Injury Morabito - another knee injury

Ask Duncan Spencer about his troubles with a banned substance. He was having a hard time with his back so he took a banned substance to help him with his quality of life. It worked that well that he was able to play cricket again at an elite level.

He gained medical advise as to how long it would take to be out of his system and he waited that time before playing - he then got a call-back in to the WA side and was drug tested and it was still in his system. He received a 2 year ban.

You may call it thinking outside the box but its a bloody stupid idea and should not be entertained by Freo.

First off don't compare a laundry list of "banned substances" with HGH which is incredibly hard to detect as it's natural and released in cycles in the body every day. If you get caught doing any drug you simply are too moronic to take drugs in the first place. The guys who make millions being athletes are certainly, without a doubt, on performance enhancers. Not all performance enhancers are illegal, and many aren't widely known. It would be stupid for athletes to not be on the best gear, whether it's legal or not, the only issue is one of getting caught doing it and with the right knowledge and money not getting caught is pretty much guaranteed. Why is it stupid to not be on them? They make a lot more money being the best than being the worst.

And there are issues with long term HGH use that people like GSP (a little) and body builders (a lot) show. Organ growth, distended bellies, etc. No one says being one of the best athletes on the planet comes at ZERO RISK. However to fix his knee I would recommend Mora does HGH to help get him over his current hurdles. He isn't playing so what's the harm? It's currently against the rules for him to do it as an AFL player though even though you can get a prescription for it here, same as with testosterone, and that is stupidity.

That brought a tear to me eye Seppo...

Dont take this the wrong way or as some veiled criticism mate, but your a ex Saints fan, right? Who followed Lyon here?

I wouldnt have thought Mora would have much sentiment for you? Having not played for 2yrs. Or are you peeling onions?

And the issue of "cheating" and "drugs" is ridiculous. Was Dermitt cheating when he was one of a few back in the 80s chowing down raw coffee before a match to increase his caffeine so he had an edge over his competitors? What about the players today taking 10 caffeine pills? Are players cheating getting refined amino acids and creatine supplements for their diet? This wasn't available in the 80s! Cheaters! Did you know testosterone injections didn't use to be against AFL rules! Shock. Horror.

Playing a sport like AFL has dangers like "never walking again" or heavy arthritis, it has risks inherent due to the contact nature. Athletes also take risks to perform at a high level in anything, taking drugs to make them perform better shouldn't be looked down upon in my opinion, it makes what they do more exciting for spectators.

Athletes also take risks to perform at a high level in anything, taking drugs to make them perform better shouldn't be looked down upon in my opinion, it makes what they do more exciting for spectators.

Well, we may never get Lance Franklin to play in purple, but it seems Lance Armstrong has been here a while now, without letting on.

Love you Mems. ;)

I was speaking to my friend today who is a physio and a Dockers fan, she was saying that because Morras op isnt a complete Lars, the synthetic section will only act as a scafold for his ligament to grow. This means that it will only shorten his recovery time by a few months, meaning it will still be a season that he misses :0(. If it was a complete lars like others he would be back in 12-16 weeks but it would be much more risky.

And the issue of "cheating" and "drugs" is ridiculous. Was Dermitt cheating when he was one of a few back in the 80s chowing down raw coffee before a match to increase his caffeine so he had an edge over his competitors? What about the players today taking 10 caffeine pills? Are players cheating getting refined amino acids and creatine supplements for their diet? This wasn't available in the 80s! Cheaters! Did you know testosterone injections didn't use to be against AFL rules! Shock. Horror.

Playing a sport like AFL has dangers like "never walking again" or heavy arthritis, it has risks inherent due to the contact nature. Athletes also take risks to perform at a high level in anything, taking drugs to make them perform better shouldn't be looked down upon in my opinion, it makes what they do more exciting for spectators.
Thought you'd appreciate this then Mems.

312366_351266251647481_84756844_n.jpg

Not my cuppa tea but each to their own, also.. just as long as i'm not competing against these people.. :D

Have you seen the doco Bigger, Stronger, Faster*? Worth watching if you haven't.

Thought you'd appreciate this then Mems.

Not my cuppa tea but each to their own, also.. just as long as i'm not competing against these people.. :D

Nice image. Look the thing is on the football field if you take away ALL the drugs there is still going to often be a 100kg "natural dude" who could flatten most others without much effort. Even a Stephen Hill rookie could mess you up for life if he hits you at speed. Taking some testosterone so you can run 10% faster (non steroid natural runners get close to 10 second 100m sprints and Bolt is only ~10% faster) and train harder isn't going to really increase the damage potential all that much. For AFL in particular you can't go over the top beefcake because it would ruin your cardio, even if you blood doped and took EPO.

The athletes that go over the top with the drugs in stupid ways will burn themselves out and have to retire. This is why even a drug like ICE or PCP wouldn't really have that much negative effect on the game in the long run, the players would burn themselves out real quick if they overdid it. Natural balance is found eventually. Alternatively we would see more action, players would tire less, get injured less, etc. Hard to see why we care so much about the few who are stupid taking drugs in a bad way over everything else.

