Most overrated player in the AFL currently?

Papley gets talked about as the best small forward in the game... WTF???

Sure if that's the only metric you're using then you could consider him overrated but he's definitely one of the top few small forwards over the past few years. Cameron is probably the only one who I'd have ahead of him (or Greene if you consider him a small forward)

He consistently kicks goals, tackles, chases and finds plenty of the ball.

Good post. NN was our highest rated player on the day I believe.
I’m talking about being overrated during the entirety of a players career. Jack Watts was BOG once.. we’re not talking about players who are down on form, or getting old and slow, it’s a thread about being overrated. Nic Nat may have been one of the Eagles best on the weekend (which wouldn’t have been hard) but if you look at his career in it’s totality, he’s severely overrated.

No, he's not.

2x AA and cut down by knee injuries in his prime.

Just because he doesn't seagull possessions around the ground does not mean he's overrated.

You reckon the 2 either side of him are overrated also?

1625486095368.png

Our most important player by a country mile. We'd probably be bottom 4 if he went down earlier in the year.

Naitanui is probably leading our B&F and is one vote behind Christian Petracca in the AFLCA award. Pretty standard nomination though.

Is Gary Rohan rated highly enough to be overrated? He's been pretty good for Geelong given they got him for pick 62. With Hawkins and Cameron he isn't really under huge pressure. I would've thought most people would have him in Geelong's bottom 5-10 players. If he had a poor run of form and missed the finals series altogether would it be a big deal?

Burgoyne is a good shout. He's obviously been a very good player for a ridiculously long period but people get a bit carried away with the romance of playing 400 games. If you objectively look at his Port and Hawthorn careers where does he sit compared to his teammates at each club? Top 5? Top 10? Still excellent but he's not Hodge, Mitchell, Franklin, Tredrea, Wanganeen etc.

Wouldn't know where to start with my own team. 10 players on our list who have made the AA side previously, very good chance we get doughnuts this year. Most of those have missed at least some footy but none have enhanced their reputation.

Naitanui is probably leading our B&F and is one vote behind Christian Petracca in the AFLCA award. Pretty standard nomination though.

Is Gary Rohan rated highly enough to be overrated? He's been pretty good for Geelong given they got him for pick 62. With Hawkins and Cameron he isn't really under huge pressure. I would've thought most people would have him in Geelong's bottom 5-10 players. If he had a poor run of form and missed the finals series altogether would it be a big deal?

Burgoyne is a good shout. He's obviously been a very good player for a ridiculously long period but people get a bit carried away with the romance of playing 400 games. If you objectively look at his Port and Hawthorn careers where does he sit compared to his teammates at each club? Top 5? Top 10? Still excellent but he's not Hodge, Mitchell, Franklin, Tredrea, Wanganeen etc.

Wouldn't know where to start with my own team. 10 players on our list who have made the AA side previously, very good chance we get doughnuts this year. Most of those have missed at least some footy but none have enhanced their reputation.
Still making his way back from the OP, but Yeo has been building since his return and he’s one you know will always give full intensity (seems to me as an outsider). Terrific footballer.

It's definitely Heeney. Has he been mentioned yet? Was touted as a potential face of the sport early on. Now he's just an athletic half forward he might be good for 12 touches and a goal or two a week at best.
Think you have to factor in that he’s pushing through despite being hampered and not being able to get training loads in.
Heeney seems a bit of a lightning rod.

Natanui being accused of being overrated after yesterday ?

He was up against a good mate, one who must have spent countless hours days weeks helping him to recover from long term injuries. Incredible amounts of practice one on one. You think Hickey wouldnt be eminently qualified to go up against him ?
In tapouts you wont beat NN, HO to advantage of course not...but he'd at least know what he can try/do to gain some sort of advantage. You get him around the ground and positional play which is the part of the game he beat NN at yesterday. NN was still GOOD. Not great but there was simply a better ruckman on the paddock and in a flogging its hard to look good as well. He definitely wasnt even one of their "problems" on the day.
When you are that good the boffins instantly find it easy to relegate "ok games" or "being beaten" to being crap. Other guys are allowed to be bloody good on the day.
Well said 👍 Interesting to see the different viewpoints on him in particular.

