GWS
BOS:Celtics/Patriots/Bruins/Red Sox
NAB Cup round 4
GWS Giants vs Richmond Tigers
Manuka Oval, Canberra
12:30pm, Saturday 17 Mar 2012

Free entry for all 2012 ticketed members (i.e. excludes Giants Supporter members)

TV: here's hoping we get some love from Fox Footy!

Teams:
GREATER WESTERN SYDNEY
1.Phil Davis, 2. Curtly Hampton, 3. Stephen Coniglio, 4. Israel Folau, 7. Rhys Palmer, 8. Callan Ward, 9. Tom Scully. 11, Chad Cornes, 13. Sam Darley, 14. Tomas Bugg, 16. Nathan Wilson, 18. Jeremy Cameron, 20. Adam Tomlinson, 23. Sam Reid, 24. Steve Clifton, 26. Jonathan Giles, 29. Dom Tyson, 31. Jacob Townsend, 33. Will Hoskin-Elliott, 34. Devon Smith, 35. Toby Greene, 38. James McDonald, 39. Tim Mohr, 40. Adam Kennedy, 47. Josh Bruce

RICHMOND
2. Dylan Grimes, 3. Brett Deledio, 4. Dustin Martin, 6. Shaun Grigg, 8. Jack Riewoldt, 9. Trent Cotchin, 10. Shane Edwards, 11. Jake Batchelor, 13. Brad Miller, 14. Bachar Houli, 17. Chris Newman, 18. Alex Rance, 20. Ivan Maric, 21. Shane Tuck, 23. Daniel Jackson, 26. Robin Nahas, 28. Jake King, 29. Tyrone Vickery, 34. Andrew Browne, 37. Jayden Post, 38. Stephen Morris, 41. Nathan Foley, 42. Brandon Ellis, 44. Matthew Arnot, 47. Addam Maric

For the keen ones, UWS Giants vs ACT U/23s at 8:45am is the curtain raiser.

Richmond are coming off a big win against Geelong, while of course the Giants are coming off their big first win against AFL opposition. It's hard to gauge what kind of match it'll be until sides are named, especially with GWS playing the round 1 standalone opener against Sydney the following week.

Also, if anyone in GWS looking for a fix of live footy, Swans vs Suns is on the same day at Blacktown (1:00pm).

I am looking forward to seeing the team play 'live' for the first of many times this season.

Richmond will no doubt rest of alot of senior players, but it should be still a good hit-out leading the Rd1 match against the Swans.

I was travelling to Canberra to watch this game regardless of who was playing, but I'm pretty stoked it's the Tigers.

I reckon we'll name close to our best 22, Deledio should be back this week, Conca is still out with suspension. Knowing this I reckon the Tigers will win comfortably, but our record first up against new teams leaves something to be desired.....

Richmond are coming off a big win against Geelong, while of course the Giants are coming off their big first win against AFL opposition. It's hard to gauge what kind of match it'll be until sides are named, especially with GWS playing the round 1 standalone opener against Sydney the following week.

You would have to think the 22 would be set for this game? Setanta, Brogan and Scully to play?

Or perhaps they keep rotating and resting and keep the Swans guessing for round 1?

You would have to think the 22 would be set for this game? Setanta, Brogan and Scully to play?

Or perhaps they keep rotating and resting and keep the Swans guessing for round 1?
That's the thing, I'd expect a 'best 22' for this game as the last of the pre-season; but they'll be taking into consideration that, unlike all other clubs except the Swans, the first proper game is just one week later.

Scully should be back this week if we're going by the rotations of guys like Ward and Coniglio getting one week off, but you'd doubt that Brogan and O'hAilpin will be running on in round one if they don't play this week.

