Most Hated Club/Biggest Rivalry - Who Is It?

Who do you hate more?

Carlton have my hatred and respect to a point.
Essendon I despise.

as for the Saints well that club should be disbanded and the license sent to Tassie.

Hi guys,

I hope you don't mind me coming on your board, but this is a topic that I think is worthy of discussion.

Carlton and Essendon are without question Collingwood's two most bitter rivals, which are built on a long history of battles on the field.

I know a fair few Collingwood supporters in real life, and their most hated club is around a 50/50 split between the Blues and Bombers.

Both clubs have a long history of cheating which only fuels the hatred that Pies supporters as well as supporters of other clubs have for both the Blues and Bombers.

Which club do you hate more, and why?
Carlton, I can not stand them. There is just something about them that makes me hate them simple as that.

Blues by the length of all the streets in Flemingon combined, not just the straight on the race track.

I've got family that barrack for Essendon, so I can deal with them.

I am almost 22, so for me Carlton are a nothing club, the first game of footy I can remember watching was the 1999 GF between North and Carlton and the next game is round 19 2001 when we got smashed to them, which also happened to be the first time I went to the footy. Still remember crying the whole car ride back home after that game haha. Apart form those two games all I can remember is Carlton being crap. History really doesn't mean much because I have never seen a winning Carlton side or a threatening side. To me all the Carlton teams I watched since 2001 have been garbage, so they hold no relevance to me.

I know there is bitter blood between the two clubs and for that I don't like them in fact I hate them because they are cheaters but then again to me they are a side that is as successful as StKilda, Dees, Fremanlte and Bulldogs. Even then I can remember all those sides playing in more finals in the last decade or so except the Dees. Therefore I can't really hate them as much as I hate Essendon.

Essendon to me is the scum on the earth along with international sporting teams like Barcelona and Byern Munich. I think god decided that every league needed a club full of imbecilic players, officials and supporters so he put those three teams in.

Essendon are your ultimate bandwagon team, if you don't follow the game you will say you go for Essendon or when they are winning they are all loud and happy giving it to everyone but when they losing 80% of their fans don't want to be known as Essendon fans. I can't wait for the suspensions to be handed out.

Carlton are just too shit to hate! Even tho Essendon have also been shit for the last 10 years they have by far the worst and most arrogant supporterbase. Also they are probably the biggest bandwagon club in the comp. in that late 90's and early 00's they were the biggest victorian club. They were as big as what Collingwood are today. Now even tho they still have a big following they seem now way near as big as they were in the 90's and early 00's. Plus they are the biggest sore losers you will ever meet! Plus the consisted cheating and drug fiasco the hatered has grown.

Essendon and Carlton are just cheaters. Like my dad has told me many times and he is a swans fan " I respects Collingwood cos even tho their supporter's are ferel they are the most passionate and loyal fans in the league also the club has never cheated the salary unlike Carlton and Essendon so it is very hard to hate a very good run club who sticks to the rules that are handed to them by the AFL"!

Brisbane Geelong Hawthorn most hated. Hate them all to be honest.
Interesting one, that, don't mind the catters, but it seems a lot of fans who regularly go to the footy find their supporters arrogant. Are they that bad?
Brisbane and Hawthorn no question, used to live in Brisbane and their fans were pretty one-eyed and had no idea about the rules, but that's probably improved a fair bit in the intervening period.

There is no hatred in my life like I feel towards Carlton. I despise them with every part of my being and get almost as much enjoyment out of their misery as I do our success.

Somehow I've lasted almost 8 years in a relationship with a Carlton supporter. For a humble, modest guy the arrogance he exudes when it comes to that club makes me hate them even more. There is this smug grin he gets whenever they are remotely good that makes my blood boil.

One of the reasons I joined BF was to read his meltdowns, get such a thrill out of lurking on their board after a loss.

Essendon may have taken a step in the direction of the cheating scum but they will never hold a candle to my hatred of the Blues

Carlton.

Their history and their inability to change their spots makes them the Mos Eisley of professional sport; "You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Every time they make any sort of song and dance about cleaning up their act they go ahead and prove that they're rotten to the core.

I mean, they need a new CEO so who do they appoint this week? None other than Stephen "what's a salary cap?" Trigg. Seriously Carlton? Trigg?

