My Phantom Draft (Top 50) 2016

cooperg

Oct 3, 2016
My Phantom Draft 2016 Top 50 - Obviously some will agree and disagree, happy to know your thoughts, but again dont need to be rude.

1- Essendon- Hugh McCluggage
2-GWS- Andrew McGrath
3-Brisbane- Tim Taranto
4- Gold Coast- Jack Bowes (Academy)
5-Carlton- Will Brodie
6- Gold Coast- Jack Scrimshaw
7- Fremantle- Tim English
8- Gold Coast- Griffin Logue
9- Sydney- Oliver Florent
10- Gold Coast- Sam Petreski-Seaton
11- North Melbourne- Ben Ainsworth
12- West Coast- Sam Powell Pepper
13- Adelaide- Daniel Venables
14- Port Adelaide- Will Hayward
15- GWS- Will Settefield (Academy) - Will probably receive bids for Harry Perryman to but will match that also.
16- Brisbane- Jy Simpkin
17- Port Adelaide- Jarrod Berry
18. Western Bulldogs- Jordan Gallucci
19. Sydney- Todd Marshall
20-Essendon- Zach Sproule (Giants wont match)
21-Brisbane- Jacob Allison (Academy)
22-Brisbane- Jack Maibaum
23- St.Kilda- Jack Graham
24-Geelong- Josh Battle
25-Carlton-Shai Bolton
26- Western Bulldogs- Josh Rotham
27-Richmond- Brennan Cox
28-Collingwood- Callum Brown (F/S)
29.Essendon- Cedric Cox
30.Port Adelaide- Patrick Kerr
31.Port Adelaide- Dylan Clarke
32. North Melbourne- Jordan Ridley
33.North Melbourne- Ben Long
34. West Coast- Zac Fisher
35.Fremantle- Harrison Macraedie
36.St.Kilda- Myles Poholke
37-GWS- Koby Mutch (Academy)
38-Geelong- Jonty Scharenberg
39-GWS- Pass (Will get acadmey kids, and be satisfed)
40. Fremantle- Issac Cumming (Giants wont bid, points reasons)
41- Essendon- William Drew
42-Geelong- Corey Lyons
43-Adelaide- Alex Villis
44-Collingwood- Josh Daicos (F/S)
45- GWS- Pass
46. Sydney- Luke Ryan
47- Melbourne- Rowan Marshall
48-Carlton- Xavier Richards (Delisted Swan)
49- Sydney- Tom Lee (Delisted Saint)
50. Western Bulldogs- Angus Litherland (Delisted Hawk)

* Jake Waterman will get to the Eagles under F/S, same as Ben Jarman F/S will get to the Crows.
* Brad Scheer should get to the Suns via their academy which Is why he isn't mentioned above because it's unknown where.

really appreciate the PD cooperg always enjoy reading new peoples opinions, a few thoughts on what you have the lions doing.

i really like Taratno but i can't see the lions passing up on Ainsworth at 3. if he's taken they will take whoever is left out of McCluggage/McGrath IMO.

love Simpkin with our 2nd pick although i think the club may take Berry if still available there, really tough choice.

would be a big surprise if Allison is bid on before our pick 21 but we would probably match the bid.

no way we take Maibaum IMO with next years draft by all reports stacked with key position talent.

of the players you had as still available at 21 and 22 i would have went Witherden (who you don't have in your top 50) and one of Bolton/Rotham/Clarke/Fisher/Drew.

IMO- no way Ainsworth goes that low. Witherden will be a top 25 pick at the worst.

• Banned
Thanks for your thoughts, crap forgot about Alex Witherden, had him around pick 20 at one stage and must of forgot to add him, wont change it now. But may go to your Lions at Pick 22 maybe.

really appreciate the PD cooperg always enjoy reading new peoples opinions, a few thoughts on what you have the lions doing.

i really like Taratno but i can't see the lions passing up on Ainsworth at 3. if he's taken they will take whoever is left out of McCluggage/McGrath IMO.

love Simpkin with our 2nd pick although i think the club may take Berry if still available there, really tough choice.

would be a big surprise if Allison is bid on before our pick 21 but we would probably match the bid.

no way we take Maibaum IMO with next years draft by all reports stacked with key position talent.

of the players you had as still available at 21 and 22 i would have went Witherden (who you don't have in your top 50) and one of Bolton/Rotham/Clarke/Fisher/Drew.