Hard to see why we care so much about the few who are stupid taking drugs in a bad way over everything else.

A major concern for me is that the administration of drugs would become something that is managed by the clubs. The pressures on players to participate would be immense, and would become something that would begin to impact prior to even beginning an afl career. An organising body such as the AFL has a clear duty of care about issues regarding anything that impacts the health and wellbeing of the players, and would be subject to massive legal ramifications if it was complicit in any way in terms of impacting health outcomes.

This one is for Mora... All the best on a safe LARS procedure and speedy recovery.

I'll hopefully get someone at the club to show it to him.

Great work Seppo ! Very moving, could have been anything! Hope fully he gets a chance to come back and show us.

G'day guys, just dropping in to wish the young fella Morabito good luck in his endeavours to recover from a 3rd knee reconstruction. Such a bad thing to happen at such a young age. Our very own Scott Gumbleton has played very limited football since being drafted in 2006. It does happen that such young people can sometimes have the worst of luck.

Any ways, good luck to Anthony, and good luck to the dockers for the upcoming season, your list really has potential to trouble a few teams, just need a bit of luck with the footy (injury) gods.

A major concern for me is that the administration of drugs would become something that is managed by the clubs. The pressures on players to participate would be immense, and would become something that would begin to impact prior to even beginning an afl career. An organising body such as the AFL has a clear duty of care about issues regarding anything that impacts the health and wellbeing of the players, and would be subject to massive legal ramifications if it was complicit in any way in terms of impacting health outcomes.

Whereas right now the drugs are handled by the mafia and players that may not have a clue? If the club doctors are doing the dishing out at least it can be somewhat responsible with its drugs, just doctors should be.

As to players taking them most already take drugs to play (caffeine to name one but many are on other gear too). What's the harm in changing the massive caffeine dose to a smaller but stronger amphetamine dose? Would probably do less damage in the long run. A lot of the damage drugs like "ice" or "speed" or "cocaine" do is related to the 3rd world manufacturing and cutting.

People think guys on steroids and hgh and other drugs are super human but they are not. Like I said before, guys on the best gear right now like Bolt aren't _that_ much faster than guys running in the pre drug era even though other factors like nutrition and training have improved. 10% faster seems like a lot but in reality it's not much. The biggest gift drugs give is the ability to train harder and longer so your skill level increases. Furthermore we would likely see many players who got bombed out with injuries and poor genetics (low T and low HGH levels) able to play that wouldn't before. If anything it's going to level the playing field as much as it can be and make the game more exciting.

Didn't Futurama do a 'Steroid Olympics' vs a 'Natural Olympics'? I think the results there were pretty conclusive.

The performance drugs allow those with money to beat those with natural genetic gifts. I don't like the idea of private school teenagers getting on the gear to man-child their way into the Under-18s at the expense of a natural athlete.

Good luck with the knee operation today.

http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/2013-01-21/morabito-surgery-complete

Mora's surgery is done. Please god let him forge a good AFL career!

Fremantle midfielder Anthony Morabito had LARS surgery on his left knee today in Sydney.
The 21-year-old will begin his rehabilitation program in the coming weeks, with no timeframes or expectations being placed on his recovery.
General manager football operations, Chris Bond said the club was pleased with the procedure.
“We heard directly from Anthony after his surgery today and from all reports it went very well,” Bond said.
“He is in really good spirits and looking forward to getting started with his recovery.”

I'm hoping for a 3 month recovery and two months of football for Peel, building his game time. Making round 12 (after the bye) at home against Brisbane a good hypothetical come back game. But I guess we are better off just crossing our fingers and taking it one week at a time.

Hard to see why we care so much about the few who are stupid taking drugs in a bad way over everything else.

When clubs are spending megabucks sending players to another country, or buying hypobaric or low oxygen chambers to train them in just to get a couple of percent difference... it shows how valuable that couple of percent is. It's the gap between them and their competitors.

Versus sticking a needle in their arm and getting three or more times that improvement... 10% is not a small improvement. It's enormous.

Excluding performance enhancing drugs from sport keeps the health risks sport-related. Adding various types of hormones and drugs adds a bunch of other risks. And if one athlete is allowed to do it, all of them MUST do it otherwise they're going to be left behind.

When clubs are spending megabucks sending players to another country, or buying hypobaric or low oxygen chambers to train them in just to get a couple of percent difference... it shows how valuable that couple of percent is. It's the gap between them and their competitors.

Versus sticking a needle in their arm and getting three or more times that improvement... 10% is not a small improvement. It's enormous.

Excluding performance enhancing drugs from sport keeps the health risks sport-related. Adding various types of hormones and drugs adds a bunch of other risks. And if one athlete is allowed to do it, all of them MUST do it otherwise they're going to be left behind.

Yep...just ask Lance

I love all the uproar that has caused in the mainstream media. . . as if anyone in this day and age thought cycling was clean anyway.

Good for them, if I had to cycle 100 kms a day for a month I'd want all the help I could get too, but I'd hate to see AFL go down that route where everyone has to do it as a bare minimum just to keep up.

Injury Morabito - another knee injury