What makes it so enjoyable these days is that so many years after being justly punished for cheating, their list is still full of holes. Their recruiting has let them down, their development is non existent, their membership cowers in comparison to ours, they continually throw money at our players and staff and are lost in a mire of insignificance.

I hate what they were and am mildly amused by what they have become.

Essendon on the other hand have been acting shamefully for a couple of years. Before that they were just another footy club we had cause to dislike from time to time.

Carlton, then daylight.

Essendon don't even register for me - there'd be a handful of clubs I despise before I'd think of listing Essendon (Hawthorn, Sydney, Adelaide, North, ...)

With the whole Essendon and ASADA debacle ... I just think the whole situation is sad, and bad for football.

Would I feel that charitible if it had happened to Carlton? Nah.

Don't really hate either. Have disliked certain players from those clubs (in the past), but it is more that I have dislike with some of their supporters.
For example am really happy when clubs like Melbourne lose because of an incident in the 1990 GF, then some Richmond supporters who were yelling out racists comments against the Rocca brothers, Geelong for similar comments etc.
Most of the time I barely think of other clubs unless an incident happens or if they have a really good player.

Carlton.

I have no reason why. I don't hold grudges against Mick or daisy, Wasn't alive for the 1970 grand final, was a bit young to understand the salary cap breach and have no enemy's who barrack for Carlton.

Yet i just want them to lose by 100+ every week. I guess it just comes with being a passionate Magpie.

But seriously, I hope they lose 50 in a row and relocate to Tasmania.

^This^

Young man. It doesn't matter if you are 2, 22, or 102. As a Collingwood supporter you have a duty to hate Carlton. Maybe right now in your life you may not be sure why. Give it time my son. It will become obvious.

Don't get me wrong, I do hate Carlton with a passion and I hate watching them win. I refuse to watch Carlton v Essendon games because I know I will be angry either way after the game.

However, most of AFL fans around my age are Essendon supporters due to their success in the late 90s and early 2000s and listening to their crap for so many years built its toll. Zaharakis kicking that goal in 2009 and having to go to high school the next day was one of the worst experience I have had as a football fan apart from the three GF we lost. That was the day I officially started to hate Essendon with a passion.

Unfortunately most of my friends are Essendon fans, they were quiet this year and off the bandwagon until they beat us last game. Now they are like 90% of the other Essendon fans, who think they are still a top 4 chance and a premiership chance. I have never come across such a fan base that are so one eyed and think they can win the flag every pre season.

I pu
ORITE! WHICH ONE OF YOU ****HEADS PICKED ESSENDON?

ARE YOU FOR REAL? ESSENDON MELT WHEN THEY ARE SHIT. I HAVE CARLTON "MATES" WHO STILL THINK THEY CAN MAKE FINALS FFS

I picked Essendon! Hated them since high school as so many of them my age were following Essendon. They are arrogant and when losing love starting fights! As for Carlton I only hate them due to mick and that's it! Plus Carlton are no threat as they are shit and have been shit for 15 years

Don't get me wrong, I do hate Carlton with a passion and I hate watching them win. I refuse to watch Carlton v Essendon games because I know I will be angry either way after the game.

However, most of AFL fans around my age are Essendon supporters due to their success in the late 90s and early 2000s and listening to their crap for so many years built its toll. Zaharakis kicking that goal in 2009 and having to go to high school the next day was one of the worst experience I have had as a football fan apart from the three GF we lost. That was the day I officially started to hate Essendon with a passion.

Unfortunately most of my friends are Essendon fans, they were quiet this year and off the bandwagon until they beat us last game. Now they are like 90% of the other Essendon fans, who think they are still a top 4 chance and a premiership chance. I have never come across such a fan base that are so one eyed and think they can win the flag every pre season.

You hit the nail on the head! In 1999 when I was in year 12 we had a class of 25 8 supported Essendon and 6 supported Collingwood! I and my Collingwood mate copped so much shit from the Essendon w***ers I was sooooo happy Carlton defeated them in 1999 prelim.

I think if you are under 35 you hate Essendon more but if your over 35 to 40 you would hate Carlton more. It's an age thing

I also think that if your a teenager Collingwood fan you would probably hate hawthorn the most mostly due to so many hawk fans in that demographic plus they always beat us

Most Hated Club/Biggest Rivalry - Who Is It?