Mega Thread Miscellaneous Freo Discussion thread

G'day campaigners, is there a better app than Tapatalk for Bigfoot?
I haven't been able to find anything that gives a decent resolution...

bigfoot GIF

(But yeah, I just use safari)

What is our average age going to be next year? No Lobb, No Mundy, Fyfe is a huge question mark.

Is that just Taberner, Fyfe, Walters as B22 players 28+?

I guess we win BigFooty then?

Anyone with front row seats at ground level at Optus will be having their membership price go up a **** load. They are taking away the restricted viewing discount from next season. My seats are going up ~$150 which is bullshit.

Anyone with front row seats at ground level at Optus will be having their membership price go up a * load. They are taking away the restricted viewing discount from next season. My seats are going up ~$150 which is bullshit.
Seems weird to me that front row seats would have been discounted tbh, what makes them restricted viewing?

The fence at the front when sitting down is pretty high up. If you are really short or a child I can imagine it would cause some issues.

I feel like I'm the only one who didn't realise Kim Hagdorn was involved in a bad vehicle accident in 2020, and has made almost a miraculous recovery. Heard him in quite a powerful interview yesterday, and now struggle to dislike him as much.

Why? He still went about ridiculing non Eagles players for his own enjoyment.

He's an a grade flog.

I feel like I'm the only one who didn't realise Kim Hagdorn was involved in a bad vehicle accident in 2020, and has made almost a miraculous recovery. Heard him in quite a powerful interview yesterday, and now struggle to dislike him as much.
Nobody wants people to suffer & i’d rather he just went away, but the time he was recovering & not spruiking his bullshit was f*cken awesome.

it must be why I didn't realise he was even MIA.

I was in hospital myself for most of 2021, so could relate to some of what he said - having similar experiences and thoughts to him was scary!!! :)

I actually haven't said much. Kind of a long story... Firstly, I'm not an expat. In fact, I've never been to Australia. lol. I was a Milwaukee Brewer season ticket holder a long time again and a Green Bay Packer season ticket holder since 1993. But, American football began to lose me in the late '00s. Too many yellow flags/penalties, the physicality of the sport was being taken out (think, pass interference penalties for lightly touching a guy's arm), too many damn commercials and the price of tickets were getting out of control. I really enjoyed the physicality of seeing two players battle it out (think KPF wrestling with a KPD). I was sitting in my living room in 2010 watching a Thanksgiving game and there were some stupid, ticky-tack pass interference penalties back to back to back. I got so mad (it wasn't even my team playing and it was a complete overreaction), but it was at that moment I came to terms that the game I enjoyed while growing up in the 80's and 90's was gone and I didn't like what it had turned into. It was almost like realizing you've lost a friend. It's hard to explain. People thought I was crazy when I told them I was done with football. My family thought I was going through some mental problems. Hahaha. They have since realized where I was coming from and many agree with me now! :)

I was on the look out for something else. Soccer. Nah. Basketball. Even worse than football especially the last two minutes. Baseball. I like it but it's too slow.

I was in an online gaming group at the time and was venting about this. Some Aussie bloke who I barely knew said, "mate, you gotta check out aussie rules." We struck up a conversation and I'm still friends with him today, 12 years later. :) He's a crows supporter who grew up Roxby Downs, SA. He's since married a pies supporter and they have two daughters and live in Melbourne. We have had a tipping comp (which I've won twice) for probably 8 years. One crazy American and 9 aussies. Him and I have a bet that whose ever team wins a GF first gets a bottle of some tasty whiskey sent to their house by the other. I almost lost in 2017! :tongueclosed:

But I digress...

It was hard to find AFL games to watch in 2010, so I would find bits and pieces here and there. Found some old games on youtube but couldn't watch a full season. I was intrigued. I would watch the highlights of each game on AFL.com and after a year or so finally decided to buy a year subscription to Fox. Needless to say, I got hooked. Big time. I would watch 5 games a week and then highlights of the ones I didn't.