"Best 22" doesn't really exist for us this year. We might play something close to a Best 22 against the Swans...but that's about it I reckon. We will rotate our really senior guys (Brogan, McDonald, Cornes, o'hailpin) and our young kids heaps. Davis, Ward, Palmer, Giles, Clifton, Mohr & Folau (Maybe Coniglio and Cameron as well) probably the only guys who will play 22 games barring injuries of course

Some news on Brogan and O'hAilpin from the article on the Giants training at Lakeside Oval:

He did confirm the Giants would be missing plenty of experience in the season opener, with Luke Power (hamstring), Dean Brogan (back) and Setanta O'hAilpin (thigh) all to miss out.

"We won't have our best team out there, but this year is a land of opportunity for these young guys who have been drafted," he said.

"We feel we've got the right uncontracted players, but we’ll probably have five or six out.

"Brogan, Setanta, Power and (injured No. 1 NAB AFL Draft pick Jon) Patton won't play."

GIANTS train in Swans territory

Squads are up; ins and outs for the Giants:

in: Stephen Coniglio, Tom Scully, Sam Darley, Nathan Wilson, Devon Smith, Josh Bruce

out: Tim Golds, Shaun Edwards, Anthony Miles, Liam Sumner, Gerard Ugle, Mark Whiley, Tom Downie, Sam Schulz, Tim Segrave, Sam Frost

1.Phil Davis, 2. Curtly Hampton, 3. Stephen Coniglio, 4. Israel Folau, 7. Rhys Palmer, 8. Callan Ward, 9. Tom Scully. 11, Chad Cornes, 13. Sam Darley, 14. Tomas Bugg, 16. Nathan Wilson, 18. Jeremy Cameron, 20. Adam Tomlinson, 23. Sam Reid, 24. Steve Clifton, 26. Jonathan Giles, 29. Dom Tyson, 31. Jacob Townsend, 33. Will Hoskin-Elliott, 34. Devon Smith, 35. Toby Greene, 38. James McDonald, 39. Tim Mohr, 40. Adam Kennedy, 47. Josh Bruce

Things may change after this game, but that has got to be close to our current strongest team (minus injuries).

I'll be heading along just before lunch time. Keen to see not only the G-Men gear up for round 1, which I'll also be heading along to, but how Richmond are tracking, making a serious tilt for finals this year I reckon.

Would be good to see how they go if they played McDonald, Power, Brogan, Cornes, O'hAilpin, Davis, Scully, Palmer and Ward in the same team, but from the comments I read that's unlikely to happen?

In other news Giles is playing well again, 6 kicks, 8 hit oits and a goal and only half way through the 2nd quarter.

Hopefully he can kick 25+ goals for you this year!

Richmond lead 53-27, Giants seems to be clawing back from what I've read.

Izzy on report for high contact on Daniel Jackson, which is a concern leading into round one. Obviously with no tv or radio coverage we don't know, but hopefully there was nothing in it.

Would be good to see how they go if they played McDonald, Power, Brogan, Cornes, O'hAilpin, Davis, Scully, Palmer and Ward in the same team, but from the comments I read that's unlikely to happen?

In other news Giles is playing well again, 6 kicks, 8 hit oits and a goal and only half way through the 2nd quarter.

Hopefully he can kick 25+ goals for you this year!
I guess it depends on what kind of rotation policy they implement with the vets, obviously Davis/Scully/Palmer/Ward will be permanent fixtures in the side. It's hard to tell from the NAB Cup as Brogan, O'hAilpin and Power have been injured (and will miss round one).

Giles definitely looks like he can cut it at the top level, and I wouldn't mind betting that he's aware of the opportunity he's got and from his play thus far is clearly grabbing it with both hands.

Richmond led 3.9.27 to 0.1.1 in a dominant first quarter, but the Giants were more competitive in the second quarter (4.2 vs 4.2) and it's Richmond 7.11.53 to 4.3.27 at the half.

Giants possession stats from the chat: Ward 13, Kennedy 12, Bugg, Coniglio, Hoskin-Elliot and Scully 11.

Review NAB Cup R4 - GWS vs Richmond