News Media Thread, 2023: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

All respect but based on what? from memory there wasn't any tangible evidence (no times, no skinfolds, no houses trained down ala masto). those articles just seemed standard puff piece BS.

If there's one thing kornes knows about its training standards, it's pretty much the only edge he ever had over anyone as a player and was probably the sole reason someone with as little natural talent that he had made it to 300 games. (also probably the reason he goes after it to much, e.g. jake stringer, us, the AFLW fwd from gold coast/hawf)

I'm in his camp on this one.

Based on my own observations over multiple preseason training sessions for a start

There were also numerous articles from a variety of sources commenting on how much trimmer McGovern was

Anyone looking at preseason photos would not conclude either McGivern or Yeo were anything other than trim

The only player carrying excess weight into last preseason was Naitanui

I don’t doubt Cornes knows what training hard looks like. I do doubt that he spent any time watching our preseason to make an educated opinion on what we were doing

Based on my own observations over multiple preseason training sessions for a start

There were also numerous articles from a variety of sources commenting on how much trimmer McGovern was

Anyone looking at preseason photos would not conclude either McGivern or Yeo were anything other than trim

The only player carrying excess weight into last preseason was Naitanui

I don’t doubt Cornes knows what training hard looks like. I do doubt that he spent any time watching our preseason to make an educated opinion on what we were doing
Fair enough, thanks for the response.

I guess I'm not willing to place as much stock in training photos/track sessions from over the fence as you are. to many variables with the lighting, angles, maybe the player did a gym session pre training and has a pump up etc. Just so hard to say without better data.

As you point out though its unlikely kornes has access either.

Fair enough, thanks for the response.

I guess I'm not willing to place as much stock in training photos/track sessions from over the fence as you are. to many variables with the lighting, angles, maybe the player did a gym session pre training and has a pump up etc. Just so hard to say without better data.

As you point out though its unlikely kornes has access either.

Keys attends a lot of preseason training sessions so his observations are his own. I live near Lathlain and also saw McGovern at training (and running laps outside training) and he was almost unrecognisable due to how slim he was.

Yeah totally agree, the first time I've ever seen anything resembling definition in his arms.

Just begs belief then that if true how McGovern can have a 12 week hammy jumping in a marking contest in round 3.

Or how Yeo cannot go more than just attending CBA's as a midfielder then having to go play down back because he will break down.

Are these players paying the price of treating their body poorly in their early 20's? Or are they not as fit as the pictures and articles portray.

Sorry I know it's been done to death and if anyone knew then we wouldn't be in this S&C predicament

Yeah totally agree, the first time I've ever seen anything resembling definition in his arms.

Just begs belief then that if true how McGovern can have a 12 week hammy jumping in a marking contest in round 3.

Or how Yeo cannot go more than just attending CBA's as a midfielder then having to go play down back because he will break down.

Are these players paying the price of treating their body poorly in their early 20's? Or are they not as fit as the pictures and articles portray.

Sorry I know it's been done to death and if anyone knew then we wouldn't be in this S&C predicament
I hate to say it but, some people are just injury prone. Especially the way the two said players go into a contest at full bore.

Age and their bodies are cooked.

It doesnt stop them from throwing themselves at every contest.

Kane Cornes

@kanecornes
·
5m

I’ll save them the cost of an overseas airfare. Eat better, lean up, hire a personal trainer and train everyday in the 14-week holiday, get treatment from good healthcare professionals, recover. Bring your teammates along. Repeat

Haha he still going

Club: flies injured players to see a world renowned specialist

Kane: oi mate, ya don't need any of that! have u tried just eating a salad and going for a jog?

He's winding up one of the biggest supporter bases in the country and gets a heap of rage clicks as a result

He's laughing all the way to the bank. Just ignore the guy

It’s the same thing Corey Homicide does with the wildcats and Stephen A Smith does with The Dallas Cowboys.

I’ve stopped clicking on Cornes and Barrett’s dribble these days

I reckon there's something in the whole fat gov/injuries thing.

He suits a bigger body.

Look at Plugger now, lost heaps of weight and looks like Mr Burns.

That Jonah Hill actor guy looks weird skinny but him as a fat Jewish guy was funny.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeo in 2024 after he eats well and exercises:

big-brain-lateralus.gif

Kane Cornes

@kanecornes
·
5m

I’ll save them the cost of an overseas airfare. Eat better, lean up, hire a personal trainer and train everyday in the 14-week holiday, get treatment from good healthcare professionals, recover. Bring your teammates along. Repeat

Haha he still going
My god he’s a dickhead

I reckon there's something in the whole fat gov/injuries thing.

He suits a bigger body.

Look at Plugger now, lost heaps of weight and looks like Mr Burns.

That Jonah Hill actor guy looks weird skinny but him as a fat Jewish guy was funny.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
People who are naturally bigger folk look unnatural when super skinny.

Myself i need to get down to 15% bodyfat.