans. It was Simmo’s opening answer in his presser yesterday, now this.

Personally I’d prefer it if they gave us some details on how they’re digging the club out of the crater-sized hole they’re in, rather than meaningless platitudes.

AFL cellar dwellers the West Coast Eagles have blamed a rare first-half loss on the early fixturing of their woeful season.

New financial filings by the parent company of the league’s wealthiest club have disclosed that it finished the six months to April 30 more than $468,000 in the red after the Eagles played one less home match at Optus Stadium than the same period a year earlier.

Reckon our dogshit performances has more to do with it, but blame Ed Sheeran if you must.

King didn’t blame Duggan at all for the centre square one where Bolton got down to the forward line and goal… that was all on Tim Kelly who was 50metres behind..

But the first ruck contest in the forward 50 was all Duggan when Bolton goaled, the Taranto goal was all on Duggan when he shat himself when touched by Taranto and the one before that was Duggan getting sucked into the contest with his man 20 metres outside of the pack and the ball getting to him…the fact remains like a lot of our blokes he has no idea how to defend and at his age it should be discussed if he has a future with us

Reckon our dogshit performances has more to do with it, but blame Ed Sheeran if you must.

It’s definitely the fixture. We haven’t been fixtured against a single side below us on the ladder. Seems unfair.

King didn’t blame Duggan at all for the centre square one where Bolton got down to the forward line and goal… that was all on Tim Kelly who was 50metres behind..
Agree to diasagree - he wrapped them all together and then said something like "guys at this age either get it or you make a change".

It's the making a change part his mate in the coaches box seems to have an issue with

Players only take liberties if they've (continually) been allowed to get away with it before

Which is completely true…. He is an average player in a below average side who should be a lot better than he is… has no care in defending and less care in his disposal

Thought I’d put this here (written by Mark Duffield)

Distinctions

Liam Duggan: Hits the ball and opponents harder than any teammate and he gives both defence and midfield an air of greater power and authority when he is in those areas. Gained almost 450 metres for the Eagles, kicked a great running goal and had 18 disposals. Having a very solid season.

I don't even think Duggan was responsible for him in most of those plays, that was my point.

No argument from me. But in the 6-6-6 form the centre bounce Duggan clearly already has a player he is accountable for. If Bolton is running out of the centre square and no one picks him up that's on the mids.
You think Kelly or sheed are going to be accountable for Bolton after the centre bounce . Not a chance

There wasn't just one example, there was 2 or 3.
I thought the footage was poor.

You called Duggan average and I think that's right.
An average flanker who can't kick.
That's why I said a couple. As Larikin pointed out, in one of them Duggan wasn't even on him.
He adds hardness in that backline, one of the first picked despite his ordinary disposal. King has his head up his arsee if he thinks Duggan needs to be dropped before about a dozen other blokes. He just isn't equipped to deal.with an athlete like Bolton so not sure why he was singled out.