I disagree. Brisbane have arguably the best midfield in the competition. They dont just give their forwards quantity of forward 50 entries (like Melbourne) but quality as well. McLuggage, Neale, Lyons, Zorko give their forwards proper silver service. They have made Joe Daniher look much much better this year then he actually is. IMO

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

He has the lowest average marks of any current player with more than 40 games.
Second lowest uncontested possessions of any current player with more than 40 games.
How is that possible for such a big guy?

This is why Gawn and Grundy are better players, they move around the field, find free space and are not useless outside the center bounce.

I can cherry pick stats too:

From Max Laughton at Fox Sports from ( numbers from Mid May 2021)

Let’s put it simply: When Nic Naitanui is on the ground, he’s the best ruckmen in the AFL. By far.

The dual All-Australian leads almost every important category when you rate the top ruckmen per 100 minutes, instead of just looking at their raw totals. The only category he doesn’t lead is disposals, which Grundy claims.

Naitanui is the best ruckman in the game in almost every category on a per 100-minutes basis.
Naitanui is the best ruckmen in the game in almost every category on a per 100-minutes basis. Source: FOX SPORTS

Note that marks are not one of the categories listed above. For whatever reason, people seem obsessed with the idea that Naitanui doesn’t mark the footy enough.

“If I want to run around and get some little hit-up marks around the ground, I can do that,” Naitanui said on ABC radio recently.

“I can tap Andrew Gaff on the shoulder and ask him to look for that. But for me, it’s getting the work done around stoppage.

Mate he's kicked 5.18 this season.

That's disgraceful for a bloke on $1m a season.

Say whatever you like about me.

The problem with your post - and why people piled in (note: none of these was a Freo fan - which tells you your post wasn't very clever) - was you said 'Fyfe is useless'.

If you had said any of the following, then I think most people would have agreed with you, including most Freo fans:

1: Fyfe's performance against the Blues was pretty useless, perhaps he's cooked for this season
2: Fyfe's goal kicking this year has been useless - especially for a bloke on $1m a season
3: Fyfe's 2021 has been pretty ordinary compared to past seasons (you know - when he's won two Brownlows)
4: Fyfe isn't standing out as much as past seasons - lucky that Freo have got a good up and coming midfield group so they don't rely on Fyfe so much
5: Fyfe's kicking on goal has been really poor this year - Freo will want that to improve if they're going to start playing him forward more

Or perhaps more pertinently - Jeez, Fyfe is overrated this year, the media and fans keep fawning over him but he's well down on previous season - oh, wait you can't say that because literally every media commentator has been saying all season that his output is down and his goal kicking trash - so they're hardly overrating him!!

[You could also take out Fyfe's name from the points above and replace with 'Walters' - great news for Freo is we're a game outside the 8 and Fyfe/Walters have both had their worst seasons in a decade]

It depends on how highly rated the player is to begin with.
Take Dusty for instance he is an amazing player and in my opinion the best in the comp, but there is talk that he could be the best player of all time.
As good as he is I don't believe he is the best of all time.
Does this make him the most overrated player in the AFL?

I think few rate him nowadays because of this. Even the other day Geelongs social media team put out a post that Dangerfield had some achievement for inside 50s in a career (maybe 1st overall) and Geelong fans were ripping him in the comments about "how many hit a target" "how many were long bombs" etc. That was from Geelong fans!

Obviously as a ball-winning bull mid he's still very good but not many nonvision-impaired people would defend his kicking. Also his ridiculous selfishness at taking pings from 55-60 out and missing on a regular basis. When he eventually hits 1 out of about 20, he will turn around and act like it's easy for him, forgetting all the opportunities he's pissed away.

He’s actually more likely to hit those shots than some of his kicks to teammates or shots on goal from closer

Nik Cox is the answer. Plays on the wing and floats around, yet is averaging about the same amount of possessions as Cody Weightman who stands in a forward pocket all game.

Unicorn lol
He's a first year player. Players in the first couple of years should be exempt from a thread like this.

He's talked up, not about what he is delivery today, but what he could be in the future. If he's running around at 22-24 averaging 10 touches a game and doing bugger all then lay into him if he's still being talked up.

He's a first year player. Players in the first couple of years should be exempt from a thread like this.

He's talked up, not about what he is delivery today, but what he could be in the future. If he's running around at 22-24 averaging 10 touches a game and doing bugger all then lay into him if he's still being talked up.
The problem is he is being talked up far more than other first-year players who have been just as if not more impressive. Even from Essendon, Jones has probably shown more over the season than Cox has. All Cox has done is kick one goal on the run which was a shank off his shin. It's not his fault and he might go on to have a great season, but right here right now he is 100% one of the most overrated players in the AFL.