IMO- no way Ainsworth goes that low. Witherden will be a top 25 pick at the worst.

Interesting how you appear to rate Marshall, Sproule and Battle all pretty close.

If I was to make one predictions, I reckon Battle slides past 35.

I'd be surprised if we went Kerr full stop.

Having said all that, I quite like 3 out of the 4 picks you have us taking, I'd swap Scharenberg for Kerr though.

Player bio's are done to death but maybe the reason you have a club picking a player would be great reading.

Thanks for your efforts.

• Banned
No worries Chachi, could be a chance, but Geelong may want to add another midfielder after losing Caddy.

Interesting how you appear to rate Marshall, Sproule and Battle all pretty close.

If I was to make one predictions, I reckon Battle slides past 35.

I'd be surprised if we went Kerr full stop.

Having said all that, I quite like 3 out of the 4 picks you have us taking, I'd swap Scharenberg for Kerr though.

Player bio's are done to death but maybe the reason you have a club picking a player would be great reading.

Thanks for your efforts.

Good on you for giving it a go and putting the massive effort needed.

North picks are interesting. A small forward, a tall utility and a smaller forward utility isn't probably what we are after as utilities and flankers are in abundance at North.

We are probably looking at genuine outside mids and mid/forward types with good pace and class as well as a Cedric Cox/Fisher type with maybe a kpd in the rookie draft.

I'm not criticising you, I am just indicating what north's needs are and what we are more likely to chase.

Again kudos for the effort.

• Banned
Thanks for your comments, Jordan Ridley is a more taller key position player.

North picks are interesting. A small forward, a tall utility and a smaller forward utility isn't probably what we are after as utilities and flankers are in abundance at North.

We are probably looking at genuine outside mids and mid/forward types with good pace and class as well as a Cedric Cox/Fisher type with maybe a kpd in the rookie draft.

I'm not criticising you, I am just indicating what north's needs are and what we are more likely to chase.

Thanks for your comments, Jordan Ridley is a more taller key position player.
Thanks for that, I had to research all three as I haven't heard of them, those picks were definitely a little from left field from most phantom drafts (which made for interesting reading) that have us taking Florent, Florent and Florent again.

What i will say is i really rate Oliver Florent, i think he is a great player and a top 10 player, and now boosted his chances for top 10 even around pick 7ish and i reckon if Sydney don't get Griffen Logue, they will go for this speedy classy player in Florent, if Florent on the other hand is available at the Roos first pick, i reckon they will get him yes i agree but dont think he will be available at that pick.

Thanks for that, I had to research all three as I haven't heard of them, those picks were definitely a little from left field from most phantom drafts (which made for interesting reading) that have us taking Florent, Florent and Florent again.

Unless I am mistaken, but you have disagreed with nearly every phantom draft - Maybe you should make your own phantom draft.

Not every North pick in every phantom draft, I have agreed with quite a few actually, but I have disagreed with most of North's phantom picks because they haven't fully addressed north's draft needs. I have only claimed knowledge about my club's needs from the draft, not every club. Furthermore, I have already outlined who I've wanted from the draft, so seem you've been reading my posts, you should know that already.

It is clear that from a number of the phantom drafts that some phantom draft posters don't understand every club's needs, which is more than fine, because few ever do the work and why would you waste hours researching other club's you don't even like for a footy forum.

There is absolutely no point in me making a phantom draft as I only fully understand my own club's needs and I won't even pretend to understand over club needs fully. I have been polite in each thread I've disagreed with and outlined perfectly rational reasons.

Can this please be true.

I would enjoy watching him tear it up at another club
It's true. There are several players around that mark that the Pies have ahead of Brown on their draft board. If he filled a need for us then I could see them maybe pulling the trigger, but as it stands he'd be more of what we already have, except with less size to work with.

I don't see anyone pulling the trigger on him before Collingwoods first tbh. 99% of power rankings I've seen have him mid 30's or later. He becomes good value after our first pick given our next is 44, but any club trying to be smart and make Collingwood cough up their first pick for him had better be prepared to take him.

