News Media Thread, 2023: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

I'm not sure who I'd prefer to slap across the face with my golf glove more... wheatley or barret, I'd probably cheat and slap them both... continually.....non stop....for a very long time!

If I had to choose it’d be Whateley

At his core, I think Barrett knows what he is - a run of the mill click bait journo who’s swam around in the muck long enough to build some half decent connections

Whateley is just a pompous thesaurus with an over inflated sense of his own importance

I don't mind daisy on SC

Yeah Daisy and Mop's mate Schoey go alright.

But then there's Pav, Alistair Lynch and Jude Bolton that just break the scales in the other direction.

At his core, I think Barrett knows what he is - a run of the mill click bait journo who’s swam around in the muck long enough to build some half decent connections

Whateley is just a pompous thesaurus with an over inflated sense of his own importance
And he also looks way to much like.....
Screenshot_2023-04-07-10-55-50-20_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

I used to really enjoy him years ago, but he has slowly-but-surely become a parody of his own ego. Bloke is metawhately these days.

Was good at the ABC

Went downhill when he became full time at Fox

I loved Whately as Grandstand’s ball by ball chief cricket caller.

Football is less natural to his pompousness

I’ve not listened to him once since he went to SEN

Yeah pretty pathetic they don’t fly over for the games anymore, totally understand during covid but now it’s just money saving, can’t say I’ve heard of any other sport in the world doing this.

It had preceded Covid to reduce costs. Production of most sports broadcasts are now centralised

One thing I've heard bandied about by a few journalists from earlier in Whately's career is that he was bloody horrible to work with. Feels about right.

Both are pencil neck dweebs but Whateley is a complete flog, full of Vic bias and self importance

The idea of Vic-based commentators calling nonVic games is a further sign of Vic arrogance - that is, they are the only ones with The Knowledge. And often they show they don’t - although the average Vic footy fan may not pick this up. But for the nonVic fans - with a better knowledge of their teams - it is sometimes downright embarrassing.

Also the cost cutting argument doesn’t hold up when you think that local commentators - probably part timers (but with a good local knowledge) - would be cheaper.

And given the duopoly the broadcasters have, it is not as though they need a stable of highly paid ‘stars’ to get better ratings than a host of other broadcasters showing games.
They could just as easily pump up the fact they have very knowledgeable (‘expert’) local talent.

PS: the fact that non-locals cover games not only means they are less familiar with the teams and players but also are unaware of the ‘vibe’ of the clubs - how they’re being administered, how they are viewed in the community, what internal issues they have etc.

Imagine the convos around the table at dinner time in the Watson household!

Tired Back To School GIF by Originals

Doing three hours of talk back a day isn't conducive to having anything but sensationalised hot takes. That plus AFL360 becoming 'the' football show have changed Whateleys opinions for the worse.

Thing is he doesn’t do much talk back on his show.. between felattioing Dangerfield, razor ray, David king, crash card dock and most of his other guests he doesn’t have much time for the common folk.

Derwaynne though, as they say you call, you get on…. Unless Dwayne disagrees and your off.