No he isn't.

you’re conflating BT and the like trying to generate enthusiasm for the game with a “rating” of players. They get excited by anything slightly different, be it abnormal height on a winger, a mullet, a name that can be pronounced in a strange way.

That’s his whole career though.

his finals record is simply a microcosm of his career. Since he debuted hed probably play one eye catching game a month - maybe SLIGHTLY more regularly since he’s come to Geelong.

playing 2-3 finals per campaign, against opposition who you know because they’re in the finals are slightly above average at worse, it makes sense that he would have a poor finals record. Last year was the same. Played a good final against the Pies or Brisbane or whichever game it was, nowhere to be seen in the other three

His goal average in H&A is 1.116
His goal average in finals is 0.70

So a significant goal avg difference.

He has been held goalless in 10 of his 20 finals.

His possessions are 9.8 H&A, 8.8 Finals, so marginal difference there.

Of his 20 x finals, he played well in:

2014 PF. 23 touches and no goals in 70-point win v Roos.

2016 PF. 18 touches and 2 goals for Sydney v Cats in 37-point thumping. Was 69-20 at HT.

2020 PF. 11 touches and 3 goals against Brisbane in 40-point win.

So 3 good games and 17 poor ones. And most of the poor ones are woeful. He doesn’t really have any average games … ie.. 12 touches and 2 goals…. And his good games come in big wins, so the ultimate downhill skier in finals.

So I really think his reputation has a lot on the line in any future finals.

His goal average in H&A is 1.116
His goal average in finals is 0.70

So a significant goal avg difference.

He has been held goalless in 10 of his 20 finals.

His possessions are 9.8 H&A, 8.8 Finals, so marginal difference there.

Of his 20 x finals, he played well in:

2014 PF. 23 touches and no goals in 70-point win v Roos.

2016 PF. 18 touches and 2 goals for Sydney v Cats in 37-point thumping. Was 69-20 at HT.

2020 PF. 11 touches and 3 goals against Brisbane in 40-point win.

So 3 good games and 17 poor ones. And most of the poor ones are woeful. He doesn’t really have any average games … ie.. 12 touches and 2 goals…. And his good games come in big wins, so the ultimate downhill skier in finals.

So I really think his reputation has a lot on the line in any future finals.

You can go through about 6-7 lengthy stretches of his career and find that he goes goalless every second game during those periods.

yes his goal average goes down in finals - I don’t know of many mediocre players who’s numbers would actually hold steady or go up in games played exclusively against the best 8 teams in the competition - what I would say is that an ordinary performance against a a mid range or bottom four team can probably still net you a goal or two.

is the same sort of performance going to get you anything in a final where the opposition is guaranteed to be at least half decent?

The guy is just not that good

Nik Cox is the answer. Plays on the wing and floats around, yet is averaging about the same amount of possessions as Cody Weightman who stands in a forward pocket all game.

Unicorn lol

Some corners of the rising star market suggest Luke Jackson should be favourite with his whopping 0.2 more possessions and ONE solitary goal more than Nik Cox. All the more as a second year player.

I don’t think people get carried away with what he (Nik Cox) does, it is what he (athletically) is that astounds people. This is where the hyperbole by some media quarters begins (looks at the Triple M aligned crew here - BT, Luke Darcy, James Brayshaw).

As for Cody? It’s pretty well known that taller players take longer to develop so averaging circa the same is a big plus especially from a first year tall.

People are really saying Fyfe and Nic Nat :eek: Fyfe is kicking bad for goal - the other 98% of his game is basically everything that's good about our sport. Nic Nat is the biggest example ever of a player who doesn't need much of the ball to dominate. If he was a better mark than he'd just be unfair.

I would assert that those who put down NN know very little (nothing) about the game.

He may have a quiet game but his overall body of work is excellent as a ruck. Sure he doesn't take the grabs around the ground as we've been conditioned by other rucks. But then again what he does around the ground at ruck contests and stoppages is unbelievable. He's a fantastic player.

It’s ridiculous, especially on Nic Nat, if he was our ruckman I’d be extremely confident of winning the premiership.....His tap work & ability to set up clearances to advantage is an asset most teams would dream of.

Most overrated player in the AFL currently?