Seeing that I was getting into footy pretty seriously, my aussie mate asked me who I was going to barrack for. (I had to look up the definition of "barrack". lol) I told him I was just enjoying the game and I didn't have a team. That was 2012-13ish. Well, after going on about how everyone has a team and once you chose you can't change your mind, etc.. he said I needed a team. I had no choice. haha. I started paying more attention to what the clubs were about and not just their performance on the field. I checked out the club's websites and read up on their histories. I didn't understand the full Vic-centric nature of the game/commentators/etc. but I could tell Freo were definitely not what you would call a "big club". I loved their history though. I usually like the underdog story. Loved the name Dockers, blue collar, hard workers, just like my Packers (which comes from the meat packing industry in WI). I loved that they hadn't won a GF and were a young club. If I chose Freo, I could be a fan when they won their first GF. My aussie buddy wanted me to go Crows. Nah. I also noticed that a lot of the teams played to empty stadiums (GC, GWS, etc..). I didn't understand why this was the case at the time, but Freo fans always seemed to turn up to games and were a passionate lot. And then there was this beast called Nat Fyfe. His physicality was second to none in the contest. Mowing people over. Bash and crash. I loved watching him play. It was what I didn't see anymore in American football but craved. Freo were obviously up and about between 2011-2014 when I was just learning about the game and I enjoyed watching them. Freo just felt "right".

I'm now a proud Freo supporter/member. I've got a sweet framed Dockers print in my office. I've attended and volunteered for the USAFL national competitions and if Chicago was a bit closer to me, I would be supporting the Chicago Swans team more than I can do. For me, footy is my #1 sport and everything else a distance second. I still go to the occasional packer and brewer game, but not like I used to.

I think the important thing to know about my attitude is that I got too caught up in the highs and lows of the American Football game for too long. I would be pissed if the Packers lost and it would ruin my weekends. I got too mad at players and I lost some of the joy of the game. When I started watching footy, I vowed to not overreact and enjoy the ride more. It's the journey, right? It doesn't make me any less passionate, but I've found a lot more joy in sport by doing this. I get disappointed but not crushed when Freo don't perform well. This is why I'm the eternal optimist on here and you won't read many posts from me ranting about this or that. I also don't have patience for people who spew criticisms at players and other posters. It's your right to do it, but I'm not going to partake.

So, that's my story. Some day, I'll watch Freo in person in Australia..maybe with some of y'all. Probably not anytime soon unless I win the lottery though. lol. Ive only met a freo supporter in real life once and I can't imagine being at optus with 60,000 other supporters. I would probably be completely overwhelmed. I usually watch games in the middle of the night (chicago time) but I have a few mates who are mildly interested in the sport. Anyway, we have some good footy to look forward to over the next 5-7 years. It's a good time to be a Freo fan. :)

Go Freo! :freo:

So Snuffaluphagus and Dump Truck, after you guys told me to contact the club with my story, which I thought was a silly idea at first, I ended up doing it for sh*ts and giggles. They loved it and sent me a little package. :cool:

If anyone runs into Kaitlin at FFC, tell her thanks! :)

Considering how negative/down the atmosphere is right now after the release of the Hawthorn report, I thought a little good news would be welcomed.

IMG_1886.JPG

So Snuffaluphagus and Dump Truck, after you guys told me to contact the club with my story, which I thought was a silly idea at first, I ended up doing it for sh*ts and giggles. They loved it and sent me a little package. :cool:

If anyone runs into Kaitlin at FFC, tell her thanks! :)

Considering how negative/down the atmosphere is right now after the release of the Hawthorn report, I thought a little good news would be welcomed.

View attachment 1516291
I'll pass on the message

Edit, she says she is glad to know it arrived. Loved your story

Bugger FreoGirl i sincerely hope things are much better for you now.
I've worked my way back to better health than ever! :). I credit my little dog (Nat Fyfe/Fyfey) for motivating me to get out and walk every day. We blitz 10km a few times a week, I've gone back to work and study. Like Hagdorn, you get a new appreciation for life, and want to make every day your best.