Yeah no way he goes in the first round.Starts to get considered from about 24. Fair value is where your pick actuall lies imo. But then i think he is under rated by most

My Phantom Draft 2016 Top 50 - Obviously some will agree and disagree, happy to know your thoughts, but again dont need to be rude.

1- Essendon- Hugh McCluggage
2-GWS- Andrew McGrath
3-Brisbane- Tim Taranto
4- Gold Coast- Jack Bowes (Academy)
5-Carlton- Will Brodie
6- Gold Coast- Jack Scrimshaw
7- Fremantle- Tim English
8- Gold Coast- Griffin Logue
9- Sydney- Oliver Florent
10- Gold Coast- Sam Petreski-Seaton
11- North Melbourne- Ben Ainsworth
12- West Coast- Sam Powell Pepper
13- Adelaide- Daniel Venables
14- Port Adelaide- Will Hayward
15- GWS- Will Settefield (Academy) - Will probably receive bids for Harry Perryman to but will match that also.
16- Brisbane- Jy Simpkin
17- Port Adelaide- Jarrod Berry
18. Western Bulldogs- Jordan Gallucci
19. Sydney- Todd Marshall
20-Essendon- Zach Sproule (Giants wont match)
21-Brisbane- Jacob Allison (Academy)
22-Brisbane- Jack Maibaum
23- St.Kilda- Jack Graham
24-Geelong- Josh Battle
25-Carlton-Shai Bolton
26- Western Bulldogs- Josh Rotham
27-Richmond- Brennan Cox
28-Collingwood- Callum Brown (F/S)
29.Essendon- Cedric Cox
30.Port Adelaide- Patrick Kerr
31.Port Adelaide- Dylan Clarke
32. North Melbourne- Jordan Ridley
33.North Melbourne- Ben Long
34. West Coast- Zac Fisher
35.Fremantle- Harrison Macraedie
36.St.Kilda- Myles Poholke
37-GWS- Koby Mutch (Academy)
38-Geelong- Jonty Scharenberg
39-GWS- Pass (Will get acadmey kids, and be satisfed)
40. Fremantle- Issac Cumming (Giants wont bid, points reasons)
41- Essendon- William Drew
42-Geelong- Corey Lyons
43-Adelaide- Alex Villis
44-Collingwood- Josh Daicos (F/S)
45- GWS- Pass
46. Sydney- Luke Ryan
47- Melbourne- Rowan Marshall
48-Carlton- Xavier Richards (Delisted Swan)
49- Sydney- Tom Lee (Delisted Saint)
50. Western Bulldogs- Angus Litherland (Delisted Hawk)

* Jake Waterman will get to the Eagles under F/S, same as Ben Jarman F/S will get to the Crows.
* Brad Scheer should get to the Suns via their academy which Is why he isn't mentioned above because it's unknown where.

My round 1 of draft - done by pick who I think each club will take.

Pick 1 Ess: H. Mccluggage

Pick 2 GWS: Mcgrath

Pick 3 Bris: Ainsworth

Pick 4 GCS: Bowes ( will likely be bidded on at 3 by Brisbane)

Pick 5 Car: Brodie

Pick 6 GCS: Taranto

Pick 7 Fre: English

Pick 8 GCS: SPS

Pick 9 Syd: Florent

Pick 10 GCS: Logue

Pick 11 North: Venables

Pick 12 WCE: Berry

Pick 13 Ade: Simpkin

Pick 14 Port: Marshall

Pick 15 GWS: Setterfield ( bidded on earlier matched with pick 15) Perryman also bidded on and matched with later pick.

Pick 16 Bris: Gallucci

Pick 17 Port: Bolton

Pick 18 Dogs: Witherden

Powel Pepper wont be at 24... Saints would get him if he was at 23, will be gone well before 24 most likely.

But thanks for your opinion.

Geelong should take Brennan Cox or Powell Pepper at 24. SPP won't go to WC for Pick 12 no way. Scharenberg at 38 definitely

I'd be rapt if i was a Port fan if the moves i said eventuated.

Hayward as a 3rd tall fwd, Berry inside mid/half back, Kerr key position forward and Clarke a midfielder. Will help Ports needs in those positions, or a start of it atleast.

Hayward. Berry. Kerr. Clarke I would be happy with that.

Berry. Galluci. Kerr. Clarke on draft night and I pity anyone in the room with me.

My Phantom Draft (Top 50) 2016