Preview NAB Cup R2 - WCE v COLL - 3/3 @ PS

Gets harder and harder to see where Embley, and to a lesser extent A Selwood (and hopefully McGinnity), will fit into the team at the end of the year. We have great depth at the moment.
Really?

I would say two of them are best 22 and they're all currently best 25.

What have you seen to suggest they're all about to be overtaken?

It's amazing how much some of you guys can infer from so little.

Whenever discussing anything related to forward structure all off-season, no matter who from the club has been speaking they have indicated or inferred it will just be Darling and Kennedy.

But I take your point that I was extracting the maximum meaning from a throwaway line, or maybe just hearing what I wanted to.

Is it possible to stream Sunday's match online?

Whenever discussing anything related to forward structure all off-season, no matter who from the club has been speaking they have indicated or inferred it will just be Darling and Kennedy.
Really?

I haven't heard anything definitive.

Surely the most persuasive argument is that we don't have a third tall forward who could be considered best 22. And with two mid-sizded options in Hill and LeCras, that extra tall probably isn't necessary.

You don't need to read the tea leaves to make that point.

Really?

I would say two of them are best 22 and they're all currently best 25.

What have you seen to suggest they're all about to be overtaken?

Embley can only really play wing or hff, and I'd prefer Gaff and Rosa on the wings to Embley. The assumption is that young players like Shephard and Cripps continue to progress and become at least the equal of Embley by the end of the season, but with greater potential. On top of that there is already a squeeze with LeCras and Nicoski coming back into the forwardline, as well as one of Masten / Wellingham / Shuey resting there as well. Hopefully Newman and Dick get fit this year and mount a challenge too.

Selwood is more safe playing the lockdown role in defence, Butler, Smith and Brennan are his main competition, with Wilson and Carter unlikely to get close to him this year.

Gives you a line up something like the below. Personally, I think some of the other options listed at HFF offer more to the team than Embley, and arguably more flexibility off the bench (plus most of them can kick better than him). The backline is almost a lock, I'd say its between him and Butler for the last spot. I wouldn't say he has a guaranteed starting position. McGinnity I just don't rate, his attack on the ball does not make up for his lack of composure and skill, but I have to admit he played well in the finals series last year, and I won't be surprised if he plays just about every game this year.

Butler/Selwood Glass Schofield
Hurn Mackenzie Waters
Rosa Priddis/Kerr Gaff
Masten Darling Embley/Hill/Cripps/Shephard/Wellingham/Nicoski/Dick/Hams/McGinnity
LeCras Kennedy Cox

Naitanui S. Selwood Shuey

I live and breathe the mighty WEST COAST but i think drafting morton and dick was a huge mistake . Morton looks very weak and dick was a disastrous flop in the WAFL GF .
Please prove me wrong ! but not happy with these 2 selections in the Mighty WCE nest .
P.s... if Demitriou 's love children ( c/wood ) can remember what a plane is used for then we may see them turn up on Sunday

The new Masto!

The assumption is that young players like Shephard and Cripps continue to progress and become at least the equal of Embley by the end of the season, but with greater potential.
Well, that's still 50/50.

But it could well be Embley's last season so I agree that he might not be in the mix for 2014.

On top of that there is already a squeeze with LeCras and Nicoski coming back into the forwardline, as well as one of Masten / Wellingham / Shuey resting there as well. Hopefully Newman and Dick get fit this year and mount a challenge too.
Let's not fall into the trap of reeling off every mid-sized player on our list.

Some of the guys who are unproven will disappoint. People lose sight of that at this time of year.

Gives you a line up something like the below. Personally, I think some of the other options listed at HFF offer more to the team than Embley, and arguably more flexibility off the bench (plus most of them can kick better than him). The backline is almost a lock, I'd say its between him and Butler for the last spot. I wouldn't say he has a guaranteed starting position. McGinnity I just don't rate, his attack on the ball does not make up for his lack of composure and skill, but I have to admit he played well in the finals series last year, and I won't be surprised if he plays just about every game this year.

Butler/Selwood Glass Schofield
Hurn Mackenzie Waters
Rosa Priddis/Kerr Gaff
Masten Darling Embley/Hill/Cripps/Shephard/Wellingham/Nicoski/Dick/Hams/McGinnity
LeCras Kennedy Cox

Naitanui S. Selwood Shuey
Will we play without an interchange?

There's an expectation that Embley is getting old, but Selwood and McGinnity could still play quite a bit of footy for us.

So let's just assume Embley retires at the end of the year – I still think we'd need to see a fair bit of improvement from outside the best 22, and even the best 25, for Selwood and McGinnity to be obsolete.

I think McGinnity, in particular, could become an important player for us. I basically see him becoming our #1 stopper.

Only AFL live app as a legit source as far as I'm aware.
cheers boss. wonder if it's worth it...
i wish there was some sort of cross between AFL website's match centre and cricinfo's live text commentary

Looks like the first time I came within finger distance of a vagina.
images

Heard this morning that East Perth have been told that Scott Lycett wont be made available to them until about round 10. Dont freak out yet, Nic nat is said to be ready for about round 2 but the Eagles are looking at managing Cox in the early part of the season so he may be rested for a few and Lycett will ruck with Nic nat when he returns.
images

I live and breathe the mighty WEST COAST but i think drafting morton and dick was a huge mistake . Morton looks very weak and dick was a disastrous flop in the WAFL GF .
Please prove me wrong ! but not happy with these 2 selections in the Mighty WCE nest .
P.s... if Demitriou 's love children ( c/wood ) can remember what a plane is used for then we may see them turn up on Sunday
your post is like one of those eye charts where the letters get smaller on each line,i almost had to start guessing like i do at my medicals.
As far as what you have written i think dick can have a huge impact for the eagles ,not so sure about morton but if disaster strikes and we have a few injuries I would probably prefer him to swift or stevens

Hoping to hear good things about Shephard after the Colliwobble game, and how much midfield time he gets, as that is the position they have him working towards. Think he will step up this year, and he adds more pace to boot. Unfortunately, we don't get the game up here, so I'll be looking forward to all the reports.

The fanfooty match blog is probably the closest you will get, covers the scores and significant plays. Note that during an actual match it also has the player stats on that page.

It also has a pack of ***** giving there stupid uninformed perspective on everything on the side in the chat panel

DS I have to say, I am one of your fans. You are often outspoken but I agree with a lot of what you say. However the use of the word '*****' and any variant of I find very offensive mate.

However the use of the word '*****' and any variant of I find very offensive mate.
Agreed. I dislike it intensely.

There might be someone on here who faces certain challenges, or has a brother or sister or son or daughter in the same boat. Bogans have enough petty insults at their disposal without going there.

Preview NAB Cup R2 - WCE v COLL - 3/3 @ PS